Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed September 2 2026 has been entered and considered. Claims 1, 7, and 13 have been amended. Claims 3-4, 9-10, and 15-16 have been canceled. The amendment does not overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 previously set forth. The rejection is maintained and is restated below with additional discussion of the amended limitations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks Pgs. 8-9, filed 9/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art does not disclose the amended limitations as written.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant argues (Pgs. 8-9):
For example, Applicant submits that Connell fails to teach or suggest capturing, by a camera in an electronic device, facial image data of the user without displaying a facial image of the user on the electronic device during capture as well as that Examiner’s assertions are the result of impermissible hindsight reasoning.
In support of this assertion, Applicant contends that “one of ordinary skill in the art knowns [sic] that cameras display objects on a screen before acquiring image data of the objects” (page 8 of the Amendment).
Examiner responds:
Applicant’s argument that the newly added features are not taught by the Connell reference rests entirely on the above assertion of allegedly well-known fact. However, Applicant has failed to provide any evidence in support of this assertion.
According to MPEP 2144.03(A), “It would not be appropriate for the examiner to take official notice of facts without citing a prior art reference where the facts asserted to be well known are not beyond dispute, or are not capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.” This standard is equally applicable to Applicants. That is, since Applicant’s assertion that Connell necessarily displays a preview image prior to capture is entirely unsupported by any evidence whatsoever, the Examiner submits that the assertion cannot be taken as factual.
Moreover, multiple references cited in the PTO-892 attached herewith support the Examiner’s position that the display of a preview image prior to capture is not necessary:
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0373924 to Yoo et al. discloses enabling “facial verification without a provision of such a preview image when an image of a face is obtained, while still performing the corresponding facial verification accurately” ([0070]).
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0302393 to Olsson et al. discloses a system for self-portrait image capture which “may notify the user of the optimal image capture conditions without the user needing to preview the image area” ([0051]).
Here, the Examiner provides what the Applicant has not - namely, evidence that supports that Connell’s facial image capture does not require a preview image, as Applicant asserts. Indeed, Connell’s lack of disclosure of displaying the facial image at the time of capture teaches the limitation in question.
In particular, Connell discloses receiving a first image of the user's face with a camera (para. 2). Further, they disclose providing an instruction to the user to reposition the user's head via an output device, including a speaker (para. 27). Although Connell does not explicitly state that the first facial image is displayed during capture, they appear to be silent about any display during capture. In view of Connell's disclosure that the repositioning instruction may be provided audibly via a speaker, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the visual display of the user’s facial image during acquisition of the first image is not necessary. Therefore, configuring the system to capture the first facial image without displaying the facial image on the electronic device would have been at least a predictable variation using the known techniques of the disclosed system, if not merely the most straightforward implementation of the disclosure. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Finally, on page 8 of the Amendment, Applicant contends that the advantages set forth in [0102] of the specification of the present application are achieved by the newly added features of the claims. It is unclear, however, how withholding the display of a preview image at the time of capture facilitates enhancing the accuracy of the verification results.
For all the foregoing reasons, Applicant’s arguments are not found convincing. Accordingly, the prior art rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 11-14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Newly amended independent claim 1 recites “capturing...facial image data of the user” and “displaying...facial image data of a user”, then further “capturing facial image data of the user”.
It is unclear whether the “facial image data” in each of these limitations is the same. It is also unclear how the same facial image data can be captured twice.
Further, “the user” in the first capturing step lacks antecedent basis.
Finally, it is unclear whether the claimed “a user” in the displaying step is the same as "the user" in the prior-recited capturing step.
Dependent claims 2, 5-6, and 19 inherit these deficiencies by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Newly amended independent claim 7 recites “receiving facial image data of the user captured by a camera” and “displays facial image data of a user”, then further “captures facial image data of the user”.
It is unclear whether the “facial image data” in each of these limitations is the same. It is also unclear how the same facial image data can be captured twice.
Further, “the user” in the first capturing step lacks antecedent basis.
Finally, it is unclear whether the claimed “a user” in the displaying step is the same as "the user" in the prior-recited capturing step.
Dependent claims 8 and 11-12 inherit these deficiencies by virtue of their dependency on claim 7.
Newly amended independent claim 13 recites “capturing facial image data of the user” and “displaying facial image data of a user”, then further “capturing facial image data of the user”.
It is unclear whether the “facial image data” in each of these limitations is the same. It is also unclear how the same facial image data can be captured twice.
Further, “the user” in the first capturing step lacks antecedent basis.
Finally, it is unclear whether the claimed “a user” in the displaying step is the same as "the user" in the prior-recited capturing step.
Dependent claims 14 and 17-18 inherit these deficiencies by virtue of their dependency on claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8, 11-14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connell et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2017/0169303 A1, published 2017) in view of Shih et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2021/0110142 A1, published 2021).
Regarding claim 1, Connell teaches a method for capturing genuine user image data (Abstract, “An embodiment of the invention provides a method of analyzing an image of a user to determine whether the image is authentic”) comprising: capturing, by a camera in an electronic device, facial image data of the user without displaying a facial image of the user on the electronic device during capture (Para. 21, “In at least one embodiment of the invention, an interface 110 receives a first image of a user's face (210)”; Para. 27, “In at least one embodiment of the invention, the processor 130 can send an instruction to the user via an output device 140 (e.g., monitor, display, and/or speaker); creating a displacement instruction (Para. 19, “A request can be made to the user to reorient his or her head in two or more particular directions… The system determines whether the head was reoriented in the requested direction in each image and whether the displacement of the points between two or more images in the sequence is consistent with a three-dimensional co-planar interpretation.”); displaying, by an electronic device, an instruction to the user in accordance with the displacement instruction (Para. 19, “A sequence of images of the user's face can be acquired, one after each directional request; and the same set of four or more points can be located in each image.”; Para. 27, “In at least one embodiment of the invention, the processor 130 can send an instruction to the user via an output device 140 (e.g., monitor, display, and/or speaker), where the instruction instructing the user to reposition the user's head.”); positioning the user facial image data to be located within a screen of the electronic device (Para. 27, “The processor 130 can determine whether the user's head was repositioned in compliance with the instruction in each additional image.”, the processor positions it in compliance within a screen); capturing facial image data of the user (Para. 27, “The processor 130 can determine whether the user's head was repositioned in compliance with the instruction in each additional image.”); calculating a translation distance of the captured user facial image data (Para. 19, “The system determines whether the head was reoriented in the requested direction in each image and whether the displacement of the points between two or more images in the sequence is consistent with a three-dimensional co-planar interpretation.”; Para. 23, “In at least one embodiment, the three-dimensional surface model is an affine transformation, which is a linear mapping method that preserves points, straight lines, and planes. Sets of parallel lines remain parallel after an affine transformation.”); comparing the calculated translation distance against a translation distance calculated from information included in the displacement instruction to determine whether the calculated translation distance is in accordance with the displacement instruction (Para. 24, “In at least one embodiment, the set of two-dimensional feature points includes the user's nose, and the processor 130 determines that the displacements conform to the three-dimensional surface model when the displacement of the user's nose feature point is below a threshold displacement (e.g., 2 mm)”, to the extent the affine transformation of Connell does not explicitly disclose a translation distance calculated from information included in the displacement instruction, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as an affine transformation inherently decomposes translation and rotational components, and Connell expressly teaches verifying compliance with the displacement instruction (Para. 27)); and in response to determining the calculated translation distance is in accordance with the displacement instruction, determining the captured user facial image data is genuine and thus taken of a live person (Para. 25, “The processor 130 can determine whether to authenticate the user based on the determination of whether the displacements conform to the three-dimensional surface model (270). The determination of whether the displacements conform to the three-dimensional surface model can include authenticating the user when the displacements do not conform to the three-dimensional surface model or rejecting the user when the displacements conform to the three-dimensional surface model.”).
Connell does not explicitly disclose displaying, by an electronic device, facial image data of a user in accordance with the displacement instruction. However, they do teach providing an instruction to the user via a display in order to cause the user to reposition.
Shih teaches displaying, by an electronic device, facial image data of a user in accordance with the displacement instruction (Para. 29, “More particularly, facial regions of one or more input images; that is, regions of input image(s) that represent faces, can be locally corrected using a first projection and regions of input image(s) outside of facial regions can be corrected using a second projection… Also, one or more corrected images that reflect the corrections made to the one or more input images using the mesh, the first projection, and/or the second projection can be generated, displayed, transmitted, and/or otherwise produced—in some cases, a corrected image can reflect corrections made using the mesh, the first projection, and/or the second projection to most, if not all, pixels of a corresponding input image.”; Para. 147, “An upper portion of FIG. 16 shows that scenario 1600 begins with computing device 1610 receiving input image 1510 from a camera and then displaying input image 1510 and control 1620, where control 1620 includes a button labeled as “Apply Facial Correction”.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Connell to incorporate the teachings of Shih to include displaying, by an electronic device, facial image data of a user in accordance with the displacement instruction. Connell discloses a method of capturing facial image data for authentication, and also teaches the possibility of displaying an instruction to the user in order to facilitate the capturing of the image data. Shih teaches a method for cropping facial image data out of images and using correction techniques to optimize the captured image data, further allowing for the display of the results of the correction. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the advantage of displaying the facial image data once it is in accordance with the displacement instruction, as it would allow for robust verification of the facial image data, improving the accuracy of the authentication procedure.
Regarding claim 2, Connell as modified by Shih above teaches all of the elements of claim 1, as stated above, as well as further comprising the step of determining the captured user image data is fraudulent in response to determining the calculated translation distance fails to be in accordance with the displacement instruction (Para. 19, “The system determines whether the head was reoriented in the requested direction in each image and whether the displacement of the points between two or more images in the sequence is consistent with a three-dimensional co-planar interpretation. The face can be accepted if all determined reorientations match the requested directions and the point co-planarity test fails.”, if the displacement is consistent with the co-planar interpretation (translation fails to be in accordance with the displacement instruction), the image data is not accepted (fraudulent)).
Regarding claim 5, Connell as modified by Shih teaches all of the elements of claim 1, as stated above, as well as wherein the displacement instruction comprises at least one of: translating the captured user facial image data to a non-central location on the screen; translating the captured user facial image data to a central location on the screen (Para. 23, “A processor 130 connected to the image processing device 120 can determine whether the displacements conform to a three-dimensional surface model (260). In at least one embodiment, the three-dimensional surface model is an affine transformation, which is a linear mapping method that preserves points, straight lines, and planes.”; Para. 25, “if the feature points are truly on a two-dimensional plane (e.g., the surface of a phone screen), then the remapped nose will fall very close to the nose originally marked in the image.”, the disclosed affine transformation remaps coordinates of facial feature points between images. This remapping would translate captured facial image data within the coordinate frame. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that translating the captured image data to a non-central location or to a neutral and centralized location for alignment would be a routine implementation of the affine transformation); rotating the captured user facial image data; and scaling the captured user facial image data (Para. 23, “In at least one embodiment, the three-dimensional surface model is an affine transformation, which is a linear mapping method that preserves points, straight lines, and planes. Sets of parallel lines remain parallel after an affine transformation. An affine transformation does not necessarily preserve angles between lines or distances between points, though it does preserve ratios of distances between points lying on a straight line.”; Para. 30, “The processor 130 can fit the displacements of the facial feature points to a three-dimensional surface model (370).”, An affine transformation matrix necessarily includes rotational and scaling components. Fitting displacements to a 3-D surface model would involve computing such rotations and scaling factors to perform robust alignment in order to test conformance; Shih, Para. 90, “At block 940, the computing device can set up and/or initialize two implicit variables for face k: transformation matrix S.sub.k and translation vector t.sub.k. S.sub.k can include a transformation matrix representing scaling and/or rotation of face k and t.sub.k can include a translation vector representing translation of face k.” ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Connell and Shih to include translating the captured user facial image data to a non-central location or to a central location on the screen. Connell discloses determining authenticity of facial image data by identifying displacements of facial feature points and fitting those displacements to a 3-D surface model. They explicitly disclose that this model is an affine transformation, which is a linear mapping that includes translation, rotation, and scaling of image data. Shih also discloses utilizing a transformation matrix which can include a translation vector as well as the ability to scale and rotate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement these transformations as translations of the captured image to a non-central or central location because these are routine normalization steps when aligning images, especially in facial analysis, where analyzing from different viewpoints can help to detect spoofing attempts (See Figs. 5A-5B as well as Para. 32).
Regarding claim 6, Connel as modified by Shih teaches all of the elements of claim 1, as stated above, and Connell also teaches wherein the facial image data is captured without being displayed by the electronic device (Para. 21, “In at least one embodiment of the invention, an interface 110 receives a first image of a user's face (210)”, it is not specifically stated that this facial image is displayed).
Connell does not explicitly disclose cropping a rectangular region of facial image data captured by the electronic device and manipulating the corners of the cropped region to correspond to respective corners of the screen. However, they do locate facial feature points of the user.
Shih teaches cropping a rectangular region of facial image data captured by the electronic device (Fig. 2, Para. 45, “ A face box for an image can indicate a region of the image that represents a face, such as a human face.”, a face box is analogous to a crop) and manipulating the corners of the cropped region to correspond to respective corners of the screen (Para. 71, “At block 774, the computing device can determine a maximum conformality cost CC.sub.k of the four corners C1, C2, C3, and C4 of face box FB.sub.k.”; Para. 169, “In some examples, determining the warping mesh for the image can include determining whether the first image area has an area greater than a threshold image area; and after determining that the first image area has an area greater than a threshold image area, determining the warping mesh”; Para. 170, “In other examples, the one or more face-related transformations of at least the first image area can include a rotation of the first image area, a translation of the first image area, and/or a scaling of the first image area; then, determining the warping mesh for the image can include… determining a dimension of the boundary vertices of the third mesh to be perpendicular to a boundary of the image”, the face box corners are considered, and transformations are applied to manipulate the image to correspond to boundary vertices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Connell to incorporate the teachings of Shih to include cropping a rectangular region of facial image data captured by the electronic device and manipulating the corners of the cropped region to correspond to respective corners of the screen. Connell discloses capturing facial image data and locating facial landmarks for liveness analysis. Shih teaches cropping a rectangular region of facial image data and manipulating the corners to correspond to respective boundaries. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that supplementing the method of Connell with the teachings of Shih would enhance the capturing of facial image data, allowing for more precise capturing of the facial region and providing the ability to manipulate the specific facial region, improving and facilitating the alignment of facial features.
Regarding claim 7, the computer system recites variably the same function as the method of claim 1. It is rejected under the same analysis.
Regarding claim 8, the recited elements perform variably the same function as that of claim 2. It is rejected under the same analysis.
Regarding claim 11, the recited elements perform variably the same function as that of claim 5. It is rejected under the same analysis.
Regarding claim 12, the recited elements perform variably the same function as that of claim 6. It is rejected under the same analysis.
Regarding claim 13, the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium (Para. 69, “Computer system/server 12 may further include other removable/non-removable, volatile/non-volatile computer system storage media.”) recites variably the same function as the method of claim 1. It is rejected under the same analysis.
Regarding claim 14, the recited elements perform variably the same function as that of claim 2. It is rejected under the same analysis.
Regarding claim 17, the recited elements perform variably the same function as that of claim 5. It is rejected under the same analysis.
Regarding claim 18, the recited elements perform variably the same function as that of claim 6. It is rejected under the same analysis.
Regarding claim 19, Connell as modified teaches all of the elements of claim 1, as stated above, as well as further comprising implementing, by the electronic device, the displacement instruction (Para. 27, “In at least one embodiment of the invention, the processor 130 can send an instruction to the user via an output device 140 (e.g., monitor, display, and/or speaker), where the instruction instructing the user to reposition the user's head… For example, the instruction instructs the user to reposition his head to the left and the processor 110 compares the feature points on the additional image to the feature points on the first image to determine whether the user repositioned his head to the left.”).
Conclusion
/DAVID ALEXANDER WAMBST/Examiner, Art Unit 2663
/SEAN M CONNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2663