DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 23 February 2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itagaki (JP 2-71984) in view of Frey et al. (US 2021/0213629) (“Frey”). It is noted that the items in parentheses have no patentable weight.
Itagaki discloses:
Claim 1: a coupling device having a coupling section (structure implied by “Furthermore, rotation on which the hand 17 is attached to the lower end portion of the internal submission aviation shaft 14” (English translation)) for coupling an end effector (17) to the manipulator (7/etc.), wherein the manipulator comprises a spindle drive (8/10/13/14/22) for driving a translational and rotational movement of the coupling device and the end effector coupled thereto with respect to a Z axis (up/down axis allows for translational movement; at least 9/16/etc. allows for rotational movement), the spindle drive comprises a spindle (14) extending along the Z axis, the coupling section is adjustable relative to the spindle with respect to at least one degree of freedom, a drive device (18/20/20a) is provided for driving a positioning movement of the coupling section with respect to the at least one degree of freedom, the drive device comprises a drive unit (20) and a force transmission device (18/20a) for transmitting a driving movement of the drive unit to the coupling section, the coupling device is arranged at a first end (end) of the spindle (14), and the drive unit (20) is arranged at a second end (other end) of the spindle;
Claim 2: wherein the spindle is designed as a hollow spindle (hollow space within 14 in figure 1) with an inner hollow space, wherein the force transmission device is guided at least in sections through the hollow space;
Claim 3: wherein the force transmission device comprises at least one force transmission element (20/20a), which is arranged at least in the sections in the hollow space of the hollow spindle (figure 1), and which either can be displaced in the hollow space along the Z axis or can be rotated about the Z axis (at least “18 is inserted and supported through one bush, and in this case, the spline teeth 1.9 a formed on one bush is engaged with the spline groove 18 a formed on the outer peripheral surface of the rotary shaft 18 , So that the rotating shaft 18 rotates together with the internal submitted airborne shaft 14 with respect to rotation and is independently moved with respect to vertical movement. The upper end portion of the rotating shaft 18 is connected to a rod 20a of a pneumatic cylinder 20 mounted on the casing 15, and is vertically moved by the rod 20a. The rotating shaft 18 is detachably connected to the driven pulley 10 by a clutch device 21. This clutch device 21 is composed of a clutch plate 22 and an electromagnet 23. Of these, the clutch plate 22 is made of a magnetic material such as an iron shrine, and is fitted and supported on the above-mentioned internally grounding shaft 14. In this case, by engaging the spline ff 122 a formed on the clutch plate 22 against the spline grooves 14 a formed on the outer circumferential surface of the submitted submission shaft 14, the clutch plate 22 rotates via the rotation, It rotates integrally, and it moves solely with respect to vertical movement.” (English translation));
Claim 4: wherein the at least one force transmission element comprises a push rod (20a), a Bowden cable, a rack, or a spindle;
Claims 9 and 16: wherein the coupling device is coupled to the spindle in a rotationally fixed manner (at least when not rotating, only vertical movement);
Claims 10 and 17: wherein the drive unit is decoupled from a rotational movement of either the spindle and/or the at least one force transmission element about the Z axis, including via correspondingly designed pivot bearings (at least when not rotating, only vertical movement)
Itagaki does not directly show:
Claim 1: the coupling device is translationally and rotationally displaceable by the spindle with respect to the Z axis, and is pivotable relative to the spindle about a pivot axis, and
the drive unit is configured to drive a pivot movement of the coupling section about the pivot axis;
Claim 5: wherein the pivot axis runs orthogonally to the Z axis;
Claim 6: wherein the coupling device comprises a connection section and a pivot section, wherein the connection section is connected to the spindle, including in a rotationally fixed manner, wherein the pivot section is mounted on the connection section so as to be pivotable about the pivot axis, wherein the coupling section is arranged on the pivot section;
Claim 7: wherein the at least one force transmission element is mechanically coupled to the pivot section in such a way that a displacement movement of the at least one force transmission element along the Z axis leads to a pivot movement of the pivot section about the pivot axis;
Claims 8 and 15: wherein the drive unit is designed as a linear drive, including a pneumatic cylinder;
Claims 11 and 18: wherein the coupling section comprises a negative pressure outlet and/or a positive pressure outlet, including in the form of a fluid interface for connection to a corresponding fluid counter-interface of the end effector;
Claims 12 and 19: at least one fluid feedthrough for guiding fluid, including using a negative pressure or positive pressure, through the hollow spindle;
Claims 13 and 20: a detection device, which is designed to detect the position and location of an object to be gripped; and a control device, which is configured to control the manipulator and/or the drive device as a function of a position and/or location of an object detected by the detection device;
Claim 14: a suction gripping device, which is connected to the manipulator via the coupling section.
Frey shows a similar device having:
Claim 1: the coupling device is translationally and rotationally displaceable by the spindle with respect to the Z axis, and is pivotable relative to the spindle about a pivot axis, and
the drive unit is configured to drive a pivot movement of the coupling section about the pivot axis;
Claim 5: wherein the pivot axis runs orthogonally to the Z axis;
Claim 6: wherein the coupling device comprises a connection section and a pivot section, wherein the connection section is connected to the spindle, including in a rotationally fixed manner, wherein the pivot section is mounted on the connection section so as to be pivotable about the pivot axis, wherein the coupling section is arranged on the pivot section;
Claim 7: wherein the at least one force transmission element is mechanically coupled to the pivot section in such a way that a displacement movement of the at least one force transmission element along the Z axis leads to a pivot movement of the pivot section about the pivot axis;
Claims 8 and 15: wherein the drive unit is designed as a linear drive, including a pneumatic cylinder;
Claims 11 and 18: wherein the coupling section comprises a negative pressure outlet and/or a positive pressure outlet, including in the form of a fluid interface for connection to a corresponding fluid counter-interface of the end effector;
Claims 12 and 19: at least one fluid feedthrough for guiding fluid, including using a negative pressure or positive pressure, through the hollow spindle;
Claims 13 and 20: a detection device, which is designed to detect the position and location of an object to be gripped; and a control device, which is configured to control the manipulator and/or the drive device as a function of a position and/or location of an object detected by the detection device;
Claim 14: a suction gripping device, which is connected to the manipulator via the coupling section;
(See para. [0016], Fig. 1-5 for claims above except Claims 13 and 20; for Claims 13 and 20, see para. [0081], 190, and Fig. 1; robot implies a control device.);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of making the handling of objects flexible and as trouble-free as possible (para. [0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Itagaki as taught by Frey and include Frey’s similar device having:
Claim 1: the coupling device is translationally and rotationally displaceable by the spindle with respect to the Z axis, and is pivotable relative to the spindle about a pivot axis, and
the drive unit is configured to drive a pivot movement of the coupling section about the pivot axis;
Claim 5: wherein the pivot axis runs orthogonally to the Z axis;
Claim 6: wherein the coupling device comprises a connection section and a pivot section, wherein the connection section is connected to the spindle, including in a rotationally fixed manner, wherein the pivot section is mounted on the connection section so as to be pivotable about the pivot axis, wherein the coupling section is arranged on the pivot section;
Claim 7: wherein the at least one force transmission element is mechanically coupled to the pivot section in such a way that a displacement movement of the at least one force transmission element along the Z axis leads to a pivot movement of the pivot section about the pivot axis;
Claims 8 and 15: wherein the drive unit is designed as a linear drive, including a pneumatic cylinder;
Claims 11 and 18: wherein the coupling section comprises a negative pressure outlet and/or a positive pressure outlet, including in the form of a fluid interface for connection to a corresponding fluid counter-interface of the end effector;
Claims 12 and 19: at least one fluid feedthrough for guiding fluid, including using a negative pressure or positive pressure, through the hollow spindle;
Claims 13 and 20: a detection device, which is designed to detect the position and location of an object to be gripped; and a control device, which is configured to control the manipulator and/or the drive device as a function of a position and/or location of an object detected by the detection device;
Claim 14: a suction gripping device, which is connected to the manipulator via the coupling section;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of making the handling of objects flexible and as trouble-free as possible.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive except for the spec. objections which are fully withdrawn due to spec. amendments.
It is noted that color highlighting is not visible in the Patent Center or in the systems used to examine the application.
Re. “This arrangement [in Itagaki] presupposes and requires a strict separation of rotational and translational movements,” rotating the end effector via a pivot axis that runs orthogonally to the Z-axis thereto is compatible with the rotational and translational movements of Grey. Both Itagaki and Frey have a hollow cylindrical/housing/casing structure in which multiple components are arranged for rotational and translational movements of the end effector.
In response to applicant's argument that Itagaki does not disclose, teach, or suggest a handling device that is displaceable translationally and rotationally with respect to the Z-axis, and Frey does not disclose, teach or suggest how the drive device 18/20/20a of Itagaki could be modified so as to produce a pivoting movement of the end effector 17 while simultaneously retaining its function of generating an axial movement, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). The cited section of Frey has to do with the end of the structure holding the end effector pivoting or rotationally displacing about a pivot axis that runs orthogonally to the Z-axis thereto. This pivoting structure of Frey is technically compatible and would lead to a working device in combination with Itagaki.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Gerald McClain/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652