Response to Amendment
The amendment received 7/17/2026 (“Amendment”) has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes, claim 1 has been amended. Part of the newly added claimed language, “a cover plate sealingly joined to the side wall and sealingly closing the at least one side wall opening” has been given the following interpretation- The claimed opening is interpreted as an opening on the side wall, which is then closed off by a plate/wall to keep the battery cells secured in place.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US20020179552A1 (Marraffa).
Regarding claim 1, Marraffa teaches a battery rack and system [abs]; a battery pack comprising: a housing [#10- battery rack assembly; 0042] including a side wall [#12/14 end frames], the side wall comprising a plurality of through holes [#48,50 bolt holes; 0045] and at least one side wall opening distinct from the plurality of through holes; a plurality of battery modules accommodated inside the housing [fig. 4A]; a plurality of fastener devices [#54; bolts 0045] securing the battery modules to the side wall, each fastener device passing through a respective through hole [0045] and sealingly closing the through hole; and a cover plate [#94; i.e shield 0051] sealingly joined to the side wall and sealingly closing the at least one side wall opening; wherein the fastener devices and the through holes are positioned outside the cover plate [please refer to the annotated fig below].
Regarding claim 2, Marraffa teaches the battery pack as required by claim 1 and teaches all the structural elements required by claim 1, i.e. cover plate and side wall. In regards to “ wherein the cover plate is joined to the side wall by welding, brazing or soldering, this is considered “product-by-process claim”. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus or product. The determination of patentability is based upon the apparatus structure itself. The patentability of a product or apparatus does not depend on its method of production or formation. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP § 2113). Thus, it is the Examiner’s position, the claimed limitations of welding, brazing and soldering is not given patentable weight as these are considered a process of how to form the product.
Regarding claim 3, Marraffa teaches wherein each battery module has a module side parallel with the side wall [fig. 10]. With regards to the claimed, “wherein a cover plate area of the cover plate is larger than a module side area of the module side” this is interpreted to be an arbitrary limitation, as the dimensions are not taught in the specification. However, it is the Examiner’s position, Marraffa teaches the cover plate area is larger than the side of the module as it can be seen the area of the cover plate appears to be larger than the side of the module [fig 4A and fig. 8a, fig. 11a]
Regarding claim 4, Marraffa taches wherein the cover plate is parallel with the side wall [fig. 11a]. In view of fig. 11a, the cover plate is parallel with the side plate, as the cover plate covers the side plate.
Regarding claim 5, Marraffa teaches wherein the housing comprises a housing opening through which the battery modules can be inserted into the housing in an insertion direction [fig. 2A, fig. 4A], and wherein the side wall is parallel with the insertion direction [fig.8a; 0050].
Regarding claim 7, Marraffa teaches wherein the side wall comprises a metal sheet spanning across the battery modules [fig. 4a; the side wall covers across the battery modules; 0042].
Regarding claim 8, Hamada teaches wherein the metal sheet comprises a plurality of wings [fig. 3a/b; ], each wing being arranged to slidingly support a respective battery module [0047-50].
Regarding claim 12, Marraffa teaches battery pack system comprising a plurality of battery packs according to claim 1 [0008].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 9-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20020179552A1 (Marraffa) in view of US20120040237A1 (Hamada).
Regarding claim 6, Marraffa teaches wherein each fastener device comprises a bolt [0045 fig. 2A; #54, however does not teach a seal washer enclosing the bolt. In another embodiment, Hamada teaches a battery pack and teaches i.e. nut #115 [0057] which function similar to is a seal washer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used this type of bolt/nut device to connect the battery modules to the side wall as one would have a reasonable expectation of success. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine these embodiments based on the desire to predictably practice the invention of Marraffa in view of Hamada and the totality of the teachings of Marraffa and Hamada and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 9, Marraffa does not teach wherein the side wall comprises a frame enclosing the cover plate. In a similar field of endeavor, Hamada teaches a battery pack [abs] and teaches a frame #11 [i.e. supporting plates #30], which are surround the periphery of the battery pack. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Marraffa in view of Hamada and incorporate the supporting plates, i.e. the frame in order to keep the battery modules in place and not move [0030-0033].
Regarding claim 10, modified Marraffa teaches wherein the through holes are provided in the frame [Hamada 0032; they are fastened by bolts, therefore have through holes].
Regarding claim 11, modified Marraffa teaches wherein the frame forms a tube that is closed except for the through holes [Hamada fig. 4 depicts the frame #11, and it illustrates there are no other opening except where the through holes are].
Regarding claim 13, modified Marraffa teache teaches and electrified heavy-duty vehicle comprising a battery pack according to claim 1 [Hamada 0002].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729