DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-7, 9-18, and 20 are rejected.
Claims 8, 19 are objected to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kringe (US Pub. No.: 2025/0287871 A1: hereinafter “Kringe”).
Consider claims 1, 17:
Kringe teaches a method of operating a grain harvesting machine (Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, “…Various modifications to the embodiments and to the general principles and features of the grain loss detector, systems and methods described herein will be apparent to those of skill in the art…”), a grain harvesting machine (See Kringe, e.g., “…A grain loss detector disposed on a combine harvester to detect grain loss within crop material being discharged by a separating or cleaning stage component of combine harvester while harvesting a crop…sensor generating sensor data output…receives the sensor data output for processing via software which compares the sensor data output against crop data characteristics to identify any grain kernels from among material other than grain…a camera and the generated sensor data output is a digital image frame capturing the grain kernels and material other than grain passing the camera…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0045]-¶ [0067], ¶ [0069]-¶ [0079], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0091]-¶ [0098], ¶ [0100]-¶ [0116], and Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, Fig. 14A-20 elements 60-134, and Fig. 21 elements 100-220) for harvesting a crop material and separating the crop material into grain and material other than grain (MOG) (See Kringe, e.g., “…a grain loss detector 100 disposed to receive crop material falling through the slots 48 of the separator concaves 42B at the end of the separating zone 52…Corrective action for upper sieve losses may include adjusting the louver positions of the upper sieve 66 to allow the separated grain materials to pass through the openings between the louvers more easily…upper sieve losses may be indicative of the upper sieve being clogged with chaff or other debris preventing the separated grain kernels from falling through the openings between the louvers of the upper sieve…the oscillating action of the upper sieve 66 may need to be adjusted so it is more aggressive or less aggressive…the air stream velocity or air stream volume may be excessive resulting in grain kernels and tailings being blown rearward before they are able to pass through the openings between the louvers…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0045]-¶ [0067], ¶ [0069]-¶ [0079], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0091]-¶ [0098], ¶ [0100]-¶ [0116], and Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, Fig. 14A-20 elements 60-134, and Fig. 21 elements 100-220), comprising: a grain thresher configured to separate grain from MOG (See Kringe, e.g., “…the internal components of the combine 10 which perform the threshing, separating and cleaning processes are hereinafter described in connection with each of the examples of different styles or types combines… threshing concaves 42A are disposed along a first length of the rotor 40 defining the threshing zone 50. Separating concaves 42B are disposed along a second length of the rotor 40 defining a separating zone 52…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0045]-¶ [0067], ¶ [0069]-¶ [0079], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0091]-¶ [0098], ¶ [0100]-¶ [0116], and Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, Fig. 14A-20 elements 60-134, and Fig. 21 elements 100-220); a chaffer and sieve system located below the grain thresher (See Kringe, e.g., “…The upper sieve or chaffer 66 includes a series of louvers which can be adjustably positioned by an actuator to open and close. The smaller, heavier separated grain kernels pass through openings between the louvers by gravity, but ideally the louvers prevent the larger pieces of chaff and tailings from passing through the openings between the louvers. Ideally, most of the smaller, lighter chaff on the upper sieve 66 is blown rearwardly by the air streams 3 passing over the upper sieve and upward through the openings between the louvers which carry the lighter chaff to the discharge opening 58…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0045]-¶ [0067], ¶ [0069]-¶ [0079], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0091]-¶ [0098], ¶ [0100]-¶ [0116], and Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, Fig. 14A-20 elements 60-134, and Fig. 21 elements 100-220); a blower fan configured to blow air across the chaffer and sieve system (See Kringe, e.g., “…Small fans (not shown) may also be mounted to the collector 102 to blow an airstream into the channel 108 or the fans may be located at or near the inlet end 104 of the collector to eliminate or reduce the dust, debris and fine short straw within the channel 108 for obtaining better digital image fames without obstruction by dust, debris or fine straw. The fans may be in signal communication with the computing device 210. The software 220 may be programmed to turn the fans on for a period of time before the digital images are generated and programmed to turn off after a predetermined duration or the fans may be always on…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0045]-¶ [0067], ¶ [0069]-¶ [0079], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0091]-¶ [0098], ¶ [0100]-¶ [0116], and Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, Fig. 14A-20 elements 60-134, and Fig. 21 elements 100-220); at least one image capture sensor configured to capture images of a crop material flow in an image capture area of the grain harvesting machine (See Kringe, e.g., “…The camera or other sensor 110 is disposed within the collector 102 between the inlet and outlet ends 104, 106 and is in communication with the channel 108 such that the crop material entering the inlet end 104 will flow through the channel 108 past the camera or other sensor 110 before exiting the outlet end 106…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0045]-¶ [0067], ¶ [0069]-¶ [0079], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0091]-¶ [0098], ¶ [0100]-¶ [0116], and Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, Fig. 14A-20 elements 60-134, and Fig. 21 elements 100-220); and a controller (Fig. 21 elements 100-220, “…The software 220 may also interface with the combine's Controller Area Network bus (CAN bus) used to electronically control the operating parameters of the components of the threshing, separating and cleaning stages to make automatic adjustments to optimize the combines settings to minimize losses based on the data from the respective grain loss detectors 100 at the different locations 100-1, 100-2, 100-3, 100-4, 100-5 on the combine to optimize the combine's settings to minimize grain loss or excessive tailings entering the tailings chute 72…”) configured to: identify one or more elements of the crop material flow in the images as grain elements (See Kringe, e.g., “…The software 220 utilizes the operator inputs and draws upon crop characteristics of the crop being harvested from a crop characteristics database 216 to identify the presence of grain kernels among material other than grain (MOG) (i.e., chaff, dust, dirt, etc.) comprising the discharged crop material from the components of the separating and cleaning stages…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0045]-¶ [0067], ¶ [0069]-¶ [0079], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0091]-¶ [0098], ¶ [0100]-¶ [0116], and Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, Fig. 14A-20 elements 60-134, and Fig. 21 elements 100-220); determine a velocity of at least one of the grain elements (See Kringe, e.g., “…sensors in communication with the computing device 210 may be employed to measure the velocity of the crop material passing the sensor, or the software 220 may be programmed to calculate the speed of the crop material based on the time difference between sequential digital image frames 200 and the positional difference of the passing crop material within the sequential digital image frames 200…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0045]-¶ [0067], ¶ [0069]-¶ [0079], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0091]-¶ [0098], ¶ [0100]-¶ [0116], and Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, Fig. 14A-20 elements 60-134, and Fig. 21 elements 100-220); determine whether the at least one grain element is likely to be overblown out of the grain harvesting machine based at least in part on the velocity of the at least one grain element (See Kringe, e.g., “…the grain loss detector system 101 includes one or more grain loss detectors 100 disposed in any of the various locations 100-1 to 100-5 of the separating and cleaning stages of the combine as discussed above…upon detection of rotor loss or sieve loss or excessive separated grain kernels entering the tailings chute 72, the software 220 may be programmed to display a recommended corrective actions to be taken by the operator to optimize the combine's settings to minimize grain loss. The recommended corrective actions may be displayed on the combine's monitor display screen or a separate display screen in signal communication with the computing device 210…corrective measures that may be displayed may be those identified above under the discussion of the factors that may be attributable to rotor loss, sieve loss and excessive separated grain kernels entering the tailings chute…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0045]-¶ [0067], ¶ [0069]-¶ [0079], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0091]-¶ [0098], ¶ [0100]-¶ [0116], and Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, Fig. 14A-20 elements 60-134, and Fig. 21 elements 100-220); and control at least one operating parameter of the grain harvesting machine based at least in part on the determination of whether the at least one grain element is likely to be overblown (See Kringe, e.g., “…The software 220 may also be programmed to display recommended corrective actions to optimize operating parameters of the components of the threshing, separating and cleaning stages…upon detection of rotor loss or sieve loss or excessive separated grain kernels entering the tailings chute 72, the software 220 may be programmed to display a recommended corrective actions to be taken by the operator to optimize the combine's settings to minimize grain loss. The recommended corrective actions may be displayed on the combine's monitor display screen or a separate display screen in signal communication with the computing device 210. Examples of the types of corrective measures that may be displayed may be those identified above under the discussion of the factors that may be attributable to rotor loss, sieve loss and excessive separated grain kernels entering the tailings chute…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0045]-¶ [0067], ¶ [0069]-¶ [0079], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0091]-¶ [0098], ¶ [0100]-¶ [0116], and Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, Fig. 14A-20 elements 60-134, and Fig. 21 elements 100-220).
Consider claims 2, 18:
Kringe teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 1, 17. In addition, Kringe teaches further comprising: determining an air velocity in the image capture area (See Kringe, e.g., “…sensors in communication with the computing device 210 may be employed to measure the velocity of the crop material passing the sensor, or the software 220 may be programmed to calculate the speed of the crop material based on the time difference between sequential digital image frames 200 and the positional difference of the passing crop material within the sequential digital image frames 200…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0045]-¶ [0067], ¶ [0069]-¶ [0079], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0091]-¶ [0098], ¶ [0100]-¶ [0116], and Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, Fig. 14A-20 elements 60-134, and Fig. 21 elements 100-220); comparing the velocity of the grain element to the air velocity (See Kringe, e.g., “…The measurement or detection of the velocity of the passing crop material may aid in the detection of grain kernels. For example, lighter chaff having a greater surface area may have a higher velocity than the heavier, smaller grain kernels. This difference in velocity may aid in differentiating between the slower moving grain kernels and the faster moving MOG…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0045]-¶ [0067], ¶ [0069]-¶ [0079], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0091]-¶ [0098], ¶ [0100]-¶ [0116], and Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, Fig. 14A-20 elements 60-134, and Fig. 21 elements 100-220); and wherein the determining whether the grain element is likely to be overblown out of the grain harvesting machine is based at least in part on the comparing of the velocity of the grain element to the air velocity (See Kringe, e.g., “…sensors in communication with the computing device 210 may be employed to measure the velocity of the crop material passing the sensor, or the software 220 may be programmed to calculate the speed of the crop material based on the time difference between sequential digital image frames 200 and the positional difference of the passing crop material within the sequential digital image frames 200…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0045]-¶ [0067], ¶ [0069]-¶ [0079], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0091]-¶ [0098], ¶ [0100]-¶ [0116], and Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, Fig. 14A-20 elements 60-134, and Fig. 21 elements 100-220).
Consider claim 3:
Kringe teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 2. In addition, Kringe teaches wherein: the determining whether the grain element is likely to be overblown out of the grain harvesting machine (See Kringe, e.g., “…The measurement or detection of the velocity of the passing crop material may aid in the detection of grain kernels. For example, lighter chaff having a greater surface area may have a higher velocity than the heavier, smaller grain kernels. This difference in velocity may aid in differentiating between the slower moving grain kernels and the faster moving MOG…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0045]-¶ [0067], ¶ [0069]-¶ [0079], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0091]-¶ [0098], ¶ [0100]-¶ [0116], and Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, Fig. 14A-20 elements 60-134, and Fig. 21 elements 100-220) includes determining that the grain element is likely to be overblown if the velocity of the grain element exceeds 50% of the air velocity (See Kringe, e.g., “…the software is further configured to display recommended corrective actions to optimize operating parameters of at least one of the threshing stage components, separating stage components or cleaning stage components if the grain loss amount exceeds a preselected threshold…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0045]-¶ [0067], ¶ [0069]-¶ [0079], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0091]-¶ [0098], ¶ [0100]-¶ [0116], and Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, Fig. 14A-20 elements 60-134, and Fig. 21 elements 100-220).
Consider claim 4:
Kringe teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 2. In addition, Kringe teaches wherein: the determining of the air velocity in the image capture area is based at least in part on a fan speed (See Kringe, e.g., “…the air stream velocity or air stream volume may be excessive resulting in grain kernels and tailings being blown rearward before they are able to pass through the openings between the louvers…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0045]-¶ [0067], ¶ [0069]-¶ [0079], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0091]-¶ [0098], ¶ [0100]-¶ [0116], and Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, Fig. 14A-20 elements 60-134, and Fig. 21 elements 100-220).
Consider claims 5, 20:
Kringe teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 2, 17. In addition, Kringe teaches wherein: the determining of the air velocity in the image capture area is based at least in part on a measured air speed detected by an air speed sensor (See Kringe, e.g., “…the air stream velocity or air stream volume may be excessive resulting in grain kernels and tailings being blown rearward before they are able to pass through the openings between the louvers…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0045]-¶ [0067], ¶ [0069]-¶ [0079], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0091]-¶ [0098], ¶ [0100]-¶ [0116], and Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, Fig. 14A-20 elements 60-134, and Fig. 21 elements 100-220).
Consider claim 6:
Kringe teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Kringe teaches wherein: the determining whether the grain element is likely to be overblown out of the grain harvesting machine (See Kringe, e.g., “…The measurement or detection of the velocity of the passing crop material may aid in the detection of grain kernels. For example, lighter chaff having a greater surface area may have a higher velocity than the heavier, smaller grain kernels. This difference in velocity may aid in differentiating between the slower moving grain kernels and the faster moving MOG…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0045]-¶ [0067], ¶ [0069]-¶ [0079], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0091]-¶ [0098], ¶ [0100]-¶ [0116], and Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, Fig. 14A-20 elements 60-134, and Fig. 21 elements 100-220) is also based at least in part on a location of the grain element within the grain harvesting machine (See Kringe, e.g., “…identify certain locations where crop material may be collected and analyzed by a grain loss detector 100 to determine if grain kernels are present, which would be indicative of grain loss occurring. These locations are designated schematically in FIGS. 4, 5 and 6 by boxes labeled 100-1 through 100-5…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0045]-¶ [0067], ¶ [0069]-¶ [0079], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0091]-¶ [0098], ¶ [0100]-¶ [0116], and Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, Fig. 14A-20 elements 60-134, and Fig. 21 elements 100-220).
Consider claim 7:
Kringe teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 6. In addition, Kringe teaches wherein: the determining whether the grain element is likely to be overblown out of the grain harvesting machine (See Kringe, e.g., “…The measurement or detection of the velocity of the passing crop material may aid in the detection of grain kernels. For example, lighter chaff having a greater surface area may have a higher velocity than the heavier, smaller grain kernels. This difference in velocity may aid in differentiating between the slower moving grain kernels and the faster moving MOG…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0045]-¶ [0067], ¶ [0069]-¶ [0079], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0091]-¶ [0098], ¶ [0100]-¶ [0116], and Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, Fig. 14A-20 elements 60-134, and Fig. 21 elements 100-220) includes assigning an increasing probability of being overblown based on an increasing closeness the grain element to a chaff outlet of a chaffer and sieve system of the grain harvesting machine (See Kringe, e.g., “…The software 220 may also correlate the grain loss amount in terms of economic loss…generate such data, the software 220 may interface with the combine's yield monitor data to determine the bushels per acre being harvested which can then be correlated with the grain loss amount to arrive at a percentage loss per acre from which the economic loss in dollars per acre can be calculated. To generate the dollars lost per acre, the operator may input a current price of the crop being harvested or a preset or assumed price for the crop being harvested may be used as a default based on historical averages.…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0045]-¶ [0067], ¶ [0069]-¶ [0079], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0091]-¶ [0098], ¶ [0100]-¶ [0116], and Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, Fig. 14A-20 elements 60-134, and Fig. 21 elements 100-220).
Consider claim 9:
Kringe teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Kringe teaches wherein: capturing images is performed with an image capture sensor located at one or more locations on the grain harvesting machine (See Kringe, e.g., “…The camera or other sensor 110 is disposed within the collector 102 between the inlet and outlet ends 104, 106 and is in communication with the channel 108 such that the crop material entering the inlet end 104 will flow through the channel 108 past the camera or other sensor 110 before exiting the outlet end 106…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0045]-¶ [0067], ¶ [0069]-¶ [0079], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0091]-¶ [0098], ¶ [0100]-¶ [0116], and Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, Fig. 14A-20 elements 60-134, and Fig. 21 elements 100-220).
Consider claim 10:
Kringe teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 9. In addition, Kringe teaches wherein: the one or more locations includes an area above a chaffer and sieve system of the grain harvesting machine (See Kringe, e.g., “…The camera or other sensor 110 is disposed within the collector 102 between the inlet and outlet ends…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0045]-¶ [0067], ¶ [0069]-¶ [0079], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0091]-¶ [0098], ¶ [0100]-¶ [0116], and Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, Fig. 14A-20 elements 60-134, and Fig. 21 elements 100-220).
Consider claim 11:
Kringe teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Kringe teaches wherein: controlling a subsystem of the grain harvesting machine includes controlling a clearance opening size in a chaffer and/or a sieve of the grain harvesting machine (See Kringe, e.g., “…Corrective action for upper sieve losses may include adjusting the louver positions of the upper sieve 66 to allow the separated grain materials to pass through the openings between the louvers more easily. Additionally, or alternatively, upper sieve losses may be indicative of the upper sieve being clogged with chaff or other debris preventing the separated grain kernels from falling through the openings between the louvers of the upper sieve…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0045]-¶ [0067], ¶ [0069]-¶ [0079], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0091]-¶ [0098], ¶ [0100]-¶ [0116], and Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, Fig. 14A-20 elements 60-134, and Fig. 21 elements 100-220).
Consider claim 12:
Kringe teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Kringe teaches wherein: controlling a subsystem of the grain harvesting machine includes controlling a fan speed of a blower fan blowing air across a chaffer and sieve system of the grain harvesting machine (See Kringe, e.g., “…It should be appreciated that the louver positions of the pre-sieve 62, the upper sieve 66 and the lower sieve 68 are adjusted depending on various factors, including the crop being harvested, the crop conditions, weather conditions, the amount of tailings and chaff on the respective sieves 62, 66, 68, the air speed or air volume from the blower 65, and various other factors…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0045]-¶ [0067], ¶ [0069]-¶ [0079], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0091]-¶ [0098], ¶ [0100]-¶ [0116], and Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, Fig. 14A-20 elements 60-134, and Fig. 21 elements 100-220).
Consider claim 13:
Kringe teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Kringe teaches wherein: controlling a subsystem of the grain harvesting machine includes controlling a threshing speed of a thresher of the grain harvesting machine (See Kringe, e.g., “…rotor loss may be due to wear of the fingers or beaters on the rotor 40 requiring service to the rotor 40 or replacement of worn concaves 42A, 42B. Rotor loss may also be due to operator error requiring the operator to adjust speed or change other operating parameters…wherein the software is further configured to display recommended corrective actions to optimize operating parameters of at least one of the threshing stage components, separating stage components or cleaning stage components if the grain loss amount exceeds a preselected threshold…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0045]-¶ [0067], ¶ [0069]-¶ [0079], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0091]-¶ [0098], ¶ [0100]-¶ [0116], and Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, Fig. 14A-20 elements 60-134, and Fig. 21 elements 100-220).
Consider claim 14:
Kringe teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Kringe teaches wherein: controlling a subsystem of the grain harvesting machine includes controlling a thresher clearance of a thresher of the grain harvesting machine (See Kringe, e.g., “…wherein the software is further configured to display recommended corrective actions to optimize operating parameters of at least one of the threshing stage components, separating stage components or cleaning stage components if the grain loss amount exceeds a preselected threshold…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0045]-¶ [0067], ¶ [0069]-¶ [0079], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0091]-¶ [0098], ¶ [0100]-¶ [0116], and Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, Fig. 14A-20 elements 60-134, and Fig. 21 elements 100-220).
Consider claim 15:
Kringe teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Kringe teaches further comprising: displaying overblown grain loss information to an operator of the grain harvesting vehicle (See Kringe, e.g., “…upon detection of rotor loss or sieve loss or excessive separated grain kernels entering the tailings chute 72, the software 220 may be programmed to display a recommended corrective actions to be taken by the operator to optimize the combine's settings to minimize grain loss. The recommended corrective actions may be displayed on the combine's monitor display screen or a separate display screen in signal communication with the computing device 210. Examples of the types of corrective measures that may be displayed may be those identified above under the discussion of the factors that may be attributable to rotor loss, sieve loss and excessive separated grain kernels entering the tailings chute…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0045]-¶ [0067], ¶ [0069]-¶ [0079], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0091]-¶ [0098], ¶ [0100]-¶ [0116], and Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, Fig. 14A-20 elements 60-134, and Fig. 21 elements 100-220).
Consider claim 16:
Kringe teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Kringe wherein: determining the velocity of the grain element includes identifying relative movement of the grain element between a timed sequential set of images (See Kringe, e.g., “…sensors in communication with the computing device 210 may be employed to measure the velocity of the crop material passing the sensor, or the software 220 may be programmed to calculate the speed of the crop material based on the time difference between sequential digital image frames 200 and the positional difference of the passing crop material within the sequential digital image frames 200…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0045]-¶ [0067], ¶ [0069]-¶ [0079], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0091]-¶ [0098], ¶ [0100]-¶ [0116], and Figs. 1-6, 10-11 elements 10-110, Fig. 14A-20 elements 60-134, and Fig. 21 elements 100-220).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Further, the prior art on record fails to teach or suggest, either in singularity or in combination, the claimed subject matter of claims 8, 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Maney et al. (US Pub. No.: 2024/0130281 A1) teaches “A grain loss sensing system for a combine harvester. The grain loss sensing system employs at least one emitter and receiver on the combine harvester and uses what is received by the receiver to calculate grain loss. The system can be configured to use, for example, microwave, ultraviolet, x-ray and/or photographic technology. The results are used to differentiate between grain and MOG. The results are relayed to the operator so that the operator can make adjustments and/or the combine harvester host controller receives this information and responds by making adjustments automatically.”
Hermann (US Pub. No.: 2022/0354055 A1) teaches “A header for a harvesting machine which includes one or more crop-engaging components and a sensing unit positioned within a flowpath of material and downstream of at least one of the one or more crop-engaging components. The sensing unit is configured, in use, to measure an impact parameter indicative of a force and/or frequency of material incident on a detection surface of the sensing unit in order to determine a measure of grain loss associated with the header.”
/BABAR SARWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667