DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uzquiza et al. (Am. J. Enol. Vitic., 2014, 65(4), 504-509), in view of Takahashi et al. (Plants (Basel), 2021, 10(9), 1920).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Regarding claims 1, 6, and 13, Uzquiza teaches agricultural treatments/compositions comprising 1-amino-1-cyclopropanecarboxylic acid, a hydrate thereof, a polymorph thereof or a salt thereof and a jasmonate derivative, specifically methyl jasmonate and wherein the mixture/composition further comprises an adjuvant, specifically Latron-B 1956 (see entire document; abstract; experiment 1; Results section, Table 1; discussion section).
Regarding claims 2-5, Uzquiza teaches wherein the 1-aminocyclopropanecarboxylic acid and methyl jasmonate are used together in weight concentration ratios of 1:2 to 1.48:1 (see entire document; abstract; experiment 1; Results section, Table 1; discussion section).
Regarding claims 7-8 and 10, Uzquiza teaches wherein the 1-aminocyclopropanecarboxylic acid (ACC) and methyl jasmonate are used in ppm ranges of about 1 to about 1000 ppm as is instantly claimed (specifically they use 500 or 1000 mg/L of ACC and 672 or 1344 mg/L of methyl jasmonate), and which also reads on the claimed about 10 to about 500 ppm of ACC that is instantly claimed (see entire document; abstract; experiment 1; Results section, Table 1; discussion section).
Ascertainment of the difference between prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
Regarding claims 1-13, Uzquiza does not teach wherein the jasmonate derivative is the claimed prohydrojasmon. However, this deficiency in Uzquiza is addressed by Takahashi.
Takahashi teaches that prohydrojasmon is a synthetic jasmonate analogue and functions similarly to methyl jasmonate, and that jasmonic acid and its derivatives (which would include prohydrojasmon and methyl jasmonate) function similarly to each other as plant hormones and/or plant growth regulators in higher plants that control fruit ripening and coloration including pigment accumulation (see entire document; 6th paragraph discussion section; 5th paragraph introduction section).
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rationale and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
Regarding claims 1 and 6, it would have been obvious to substitute and/or combine the prohydrojasmon of Takahashi in place of and/or with the methyl jasmonate of Uzquiza in order to form the claimed combination because Takahashi teaches wherein prohydrojasmon is a synthetic jasmonate which functions similarly to methyl jasmonate. One of ordinary skill in the art would want to do this in order to form additional effective compositions for improving grape abscission.
Regarding claims 1-5, it would have been obvious to substitute the prohydrojasmon of Takahashi in place of the methyl jasmonate of Uzquiza in the same concentrations that are instantly claimed and taught by Uzquiza in order to form the claimed combinations/compositions because Takahashi teaches wherein prohydrojasmon is a synthetic jasmonate which functions similarly to methyl jasmonate. One of ordinary skill in the art would want to do this in order to form additional effective compositions for improving grape abscission.
Regarding claims 6-12, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the concentrations of prohydrojasmon and 1-aminocyclopropane carboxylic acid to read on the claimed amounts because Uziquiza teaches using similar and/or overlapping amounts of 1-aminocyclopropanecarboxylic acid and similar and/or overlapping amounts of other jasmonates, and as such it would be obvious to use the claimed prohydrojasmon in place of the methyl jasmonate and to optimize the amounts of prohydrojasmon using the amounts of methyl jasmonate as a starting point to determine the most effective amounts of prohydrojasmon for combining with 1-aminocyclopropane carboxylic acid. Further, it was known to optimize the amounts active agents, in the instant case it would be obvious to optimize the amounts of the claimed 1-aminocyclopropane carboxylic acid and the claimed prohydrojasmon in order to form the most effective combinations/compositions because, “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’" In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the above claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10517299 (‘299) in view of Uzquiza et al. (Am. J. Enol. Vitic., 2014, 65(4), 504-509), in view of Takahashi et al. (Plants (Basel), 2021, 10(9), 1920). ‘299 teaches compositions/formulations comprising applicant’s 1-amino-1-cyclopropanecarboxylic acid (ACC) for use in fruit coloration with the claimed excipients/chelating agents. ‘299 does not teach wherein the composition comprises the claimed prohydrojasmon or wherein the ACC and prohydrojasmon are present in the claimed ratios and concentrations. This deficiency in ‘299 is addressed by Uzquiza and Takahashi.
Takahashi teaches that prohydrojasmon is a synthetic jasmonate analogue and functions similarly to methyl jasmonate, and that jasmonic acid and its derivatives (which would include prohydrojasmon and methyl jasmonate) function similarly to each other as plant hormones and/or plant growth regulators in higher plants that control fruit ripening and coloration including pigment accumulation (see entire document; 6th paragraph discussion section; 5th paragraph introduction section).
Uzquiza teaches agricultural treatments/compositions comprising 1-amino-1-cyclopropanecarboxylic acid, a hydrate thereof, a polymorph thereof or a salt thereof and a jasmonate derivative, specifically methyl jasmonate and wherein the mixture/composition further comprises an adjuvant, specifically Latron-B 1956 (see entire document; abstract; experiment 1; Results section, Table 1; discussion section). Uzquiza also teaches wherein the 1-aminocyclopropanecarboxylic acid and methyl jasmonate are used together in weight concentration ratios of 1:2 to 1.48:1 (see entire document; abstract; experiment 1; Results section, Table 1; discussion section).
Uzquiza also teaches wherein the 1-aminocyclopropanecarboxylic acid (ACC) and methyl jasmonate are used in ppm ranges of about 1 to about 1000 ppm as is instantly claimed (specifically they use 500 or 1000 mg/L of ACC and 672 or 1344 mg/L of methyl jasmonate), and which also reads on the claimed about 10 to about 500 ppm of ACC that is instantly claimed (see entire document; abstract; experiment 1; Results section, Table 1; discussion section).
It would have been obvious to add the prohydrojasmon of Takahashi into the compositions of ‘299 in order to form the claimed mixtures/compositions because Takahashi teaches wherein prohydrojasmon is a synthetic jasmonate which functions similarly to methyl jasmonate/jasmonic acids as plant hormones and/or plant growth regulators in higher plants that control fruit ripening and coloration including pigment accumulation. One of ordinary skill in the art would want to do this in order to add additional active agents which help to improve fruit coloration to form a new effective composition for enhancing fruit coloration.
It also would have been obvious to add the prohydrojasmon of Takahashi into the compositions of ‘299 in the same ratios and concentrations that are instantly claimed and taught by Uzquiza in order to form the claimed combinations/compositions because Takahashi teaches wherein prohydrojasmon is a synthetic jasmonate and that jasmonic acid and jasmonate derivatives function similarly to each other as plant hormones and/or plant growth regulators in higher plants that control fruit ripening and coloration including pigment accumulation. One of ordinary skill in the art would want to do this in order to form additional effective compositions for improving grape/fruit coloration and abscission. Further, it would be obvious to optimize the amounts/ratios of the ACC and the prohydrojasmon active agents in the composition of ‘299 as taught by the combined references in order to read on the claimed amounts in the mixtures and compositions because “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’" In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19245857 (‘857) in view of Takahashi et al. (Plants (Basel), 2021, 10(9), 1920) and Uzquiza et al. (Am. J. Enol. Vitic., 2014, 65(4), 504-509).
‘857 teaches compositions comprising the claimed 1-aminocyclopropane carboxylic acid which are used methods of enhancing grape coloration and wherein the compositions can comprise at least one of the claimed excipients that are instantly claimed. ‘857 does not teach wherein the 1-aminocyclopropane carboxylic acid is used with the claimed prohydrojasmon in the claimed ratios and concentrations. However, these deficiencies in ‘857 are addressed by Takahashi and Uzquiza.
Takahashi teaches that prohydrojasmon is a synthetic jasmonate analogue and functions similarly to methyl jasmonate, and that jasmonic acid and its derivatives (which would include prohydrojasmon and methyl jasmonate) function similarly to each other as plant hormones and/or plant growth regulators in higher plants that control fruit ripening and coloration including pigment accumulation (see entire document; 6th paragraph discussion section; 5th paragraph introduction section).
Uzquiza teaches that it was known to use combinations of 1-aminocyclopropane carboxylic acid and other jasmonates, specifically methyl jasmonate on grapes to also promote berry abscission in concentrations/ratios which overlap those instantly claimed.
Specifically, Uzquiza teaches agricultural treatments/compositions comprising 1-amino-1-cyclopropanecarboxylic acid, a hydrate thereof, a polymorph thereof or a salt thereof and a jasmonate derivative, specifically methyl jasmonate and wherein the mixture/composition further comprises an adjuvant, specifically Latron-B 1956 (see entire document; abstract; experiment 1; Results section, Table 1; discussion section).
Uzquiza teaches wherein the 1-aminocyclopropanecarboxylic acid and methyl jasmonate are used together in weight concentration ratios of 1:2 to 1.48:1 (see entire document; abstract; experiment 1; Results section, Table 1; discussion section).
Uzquiza teaches wherein the 1-aminocyclopropanecarboxylic acid (ACC) and methyl jasmonate are used in ppm ranges of about 1 to about 1000 ppm as is instantly claimed (specifically they use 500 or 1000 mg/L of ACC and 672 or 1344 mg/L of methyl jasmonate), and which also reads on the claimed about 10 to about 500 ppm of ACC that is instantly claimed (see entire document; abstract; experiment 1; Results section, Table 1; discussion section).
It would have been obvious to combine the prohydrojasmon of Takahashi into the composition of ‘857 in order to form the claimed mixtures/compositions because Takahashi teaches that the jasmonate derivatives such as the claimed prohydrojasmon are good for inducing/enhancing fruit coloration and it would be obvious to add prohydrojasmon to the composition of ‘857 in order to form the claimed composition which would also be useful for enhancing grape color/fruit coloration as is claimed by ‘857.
It also would have been obvious to add the prohydrojasmon of Takahashi into the compositions of ‘857 in the same ratios and concentrations that are instantly claimed and taught by Uzquiza in order to form the claimed combinations/compositions because Takahashi teaches wherein prohydrojasmon is a synthetic jasmonate and that jasmonic acid and jasmonate derivatives function similarly to each other as plant hormones and/or plant growth regulators in higher plants that control fruit ripening and coloration including pigment accumulation. One of ordinary skill in the art would want to do this in order to form additional effective compositions for improving grape/fruit coloration and abscission. Further, it would be obvious to optimize the amounts/ratios of the active agents because “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’" In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the previous 112 rejection. Applicant’s filing of terminal disclaimer and its approval on 02/26/26 have rendered moot the previous double patenting rejections over copending 18479392 and 18479417, and these rejections are withdrawn.
Applicants arguments with respect to the 103 rejections have been fully considered but are not persuasive at this time. Firstly, applicants argue that Uzquiza does not teach prohydrojasmon and that Takahashi teaches that prohydrojasmon mimics jasmonic acid functions and does not teach that methyl jasmonate and prohydrojasmon would be expected to function similarly. The examiner respectfully disagrees because Takahashi teaches that PDJ (prohydrojasmon) and methyl jasmonate both enhance PAL expression (which includes PAL activity) thus contrary to applicant’s arguments the two compounds do function similarly and would be expected to function similarly especially since Takahashi also expressly teaches that jasmonic acid and its derivatives (which include methyl jasmonate and prohydrojasmon) are plant hormones and/or plant growth regulators that control fruit ripening and coloration and this teaching is in the cited paragraphs of the previous office action, thus, methyl jasmonate and prohydrojasmon which are both jasmonic acid derivatives would be expected to function similarly to each other since Takahashi teaches that jasmonic acid and its derivatives (which include methyl jasmonate and prohydrojasmon) are plant hormones and/or plant growth regulators that control fruit ripening and coloration. Thus, the examiner disagrees with applicants arguments because the prior art does teach that methyl jasmonate and prohydrojasmon function similarly to each other.
Applicants then argue that they have provided evidence of unexpected results. The examiner respectfully points out that these results are not commensurate in scope with applicant’s claims as they are currently written because applicants claims are to any mixture or composition comprising the claimed prohydrojasmon and 1-amino-1-cyclopropanecarboxylic acid, whereas the argued unexpected results were obtained with specific ratios and amounts of the claimed prohydrojasmon and 1-amino-1-cyclopropanecarboxylic acid. Additionally, the examiner respectfully again points out that not all of applicant’s results are synergistic and the instant claims do not require synergy nor do they require any specific amounts or ratios of applicant’s claimed prohydrojasmon and 1-amino-1-cyclopropanecarboxylic acid and as such these argued results are not commensurate in scope with the instant claims as they are currently written.
Applicants then argue the double patenting rejections over copending 19245857 and US10517299 and that they have provided evidence of unexpected results. These arguments are not persuasive for the same reasons discussed above with respect to the 103 rejection.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the above claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN E HIRT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616