DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 06/02/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 06/02/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-5 are pending
Claims 1 and 3-5 are amended
Claims 1-5 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xuelong Wang (US 20230050170 A1), hereinafter referenced as Wang, in view of WEI et al. (US 20220174723 A1), hereinafter referenced as Wei.
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Wang teaches a communication control method used in a mobile communication system for providing a multicast broadcast service (MBS) from a network apparatus to a user equipment (Para. [0005]-Wang discloses apparatus and methods are provided for group scheduling configuration and uplink HARQ configuration for the NR multicast services ... the gNB broadcasts the SIB message related to multicast transmission, transmits multicast control information via RRC message, schedules the multicast PDSCH transmission, and indicates the uplink HARQ feedback information to the UE ... the SIB message includes control Resource Set and/or search space. Para. [0039]-Wang discloses in the NR system, a new broadcast SIB (e.g. SIBx) is defined to carry the information related to multicast (and broadcast) transmission. It contains the information required by UE to acquire the control information associated with the transmission of NR multicast (and broadcast) service), the communication control method comprising the steps of:
broadcasting, by the network apparatus, a System Information Block (SIB) type 1 to be used in scheduling of an MBS system information block (Para. [0039]-Wang discloses a new broadcast SIB (e.g. SIBx) is defined to carry the information related to multicast (and broadcast) transmission. It contains the information required by UE to acquire the control information associated with the transmission of NR multicast (and broadcast) service. In NR, the BWP is defined within one carrier. The system information (e.g. SIB1) is delivered over the initial BWP. Para. [0005-0006]-Wang discloses group scheduling configuration ... the gNB broadcasts the SIB message related to multicast transmission … the UE receives a broadcasting system information block (SIB) configuration for one or more multicast transmissions in a new radio (NR) network, wherein the broadcasting SIB includes bandwidth part (BWP) for the one or more multicast transmissions);
broadcasting, by the network apparatus, the MBS system information block based on the scheduling indicated by the SIB type 1 (Para. [0005-0006]-Wang discloses group scheduling configuration ... the gNB broadcasts the SIB message related to multicast transmission … the UE receives a broadcasting system information block (SIB) configuration for one or more multicast transmissions in a new radio (NR) network, wherein the broadcasting SIB includes bandwidth part (BWP) for the one or more multicast transmissions. Para. [0039]-Wang discloses a new broadcast SIB (e.g. SIBx) is defined to carry the information related to multicast (and broadcast) transmission. It contains the information required by UE to acquire the control information associated with the transmission of NR multicast (and broadcast) service. In NR, the BWP is defined within one carrier. The system information (e.g. SIB1) is delivered over the initial BWP); and
transmitting, by the network apparatus, scheduling information of an MBS traffic channel on an MBS control channel (Para. [0005]-Wang discloses the gNB broadcasts the SIB message related to multicast transmission, transmits multicast control information via RRC message, schedules the multicast PDSCH transmission, and indicates the uplink HARQ feedback information to the UE. Fig. 1, Para. [0025]-Wang discloses scheduling for NR multicast is done by the gNB central unit (gNB-CU). MCCH provides the list of all NR multicast services with ongoing sessions transmitted on MTCH(s), including each NR multicast service ID (expressed by NR multicast group ID or NR multicast session ID), associated group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI), scheduling information, etc),
the SIB type 1 comprises a search space identifier for a user equipment to receive the MBS control channel (Figs. 5A-B, Para. [0040]-Wang discloses the control Resource Set and/or search space indicated by a search space ID, is transmitted over the broadcasting SIB indicating a search space of a PDCCH to help the UE to search the PDCCH scrambled by MB-RNTI. Claim [2]-Wang discloses the broadcasting SIB includes at least one element comprising: a Control Resource Set and a search space identifier (ID) indicating a search space of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) scrambled by a multimedia broadcast radio network temporary identifier (MB-RNTI). Para. [0039]-Wang discloses a new broadcast SIB (e.g. SIBx) is defined to carry the information related to multicast (and broadcast) transmission. It contains the information required by UE to acquire the control information associated with the transmission of NR multicast (and broadcast) service. In NR, the BWP is defined within one carrier. The system information (e.g. SIB1) is delivered over the initial BWP. Para. [0039]-Wang discloses a new broadcast SIB (e.g. SIBx) is defined to carry the information related to multicast (and broadcast) transmission. It contains the information required by UE to acquire the control information associated with the transmission of NR multicast (and broadcast) service. In NR, the BWP is defined within one carrier. The system information (e.g. SIB1) is delivered over the initial BWP), and
the MBS system information block comprises scheduling information of the MBS control channel (Fig. 1, Para. [0025]-Wang discloses multicast configuration with group scheduling {SIB INFO (#181) and MCCH (#182)}. NR multicast is transmitted in the coverage of a cell ... one multicast control channel (MCCH) and one or more multicast traffic channels (MTCHs) are mapped ... A SIB broadcasting 180 includes multicast information in the SIB information. Based on the SIB information for the multicast services, MCCH information is obtained at 180. The MCCH information can be included in the system information. Para. [0039]-Wang discloses a new broadcast SIB (e.g. SIBx) is defined to carry the information related to multicast (and broadcast) transmission. It contains the information required by UE to acquire the control information associated with the transmission of NR multicast (and broadcast) service. In NR, the BWP is defined within one carrier. The system information (e.g. SIB1) is delivered over the initial BWP), and
the search space identifier … indicates a search space that is a resource range to be decoded by the user equipment in a physical downlink control channel associated with the MBS control channel (Figs. 5A-B, Para. [0040]-Wang discloses the control Resource Set and/or search space indicated by a search space ID, is transmitted over the broadcasting SIB indicating a search space of a PDCCH to help the UE to search the PDCCH scrambled by MB-RNTI. Claim [2]-Wang discloses the broadcasting SIB includes at least one element comprising: a Control Resource Set and a search space identifier (ID) indicating a search space of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) scrambled by a multimedia broadcast radio network temporary identifier (MB-RNTI)).
Wang fails to explicitly teach the search space identifier included in the SIB type 1 indicates a search space that is a resource range to be decoded by the user equipment in a physical downlink control channel associated with the MBS control channel.
However, Wei teaches the SIB type 1 comprises a search space identifier for a user equipment to receive the MBS control channel (Para. [0094]-Wei discloses UE may monitor at least one of the preconfigured search space sets associated with the CORESET configured by commonControlResourceSet, if commonControlResourceSet is provided in SIB-1. The at least one search space set may include the search space set that has the smallest search space ID. Para. [0070]-Wei discloses the UE monitors a set of PDCCH candidates in one or more CORESETs and/or Search Spaces on a DL BWP (e.g., one active DL BWP on each activated serving cell or one initial BWP on a camped cell) configured with PDCCH monitoring, according to corresponding search space sets, where the monitoring implies decoding each PDCCH candidate according to the monitored DCI formats. Para. [0102]-Wei discloses the DL BWP may be a BWP associated with specific services/slices/applications (e.g., Multicast Broadcast service (MBS) BWP)), …
the search space identifier included in the SIB type 1 indicates a search space that is a resource range to be decoded by the user equipment in a physical downlink control channel associated with the MBS control channel (Para. [0094]-Wei discloses UE may monitor at least one of the preconfigured search space sets associated with the CORESET configured by commonControlResourceSet, if commonControlResourceSet is provided in SIB-1. The at least one search space set may include the search space set that has the smallest search space ID. Para. [0070]-Wei discloses the UE monitors a set of PDCCH candidates in one or more CORESETs and/or Search Spaces on a DL BWP (e.g., one active DL BWP on each activated serving cell or one initial BWP on a camped cell) configured with PDCCH monitoring, according to corresponding search space sets, where the monitoring implies decoding each PDCCH candidate according to the monitored DCI formats. Para. [0102]-Wei discloses the DL BWP may be a BWP associated with specific services/slices/applications (e.g., Multicast Broadcast service (MBS) BWP)).
Wang and Wei are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication, dealing with wireless communication networks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Wang to incorporate the teachings of Wei on MBS system information block, with a motivation for search space identifier included in SIB type 1, and guarantee improvements and enhancements … for the multicast services in the NR network, (Wang, Para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches the communication control method according to claim 1,
Wang further teaches the search space identifier is used in common for the MBS system information block and a system information block other than the SIB type 1 (Fig. 5A, Para. [0040]-Wang discloses the control Resource Set and/or search space indicated by a search space ID, is transmitted over the broadcasting SIB indicating a search space of a PDCCH to help the UE to search the PDCCH scrambled by MB-RNTI. Fig. 3, Para. [0030]-Wang discloses PDCCH 310 includes common search space (CSS) 311 and 313, UE-specific search space (USS) 312, and 314. An exemplary PDSCH 320 includes MCCH 321, other data fields 322 and MTCH 323. The MCCH 321 is scheduled by gNB in the CSS 311 of PDCCH with multimedia broadcast RNTI (MB-RNTI) scrambled. MB-RNTI is MCCH logical channel specific RNTI, with fixed value specified in MAC (e.g., the value can be FFFD). MTCH 323 is scheduled by gNB in the CSS 313 of PDCCH with group RNTI (G-RNTI) scrambled. At step 331, the UE searches the common search space 311 of PDCCH 310 with MB-RNTI according to the primary indication within Cell system information. Para. [0039]-Wang discloses a new broadcast SIB (e.g. SIBx) is defined to carry the information related to multicast (and broadcast) transmission. It contains the information required by UE to acquire the control information associated with the transmission of NR multicast (and broadcast) service. In NR, the BWP is defined within one carrier. The system information (e.g. SIB1) is delivered over the initial BWP).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Wang teaches an apparatus configured to control a user equipment configured to communicate with a network apparatus providing a multicast broadcast service (MBS), the apparatus comprising a processor and a memory (Para. [0005]-Wang discloses apparatus and methods are provided for group scheduling configuration and uplink HARQ configuration for the NR multicast services ... the gNB broadcasts the SIB message related to multicast transmission, transmits multicast control information via RRC message, schedules the multicast PDSCH transmission, and indicates the uplink HARQ feedback information to the UE ... the SIB message includes control Resource Set and/or search space. Para. [0039]-Wang discloses in the NR system, a new broadcast SIB (e.g. SIBx) is defined to carry the information related to multicast (and broadcast) transmission. It contains the information required by UE to acquire the control information associated with the transmission of NR multicast (and broadcast) service), the processor configured to
receive from the network apparatus, a System Information Block (SIB) type 1 to be used in scheduling of an MBS system information block (Para. [0039]-Wang discloses a new broadcast SIB (e.g. SIBx) is defined to carry the information related to multicast (and broadcast) transmission. It contains the information required by UE to acquire the control information associated with the transmission of NR multicast (and broadcast) service. In NR, the BWP is defined within one carrier. The system information (e.g. SIB1) is delivered over the initial BWP. Para. [0005-0006]-Wang discloses group scheduling configuration ... the gNB broadcasts the SIB message related to multicast transmission … the UE receives a broadcasting system information block (SIB) configuration for one or more multicast transmissions in a new radio (NR) network, wherein the broadcasting SIB includes bandwidth part (BWP) for the one or more multicast transmissions),
receive from the network apparatus, the MBS system information block based on the scheduling indicated by the SIB type 1 (Para. [0005-0006]-Wang discloses group scheduling configuration ... the gNB broadcasts the SIB message related to multicast transmission … the UE receives a broadcasting system information block (SIB) configuration for one or more multicast transmissions in a new radio (NR) network, wherein the broadcasting SIB includes bandwidth part (BWP) for the one or more multicast transmissions. Para. [0039]-Wang discloses a new broadcast SIB (e.g. SIBx) is defined to carry the information related to multicast (and broadcast) transmission. It contains the information required by UE to acquire the control information associated with the transmission of NR multicast (and broadcast) service. In NR, the BWP is defined within one carrier. The system information (e.g. SIB1) is delivered over the initial BWP), and
receive from the network apparatus, scheduling information of an MBS traffic channel on an MBS control channel (Para. [0005]-Wang discloses the gNB broadcasts the SIB message related to multicast transmission, transmits multicast control information via RRC message, schedules the multicast PDSCH transmission, and indicates the uplink HARQ feedback information to the UE. Fig. 1, Para. [0025]-Wang discloses scheduling for NR multicast is done by the gNB central unit (gNB-CU). MCCH provides the list of all NR multicast services with ongoing sessions transmitted on MTCH(s), including each NR multicast service ID (expressed by NR multicast group ID or NR multicast session ID), associated group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI), scheduling information, etc),
the SIB type 1 comprises a search space identifier for a user equipment to receive the MBS control channel (Figs. 5A-B, Para. [0040]-Wang discloses the control Resource Set and/or search space indicated by a search space ID, is transmitted over the broadcasting SIB indicating a search space of a PDCCH to help the UE to search the PDCCH scrambled by MB-RNTI. Claim [2]-Wang discloses the broadcasting SIB includes at least one element comprising: a Control Resource Set and a search space identifier (ID) indicating a search space of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) scrambled by a multimedia broadcast radio network temporary identifier (MB-RNTI). Para. [0039]-Wang discloses a new broadcast SIB (e.g. SIBx) is defined to carry the information related to multicast (and broadcast) transmission. It contains the information required by UE to acquire the control information associated with the transmission of NR multicast (and broadcast) service. In NR, the BWP is defined within one carrier. The system information (e.g. SIB1) is delivered over the initial BWP. Para. [0039]-Wang discloses a new broadcast SIB (e.g. SIBx) is defined to carry the information related to multicast (and broadcast) transmission. It contains the information required by UE to acquire the control information associated with the transmission of NR multicast (and broadcast) service. In NR, the BWP is defined within one carrier. The system information (e.g. SIB1) is delivered over the initial BWP), and
the MBS system information block comprises scheduling information of the MBS control channel (Fig. 1, Para. [0025]-Wang discloses multicast configuration with group scheduling {SIB INFO (#181) and MCCH (#182)}. NR multicast is transmitted in the coverage of a cell ... one multicast control channel (MCCH) and one or more multicast traffic channels (MTCHs) are mapped ... A SIB broadcasting 180 includes multicast information in the SIB information. Based on the SIB information for the multicast services, MCCH information is obtained at 180. The MCCH information can be included in the system information. Para. [0039]-Wang discloses a new broadcast SIB (e.g. SIBx) is defined to carry the information related to multicast (and broadcast) transmission. It contains the information required by UE to acquire the control information associated with the transmission of NR multicast (and broadcast) service. In NR, the BWP is defined within one carrier. The system information (e.g. SIB1) is delivered over the initial BWP), and
the search space identifier … indicates a search space that is a resource range to be decoded by the user equipment in a physical downlink control channel associated with the MBS control channel (Figs. 5A-B, Para. [0040]-Wang discloses the control Resource Set and/or search space indicated by a search space ID, is transmitted over the broadcasting SIB indicating a search space of a PDCCH to help the UE to search the PDCCH scrambled by MB-RNTI. Claim [2]-Wang discloses the broadcasting SIB includes at least one element comprising: a Control Resource Set and a search space identifier (ID) indicating a search space of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) scrambled by a multimedia broadcast radio network temporary identifier (MB-RNTI)).
Wang fails to explicitly teach the search space identifier included in the SIB type 1 indicates a search space that is a resource range to be decoded by the user equipment in a physical downlink control channel associated with the MBS control channel.
However, Wei teaches the SIB type 1 comprises a search space identifier for a user equipment to receive the MBS control channel (Para. [0094]-Wei discloses UE may monitor at least one of the preconfigured search space sets associated with the CORESET configured by commonControlResourceSet, if commonControlResourceSet is provided in SIB-1. The at least one search space set may include the search space set that has the smallest search space ID. Para. [0070]-Wei discloses the UE monitors a set of PDCCH candidates in one or more CORESETs and/or Search Spaces on a DL BWP (e.g., one active DL BWP on each activated serving cell or one initial BWP on a camped cell) configured with PDCCH monitoring, according to corresponding search space sets, where the monitoring implies decoding each PDCCH candidate according to the monitored DCI formats. Para. [0102]-Wei discloses the DL BWP may be a BWP associated with specific services/slices/applications (e.g., Multicast Broadcast service (MBS) BWP)), …
the search space identifier included in the SIB type 1 indicates a search space that is a resource range to be decoded by the user equipment in a physical downlink control channel associated with the MBS control channel (Para. [0094]-Wei discloses UE may monitor at least one of the preconfigured search space sets associated with the CORESET configured by commonControlResourceSet, if commonControlResourceSet is provided in SIB-1. The at least one search space set may include the search space set that has the smallest search space ID. Para. [0070]-Wei discloses the UE monitors a set of PDCCH candidates in one or more CORESETs and/or Search Spaces on a DL BWP (e.g., one active DL BWP on each activated serving cell or one initial BWP on a camped cell) configured with PDCCH monitoring, according to corresponding search space sets, where the monitoring implies decoding each PDCCH candidate according to the monitored DCI formats. Para. [0102]-Wei discloses the DL BWP may be a BWP associated with specific services/slices/applications (e.g., Multicast Broadcast service (MBS) BWP)).
Wang and Wei are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication, dealing with wireless communication networks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Wang to incorporate the teachings of Wei on MBS system information block, with a motivation for search space identifier included in SIB type 1, and guarantee improvements and enhancements … for the multicast services in the NR network, (Wang, Para. [0004]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new reference (WEI et al. (US 20220174723 A1)) being used in the current rejection and this 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection.
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
Zhou et al. (US 20240032070 A1)-discloses receiving, by a wireless device, configuration parameters indicating common frequency resources of multicast and broadcast service (MBS) transmissions are configured within a bandwidth part (BWP) of a cell. The method may also include monitoring, based on the configuration parameters and via the BWP, a first number of PDCCH candidates for unicast transmissions and a second number of PDCCH candidates for the MBS transmissions. A sum of the first number and the second number is less than or equal to a third number associated with a PDCCH monitoring capability of the wireless device. The method may further include receiving a first downlink control information (DCI), via the BWP, scheduling a first transport block (TB) for the unicast transmissions. The method may additionally include receiving a second DCI, via the common frequency resources of the BWP, scheduling a second TB for the MBS transmissions…. …Fig. 1-5
/OLADIRAN GIDEON OLALEYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2472