NON-FINAL REJECTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
No argument was presented with RCE. Due to the new art in recent IDS, previous Office Action (Allowance) is withdrawn, and new rejection is presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 15-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Krautkramer et al. (1350441, cited by Applicants, hereinafter “Krautkramer”).
Regarding Claim 1, Krautkramer teaches a system (fig.3, 5-6) for detecting a change in a substrate (10, a plate) (“Title” and pg.1; lines 10-15) comprising: a transducer (11, 15 or 19) that is frequency matched to the substrate (10) comprising a piezoelectric material (pg.3; 58-60 discloses that using piezoelectric transducer is a known alternative to excite the sound in the plate) formed with defined properties so that a frequency bandwidth of the transducer includes a resonance frequency of the substrate (pg.1; lines 10-15 discloses “The subject of the invention is an ultrasonic measurement method to determine the thickness of objects such as plates and similar materials, from resonant vibrations induced in the object and fed back to it via transducer means.”, pg.2; lines 14-22), the transducer being formed separate from the substrate (the separation of transducer and the plate/substrate is shown in fig.6) and configured to: emit a sound wave toward the substrate (pg.1; lines 16-22); and provide an electrical signal characterizing a reflected sound wave by the substrate (an echo pulse arrangement is discussed in (pg.3; lines 14-24) and shown in fig.3 and 6); and an acoustic wave analysis system (“Indicator instruments”) to detect a change in a physical characteristic of the substrate based on the reflected sound wave (pg.3; lines 14-24 discloses echo pulse arrangement, pg.1; lines 18-30 discloses “The plate thickness can be derived from the frequency of this thickness resonance. The wall thickness of a material can be determined by means of the known resonant ultrasonic method. … The instant the sound frequency corresponds to the thickness frequency of the plate, the latter is excited to perform natural vibrations (thickness resonance).”).
Regarding Claim 2, the system of claim 1 is taught by Krautkramer.
Krautkramer further teaches wherein the physical characteristic is a thickness of the substrate (“Title:”).
Regarding Claim 15, Krautkramer teaches a method (pg.1; lines 10-30, pg.3; lines 14-24), comprising: forming a piezoelectric material (pg.3; 58-60 discloses that forming/using piezoelectric transducer is a known alternative to excite the sound in the plate) having defined properties so that a frequency bandwidth of the piezoelectric material includes a resonance frequency of a substrate to be monitored for a change in a physical characteristic (pg.1; lines 10-15 discloses “The subject of the invention is an ultrasonic measurement method to determine the thickness of objects such as plates and similar materials, from resonant vibrations induced in the object and fed back to it via transducer means.”, pg.2; lines 14-22); and constructing a transducer (11, 15 or 19) with the formed piezoelectric material (pg.3; 58-60) for emitting a sound wave toward the substrate (pg.1; lines 16-22) and receiving a reflected sound wave back from the substrate for monitoring the substrate (pg.3; lines 14-24 discloses echo pulse arrangement, pg.1; lines 18-30 discloses “The plate thickness can be derived from the frequency of this thickness resonance. The wall thickness of a material can be determined by means of the known resonant ultrasonic method. … The instant the sound frequency corresponds to the thickness frequency of the plate, the latter is excited to perform natural vibrations (thickness resonance).”), wherein the substrate is formed separately from the transducer (the separation of transducer and the plate/substrate is shown in fig.6).
Regarding Claim 16, the method of claim 15 is taught by Krautkramer.
Krautkramer further teaches wherein said forming comprising providing the piezoelectric material with a given thickness (implicit in the piezoelectric material, (pg.3; 58-60)).
Regarding Claim 18, the method of claim 15 is taught by Krautkramer.
Krautkramer further teaches wherein the defined properties include one of a thickness, an elasticity, a porosity, a composition, a density, and/or a shape of the piezoelectric material (pg.1; lines 10-30, pg.3; lines 14-24) disclose regarding measurement of thickness).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krautkramer in view of Kreier et al. (US 6,250,159 Bl, “Kreier”).
Regarding Claim 3, the system of claim 1 is taught by Krautkramer.
Krautkramer does not explicitly teach wherein the acoustic wave analysis system is to detect a layer on the substrate.
However, Kreier teaches a system and method wherein the acoustic wave analysis system is to detect a layer on the substrate ([Abstract], (col.4; line 47 – col.5; line 12) disclose a system and method to gauge the thickness (d7) of a layer (7) borne by a substrate (4), where an ultrasonic wave (8.1) is transmitted by a measuring device (1)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Krautkramer’s system with the teaching of Kreier since both arts disclose similar structures and techniques to measure thickness and the modified structure would precisely measure any layer formed on the substrate.
Regarding Claim 4, the system of claim 3 is taught by Krautkramer in view of Kreier.
Kreier further teaches wherein detection of the layer on the substrate corresponds to detecting the change in the physical characteristic of the substrate (col.4; line 47 – col.5; line 12, col.6; lines 9-31).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krautkramer in view of Agarwal et al. (US 2018/0306609 A1, “Agarwal”).
Regarding Claim 9, the system of claim 1 is taught by Krautkramer.
Krautkramer does not explicitly teach wherein the acoustic wave analysis system is implemented on one or more computing platforms.
However, Agarwal teaches a sensing system wherein the acoustic wave analysis system is implemented on one or more computing platforms ([Abstract]; [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Krautkramer’s system with the teaching of Agarwal since using a server, server system, or cloud-based computing architecture is known in the art to provide the back end computational analysis for the sensing system [0084].
Regarding Claim 10, the system of claim 9 is taught by Krautkramer in view of Agarwal.
Agarwal further teaches wherein the one or more computing platforms are part of a cloud computing environment ([Abstract]; [0084]).
Claims 12-14, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krautkramer in view of Griffin et al. (US 11,387,802 B1, “Griffin”).
Regarding Claim 12, Krautkramer teaches an ultrasonic transducer (fig.3, 5-6) for detecting a change in a substrate (10, a plate) (Title, pg.1; lines 10-30, pg.3; lines 14-24), comprising: wherein the transducer (11, 15 or 19) is frequency matched to the substrate (10) formed with defined properties so that a frequency bandwidth of the ultrasonic transducer includes a resonance frequency of the substrate (pg.1; lines 10-15 discloses “The subject of the invention is an ultrasonic measurement method to determine the thickness of objects such as plates and similar materials, from resonant vibrations induced in the object and fed back to it via transducer means.”, pg.2; lines 14-22), wherein the substrate is formed separately from the ultrasonic transducer (the separation of transducer and the plate/substrate is shown in fig.6). Further, Krautkramer teaches that using piezoelectric transducer is a known alternative to excite the sound in the plate (pg.3; 58-60).
Krautkramer does not teach that the ultrasonic transducer comprising a first electrode; a second electrode; and a piezoelectric material between the first electrode and the second electrode.
However, Griffin teaches a microresonator 100 comprising an actuator electrode 110, a sensor electrode 130, and an intervening piezoelectric film 120 (fig.1, col.1; lines 31-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Krautkramer’s transducer with the teaching of Griffin since a transducer comprising a piezoelectric layer and two electrodes is well-known in the art where the electrodes function as actuator and sensor respectively.
Regarding Claim 13, the transducer of claim 12 is taught by Krautkramer in view of Griffin.
Griffin further teaches that the transducer further comprising a backing material (fig.11; 24, col.8; lines 20-23).
Regarding Claim 14, the transducer of claim 12 is taught by Krautkramer in view of Griffin.
Griffin further teaches that the transducer further comprising an acoustic matching layer (fig.11; 30, col.8lines 39-30).
Regarding Claim 19, the method of claim 15 is taught by Krautkramer.
Krautkramer does not teach wherein said constructing the transducer comprises incorporating first and second electrodes, such that the piezoelectric material is between the first electrode and the second electrode.
However, Griffin teaches a microresonator 100 comprising an actuator electrode 110, a sensor electrode 130, and an intervening piezoelectric film 120 (fig.1, col.1; lines 31-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Krautkramer’s method with the teaching of Griffin since a transducer comprising a piezoelectric layer and two electrodes is well-known in the art where the electrodes function as actuator and sensor respectively.
Regarding Claim 20, the method of claim 15 is taught by Krautkramer in view of Griffin.
Griffin further teaches that the transducer wherein said constructing the transducer comprises incorporating at least one of a backing material (fig.11; 24, col.8; lines 20-23) and an acoustic matching layer (fig.11; 30, col.8lines 39-30).
Claims 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krautkramer in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0409871 A1, “Lee”).
Regarding Claim 17, the method of claim 16 is taught by Krautkramer.
Krautkramer does not explicitly teach wherein said providing comprises one of three-dimensional (3D) printing, molding, or thermal pressing the piezoelectric material according to thickness criteria specifying the given thickness for the piezoelectric material.
However, Lee teaches a sensor comprising a piezoelectric material layer includes a substrate, a support layer, a metal layer, a piezoelectric material layer on the metal layer and an electrode on the piezoelectric material layer [Abstract], wherein said providing comprises one of three-dimensional (3D) printing, molding, or thermal pressing the piezoelectric material according to thickness criteria specifying the given thickness for the piezoelectric material ([0136] discloses molding process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Krautkramer’s method with the teaching of Lee since the claimed processes are well-known in the art.
Regarding Claim 21, the system of claim 1 is taught by Krautkramer.
Krautkramer does not explicitly teach wherein the piezoelectric material is a composite, non-ceramic piezoelectric material having a given thickness selected during fabrication by one of three-dimensional (3D) printing, molding, or thermal pressing.
However, Lee teaches a sensor comprising a piezoelectric material layer includes a substrate, a support layer, a metal layer, a piezoelectric material layer on the metal layer and an electrode on the piezoelectric material layer [Abstract], wherein said providing comprises one of three-dimensional (3D) printing, molding, or thermal pressing the piezoelectric material according to thickness criteria specifying the given thickness for the piezoelectric material ([0136] discloses molding process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Krautkramer’s method with the teaching of Lee since the claimed processes are well-known in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 and Claims 6-8 that are depended on claim 5, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Limitation of claim 5 is the reasons for allowability as the prior arts of the record do not teach or fairly suggest the limitation.
Contact Information
/SUMAN K NATH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855