DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Specifically, representative Claim 1 recites:
An apparatus comprising:
machine readable instructions; and
programmable circuitry to at least one of instantiate or execute the machine readable instructions to:
access a signal output by a tachometer monitoring machinery having a rotating component;
determine, based on a first property of the signal, a first pulse threshold candidate for the signal;
determine whether the first pulse threshold candidate satisfies a testing criterion;
generate a second pulse threshold candidate after determining the first pulse threshold candidate does not satisfy the testing criterion, the second pulse threshold candidate based on (1) a second property of the signal or (2) a modification to the first pulse threshold candidate;
determine whether the second pulse threshold candidate satisfies the testing criterion; and
generate a pulse waveform based on the second pulse threshold candidate after determining the second pulse threshold candidate satisfies the testing criterion.
The claim limitations in the abstract idea have been highlighted in bold above; the remaining limitations are “additional elements”.
Under the Step 1 of the eligibility analysis, we determine whether the claims are to a statutory category by considering whether the claimed subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: Process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. The above claim is considered to be in a statutory category (machine).
Under the Step 2A, Prong One, we consider whether the claim recites a judicial exception (abstract idea). In the above claim, the highlighted portion constitutes an abstract idea because, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, it recites limitations that fall into/recite an abstract idea exceptions. Specifically, under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject matter Eligibility Guidance, it falls into the grouping of subject matter when recited as such in a claim limitation, that covers mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind including an observation, evaluation, judgement, and/or opinion.
For example, steps of “determine, based on a first property of the signal, a first pulse threshold candidate for the signal (determination);
determine whether the first pulse threshold candidate satisfies a testing criterion (determination);
generate a second pulse threshold candidate after determining the first pulse threshold candidate does not satisfy the testing criterion, the second pulse threshold candidate based on (1) a second property of the signal or (2) a modification to the first pulse threshold candidate (decision after determination);
determine whether the second pulse threshold candidate satisfies the testing criterion (determination); and
generate a pulse waveform based on the second pulse threshold candidate after determining the second pulse threshold candidate satisfies the testing criterion (create/draw waveform based on parameters).” are treated by the Examiner as belonging to mental process grouping.
Similar limitations comprise the abstract ideas of Claims 8 and 15.
Next, under the Step 2A, Prong Two, we consider whether the claim that recites a judicial exception is integrated into a practical application.
In this step, we evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception.
The above claims comprise the following additional elements:
Claim 1: machine readable instructions; and programmable circuitry to at least one of instantiate or execute the machine readable instructions to: access a signal output by a tachometer monitoring machinery having a rotating component;
Claim 8: A non-transitory machine readable storage medium comprising instructions to cause programmable circuitry to at least: access a signal output by a tachometer monitoring machinery having a rotating component;
Claim 15: accessing a signal output by a tachometer monitoring machinery having a rotating component.
The additional element of “accessing a signal output by a tachometer monitoring machinery having a rotating component” is not qualified for a meaningful limitation because it represents a mere data gathering step and only adds an insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. A non-transitory machine readable storage medium (generic memory) and programmable circuitry (generic processor) are generally recited and are not qualified as particular machines.
In conclusion, the above additional elements, considered individually and in combination with the other claim elements do not reflect an improvement to other technology or technical field, and, therefore, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, the claims are directed to a judicial exception and require further analysis under the Step 2B.
However, the above claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (Step 2B analysis).
The claims, therefore, are not patent eligible.
With regards to the dependent claims, claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 provide additional features/steps which are part of an expanded algorithm, so these limitations should be considered part of an expanded abstract idea of the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 8, 11, 12, 15, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bowers (US 10352956 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Bowers teaches an apparatus comprising:
machine readable instructions (Bowers Col. 4, Line 4, In the embodiment of FIG. 1, the tachometer signal data is transferred from the data collector 106 to a threshold processor 114 that performs the calculations and other information processing tasks described herein. In an alternative embodiment, the calculations and processing are performed by a processor in the data collector 106. The processor must have instructions in order to perform its tasks); and
programmable circuitry to at least one of instantiate or execute the machine readable instructions (Bowers Col. 4, Line 4, In the embodiment of FIG. 1, the tachometer signal data is transferred from the data collector 106 to a threshold processor 114 that performs the calculations and other information processing tasks described herein. In an alternative embodiment, the calculations and processing are performed by a processor in the data collector 106.) to:
access a signal output by a tachometer monitoring machinery having a rotating component (Bowers Col. 3 Line 54, In the embodiment of FIG. 1, a tachometer 104 is attached to a machine 102 to monitor the rotational speed of a component of the machine 102, such as a rotating shaft. The tachometer 104 generates a tachometer signal that contains information about the rotational speed of the machine 102. Fig. 1 104);
determine, based on a first property of the signal, a first pulse threshold candidate for the signal (Bowers Col. 6, Line 19, The tachometer signal threshold (step 54) is calculated from the Deriv>0_WF waveform.);
determine whether the first pulse threshold candidate satisfies a testing criterion (Bowers Col. 6, Line 21, If maximum peaks were discarded in Deriv>0_WF (step 53), then a “bad data” indication is generated (step 55). If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is less than three (step 52), then the Filtered_WF waveform is used to create tachometer pulses and as a basis to set the tachometer signal threshold (step 56). Also see Col. 7, Line 24, If %_Mean_Fltd_Max_PK from step 68 is larger than ten, then the data is considered “questionable.” This means the data “jumps” around too much and it is difficult, if not impossible, to set a realistic threshold. A threshold can still be calculated but will probably not be useful.);
generate a second pulse threshold candidate after determining the first pulse threshold candidate does not satisfy the testing criterion, the second pulse threshold candidate based on (1) a second property of the signal or (2) a modification to the first pulse threshold candidate (Bowers Col. 6, Line 23, If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is less than three (step 52), then the Filtered_WF waveform is used to create tachometer pulses and as a basis to set the tachometer signal threshold (step 56). Whichever waveform is used to set the threshold is referred to herein as the “decision WF.”);
determine whether the second pulse threshold candidate satisfies the testing criterion (Bowers Col. 6, Line 16, If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is greater than or equal to three (step 52) and no maximum peaks were discarded in Deriv>0_WF (step 53), then the Deriv>0_WF waveform is used as the signal from which tachometer pulses are derived. The tachometer signal threshold (step 54) is calculated from the Deriv>0_WF waveform.); and
generate a pulse waveform based on the second pulse threshold candidate after determining the second pulse threshold candidate satisfies the testing criterion (Bowers Col. 6, Line 16, If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is greater than or equal to three (step 52) and no maximum peaks were discarded in Deriv>0_WF (step 53), then the Deriv>0_WF waveform is used as the signal from which tachometer pulses are derived. The tachometer signal threshold (step 54) is calculated from the Deriv>0_WF waveform. If maximum peaks were discarded in Deriv>0_WF (step 53), then a “bad data” indication is generated (step 55). If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is less than three (step 52), then the Filtered_WF waveform is used to create tachometer pulses and as a basis to set the tachometer signal threshold (step 56). Whichever waveform is used to set the threshold is referred to herein as the “decision WF.”. The eventually output tachometer signal is derived based on the determined threshold).
Regarding Claim 4, Bowers further teaches wherein the programmable circuitry is to generate the pulse waveform including a plurality of pulses with corresponding widths based on a nominal speed of the rotating component and a pulse with divisor (Bowers Col. 1, Line 43, An ideal tachometer waveform consists of a series of distinct pulses, wherein each pulse indicates a single revolution of the shaft. Also see Col. 2, Line 1, When evaluating tachometer signals associated with a machine being monitored, the rapid change in signal amplitude occurs at a rate substantially equivalent to the running speed of the machine.).
Regarding Claim 5, Bowers further teaches wherein the first property includes at least one of a standard deviation of the signal, an extrema of the signal, or a median of the signal (Bowers Col. 3, Line 18, This routine preferably includes four methods to determine the selected peaks based on calculations of the mean and standard deviation of the set of peaks.).
Regarding Claim 8, Bowers teaches a non-transitory machine readable storage medium comprising instructions (Bowers Col. 3, Line 59, The tachometer signal is provided to a data collector 106 comprising an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) 108 for sampling the tachometer signal, a low-pass filter 110, and buffer memory 112.) to cause programmable circuitry to at least:
access a signal output by a tachometer monitoring machinery having a rotating component (Bowers Col. 3 Line 54, In the embodiment of FIG. 1, a tachometer 104 is attached to a machine 102 to monitor the rotational speed of a component of the machine 102, such as a rotating shaft. The tachometer 104 generates a tachometer signal that contains information about the rotational speed of the machine 102. Fig. 1 104;
determine, based on a first property of the signal, a first pulse threshold candidate for the signal (Bowers Col. 6, Line 19, The tachometer signal threshold (step 54) is calculated from the Deriv>0_WF waveform.);
determine whether the first pulse threshold candidate satisfies a testing criterion (Bowers Col. 6, Line 21, If maximum peaks were discarded in Deriv>0_WF (step 53), then a “bad data” indication is generated (step 55). If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is less than three (step 52), then the Filtered_WF waveform is used to create tachometer pulses and as a basis to set the tachometer signal threshold (step 56). Also see Col. 7, Line 24, If %_Mean_Fltd_Max_PK from step 68 is larger than ten, then the data is considered “questionable.” This means the data “jumps” around too much and it is difficult, if not impossible, to set a realistic threshold. A threshold can still be calculated but will probably not be useful.);
generate a second pulse threshold candidate after determining the first pulse threshold candidate does not satisfy the testing criterion, the second pulse threshold candidate based on (1) a second property of the signal or (2) a modification to the first pulse threshold candidate (Bowers Col. 6, Line 23, If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is less than three (step 52), then the Filtered_WF waveform is used to create tachometer pulses and as a basis to set the tachometer signal threshold (step 56). Whichever waveform is used to set the threshold is referred to herein as the “decision WF.”);
determine whether the second pulse threshold candidate satisfies the testing criterion (Bowers Col. 6, Line 16, If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is greater than or equal to three (step 52) and no maximum peaks were discarded in Deriv>0_WF (step 53), then the Deriv>0_WF waveform is used as the signal from which tachometer pulses are derived. The tachometer signal threshold (step 54) is calculated from the Deriv>0_WF waveform.); and
generate a pulse waveform based on the second pulse threshold candidate after determining the second pulse threshold candidate satisfies the testing criterion (Bowers Col. 6, Line 16, If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is greater than or equal to three (step 52) and no maximum peaks were discarded in Deriv>0_WF (step 53), then the Deriv>0_WF waveform is used as the signal from which tachometer pulses are derived. The tachometer signal threshold (step 54) is calculated from the Deriv>0_WF waveform. If maximum peaks were discarded in Deriv>0_WF (step 53), then a “bad data” indication is generated (step 55). If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is less than three (step 52), then the Filtered_WF waveform is used to create tachometer pulses and as a basis to set the tachometer signal threshold (step 56). Whichever waveform is used to set the threshold is referred to herein as the “decision WF.”. The eventually output tachometer signal is derived based on the determined threshold).
Regarding Claim 11, Bowers further teaches the instructions cause the programmable circuitry to generate the pulse waveform including a plurality of pulses with corresponding widths based on a nominal speed of the rotating component and a pulse with divisor (Bowers Col. 1, Line 43, An ideal tachometer waveform consists of a series of distinct pulses, wherein each pulse indicates a single revolution of the shaft. Also see Col. 2, Line 1, When evaluating tachometer signals associated with a machine being monitored, the rapid change in signal amplitude occurs at a rate substantially equivalent to the running speed of the machine.).
Regarding Claim 12, Bowers further teaches to determine the first pulse threshold candidate based on a least one of a standard deviation of the signal, an extrema of the signal, and/or a median of the signal (Bowers Col. 3, Line 18, This routine preferably includes four methods to determine the selected peaks based on calculations of the mean and standard deviation of the set of peaks.).
Regarding Claim 15, Bowers teaches a method comprising:
accessing a signal output by a tachometer monitoring machinery having a rotating component (Bowers Col. 3 Line 54, In the embodiment of FIG. 1, a tachometer 104 is attached to a machine 102 to monitor the rotational speed of a component of the machine 102, such as a rotating shaft. The tachometer 104 generates a tachometer signal that contains information about the rotational speed of the machine 102. Fig. 1 104);
determining, based on a first property of the signal, a first pulse threshold candidate for the signal (Bowers Col. 6, Line 19, The tachometer signal threshold (step 54) is calculated from the Deriv>0_WF waveform.);
determining whether the first pulse threshold candidate satisfies a testing criterion (Bowers Col. 6, Line 21, If maximum peaks were discarded in Deriv>0_WF (step 53), then a “bad data” indication is generated (step 55). If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is less than three (step 52), then the Filtered_WF waveform is used to create tachometer pulses and as a basis to set the tachometer signal threshold (step 56). Also see Col. 7, Line 24, If %_Mean_Fltd_Max_PK from step 68 is larger than ten, then the data is considered “questionable.” This means the data “jumps” around too much and it is difficult, if not impossible, to set a realistic threshold. A threshold can still be calculated but will probably not be useful.);
generating a second pulse threshold candidate after determining the first pulse threshold candidate does not satisfy the testing criterion, the second pulse threshold candidate based on (1) a second property of the signal or (2) a modification to the first pulse threshold candidate (Bowers Col. 6, Line 23, If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is less than three (step 52), then the Filtered_WF waveform is used to create tachometer pulses and as a basis to set the tachometer signal threshold (step 56). Whichever waveform is used to set the threshold is referred to herein as the “decision WF.”);
determining whether the second pulse threshold candidate satisfies the testing criterion (Bowers Col. 6, Line 16, If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is greater than or equal to three (step 52) and no maximum peaks were discarded in Deriv>0_WF (step 53), then the Deriv>0_WF waveform is used as the signal from which tachometer pulses are derived. The tachometer signal threshold (step 54) is calculated from the Deriv>0_WF waveform.); and
generating a pulse waveform based on the second pulse threshold candidate after determining the second pulse threshold candidate satisfies the testing criterion (Bowers Col. 6, Line 16, If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is greater than or equal to three (step 52) and no maximum peaks were discarded in Deriv>0_WF (step 53), then the Deriv>0_WF waveform is used as the signal from which tachometer pulses are derived. The tachometer signal threshold (step 54) is calculated from the Deriv>0_WF waveform. If maximum peaks were discarded in Deriv>0_WF (step 53), then a “bad data” indication is generated (step 55). If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is less than three (step 52), then the Filtered_WF waveform is used to create tachometer pulses and as a basis to set the tachometer signal threshold (step 56). Whichever waveform is used to set the threshold is referred to herein as the “decision WF.”. The eventually output tachometer signal is derived based on the determined threshold).
Regarding Claim 18, Bowers further teaches wherein the pulse waveform includes a plurality of pulses with corresponding widths based on a nominal speed of the rotating component and a pulse with divisor (Bowers Col. 1, Line 43, An ideal tachometer waveform consists of a series of distinct pulses, wherein each pulse indicates a single revolution of the shaft. Also see Col. 2, Line 1, When evaluating tachometer signals associated with a machine being monitored, the rapid change in signal amplitude occurs at a rate substantially equivalent to the running speed of the machine.).
Regarding Claim 19, Bowers further teaches wherein the determining the first pulse threshold candidate is based on a least one of a standard deviation of the signal, an extrema of the signal, and/or a median of the signal (Bowers Col. 3, Line 18, This routine preferably includes four methods to determine the selected peaks based on calculations of the mean and standard deviation of the set of peaks.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 6, 9, 13, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowers (as stated above).
Regarding Claim 2, Bowers further teaches generating a second pulse waveform via the first pulse threshold candidate (Bowers Col. 6, Line 23, If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is less than three (step 52), then the Filtered_WF waveform is used to create tachometer pulses and as a basis to set the tachometer signal threshold (step 56). Whichever waveform is used to set the threshold is referred to herein as the “decision WF.”).
Bowers does not explicitly teach determining a speed based on the second pulse waveform; and
comparing the speed to the testing criterion, the testing criterion including a nominal speed of the rotating component.
However, Bowers teaches using a pulse threshold candidate to generate a pulse waveform (Bowers Col. 6, Line 16, If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is greater than or equal to three (step 52) and no maximum peaks were discarded in Deriv>0_WF (step 53), then the Deriv>0_WF waveform is used as the signal from which tachometer pulses are derived. […] If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is less than three (step 52), then the Filtered_WF waveform is used to create tachometer pulses and as a basis to set the tachometer signal threshold (step 56). Whichever waveform is used to set the threshold is referred to herein as the “decision WF.”) and determining a speed based on the pulse waveform.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Bowers to explicitly teach determining a speed based on the second pulse waveform; and
comparing the speed to the testing criterion, the testing criterion including a nominal speed of the rotating component, to test and make sure the expected peaks are still contained in the modified signal, as those peaks directly correspond to the speed indicated by the tachometer signal.
Regarding Claim 6, Bowers further teaches generating a second pulse waveform via the first pulse threshold candidate (Bowers Col. 6, Line 23, If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is less than three (step 52), then the Filtered_WF waveform is used to create tachometer pulses and as a basis to set the tachometer signal threshold (step 56). Whichever waveform is used to set the threshold is referred to herein as the “decision WF.”).
Bowers does not explicitly teach determining if a quantity of pulses of the second pulse waveform is greater than 0.
However, Bowers teaches determining a number of peaks and the amount discarded in the derived waveform (Bowers Col. 6, Line 16, If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is greater than or equal to three (step 52) and no maximum peaks were discarded in Deriv>0_WF (step 53), then the Deriv>0_WF waveform is used as the signal from which tachometer pulses are derived. […] If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is less than three (step 52), then the Filtered_WF waveform is used to create tachometer pulses and as a basis to set the tachometer signal threshold (step 56). Whichever waveform is used to set the threshold is referred to herein as the “decision WF.”. Also see Col. 2, Line 42, determination of the tachometer threshold value is based on finding a specified number of peaks in the Deriv>0_WF waveform and locating their associated peaks in the low-pass filtered tachometer waveform.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify, Bowers to explicitly teach determining if a quantity of pulses of the second pulse waveform is greater than 0, to be able to determine the viability of the derived waveform to the original by verifying the peaks.
Regarding Claim 9, Bowers further teaches generating a second pulse waveform via the first pulse threshold candidate (Bowers Col. 6, Line 23, If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is less than three (step 52), then the Filtered_WF waveform is used to create tachometer pulses and as a basis to set the tachometer signal threshold (step 56). Whichever waveform is used to set the threshold is referred to herein as the “decision WF.”).
Bowers does not explicitly teach determining a speed based on the second pulse waveform; and
comparing the speed to the testing criterion, the testing criterion including a nominal speed of the rotating component.
However, Bowers teaches using a pulse threshold candidate to generate a pulse waveform (Bowers Col. 6, Line 16, If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is greater than or equal to three (step 52) and no maximum peaks were discarded in Deriv>0_WF (step 53), then the Deriv>0_WF waveform is used as the signal from which tachometer pulses are derived. […] If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is less than three (step 52), then the Filtered_WF waveform is used to create tachometer pulses and as a basis to set the tachometer signal threshold (step 56). Whichever waveform is used to set the threshold is referred to herein as the “decision WF.”) and determining a speed based on the pulse waveform.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Bowers to explicitly teach determining a speed based on the second pulse waveform; and
comparing the speed to the testing criterion, the testing criterion including a nominal speed of the rotating component, to test and make sure the expected peaks are still contained in the modified signal, as those peaks directly correspond to the speed indicated by the tachometer signal.
Regarding Claim 13, Bowers further teaches generating a second pulse waveform via the first pulse threshold candidate (Bowers Col. 6, Line 23, If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is less than three (step 52), then the Filtered_WF waveform is used to create tachometer pulses and as a basis to set the tachometer signal threshold (step 56). Whichever waveform is used to set the threshold is referred to herein as the “decision WF.”).
Bowers does not explicitly teach determining if a quantity of pulses of the second pulse waveform is greater than 0.
However, Bowers teaches determining a number of peaks and the amount discarded in the derived waveform (Bowers Col. 6, Line 16, If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is greater than or equal to three (step 52) and no maximum peaks were discarded in Deriv>0_WF (step 53), then the Deriv>0_WF waveform is used as the signal from which tachometer pulses are derived. […] If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is less than three (step 52), then the Filtered_WF waveform is used to create tachometer pulses and as a basis to set the tachometer signal threshold (step 56). Whichever waveform is used to set the threshold is referred to herein as the “decision WF.”. Also see Col. 2, Line 42, determination of the tachometer threshold value is based on finding a specified number of peaks in the Deriv>0_WF waveform and locating their associated peaks in the low-pass filtered tachometer waveform.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify, Bowers to explicitly teach determining if a quantity of pulses of the second pulse waveform is greater than 0, to be able to determine the viability of the derived waveform to the original by verifying the peaks.
Regarding Claim 16, Bowers further teaches generating a second pulse waveform via the first pulse threshold candidate (Bowers Col. 6, Line 23, If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is less than three (step 52), then the Filtered_WF waveform is used to create tachometer pulses and as a basis to set the tachometer signal threshold (step 56). Whichever waveform is used to set the threshold is referred to herein as the “decision WF.”).
Bowers does not explicitly teach determining a speed based on the second pulse waveform; and
comparing the speed to the testing criterion, the testing criterion including a nominal speed of the rotating component.
However, Bowers teaches using a pulse threshold candidate to generate a pulse waveform (Bowers Col. 6, Line 16, If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is greater than or equal to three (step 52) and no maximum peaks were discarded in Deriv>0_WF (step 53), then the Deriv>0_WF waveform is used as the signal from which tachometer pulses are derived. […] If Adj/Filter_CF_RMS is less than three (step 52), then the Filtered_WF waveform is used to create tachometer pulses and as a basis to set the tachometer signal threshold (step 56). Whichever waveform is used to set the threshold is referred to herein as the “decision WF.”) and determining a speed based on the pulse waveform.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Bowers to explicitly teach determining a speed based on the second pulse waveform; and
comparing the speed to the testing criterion, the testing criterion including a nominal speed of the rotating component, to test and make sure the expected peaks are still contained in the modified signal, as those peaks directly correspond to the speed indicated by the tachometer signal.
Claim(s) 7, 14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowers (as stated above) in view of Tsuji (US 20050231191 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Bowers further teaches determine a speed of the rotating component based on the pulse waveform (Bowers Col. 3 Line 54, In the embodiment of FIG. 1, a tachometer 104 is attached to a machine 102 to monitor the rotational speed of a component of the machine 102, such as a rotating shaft. The tachometer 104 generates a tachometer signal that contains information about the rotational speed of the machine 102. Fig. 1 104).
Bowers is not relied upon to explicitly teach to output on the display at least one of the pulse waveform or the speed.
Tsuji teaches to output on the display at least one of the pulse waveform or the speed (Tsuji [0021] The number of rotations of the engine counted by the tachometer pulse detection circuit 11 is sent to a CPU 15, which, connected to a memory and the like, processes the data. A display device 16 such as an LCD or analog type displays the engine speed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Bowers (as stated above) in view of Tsuji, to explicitly teach to output on the display at least one of the pulse waveform or the speed, to display the desired information about the observed machine to a user or system for use before and after processing, such as determining the thresholds of bowers.
Regarding Claim 14, Bowers further teaches determine a speed of the rotating component based on the pulse waveform (Bowers Col. 3 Line 54, In the embodiment of FIG. 1, a tachometer 104 is attached to a machine 102 to monitor the rotational speed of a component of the machine 102, such as a rotating shaft. The tachometer 104 generates a tachometer signal that contains information about the rotational speed of the machine 102. Fig. 1 104).
Bowers is not relied upon to explicitly teach to output on the display at least one of the pulse waveform or the speed.
Tsuji teaches to output on the display at least one of the pulse waveform or the speed (Tsuji [0021] The number of rotations of the engine counted by the tachometer pulse detection circuit 11 is sent to a CPU 15, which, connected to a memory and the like, processes the data. A display device 16 such as an LCD or analog type displays the engine speed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Bowers (as stated above) in view of Tsuji, to explicitly teach to output on the display at least one of the pulse waveform or the speed, to display the desired information about the observed machine to a user or system for use before and after processing, such as determining the thresholds of bowers.
Regarding Claim 20, Bowers further teaches determining a speed of the rotating component based on the pulse waveform (Bowers Col. 3 Line 54, In the embodiment of FIG. 1, a tachometer 104 is attached to a machine 102 to monitor the rotational speed of a component of the machine 102, such as a rotating shaft. The tachometer 104 generates a tachometer signal that contains information about the rotational speed of the machine 102. Fig. 1 104).
Bowers is not relied upon to explicitly teach outputting on the display at least one of the pulse waveform or the speed.
Tsuji teaches outputting on the display at least one of the pulse waveform or the speed (Tsuji [0021] The number of rotations of the engine counted by the tachometer pulse detection circuit 11 is sent to a CPU 15, which, connected to a memory and the like, processes the data. A display device 16 such as an LCD or analog type displays the engine speed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Bowers (as stated above) in view of Tsuji, to explicitly teach outputting on the display at least one of the pulse waveform or the speed, to display the desired information about the observed machine to a user or system for use before and after processing, such as determining the thresholds of bowers.
The Examiner notes that there are currently no prior art rejections for claims 3, 10, and 17
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hayzen et al. (US 20210124345 A1) discloses a Method And Apparatus For Machine Monitoring With Continuous Improvement Of A Predictive Maintenance Database.
/CHRISTIAN T BRYANT/Examiner, Art Unit 2863