DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-10 and 12-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,771,488. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the U.S. Patent No. 11,771,488 anticipate the claims of the application. Accordingly, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the patent claims. Here, the more specific patent claims encompass the broader application claims. Following the rationale in In re Goodman cited in the preceding paragraph, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific narrow invention, applicant may not obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wittkampf et al (2012/0053581).
Referring to claim 15, Wittkampf et al teaches a method of body tissue ablation (paragraph 0002-0003), the method comprising: (a) defining an ultrahigh-power ultrashort-duration (UPUD) radiofrequency (RF) ablation protocol that specifies an ablation signal having (paragraphs 0030-0034, 0037 and 0071) (i) a target ablation power of at least 400 Watts per electrode and (ii) comprising setting a pulse duration for creating a specified lesion in tissue in a body of a patient, the tissue including cardiac tissue; (b) making contact between one or more electrodes of an ablation probe and the tissue; and (c) using the ablation probe, applying the ablation signal to the tissue according to the UPUD RF ablation protocol, which delivers the ablation signal having the specified target ablation power and duration (paragraphs 0030-0034, 0037 and 0071)
Referring to claim 16, Wittkampf et al teaches wherein the pulse duration does not to exceed a patient’s single heartbeat duration (paragraph 0037).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wittkampf et al (2012/0053581) in view of Panescu et al (2018/0289284).
Referring to claim 1, Wittkampf et al teaches a system for body tissue ablation, the system comprising: (a) an ablation probe with one or more electrodes configured to make contact with tissue (paragraphs 0059-0060 and 0066; Figures 1 and 2); (b) the system is configured to store values of an ultrahigh-power ultrashort-duration (UPUD) ablation protocol that specifies an ablation signal having (i) a target ablation power of at least 400 Watts per electrode and (ii) a pulse duration that does not exceed three seconds, for creating a specified lesion in tissue in a body of a patient; (c) an ultrahigh-power ultrashort-duration (UPUD) generator, which is configured to generate the ablation signal; and (d) controls the generator and the ablation probe to apply the ablation signal to the tissue according to the UPUD protocol, which delivers the ablation power having the specified target ablation power and duration (paragraphs 0030-0034, 0037 and 0071).
Wittkampf et al fails to expressly teach a memory and a processor. Panescu et al teaches an analogous system for body tissue ablation comprising a memory and a processor configured to control the generator and the ablation probe to apply the ablation signal to the tissue according to the UPUD protocol, which delivers the ablation power having the specified target ablation power and duration (paragraphs 0236 and 0307). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system, as taught by Wittkampf et al, to include a memory and a processor, as taught by Panescu et al, in order to perform operations and execute instructions (paragraph 0236).
Referring to claim 2, Wittkampf et al teaches wherein the pulse duration does not to exceed a patient’s single heartbeat duration (paragraph 0037).3. The system of claim 1, wherein the pulse duration includes: (a) a first pulse duration between 0.5 seconds and 0.7 seconds for low-depth lesion; and (b) a second pulse duration between 0.8 seconds and 0.9 seconds for medium-depth lesion.
Referring to claim 7, Wittkampf et al teaches that the patient’s single heartbeat duration is pre-measured (paragraph 0027).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wittkampf et al (2012/0053581) in view of Panescu et al (2018/0289284) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hoey et al (2014/0276713).
Referring to claims 4 and 5, Wittkampf et al fails to expressly teach resistive heating of tissue and avoiding conductive heating of tissue. However, Hoey et al teaches an analogous system of body tissue ablation comprising an ablation protocol of at least 400 watts wherein the ablation signal and the pulse duration are configured to generate resistive heating of tissue and avoid conductive heating of tissue (paragraph 0011). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wittkampf et al to generate resistive heating of tissue and avoid conductive heating of tissue, as taught by Hoey et al, because it is the use of known technique to improve similar methods in the same way (See MPEP 2143) to use various types of energy to achieve the desired result.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wittkampf et al (2012/0053581) in view of Panescu et al (2018/0289284) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Govari et al (2018/0263689).
Referring to claim 6, Wittkampf et al teaches a processor, however fails to teach that the processor is configured to control irrigation flow to tissue during ablation at a rate between 2 ml/min and 30 ml/min. Govari et al teaches an analogous system of body tissue ablation comprising a processor is configured to control irrigation flow to tissue during ablation at a rate between 2 ml/min and 30 ml/min (paragraph 0048). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processor, as taught by the modified Wittkampf reference, to control irrigation flow to tissue during ablation at a rate between 2 ml/min and 30 ml/min, as taught by Govari et al, in order to provide both an idle and high irrigation flow rate (paragraph 0048).
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wittkampf et al (2012/0053581) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Hoey et al (2014/0276713).
Referring to claims 18 and 19, Wittkampf et al fails to expressly teach resistive heating of tissue and avoiding conductive heating of tissue. However, Hoey et al teaches an analogous method of body tissue ablation comprising an ablation protocol of at least 400 watts wherein the ablation signal and the pulse duration are configured to generate resistive heating of tissue and avoid conductive heating of tissue (paragraph 0011). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wittkampf et al to generate resistive heating of tissue and avoid conductive heating of tissue, as taught by Hoey et al, because it is the use of known technique to improve similar methods in the same way (See MPEP 2143) to use various types of energy to achieve the desired result.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wittkampf et al (2012/0053581) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Govari et al (2018/0263689).
Referring to claim 20, Wittkampf et al teaches a processor, however fails to teach that the processor is configured to control irrigation flow to tissue during ablation at a rate between 2 ml/min and 30 ml/min. Govari et al teaches an analogous method of body tissue ablation comprising a processor is configured to control irrigation flow to tissue during ablation at a rate between 2 ml/min and 30 ml/min (paragraph 0048). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of the processor, as taught by Wittkampf et al, to control irrigation flow to tissue during ablation at a rate between 2 ml/min and 30 ml/min, as taught by Govari et al, in order to provide both an idle and high irrigation flow rate (paragraph 0048).
Conclusion
/SAMANTHA M GOOD/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/MICHAEL F PEFFLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794