DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, lines 10-14, filed 01/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 13, 21 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lin et al. (US 2023/0028098 A1, hereinafter "Lin") in view of Farag (US 2025/0220705 A1, hereinafter "Farag").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 13-19, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2023/0028098 A1, hereinafter "Lin") in view of Farag (US 2025/0220705 A1, hereinafter "Farag" fully supported in provisional application 63/168839).
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches a method comprising:
determining, by a user equipment (UE), a candidate resource region for transmission of data (A transmitter user equipment (Tx-UE) identifies one (or more) time-portion region(s) of the Resource Selection Window (RSW); [0045]), the candidate resource region indicating candidate resource slots for the transmission of the data (Time-portion slots make up the Tx-UE identified time-portion region, with FIG. 3 visualizing how the time-portions are made up of slots; [0040]. These time-portion(s) are viewed as comparable to candidate resource regions, as both are subsets of slots in the RSW specifically for data transmission);
Lin does not explicitly teach monitoring, by the UE, sensing slots within a sensing window for partial sensing to determine available resources from the candidate resource region, wherein a first slot of the sensing slots is determined in accordance with a first slot of the candidate resource slots;
selecting, by the UE, a resource from the available resources; and
transmitting, by the UE, the data over the resource selected from the available resources.
In analogous art, Farag teaches monitoring, by the UE, sensing slots within a sensing window for partial sensing to determine available resources from the candidate resource region (partial sensing, including periodic-based partial sensing (PBPS) and contiguous partial sensing, where a UE may perform partial sensing over a short contiguous window or periodically within a resource selection window. During a selection procedure, a UE can monitor slots in a sensing window in order to identify and determine the candidate resources within a resource selection window [0086-0087, 0118]), wherein a first slot of the sensing slots is determined in accordance with a first slot of the candidate resource slots (The first sensing slot of the first sensing period is P1 (where P is a period, given in time) distance from the first candidate resource slot in the resource selection window [FIG. 7, 0127-0129]);
selecting, by the UE, a resource from the available resources (the UE selects a resource from the identified candidate resources [0086]); and
transmitting, by the UE, the data over the resource selected from the available resources (resources UE selects from identified candidate resources are used for transmission of data [0086]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a first slot of the sensing slots that is determined in accordance with a first slot of the candidate resource slots (as taught by Farag) following the UE determining a candidate resource region for transmission of data (as taught by Lin). One would have been motivated to do so in order to perform sidelink operations in a power efficient manner, determine resource allocation enhancements to reduce power consumption, and to enhance reliability and reduce latency (Farag, [0095-0097]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Lin and Farag, specifically Farag, teaches wherein the transmission of the data is a periodic transmission (the UE is configured to transmit periodic traffic (data) [0103]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the periodic traffic/data transmission (as taught by Farag) into the method for enabling and performing data transmission by the UE (as taught by the combination of Lin and Farag). One would have been motivated to do so in order to perform sidelink operations in a power efficient manner, determine resource allocation enhancements to reduce power consumption, and to enhance reliability and reduce latency (Farag, [0095-0097]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Lin and Farag, specifically Farag teaches wherein the first slot of the sensing slots is determined in accordance with a default number of slots and the first slot of the candidate resource slots, and wherein the first slot of the sensing slots is earlier than the first slot of the candidate resource slots by the default number of slots (in example 0.1.1.1.1, T0 corresponds to a duration of 31 logical slots before the resource selection window. The sensing window starts in slot t'SLn1 - 31, where t'SLn1 is the index of the first slot within the resource selection window [0137]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add determining the first slot of sensing slots (as taught by Farag) into the method for enabling and performing data transmission by the UE (as taught by the combination of Lin and Farag) in order to perform sidelink operations in a power efficient manner, determine resource allocation enhancements to reduce power consumption, and to enhance reliability and reduce latency (Farag; [0095-0097]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Lin and Farag, specifically Farag teaches wherein the default number of slots is 31 (in example 0.1.1.1.1, T0 corresponds to a duration of 31 logical slots before the start of the resource selection window. The sensing window starts in slot t'SLn1 - 31, where t'SLn1 is the index of the first slot within the resource selection window [0137]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add determining the first slot of sensing slots (as taught by Farag) into the method for enabling and performing data transmission by the UE (as taught by the combination of Lin and Farag) in order to perform sidelink operations in a power efficient manner, determine resource allocation enhancements to reduce power consumption, and to enhance reliability and reduce latency (Farag; [0095-0097]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Lin and Farag, specifically Farag teaches wherein the first slot of the sensing slots is earlier than the first slot of the candidate resource region by the default number (31) of slots (in example 0.1.1.1.1, T0 corresponds to a duration of 31 logical slots before the start of the resource selection window. The sensing window starts in slot t'SLn1 - 31, where t'SLn1 is the index of the first slot within the resource selection window [0137]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add determining the first slot of sensing slots (as taught by Farag) into the method for enabling and performing data transmission by the UE (as taught by the combination of Lin and Farag) in order to perform sidelink operations in a power efficient manner, determine resource allocation enhancements to reduce power consumption, and to enhance reliability and reduce latency (Farag; [0095-0097]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Lin and Farag, specifically Farag, teaches wherein the transmission of the data is an aperiodic transmission (Ue is configured to transmit aperiodic traffic [0103]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the aperiodic traffic/data transmission (as taught by Farag) into the method for enabling and performing data transmission by the UE (as taught by the combination of Lin and Farag). One would have been motivated to do so in order to perform sidelink operations in a power efficient manner, determine resource allocation enhancements to reduce power consumption, and to enhance reliability and reduce latency (Farag, [0095-0097]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Lin and Farag, specifically Farag teaches wherein the first slot of the sensing slots is further determined in accordance with a minimum number of sensing slots, the minimum number of sensing slots being a default value (Tsen is the size of sensing window and is defined by Tsen=max(Tb, Ta-Tproc,0-T-1), where Tb is a minimum sensing window time, either given in the system specification or can be configured in higher layers. The sensing window is [n+1, n+Tsen], where n+1 is the first slot of the window. In the case where Tb- is the maximum in definition of Tsen, the starting slot will be dependent on the minimum sensing window time [0380], which can be in terms of slots as a slot can be used as a time unit [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add determining the first slot of sensing slots (as taught by Farag) into the method for enabling and performing data transmission by the UE (as taught by the combination of Lin and Farag) in order to perform sidelink operations in a power efficient manner, determine resource allocation enhancements to reduce power consumption, and to enhance reliability and reduce latency (Farag; [0095-0097]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Lin and Farag, specifically Farag teaches wherein the first slot of the sensing slots is earlier than the first slot of the candidate resource slots by at least the minimum number of sensing slots (The first slot of the sensing slots is [n+T0] and first slot of candidate resource selection window [n+Tsen+Tproc,0+T1-]. [n+Tsen] is the end of the sensing window, where Tsen is the size of the sensing window and is defined by Tsen=max(Tb, Ta-Tproc,0-T-1). In the idealistic scenario that Tproc,0 and T1 were both 0 (which would mean no latency), there would still be a distance of Tsen between the first sensing slot and first candidate resource slot, the distance being the minimum value Tb. In nearly all examples utilizing FIG. 28, the first sensing slot would be earlier than the first slot of the candidate resource slots by more than the minimum number of sensing slots [0380]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add determining the first slot of sensing slots (as taught by Farag) into the method for enabling and performing data transmission by the UE (as taught by the combination of Lin and Farag) in order to perform sidelink operations in a power efficient manner, determine resource allocation enhancements to reduce power consumption, and to enhance reliability and reduce latency (Farag; [0095-0097]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Lin and Farag, specifically Farag teaches wherein the default value is 31 (Tsen is the size of sensing window and is defined by Tsen=max(Tb, Ta-Tproc,0-T-1), where Tb is a minimum sensing window time, either given in the system specification or can be configured in higher layers. The sensing window is [n+1, n+Tsen], where n+1 is the first slot of the window. In the case where Tb- is the maximum in definition of Tsen, the starting slot will be dependent on the minimum sensing window time [0380], which can be in terms of slots as a slot can be used as a time unit [0073]. In the example, Tsen is given as 31 slots, which means if Tb is the max value in the Tsen definition, TB=31; [0380]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add determining the first slot of sensing slots (as taught by Farag) into the method for enabling and performing data transmission by the UE (as taught by the combination of Lin and Farag) in order to perform sidelink operations in a power efficient manner, determine resource allocation enhancements to reduce power consumption, and to enhance reliability and reduce latency (Farag; [0095-0097]).
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1, including:
a non-transitory memory storage comprising instructions (The UE includes a memory [0006], later specified as a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium that stores instructions [0008]); and
one or more processors in communication with the non-transitory memory storage (The UE includes a processor coupled to the memory [0006]), the one or more processors executing the instructions to cause the UE to perform operations (A device includes a processor and a memory configured to store a computer program, with the processor configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory [0009]), as taught by Lin.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 13.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth for claim 6.
Regarding claim 21, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1, including a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by a user equipment (UE), cause the UE to perform operations (a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium has stored instructions that, when executed by a computer (such as a UE), cause the computer to perform methods/operations [0008]), as taught by Lin.
Claim(s) 5, 7, 17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin, in view of Farag, and in further view of Cheng et al (US 20230024809 A1, hereinafter "Cheng").
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Lin and Farag does not teach wherein the first slot of the sensing slots is further determined in accordance with a preconfigured number of slots, the preconfigured number of slots being smaller than the default number of slots.
In analogous art, Cheng teaches wherein the first slot of the sensing slots is further determined in accordance with a preconfigured number of slots, the preconfigured number of slots being smaller than the default number of slots ( the start slot of the sensing section A is located ahead of the first slot of the first candidate selection slot by W. However, the starting slot of the sensing section can be instead determined by W/2, a value smaller than the default value W [0100-0106, FIG 5, FIG 7]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the predetermined number of slots smaller than a default number of slots associated with determining the first sensing slot (as taught by Cheng) into the method for enabling and performing data transmission by the UE (as taught by the combination of Lin and Farag) in order to reduce power consumption of a communication device in device to device (D2D) communication and improve the reliability of communication (Cheng, [0085]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Lin and Farag does not teach wherein the first slot of the sensing slots is earlier than the first slot of the candidate resource slots by the preconfigured number of slots.
In analogous art, Cheng teaches wherein the first slot of the sensing slots is earlier than the first slot of the candidate resource slots by the preconfigured number of slots ( the start slot of the sensing section A is located ahead of the first slot of the first candidate selection slot by W. However, the starting slot of the sensing section can be instead determined by W/2, a value smaller than the default value W [0100-0106, FIG 5, FIG 7]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the predetermined number of slots smaller than a default number of slots associated with determining the first sensing slot (as taught by Cheng) into the method for enabling and performing data transmission by the UE (as taught by the combination of Lin and Farag) in order to reduce power consumption of a communication device in device to device (D2D) communication and improve the reliability of communication (Cheng, [0085]).
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 7.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin, in view of Farag, and in further view of Grieco (US 2022/0370210 A1) .
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Lin and Farag does not teach wherein the first slot of the sensing slots is earlier than the first slot of the candidate resource slots by at least a minimum number of sensing slots, the minimum number of sensing slots being a preconfigured value from a range of values.
In analogous art, Grieco teaches wherein the first slot of the sensing slots is earlier than the first slot of the candidate resource slots by at least a minimum number of sensing slots, the minimum number of sensing slots being a preconfigured value from a range of values (Figure 17 shows an example of partial sensing, where a partial sensing window in the regular sensing window corresponds with a set of slots at the start of the resource selection window. The length of the partial sensing window must be less than that of normal sensing window. The length of the partial sensing window is n-T3-Tproc,0, where length is the time that the window occurs (time can be in subframes or slots). T3 may be chosen by UE within a certain range. The first slot of the set of slots in the resource selection window is n+T1+Tproc,1. In the idealistic scenario that Tproc,0, Tproc,1, and T1 were all 0 (which would mean no latency), there would still be a distance of Tsen between the first sensing slot and first candidate resource slot. Generally, the distance between the first sensing slot and the first slot of the set in the sensing selection window will be greater than the minimum [0131-0132]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the range of values for the minimum number of sensing slots (as taught by Grieco) into the method for enabling and performing data transmission by the UE (as taught by the combination of Lin and Farag) in order to improve performance (particularly for sensing) and to enhance power saving (Grieco, [0122, 0125]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Farag et al (US 12096408 B2) discloses a Method and Apparatus for Low Power Sensing for Sidelink in Wireless Communication Systems.
Garcia et al (Garcia, Mario & Molina-Galan, Alejandro & Boban, Mate & Gozalvez, J. & Coll-Perales, Baldomero & Şahin, Taylan & Kousaridas, Apostolos. (2021)) discloses A Tutorial on 5G NR V2X Communications.
Lee et al (US 20220225408 A1) discloses a METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR SELECTING RESOURCES BASED ON PARTIAL SENSING IN NR V2X.
Ye et al (US 20220322359 A1) discloses Triggering And Signaling Of Inter-UE Coordination Message.
/A.R.W./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413