CTFR 18/479,222 CTFR 79268 DETAILED ACTION This action is in response to the amendment filed on 3/26/2026. 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement filed 2/11/2026 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.98(a)(4) because it lacks the appropriate size fee assertion. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-36 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(d): (d) REFERENCE IN DEPENDENT FORMS.—Subject to subsection (e), a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, fourth paragraph: Subject to the following paragraph [i.e., the fifth paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112], a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. 07-36-01 AIA Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. New claim 27 recites the limitation “wherein in the heating step, an adhesive that bonds the first component and the third component is not plasticized”. However, new claim 26 from which claim 27 depends also recites the limitation “wherein in the heating step, an adhesive that bonds the first component and the third component is not plasticized” . Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-21-aia AIA Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0289853) in view of Hellekson et al. (U.S. Patent 6,460,966) . Regarding claim 22, Chen (Figures 2, 4, 6, 8A, and 8B and Abstract and Paragraphs 0008, 0031, and 0036) discloses a method of manufacturing a liquid ejecting head (ink jet print head) including a first component (manifold 12) and a second component (considered at least rectangular plate 27/26 comprising nozzles 28 of die 10), the method comprising: (recycling the manifold when the die wears out including) a heating step of heating an adhesive (cured epoxy 48 and 50) that bonds and cures the first component and the second component to plasticize (at least by softening) the adhesive; a disassembling step of releasing a bonding state between the first component and the second component by the heating step (and removing the rectangular plate from the manifold); and a replacing step of replacing at least one of the first component and the second component with a new product after the disassembling step (recycling the manifold by assembling into another print head by reusing the manifold and considered necessarily replacing at least the rectangular plate of the die with a new rectangular plate after the disassembling step or if somehow not necessarily considered replacing at least the rectangular plate of the die with a new rectangular plate after the disassembling step wherein it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the method taught by Chen comprises a replacing step of replacing the second component with a new product after the disassembling step by replacing the worn out rectangular plate of the die with a new rectangular plate after the disassembling step as the method is performed when the die wears out to facilitate recycling of the manifold by reusing the manifold and assembling into another print head as expressly directed to by Chen, see abstract and paragraphs 0008, 0031, and 0036). As to the limitation in claim 22 of “in the heating step, the adhesive is plasticized by heat generated by a heating element by supplying power to the heating element built into the liquid ejecting head, and the disassembling step is performed while power is being supplied to the heating element”, Chen teaches in the heating step, the adhesive is plasticized by heat generated by localized radiant heat conducted to the adhesive through the die and an interposer member. Chen does not expressly teach the adhesive is plasticized by heat generated by a heating element by supplying power to the heating element built into the liquid ejecting head. Chen does not expressly teach how the adhesive is heated for bonding the first component and the second component during assembling. It is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art for similarly localized heating of adhesive (for cure or reflow of the adhesive ) between a printhead (210) and a substate (224) is by a microheater (212) interposed therebetween (such as formed on the printhead or substrate) and thus built into the liquid ejecting head for generating localized heat by supplying power to the microheater through an end portion of a relay wiring (conductor 216 and switching device 219) exposed to an outside of the liquid ejecting head and electrically coupled to the microheater as taught by Hellekson (Figures 2 and 4-6 and Column 1, lines 5-8 and Column 2, lines 45-67 and Column 4, line 32 to Column 5, line 40 and Column 5, line 61 to Column 6, line 55). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in the heating step taught by Chen the adhesive is plasticized by heat generated by a heating element (microheater provided between the manifold 12 and the interposer member 22 and between the interposer member 22 and rectangular plate 26/27 of the die 10 such as formed on the interposer member) by supplying power to the heating element built into the liquid ejecting head and the disassembling step is performed while power is being supplied to the heating element (to heat and plasticize the adhesive sufficient to thereby at least release the bonding state by the heating step in the disassembling step) not only as a simple substitution of one known method for localized heating for another during reflow/disassembling but to allow for curing the adhesive during assembling through localized heating as is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Hellekson . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim s 1-8, 10, 17, and 19-21 are allowed. 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 23-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claims 1-8, 10, 17, and 19, the prior art of record (see in particular pages 9-11 of the remarks filed on 3/26/2026) fails to teach or suggest a method of manufacturing a liquid ejecting head including a first component and a second component as claimed and including wherein in the heating step, the adhesive is heated at a temperature lower than a temperature at which an adhesive that bonds the new product is heated in the replacing step. Regarding claims 20 and 21, the prior art of record (see in particular pages 11-13 of the remarks filed on 3/26/2026) fails to teach or suggest a method of manufacturing a liquid ejecting head including a plurality of first components each having the same structure, and a second component to which the plurality of first components are commonly bonded and including the steps claimed. Regarding claims 23-25, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest a method of manufacturing a liquid ejecting head including a first component and a second component as claimed and including wherein the adhesive is a thermoplastic adhesive, and in the heating step, the thermoplastic adhesive is heated to melt the thermoplastic adhesive. Regarding claim 26, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest a method of manufacturing a liquid ejecting head including a first component and a second component as claimed and further including a third component wherein in the heating step, an adhesive that bonds the first component and the third component is not plasticized, and a first adhesive that bonds and cures the first component and the second component, and a second adhesive that bonds and cures the second component and the third component are plasticized, in the disassembling step, a bonding state between the second component, and the first component and the third component is released by the heating step, and in the replacing step, the second component is replaced with a new product, wherein in the heating step, the first adhesive is plasticized by heat generated by a first heating element by supplying power to the first heating element built into the liquid ejecting head, and the second adhesive is plasticized by heat generated by a second heating element by supplying power to the second heating element built into the liquid ejecting head, and in the heating step, the first heating element and the second heating element are supplied with power at the same time . Response to Arguments Applicant's arguments filed 3/26/2026 have been fully considered. In view of the amendments and remarks filed on 3/26/2026 the rejections of claims 1-8, 10, 17, and 19 as set forth in the Office action mailed on 12/29/2025 are withdrawn. Applicant argues, “ Hellekson teaches, arguendo , microheaters for assembly/curing of adhesive interfaces but does not teach using such heaters for disassembly, and it does not teach, suggest, or reasonably disclose “the disassembling step is performed while power is being supplied to the heating element.” This argument is not persuasive wherein Hellekson teaches localized heating of the adhesive with microheaters (i.e. while power is being supplied to the heating element) for curing or reflowing the adhesive (Column 2, lines 52-59) wherein localized heating for softening and sufficient for at least releasing the bonding state by the heating step in the disassembling step as taught by Chen is a reflowing of the cured adhesive. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN L GOFF II whose telephone number is (571)272-1216 . The examiner can normally be reached 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM EST Monday - Friday. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michael Orlando can be reached at 571-270-5038. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JOHN L GOFF II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746 Application/Control Number: 18/479,222 Page 2 Art Unit: 1746 Application/Control Number: 18/479,222 Page 4 Art Unit: 1746 Application/Control Number: 18/479,222 Page 5 Art Unit: 1746 Application/Control Number: 18/479,222 Page 6 Art Unit: 1746 Application/Control Number: 18/479,222 Page 7 Art Unit: 1746 Application/Control Number: 18/479,222 Page 8 Art Unit: 1746