DETAILED ACTION
Regarding Official Notice
Examiner took official notice of the following in the prior action. Applicant has not properly traversed the official notice statements. The following are therefore now admitted prior art. See MPEP 2144.03. It is noted that “To adequately traverse a finding based on official notice, an applicant must specifically point out the supposed errors in the examiner’s action, which would include stating why the noticed fact is not considered to be common knowledge or well-known in the art.” Applicant purports to traverse the official notice statements in the remarks dated 5/21/26, but all of the traversals are inadequate. None of them specifically point out the supposed errors in the examiners action. None of them state why the noticed fact is not considered to be common knowledge or well-known in the art. Rather, they only relate the official notice statement to the particular references involved and are wholly lacking regarding the above. The official notice statements therefore stand, are maintained, and are now admitted prior art.
It is old and well known to have a charge port to charge a battery supplying the electrical air pump with power for the purpose of providing a pump which can be operated in locations remote from an outlet and for convenience.
It is old and well known in the art to utilize removable caps to cover various components on pumps, switches, actuators, ports, etc. including those which are claimed above (“a removable cap covering the at least one of the one or more air-intake valves, the switch, and the charge port”) so as to prevent inadvertent actuation, so as to prevent debris or dust from entering, and/or so as to prevent damage.
It is old and well known in the art to utilize a plug insertable into an air intake valve to prevent air flow through the air intake valve and to have the plug being covered by a removable cap so as to maintain inflation / to prevent deflation and/or to prevent inadvertent damage or debris / dust from entering.
It is old and well known in the art to have electrical air pumps disposed within an inflatable body for the purpose of facilitating storage and easy inflation and/or deflation of the inflatable body.
It is old and well known to have battery powered pumps which include a rechargeable, non-replaceable battery disposed within the inflatable body for the purpose of providing a pump which can be operated in locations remote from an outlet and for convenience.
It is old and well known in the art to utilize with exhaust valves / pumps / holes -- a plug loosely connected to the hole to prevent loss of the plug, the plug comprising a first side being insertable into the hole to prevent air flow through the hole and a second side comprising an opening extending longitudinally through the backside of the plug, and locking member loosely connected to the plug to prevent loss of the locking member, the locking member comprising a protrusion insertable into the opening of the plug to lock the plug into the hole for the purpose of maintaining inflation / preventing deflation and preventing the loss of the plug.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/21/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are that amended claim 1 is allowable over the references because the amended limitations are not present within the references. Applicant asserts that the amended claim requires an electrical air pump and rechargeable battery both disposed within the inflatable body (see bottom of page 5 of the remarks). However, applicant has failed to properly traverse the official notice statements that (1) It is old and well known in the art to have electrical air pumps disposed within an inflatable body for the purpose of facilitating storage and easy inflation and/or deflation of the inflatable body and (2) It is old and well known to have battery powered pumps which include a rechargeable, non-replaceable battery disposed within the inflatable body for the purpose of providing a pump which can be operated in locations remote from an outlet and for convenience. The above are therefore admitted prior art; see above. The argument is therefore not persuasive. As to the dependent claims, none of the claims are allowable at least due to the 112(b) issues. See the rejections below for details regarding those and further rejections as appropriate.
Claim Objections
Claim 26 is objected to due to minor informalities: typographical error. The claim recites “insertable into to the hole.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a first inflatable body and a second inflatable body. The claim then continues to recite “an inflatable body formed from …” It is unclear whether this is a new, third inflatable body or whether it is intended to refer to one or both of the prior inflatable bodies. This is further complicated by the later recitations of “… the inflatable body.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for the recitations in the claim.
Further regarding claim 1, similarly and due to the above, the recitation of “at least one internal air cavity” is unclear. It is not clear whether this is a new cavity or whether it is a cavity for the first and/or second inflatable body.
Claim 1 recites “at least one internal air cavity” and also “at least one internal air chamber.” It is unclear whether they are intended to be the same element or whether they are intended to be different elements.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the inflatable body." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 22 recites the limitation “at least one internal air chamber.” It is unclear whether this is new structure or whether it is intended to refer to the previously introduced at least one internal air chamber. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, it is unclear whether this is the same as the aforementioned at least one internal air cavity (which also has issues, see above) or whether it is different. Based upon the disclosure, it appears to be the same, but the claims are unclear as written.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "the air-intake port." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "the switch." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "the charging port." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 25 recites the limitation “the at least one internal air chamber.” It is unclear whether this is the same as the aforementioned at least one internal air cavity (which also has issues, see above) or whether it is different. Based upon the disclosure, it appears to be the same, but the claims are unclear as written.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "further comprising an exhaust valve configured to release air from the at least one internal chamber." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this is a new and separate exhaust valve or is intended to refer to the previously recited “one or more exhaust valves” from claim 1. As written, it appears to be the same.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the inflatable body." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the exhaust valve." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the inflatable body." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "a first inflatable body." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this is new structure or intended to refer to the previously introduced element.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "a second inflatable body." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this is new structure or intended to refer to the previously introduced element.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "the first inflatable body." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "the second inflatable body." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yakubov (US PG Pub No. 20220268050) in view of Fahey (US PG Pub. No. 20050188465) and admitted prior art (see above; see prior action).
Re Claim 1
Yakubov discloses:
a first inflatable body (32) having a length longer than a width of the first inflatable body and having a thickness thinner than the width of the first inflatable body (see figs. 1-2, for example);
a second inflatable body (36) having a length shorter than a width of the second inflatable body and having a thickness thinner than the length of the second inflatable body (see figs. 2 and 5, for example);
the first inflatable body being sized for a human body to lie upon and the second inflatable body being sized for a human head to lie upon (see fig. 2; see [0022], [0024], the width of the second inflatable body being disposed along the width of the first inflatable body and being disposed adjacent one end of the length of the first inflatable body (see fig. 2);
Yakubov discloses a pump for inflating the mattress and the pillow together in paragraph [0024] and see figs. 3-4, i.e. permitting air to fill the first and second inflatable bodies (examiner notes that these inflatable mattress / pillow pumps commonly include intake and exhaust valves), but does not explicitly discuss valves including, not explicitly disclosing:
one or more air-intake valves permitting air to fill the first and second inflatable bodies; and
one or more exhaust valves permitting air within the first and second inflatable bodies to be released from the first and second inflatable bodies.
Fahey teaches one or more air-intake valves permitting air to fill inflatable bodies and one or more exhaust valves permitting air within the inflatable bodies to be released from the inflatable bodies (see [0034], see deflation valve 74 and inflation valve 76) for the purpose of facilitating inflation and deflation. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Yakubov (which already at least implies the structure at issue) to have one or more air-intake valves permitting air to fill the first and second inflatable bodies and one or more exhaust valves permitting air within the first and second inflatable bodies to be released from the first and second inflatable bodies as taught by Fahey for facilitating inflation and deflation.
Yakubov discloses an inflatable body defining at least one internal air cavity (see above; see all figs), but is silent as to the material including as to whether it is formed from a flexible airtight material. It would appear that the material must be flexible and airtight, however, otherwise the invention would not function. Nevertheless, to the extent necessary, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to use such a material since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Yakubov further discloses:
an electrical air pump disposed within the inflatable body and configured to selectively introduce air into the at least one internal air chamber (figs. 2-4; [0021]).
Regarding the below, they are met by the admitted prior art (see above). It is noted that “such that the inflatable mattress forms a self-contained inflation system operable without an external pump” is met by the admitted prior art because that is the effect of the official notice statements from the prior action / admitted prior art.
a rechargeable battery disposed within the inflatable body and electrically coupled to the electrical air pump to supply power to the electrical pump;
wherein the electrical air pump and the rechargeable battery are housed within the inflatable body such that the inflatable mattress forms a self-contained inflation system operable without an external pump.
Re Claim 21
Yakubov as modified above discloses:
wherein the inflatable body is configured to collapse into a flattened configuration when deflated such that the inflatable mattress can be folded or rolled for storage (the configuration and capability exists in Yakubov; see all figures; note that the body is inflatable and note that there are no structures present, e.g. support walls or baffles etc., which would in any way prevent the claimed functionality from occurring).
Re Claim 22
Yakubov as modified above discloses:
further comprising an air-intake port configured to allow air to be introduced into at least one internal air chamber (see above, and see also the air-intake port being the opening where the valve resides).
Re Claim 23
Yakubov as modified above discloses all claim limitations, see above, except:
further comprising a charging port configured to recharge the rechargeable battery.
See the admitted prior art as noted above. Modifying Yakubov as modified above to include the limitations is admitted prior art and would have been plainly obvious for the reasons as articulated previously; see above for details.
Re Claim 24
Yakubov as modified above discloses all claim limitations, see above, except:
further comprising a removable cap configured to cover at least one of the air-intake port, the switch, or the charging port.
See the admitted prior art as noted above. Modifying Yakubov as modified above to include the limitations is admitted prior art and would have been plainly obvious for the reasons as articulated previously; see above for details.
Re Claim 25
Yakubov as modified above discloses:
further comprising an exhaust valve configured to release air from the at least one internal air chamber (see above).
Re Claim 26
Yakubov as modified above discloses:
wherein the exhaust valve comprises:
a hole extending into the inflatable body to permit air release;
a plug insertable into to the hole to prevent airflow through the hole; and
a locking member configured to secure the plug relative to the hole.
Yakubov as modified above discloses the exhaust valve which necessarily includes a hole extending into the inflatable body to permit air to be released (see above). See the admitted prior art as noted above. Modifying Yakubov as modified above to include the limitations is admitted prior art and would have been plainly obvious for the reasons as articulated previously; see above for details. It is noted that the recitation regarding the locking member differs slightly in the language used, but the scope is within the admitted prior art. See above.
Re Claim 27
Yakubov as modified above discloses:
wherein the inflatable body comprises a first inflatable body forming a mattress portion and a second inflatable body forming a pillow portion (see above; see figs. 2-4).
Re Claim 28
Yakubov as modified above discloses:
wherein the first inflatable body and the second inflatable body are integrally formed to define a single continuous air cavity extending through both the mattress portion and the pillow portion (see above; see fig. 4; see [0022]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID E. SOSNOWSKI/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3673
/David E Sosnowski/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673