Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation of claims 1 and 17 are persuasive, therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation of claims 1 and 17 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 4-11, and 14-21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US5148826 to Bakhshaei.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 9 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Automated Irrigation system using Thermoelectric Generator as Soil Moisture Detector” to Bathan et al. (hereinafter “Bathan”), in view of US20170318761 to Rainone et al. (hereinafter “Rainone”), in view of WO2012078024 to Jamil et al. (hereinafter “Jamil”), in view of US20180013048 to Insanic et al. (hereinafter “Insanic”), in view of US20190093543 to Dutta et al. (hereinafter “Dutta”), in view of US5148826 to Bakhshaei.
As per claim 1, Bathan substantially discloses a device for remotely and automatically operating a device of an irrigation system (Bathan, see Fig. 1, Fig. 2 and their corresponding paragraphs), the device comprising:
a thermoelectric generator (TEG) configured to generate a voltage (Bathan, see Fig. 1-Fig 3, their corresponding paragraphs and pages 5-6), using the thermoelectric generator (TEG) as moisture sensor (Bathan, see Fig. 2, its corresponding paragraphs, page 1, page 3 and pages 5-6),
a heat absorption unit in thermal communication with a first surface of the TEG, the heat absorption unit configured to release heat to the first surface of the TEG (Bathan, see Fig. 1, Fig 3 and their corresponding paragraphs, it is noted that the top portion (heat sink) of Fig. 3 can be interpreted as the heat absorption unit, because heat sink absorbs heat),
a heat sink in thermal communication with a second surface of the TEG, the heat sink configured to dissipate heat from the second surface of the TEG (Bathan, see Fig 3 and pages 3-5 for the heat exchangers in thermal communication with a second surface of the TEG, it is noted that the heat exchanger can be interpreted as heat sink because it transfer heat from hot side to a cold side (i.e. absorb heat and dissipate it)),
a control circuit in electrical communication with the TEG and configured to receive the voltage generated by the TEG, wherein the voltage generated by the TEG generates a control signal, wherein the TEG generates the voltage proportional to a temperature differential between the heat absorption unit and the heat sink and the control circuit generates a first command in response to the voltage at least meeting a threshold value (Bathan, see Fig. 2, its corresponding paragraphs, page 1, page 3 and pages 5-6);
a switch operably connected to the device and in electrical communication with the control circuit, the control circuit is configured to actuate the switch in response to the generated voltage at least meeting the threshold value based on the first command from the control circuit (Bathan, see Fig. 2, its corresponding paragraphs, page 1, page 3 and pages 5-6).
Bathan does not explicitly disclose the device being operated is a valve, valve switch.
However, Rainone in an analogous art discloses the device being operated is a valve (Rainone, see Fig. 1 elements 132.1-132.N and Fig. 3 element 350), valve switch (Rainone, see [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Rainone into the device of Bathan. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide optimum amount of water by controlling the valves of the irrigation system based on output of moisture sensor (Rainone, see [0101]).
The combination of Bathan and Rainone does not explicitly disclose a heat absorption unit is configured to concentrate heat to the TEG, wherein the voltage generated by the TEG configured to power the control circuit.
However, Jamil in an analogous art discloses a heat absorption unit is configured to concentrate heat to the TEG (Jamil, see Fig. 1 and its corresponding paragraphs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Jamil into the combination of Bathan and Rainone. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to preserve heat for an extended period of time (Jamil, see pages 2-3).
The combination of Bathan, Rainone, and Jamil does not explicitly disclose wherein the voltage generated by the TEG powers the control circuit.
However, Insanic in an analogous art discloses wherein the voltage generated by the TEG configured to power the control circuit (Insanic, see [0003]-[0005], [0048] and [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Insanic into the above combination of Bathan, Rainone and Jamil. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide a system that does not require batteries for power (Insanic, see [0003]).
The combination of Bathan, Rainone, Jamil and Insanic does not explicitly disclose wherein the voltage generated by the TEG powers the valve switch and the valve. However, Dutta in an analogous art discloses wherein the voltage generated by the TEG powers the valve switch and the valve (Dutta, see abstract and [0006]-[0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Dutta into the above combination of Bathan, Rainone, Jamil and Insanic. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to reduce demands on electrical systems by using TEG to power the switch and the valve (Dutta, see [0004] and [0006]-[0007]).
The combination of Bathan, Rainone, Jamil, Insanic and Dutta does not explicitly disclose using the voltage generated by the moisture sensor to generate a control signal for a valve switch, actuate the valve switch in response to the generated voltage at least meeting thee threshold value, the control circuit is configured to close the valve switch in response to the generated voltage dropping below the threshold value.
However, Bakhshaei in an analogous art discloses using the voltage generated by the moisture sensor to generate a control signal for a valve switch, actuate the valve switch in response to the generated voltage at least meeting thee threshold value, the control circuit is configured to close the valve switch in response to the generated voltage dropping below the threshold value (Bakhshaei, see abstract and col. 3 lines 6-38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching Bakhshaei of into the above combination of Bathan, Rainone, Jamil, Insanic and Dutta. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to accurately monitor the moisture content in the soil on a continuous basis and control the proper watering of the soil (Bakhshaei, see col. 2 lines 41-43).
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Rainone further discloses wherein the valve is fluidly connected to an irrigation sprinkler of the irrigation system (Rainone, see Fig. 3 and its corresponding paragraphs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Rainone into the device of Bathan. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide optimum amount of water by controlling the valves of the irrigation system based on output of moisture sensor (Rainone, see [0101]).
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Jamil further discloses the heat absorption unit is a lens configured to concentrate solar radiation on the first surface of the TEG (Jamil, see Fig. 1 and its corresponding paragraphs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Jamil into the combination of Bathan and Rainone. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to preserve heat for an extended period of time (Jamil, see pages 2-3).
As per claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Bathan further discloses the heat sink comprises an element configured to be inserted into soil the irrigation system is associated with (Bathan, see Fig 3 and page 3).
Insanic further discloses the heat sink comprises a rod (Insanic, see Fig. 1, Fig. 3A and their corresponding paragraphs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Insanic into the above combination of Bathan, Rainone and Jamil. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to achieved predicable result of inserting the heat sink into soil easily by using heat sinks shaped as a rod.
As per claim 21, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Bathan further discloses the first surface of the TEG is configured to a hot side of the TEG; and the second surface of the TEG is configured to a cold side of the TEG (Bathan, see page 3 and page 5).
Claim(s) 11 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bathan, in view of Rainone, in view of Insanic, in view of Dutta, in view of Bakhshaei.
As per claim 11, Bathan substantially discloses a method for controlling a device of an irrigation system (Bathan, see Fig. 1, Fig. 2 and its corresponding paragraphs), the method comprising:
arranging a thermoelectric generator (TEG) adjacent soil that is associated with a device, wherein the TEG is in thermal communication with a heat absorption unit (Bathan, see Fig. 1, Fig 3 and their corresponding paragraphs, it is noted that the top portion (heat sink) of Fig. 3 can be interpreted as the heat absorption unit, because heat sink absorbs heat),
inserting a heat sink into the soil, wherein the heat sink is in thermal communication with the TEG (Bathan, see page 3, Fig. 1, Fig 3 and their corresponding paragraphs);
electrically connecting the controller and a switch connected to the element, wherein the controller is in electrical communication with the TEG for receiving a voltage (Bathan, see Fig. 2, its corresponding paragraphs, and page 1);
exposing the TEG to a temperature differential defined between the heat absorption unit and the heat sink (Bathan, see Fig. 1, Fig 3 and their corresponding paragraphs);
generating, by the TEG, the voltage proportional to the temperature differential (Bathan, see Fig. 2, its corresponding paragraphs, page 1, page 3 and pages 5-6);
generating, by the controller, a first command in response to the voltage at least meeting a threshold value (Bathan, see Fig. 2, its corresponding paragraphs, page 1, page 3 and pages 5-6); and
controlling the element by operating the switch based on the first command from the controller (Bathan, see Fig. 2, its corresponding paragraphs, page 1, page 3 and pages 5-6).
Bathan does not explicitly discloses the device being operated is a valve, valve switch fluidly connected to the valve. However, Rainone in an analogous art discloses the device being operated is a valve (Rainone, see Fig. 1 elements 132.1-132.N and Fig. 3 element 350), valve switch fluidly connected to the valve (Rainone, see Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Rainone into the method of Bathan. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide optimum amount of water by controlling the valves of the irrigation system based on output of moisture sensor (Rainone, see [0101]).
The combination of Bathan and Rainone does not explicitly disclose wherein the voltage generated by the TEG is configured to power the controller.
However, Insanic in an analogous art discloses wherein the voltage generated by the TEG is configured to power the controller (Insanic, see [0003]-[0005], [0048] and [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Insanic into the above combination of Bathan and Rainone. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide a system that does not require batteries for power (Insanic, see [0003]).
The combination of Bathan, Rainone and Insanic does not explicitly disclose the valve switch and the valve are in electrical communication with the TEG, the voltage generated by the TEG is configured to power the valve switch and the valve.
However, Dutta in an analogous art discloses the valve switch and the valve are in electrical communication with the TEG, the voltage generated by the TEG is configured to power the valve switch and the valve (Dutta, see abstract and [0006]-[0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Dutta into the above combination of Bathan, Rainone, and Insanic. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to reduce demands on electrical systems by using TEG to power the switch and the valve (Dutta, see [0004] and [0006]-[0007]).
The combination of Bathan, Rainone, Insanic and Dutta does not explicitly disclose wherein the voltage generated by the moisture sensor generates a control signal for the valve switch, controlling the valve to open based on the first command that is generated in response to the voltage meeting a threshold value, and controlling the valve to close by operating the valve switch in response to the voltage dropping below the threshold value.
However, Bakhshaei in an analogous art discloses wherein the voltage generated by the moisture sensor generates a control signal for the valve switch, controlling the valve to open based on the first command that is generated in response to the voltage meeting a threshold value, and controlling the valve to close by operating the valve switch in response to the voltage dropping below the threshold value (Bakhshaei, see abstract and col. 3 lines 6-38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching Bakhshaei of into the above combination of Bathan, Rainone, Insanic and Dutta. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to accurately monitor the moisture content in the soil on a continuous basis and control the proper watering of the soil (Bakhshaei, see col. 2 lines 41-43).
As per claim 14, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated, Bathan further discloses the controller is positioned between the TEG and the device being controlled (Bathan, see Fig. 2 and its corresponding paragraphs). Rainone further discloses the device being operated is a valve switch (Rainone, see Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Rainone into the method of Bathan. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide optimum amount of water by controlling the valves of the irrigation system based on output of moisture sensor (Rainone, see [0101]).
As per claim 15, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated, Rainone further discloses wherein the valve is in fluid connection to an irrigation sprinkler of the irrigation system (Rainone, see Fig. 3 and its corresponding paragraphs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Rainone into the method of Bathan. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide optimum amount of water by controlling the valves of the irrigation system based on output of moisture sensor (Rainone, see [0101]).
As per claim 16, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated, Bathan further discloses thermoelectric device (TEG) operating as moisture sensors (Bathan, see pages 3-6). Rainone further discloses the controller is wirelessly connected to multiple sensors and generates a pulse for the valve switch based on the collective information received from multiple sensors (Rainone, see Fig. 1 and [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Rainone into the method of Bathan. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide optimum amount of water by controlling the valves of the irrigation system based on output of moisture sensor (Rainone, see [0101]).
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bathan, in view of Rainone, in view of Jamil, in view of Insanic, in view of Dutta, inv view of Bakhshaei, further in view of Autonomous soil moisture sensor based on nanostructured thermosensitive resistors powered by an integrated thermoelectric generator” to Dias et al. (hereinafter “Dias”).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, the combination of Bathan, Rainone, Jamil, Insanic, Dutta and Bakhshaei does not explicitly disclose wherein the TEG comprises at least one of N-type and P-type semiconductors.
However, Dias in an analogous art discloses wherein the TEG comprises at least one of N-type and P-type semiconductors (Dias, see Fig. 3 and its corresponding paragraphs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Dias into the above combination of Bathan, Rainone, Jamil, Insanic, Dutta and Bakhshaei. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to take daily measurements up to 5 days without harvesting energy (Dias, see abstract).
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated, Dias further discloses wherein the N-type and P-type semiconductors are connected in parallel (Dias, see Fig. 3 and its corresponding paragraphs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Dias into the above combination of Bathan, Rainone, Jamil, Insanic, Dutta and Bakhshaei. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to take daily measurements up to 5 days without harvesting energy (Dias, see abstract).
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bathan, in view of Rainone, in view of Jamil, in view of Insanic, in view of Dutta, in view of Bakhshaei, further in view of translation of TW201035505 to Liu.
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, the combination of Bathan, Rainone, Jamil, Insanic, Dutta and Bakhshaei does not explicitly disclose the heat absorption unit comprises a black hollow sphere fitted around the TEG and configured to absorb visible and non-visible light. However, Liu in an analogous art discloses the heat absorption unit comprises a black hollow sphere fitted around the TEG and configured to absorb visible and non-visible light (Liu, see Fig. 5, Fig. 57 and their corresponding paragraphs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Liu into the above combination of Bathan, Rainone, Jamil, Insanic, Dutta and Bakhshaei. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to improve the collection method by using a black hollow sphere fitted around the TEG (Liu, see pages 1-2).
As per claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, the combination of Bathan, Rainone, Jamil, Insanic, Dutta and Bakhshaei does not explicitly disclose a battery electrically connected to the TEG and configured to store electricity. However, Liu in an analogous art discloses a battery electrically connected to the TEG and configured to store electricity (Liu, see Fig. 1, Fig. 13 and their corresponding paragraphs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Liu into the above combination of Bathan, Rainone, Jamil, Insanic, Dutta and Bakhshaei. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to store electrical energy provided by the TEG to provide power (Liu, see Fig. 1, Fig. 13 and their corresponding paragraphs).
Claim(s) 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bathan, in view of Jamil, in view of Insanic, in view of Dutta, in view of Bakhshaei.
As per claim 17, Bathan discloses a method for measuring soil moisture of soil associated with an irrigation system (Bathan, see Fig. 2 and pages 4-6), the method comprising:
arranging a thermoelectric generator (TEG) adjacent the soil, wherein a first side of the TEG is in thermal communication with a heat absorption unit and a second side of the TEG is in thermal communication with a heat sink (Bathan, see Fig. 3 and page 3, it is noted that the top portion (heat sink) of Fig. 3 can be interpreted as the heat absorption unit, because heat sink absorbs heat, and the heat exchanger in Fig. 3 can be interpreted as the heat sink);
exposing the heat absorption unit, wherein the heat absorption unit is configured to release heat to the first side of the TEG (Bathan, see Fig. 1-Fig. 3 and their corresponding paragraphs);
inserting the heat sink into the soil, wherein the heat sink configured to dissipate heat away from the second side of the TEG (Bathan, see Fig. 1-Fig. 3 and their corresponding paragraphs);
exposing the TEG to a temperature differential defined between the heat sink and the heat absorption unit (Bathan, see Fig. 1, Fig 3 and their corresponding paragraphs);
generating, by the TEG, a voltage proportional to using the temperature differential (Bathan, see Fig. 2, its corresponding paragraphs, page 1, page 3 and pages 5-6);
powering a controller (Bathan, see Fig. 2, its corresponding paragraphs, and page 1), powering a valve switch and a valve of the irrigation system (Bathan, see Fig. 2, page 1, page 3 and pages 5-6), and
determining, by the controller, a moisture content of the soil using the generated voltage and an ambient temperature associated with the soil (Bathan, see Fig. 2, its corresponding paragraphs, page 1, pages 3-6).
Bathan does not explicitly disclose the heat absorption unit is configured to concentrate heat to the first side of the TEG. However, Jamil in an analogous art discloses the heat absorption unit is configured to concentrate heat to the first side of the TEG (Jamil, see Fig. 1 and its corresponding paragraphs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Jamil into the method of Bathan. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to preserve heat for an extended period of time (Jamil, see pages 2-3).
The combination of Bathan and Jamil does not explicitly disclose powering a controller using the generated voltage by the TEG, wherein the generated voltage powers the controller.
However, Insanic in an analogous art discloses powering a controller using the generated voltage by the TEG, wherein the generated voltage powers the controller (Insanic, see [0003]-[0005], [0048] and [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Insanic into the above combination of Bathan and Jamil. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide a system that does not require batteries for power (Insanic, see [0003]).
The combination of Bathan, Jamil and Insanic does not explicitly disclose powering a valve switch and a valve of the system using the generating voltage. However, Dutta in an analogous art discloses powering a valve switch and a valve of the system using the generating voltage (Dutta, see abstract and [0006]-[0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Dutta into the above combination of Bathan, Jamil and Insanic. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to reduce demands on electrical systems by using TEG to power the switch and the valve (Dutta, see [0004] and [0006]-[0007]).
The combination of Bathan, Jamil, Insanic and Dutta does not explicitly disclose wherein the generated voltage is used to generate a control signal for the valve switch, actuating the valve switch in response to the generated voltage at least meeting a threshold value and closing the valve switch in response to the generated voltage dropping below the threshold value.
However, Bakhshaei in an analogous art discloses wherein the generated voltage is used to generate a control signal for the valve switch, actuating the valve switch in response to the generated voltage at least meeting a threshold value and closing the valve switch in response to the generated voltage dropping below the threshold value (Bakhshaei, see abstract and col. 3 lines 6-38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching Bakhshaei of into the above combination of Bathan, Jamil, Insanic and Dutta. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to accurately monitor the moisture content in the soil on a continuous basis and control the proper watering of the soil (Bakhshaei, see col. 2 lines 41-43).
As per claim 20, the rejection of claim 17 is incorporated, Bathan further discloses the heat sink is arranged at least partially within the soil (Bathan, see Fig. 1 and page 3), and the TEG includes the heat absorption unit and the heat absorption unit is arranged opposite the heat sink (Bathan, see Fig. 1 and Fig. 3).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bathan, in view of Jamil, in view of Insanic, in view of Dutta, in view of Bakhshaei, in view of “Retrieving Soil Water Contents from Soil Temperature Measurements by Using Linear Regression” to Xu et al. (hereinafter “Xu”).
As per claim 18, the rejection of claim 17 is incorporated, Bathan further discloses the operation of determining comprises calibrating the voltage to the moisture content, wherein the moisture content is a function of the generated voltage and the ambient temperature (Bathan, see pages 4-6). Bathan further discloses the voltage being produced based on temperature values (Bathan, see pages 3-5).
The combination of Bathan, Jamil, Insanic, Dutta and Bakhshaei does not explicitly disclose calibrating the temperature values to moisture content using a linear regression.
However, Xu in an analogous art discloses calibrating the temperature values to moisture content using a linear or non-linear regression (Xu, see pages 849-850).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Xu into the combination of Bathan, Jamil, Insanic, Dutta and Bakhshaei. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to develop a simple linear regression method to retrieve soil water content from diurnal variation of soil temperatures (Xu, see page 849).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bathan, in view of Jamil, in view of Insanic, in view of Dutta, in view of Bakhshaei, in view of Rainone.
As per claim 19, the rejection of claim 17 is incorporated, Bathan further discloses transmitting a signal including information associated with the moisture content to a device (Bathan, see Fig. 2 and its corresponding paragraphs). The combination of Bathan, Jamil, Insanic, Dutta and Bakhshaei does not explicitly disclose transmitting signal to a remote device. However, Rainone in an analogous art discloses transmitting signal to a remote device (Rainone, see Fig. 1 and [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Rainone into the combination of Bathan, Jamil, Insanic, Dutta and Bakhshaei. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide optimum amount of water by controlling the valves of the irrigation system based on output of moisture sensor (Rainone, see [0101]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JASON LIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117