Response to RCE
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicants claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) and (f). The certified copy has been filed in parent application DE10 2022 129 218.5 filed on 11/04/2022.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 20 recites the limitation “evaluation unit” with structure in specification in paragraph [0041], processor. It is being interpreted as means plus function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 2, 3, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lonsberry (US20220016776).
Regarding claim 1 Lonsberry teaches a machining system comprising: ([0041] disclosing the robot machining system).
A robot comprising a robot control system, the robot control system configured to generate control signals for robot-assisted movement of the machining head ([0041]-[0042], fig. 3 disclosing a robot for assisting movement of the machining head).
a measuring unit for performing measurement on a workpiece which are used to prepare, monitor and/or asses welding performed by the machining head, comprising: a measurement sensor system configured to perform measurements on the workpiece and acquire measurement data; ([0054], [0061]-[0070] disclosing the sensors to determine three dimensional image data and cloud data for the workpiece and classify seams where the robot needs to weld).
an evaluation unit configured to determine workpiece-specific position information from acquired measurement data, on the basis of which real-time position control for the machining head can be performed ([0054], [0061]-[0070] disclosing the control unit determining the seams on the workpieces where the weld needs to be done based on the 3d cloud data and sends instruction to the robot to perform the work);
and an interface configured to transmit the workpiece-specific position information determined by the evaluation unit to the robot control system ([0054], [0069] disclosing sending the instruction to the robot so as to weld the seams, wherein the robot program is adjusted based on the measurements); wherein the robot control system is configured to perform position control for the machining head based on the position information ([0054], [0061]-[0070] disclosing the adjustment of the robot head based on the determined position information of the seam and the adjusted program of the robot based on that).
and wherein the robot control system is part of the robot, which is operable independently of the measuring unit ([0062]-[0069] disclosing the controller is a PC associated with the robot that controls the robot. see [0094] disclosing the controller associated with the robot. it is interpreted that the controller is an essential part of the robot that performs the controlling of the robot and is operable independently from the sensors “measurement unit”. [0062]-[0069] disclosing the robot control system can use position control to control the robot once a desired position is indicated without the reference to the measurement unit again just by simple calculation of reaching the position based on comparing the current position and desired position, i.e., operable independently of the measurement unit).
Regarding claim 2, Lonsberry teaches the machining system of claim 1, wherein the position information includes a current position of an edge ([0054], [0061]-[0067] disclosing the position information including the position of a seam).
Regarding claim 3, Lonsberry teaches device of claim 1, wherein the measuring unit is configured to perform at least one measurement at a predeterminable measuring position, and wherein the robot control system is configured to define the measuring position ([0053]-[0054], [0061]-[0070] disclosing the sensors are controlled by the robotic control system to take measurements around the tip of the robotic machining head).
Regarding claim 10, Lonsberry teaches a method for machining a workpiece, with the machining system of claim 1, comprising:
generate control signals for robot-assisted movement of the machining head by means of a robot control system ([0054]-[0070] disclosing the generated robotic path of the welding head by the controller).
performing welding operation on the workpiece by means of the machining head in accordance with the generated control signals ([0054]-[0070] disclosing the generated robotic head movement by the controller to weld the machine
performing measurements on the workpiece and acquire measurement data; ([0054]-[0070] disclosing the measurements obtained near the welding head as the robot performs welding)
determining workpiece-specific position information from acquired measurement data, on the basis of which real-time position control for the machining head can be performed ([0054]-[0070] disclosing the sensors to determine the adjusted positions of the seams to control the robot head to adjust the path by using the robot that controls the movement path of the weld head).
transmitting the workpiece-specific position information determined by the evaluation unit to the robot control system ([0054]-[0070] disclosing the sensors to determine the adjusted positions of the seams to control the robot head to adjust the path by using the robot that controls the movement path of the weld head, the controller transmits the motion signals to the robot);
performing position control for the machining head based on the position information ([0054]-[0070] disclosing the sensors to determine the adjusted positions of the seams to control the robot head to adjust the path by using the robot that controls the movement path of the weld head, the controller transmits the motion signals to the robot and the robot is controlled to weld based on the new path and the robot head is adjusted);
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Lonsberry (US20220016776) in view of Strebel (US20190143458).
Regarding claim 4, Lonsberry teaches the machining system of claim 3. Lonsberry does not teach wherein the robot control system is configured to adjust a leading beam and/or trailing beam of the measuring position relative to a current machining position.
Strebel teaches wherein the robot control system is configured to adjust a leading beam and/or trailing beam of the measuring position relative to a current machining position (at least [0044] disclosing the measuring position is adjusted to be a circular positions instead of lines in the trailing and the leading positions from the current machining position, the circular motion has different positions than the line positions).
The combination/substitution of Strebel adjustment of a leading or trailing beam is obvious yielding predictable results in order to effectively detect seams in front and behind the laser.
Regarding claim 5, Lonsberry teaches the device of claim 4, wherein the robot control system is configured to dynamically adjust the leading beam and/or the trailing beam during machining along a weld seam having an initial portion and an end portion such that the leading beam increases along the initial portion and/or that the trailing beam decreases along the end portion
Strebel further teaches wherein the robot control system is configured to dynamically adjust the leading beam and/or the trailing beam during machining along a weld seam having an initial portion and an end portion such that the leading beam increases along the initial portion and/or that the trailing beam decreases along the end portion (at least [0044]-[0047] disclosing the measuring position is adjusted to be a circular positions instead of lines in the trailing and the leading positions from the current machining position, the circular motion has different positions than the line positions, as shown in figure 2 where the circular points on the trailing beam decrease at some portions from the line positions).
The combination/substitution of Strebel adjustment of adjusting a leading or trailing beam is obvious yielding predictable results in order to effectively detect seams in front and behind the laser, the method is advantageously applied to different geometry of seam and adjusted according to the geometry for precise tracking of a seam.
Regarding claim 6, Lonsberry teaches the machining system of claim 3,
Strebel further teach wherein the measuring unit is configured to perform measurements at several measuring positions lying on a geometric measurement figure, in particular at least one measurement line ([0044]-[0047] disclosing the measurements along a line); and wherein the robot control system is configured to specify a position and/or orientation and/or scanning density of the geometric measurement figure ([0044]-[0047] disclosing the position of the line is determined to be in front or back of the processing position).
The combination/substitution of Strebel perfomring several measurement positions on geometric measurement figure is obvious yielding predictable results in order to effectively detect seams in front and behind the laser, the method is advantageously applied to different geometry of seam and adjusted according to the geometry for precise tracking of a seam.
Regarding claim 7, Strebel teaches the machining system of claim 1, wherein the measuring unit may comprise an optical coherence tomograph including a sample beam source for producing a sample beam as well as a sample head by means of which the sample beam can be outcoupled, wherein the sample beam can be selectively focused on different measuring positions relative to a current machining position.
Strebel teaches wherein the measuring unit may comprise an optical coherence tomograph including a sample beam source for producing a sample beam as well as a sample head by means of which the sample beam can be outcoupled, wherein the sample beam can be selectively focused on different measuring positions relative to a current machining position (at least [0030] disclosing the laser machining beam and the measuring beam can be separated , [0035] disclosing optical coherence tomograph and at least [0044]-[0047] disclosing independent measuring positions).
The combination/substitution of Strebel wherein the measuring unit may comprise an optical coherence tomograph including a sample beam source for producing a sample beam as well as a sample head by means of which the sample beam can be outcoupled, wherein the sample beam can be selectively focused on different measuring positions relative to a current machining position, is obvious yielding predictable results for determining the seams of a workpiece as taught by Strebel [0021]. the method is advantageously applied to different geometry of seam and adjusted according to the geometry for precise tracking of a seam and to determine
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant’s arguments regarding claim 1 that Lonsberry does not teach the control system being part of the robot, examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons: Lonsberry in at least [0062]-[0069] discloses the controller is a part of the robot that is associated with it and connected to it. While the applicant argues that the robot control system is not an internal part of the robot, this argument is not claimed in the claim 1, the claim simply requires that the control system being part of the robot, thus a controller that is connected to the robot and controls it’s action is a part of the robot.
With respect to applicant’s argument that the architecture distinction supported by the specification that the robot control system may be a robot operable independently of the measuring unit, Lonsberry teaches the controller may operate based on position control by comparing the position desired to estimated state of the robot to move to the desired position based on the comparison, this is in line with the claimed invention of moving based on a position determined by the measurement unit, but just the calculation by the controller is independent and the movement thus can be independent. In the current application specification “paragraph [0039] discloses the robot may be operable independently of the measuring unit. a connection between the measuring unit and the robot control system through which the position information is transmittable”, thus the claimed invention is also using communication between position information measured by the measuring unit and the control system, thus independently herein is interpreted as being separate system which is taught by Lonsberry being separate sensor and control system that communicate with one another just like the specification teaches.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited in PTO-892 and not mentioned above disclose related devices and methods.
US20180369944 disclosing controlling head position based on scanning.
US20210187657 disclosing the tilting of the head based on scanning.
US20200171599 discloses detecting a gap to be welded by OCT.
US20150338210 discloses measuring welds using OCT.
US20250058407 disclosing measuring welds post welding using measuring device.
US20220324054 disclosing measuring welding spots.
/MOHAMAD O EL SAYAH/Examiner, Art Unit 3658B