DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watson III et al (US 8,613,571) herein referred to as Watson.
As to claim 1, Watson discloses a method for constructing a pile in soil, comprising: driving a lead section 11 comprising a shaft 12 having a flight of helical screws 12a between a top end and a bottom end into the soil, thereby forming a hole in the soil about the lead section, wherein the lead section 11 is joined to a driving section 24 that applies force to the lead section; adding one or more extension sections 33 between the lead section and the driving section, wherein the one or more extension sections 33 are joined at a lower end to the lead section and are joined at an upper end to the driving section; wherein the top end is a depth below a surface of the soil: uncoupling the lead section 11 from the lower end of the one or more extension sections: removing the driving section 24 and the one or more extension sections 33 from the hole; followed by adding a reinforcing structure 65 to the hole, thereby forming the pile in the soil.
As to claim 2, Watson discloses wherein a bit 20 is coupled in proximity to the lead section 11.
As to claim 3, Watson discloses wherein the reinforcing structure 65 is chosen from a rebar cage 65, a pipe, or a combination thereof.
As to claim 4, Watson discloses wherein the depth is greater than about 10 feet.
As to claim 5, Watson discloses wherein the depth is no greater than about 40 feet.
As to claim 6, Watson discloses further comprising: adding liquid grout 66 to the hole.
11. As to claim 7, Watson discloses the use of grout, such grout is capable of being added during the driving the lead section.
12. As to claim 8, Watson discloses the use of grout, such grout capable of being added before the uncoupling the lead section.
As to claim 9, Watson discloses wherein at least some of the liquid grout 66 is added after the adding of the reinforcing structure 65.
As to claim 10, Watson discloses wherein the liquid grout 66 completely surrounds the reinforcing structure 65 below the surface of the soil.
As to claim 11, Watson discloses wherein the bit 20 remains in the hole after the uncoupling the lead section.
As to claim 12, Watson discloses wherein the bit 20 is removed from the hole before the adding the reinforcing structure 65.
As to claim 13, Watson discloses wherein the one or more extension sections 33 are added with at least one bolted splice.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 16-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 14, the prior art of record fails to show or suggest the pile including a bit proximal to the top end of the lead section, the bit comprising one or more teeth that bite the soil to create a hole in the soil wider than a lead section diameter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see amendment, filed 2/16/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of the claim(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as stated above.
As to claim 1, as stated above, Watson discloses removing the driving section 24 and the one or more extension sections 33 which is then followed by adding reinforcement structure 65.
Conclusion
/FREDERICK L LAGMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678