DETAILED ACTION
The present office action is in response to claims filed on 10/02/2023. Claims 1 – 18 are pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 recites “the cabin occupancy sensor” in lines 9 and 11-12, which should recite “the at least one cabin occupancy sensor” for proper antecedent basis.
Claim 9 recites “the cabin occupancy sensor” in lines 7-8, which should recite “the at least one cabin occupancy sensor” for proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quartarone et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0107662) in view of Fuchte et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2024/0017848).
Regarding Claim 1, Quartarone shows (Figures 1 and 2):
A method (method for controlling fresh air flow into a controlled environment, Abstract; method illustrated in Figure 2) for controlling an atmosphere (32) within an aircraft (aircraft, Paragraph 0040), the method (method for controlling fresh air flow into a controlled environment, Abstract; method illustrated in Figure 2) comprising:
sensing (see Step 200), by at least one cabin occupancy sensor (34; a pressure sensor for detecting pressure in a seat in the controlled environment, which may detect either or both the weight of a seated passenger and/or a heartbeat of an occupant of the seat, Paragraph 0065), a number of occupied seats within a cabin (controlled environment 32, such as a cabin of the aircraft, Paragraph 0040) of the aircraft (aircraft, Paragraph 0040);
communicating (values from the one or more sensors 34 may be passed to the controller 40, Paragraph 0055) data representative of (data from 34 indicating number of seats in which weight/heartbeat is detected) the number of occupied seats (if weight/heartbeat is detected, the seat is occupied; by totaling from each sensor, the number of occupied seat is represented) from the at least one cabin occupancy sensor (34; a pressure sensor for detecting pressure in a seat in the controlled environment, which may detect either or both the weight of a seated passenger and/or a heartbeat of an occupant of the seat, Paragraph 0065) to an electronic controller (40), wherein the electronic controller (40) is in communication with (as illustrated in Figure 1) a cabin air circulation system (30) and at least one environmental control system (10, 50, 60, 20, 21); and
sending (see Step 204 and Paragraph 0054) a flow command (flow command to 50; the flow control valve 50 may be adjusted by the controller 40 to provide a particular air flow 1 to the controlled environment 32 based on the estimated number of people in the controlled environment 32, Paragraph 0054), by the electronic controller (40), to the cabin air circulation system (30) and/or the at least one environmental control system (10, 50, 60, 20, 21) to adjust a rate of a total air inflow (rate of 11) into the cabin (controlled environment 32, such as a cabin of the aircraft, Paragraph 0040) based on the number of occupied seats (the flow control valve 50 may be adjusted by the controller 40 to provide a particular air flow 1 to the controlled environment 32 based on the estimated number of people in the controlled environment 32, Paragraph 0054) sensed by the at least one cabin occupancy sensor (34; a pressure sensor for detecting pressure in a seat in the controlled environment, which may detect either or both the weight of a seated passenger and/or a heartbeat of an occupant of the seat, Paragraph 0065).
Further, “the controller 40 may be configured to estimate the passenger density in different zones within the cabin. Such information can be used to control the fresh air flow 11 and recirculation flows within the different zones based on the occupant density in each zone”, Paragraph 0064.
However, Quartarone lacks showing the at least one cabin occupancy sensor senses a number of empty seats and communicates data representative of the number of empty seats to the electronic controller, and the rate of total air inflow into the cabin is based on the number of empty seats.
In the same field of endeavor of vehicle airflow control, Fuchte teaches (Figures 3 and 4):
It is known in the aircraft cabin monitoring (title) art for a sensor (21, 22, 24) to sense a number of empty seats (evaluation device 24 also evaluates the seat occupancy of the seats 3, in particular it evaluates whether and on which seats 3 of the seat region 2 a person is sitting and whether and which seats are unoccupied, Paragraph 0056) and communicates the data to an electronic controller (28).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the number of occupied seats detected, communicated, and used to determine the rate of total air inflow into the cabin shown by Quartarone to be the number of unoccupied seats, as taught by Fuchte, by choosing from a finite number of identified, predicable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success. Tracking the number of unoccupied seats simplifies the tracking of movement in each zone, since the majority of seats are occupied, to determine occupant density at different flight phases and adjust the flow rate in each zone accordingly.
Regarding Claim 2, Quartarone shows (Figures 1 and 2):
Adjusting (via 40) a speed of a recirculation fan (39) of the cabin air recirculation system (30) in response to the flow command (flow command to 50; the flow control valve 50 may be adjusted by the controller 40 to provide a particular air flow 1 to the controlled environment 32 based on the estimated number of people in the controlled environment 32, Paragraph 0054; additionally, the controller 40 controls three environmental properties, temperature, pressure, and current mass-flow of fresh air flow through 50, Paragraph 0061. Accordingly, in order to control the temperature and pressure, 40 sends flow command signals to set the speed of 39) from the electronic controller (40).
Regarding Claim 8, Quartarone shows (Figures 1 and 2):
An air controller system (system for controlling fresh air flow into a controlled environment, Abstract; system illustrated in Figure 1) for controlling an atmosphere (32) within an aircraft (aircraft, Paragraph 0040), the air controller system (system for controlling fresh air flow into a controlled environment, Abstract; system illustrated in Figure 1) comprising:
a cabin air circulation system (10, 50, 60, 20, 21, 30);
at least one cabin occupancy sensor (34; a pressure sensor for detecting pressure in a seat in the controlled environment, which may detect either or both the weight of a seated passenger and/or a heartbeat of an occupant of the seat, Paragraph 0065) in a cabin (controlled environment 32, such as a cabin of the aircraft, Paragraph 0040) of the aircraft (aircraft, Paragraph 0040) and configured to detect a number of occupied seats (if weight/heartbeat is detected, the seat is occupied; by totaling from each sensor, the number of occupied seat is represented) in the cabin (controlled environment 32, such as a cabin of the aircraft, Paragraph 0040); and
an electronic controller (40) in communication with (as illustrated in Figure 1) the cabin air circulation system (10, 50, 60, 20, 21, 30) and at least one cabin occupancy sensor (34; a pressure sensor for detecting pressure in a seat in the controlled environment, which may detect either or both the weight of a seated passenger and/or a heartbeat of an occupant of the seat, Paragraph 0065), wherein the electronic controller (40) is configured to receive (values from the one or more sensors 34 may be passed to the controller 40, Paragraph 0055) data (data from 34 indicating number of seats in which weight/heartbeat is detected) from the at least one cabin occupancy sensor (34; a pressure sensor for detecting pressure in a seat in the controlled environment, which may detect either or both the weight of a seated passenger and/or a heartbeat of an occupant of the seat, Paragraph 0065) representative of the number of occupied seats (if weight/heartbeat is detected, the seat is occupied; by totaling from each sensor, the number of occupied seat is represented) detected by the least one cabin occupancy sensor (34; a pressure sensor for detecting pressure in a seat in the controlled environment, which may detect either or both the weight of a seated passenger and/or a heartbeat of an occupant of the seat, Paragraph 0065), and wherein the electronic controller (40) is configured to send (see Step 204 and Paragraph 0054) commands (flow command to 50; the flow control valve 50 may be adjusted by the controller 40 to provide a particular air flow 1 to the controlled environment 32 based on the estimated number of people in the controlled environment 32, Paragraph 0054) to the cabin air circulation system (10, 50, 60, 20, 21, 30) based on the number of occupied seats (the flow control valve 50 may be adjusted by the controller 40 to provide a particular air flow 1 to the controlled environment 32 based on the estimated number of people in the controlled environment 32, Paragraph 0054) sensed by the at least one cabin occupancy sensor (34; a pressure sensor for detecting pressure in a seat in the controlled environment, which may detect either or both the weight of a seated passenger and/or a heartbeat of an occupant of the seat, Paragraph 0065).
Further, “the controller 40 may be configured to estimate the passenger density in different zones within the cabin. Such information can be used to control the fresh air flow 11 and recirculation flows within the different zones based on the occupant density in each zone”, Paragraph 0064.
However, Quartarone lacks showing the at least one cabin occupancy sensor senses a number of empty seats and communicates data representative of the number of empty seats to the electronic controller, and the commands are based on the number of empty seats.
In the same field of endeavor of vehicle airflow control, Fuchte teaches (Figures 3 and 4):
It is known in the aircraft cabin monitoring (title) art for a sensor (21, 22, 24) to sense a number of empty seats (evaluation device 24 also evaluates the seat occupancy of the seats 3, in particular it evaluates whether and on which seats 3 of the seat region 2 a person is sitting and whether and which seats are unoccupied, Paragraph 0056) and communicates the data to an electronic controller (28).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the number of occupied seats detected, communicated, and used to determine the commands shown by Quartarone to be the number of unoccupied seats, as taught by Fuchte, by choosing from a finite number of identified, predicable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success. Tracking the number of unoccupied seats simplifies the tracking of movement in each zone, since the majority of seats are occupied, to determine occupant density at different flight phases and adjust the flow rate in each zone accordingly.
Regarding Claim 12, Quartarone shows (Figures 1 and 2):
The cabin air circulation system (30) comprises a recirculation fan (49) in communication with (as illustrated in Figure 1) the electronic controller (40).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quartarone et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0107662) and Fuchte et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2024/0017848), as recited in Claim 1 above, further in view of Kumar et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,102,215).
Regarding Claim 6, Quartarone shows (Figures 1 and 2):
Sensing (see Step 200), by the at least one cabin occupancy sensor (34; temperature sensor, Paragraph 0054; a pressure sensor for detecting pressure in a seat in the controlled environment, which may detect either or both the weight of a seated passenger and/or a heartbeat of an occupant of the seat, Paragraph 0065), temperature (cabin temperature, Paragraph 0061) within a first zone (one zone of the different zones of 32, Paragraph 0064) of the cabin (controlled environment 32, such as a cabin of the aircraft, Paragraph 0040) of the aircraft (aircraft, Paragraph 0040);
communicating (values from the one or more sensors 34 may be passed to the controller 40, Paragraph 0055) data representative of temperature (data from 34 indicating temperature) and the number of occupied seats (if weight/heartbeat is detected, the seat is occupied; by totaling from each sensor, the number of occupied seat is represented) within the first zone (one zone of the different zones of 32, Paragraph 0064) from the at least one cabin occupancy sensor (34; temperature sensor, Paragraph 0054; a pressure sensor for detecting pressure in a seat in the controlled environment, which may detect either or both the weight of a seated passenger and/or a heartbeat of an occupant of the seat, Paragraph 0065) to the electronic controller (40), wherein the electronic controller (40) is in communication with (as illustrated in Figure 1) a cabin air circulation system (30) and a first environmental control system (20); and
sending (see Step 204 and Paragraph 0054) a first temperature command (the controller 40 controls environmental properties including temperature. Cabin temperature sensor data may be used to determine the fresh air flow 11; accordingly a first temperature command is sent by 40 to 20 to control the temperature of 11), by the electronic controller (40), to the first environmental control system (20) to adjust a temperature (via 20) of a first air inflow (11) into the first zone (one zone of the different zones of 32, Paragraph 0064) of the cabin (controlled environment 32, such as a cabin of the aircraft, Paragraph 0040) based on the temperature (data from 34 indicating temperature) and the number of occupied seats (the flow control valve 50 may be adjusted by the controller 40 to provide a particular air flow 1 to the controlled environment 32 based on the estimated number of people in the controlled environment 32, Paragraph 0054) sensed by the at least one cabin occupancy sensor (34; temperature sensor, Paragraph 0054; a pressure sensor for detecting pressure in a seat in the controlled environment, which may detect either or both the weight of a seated passenger and/or a heartbeat of an occupant of the seat, Paragraph 0065).
Further, “the controller 40 may be configured to estimate the passenger density in different zones within the cabin. Such information can be used to control the fresh air flow 11 and recirculation flows within the different zones based on the occupant density in each zone”, Paragraph 0064.
However, Quartarone lacks showing the temperature sensor measures the surface temperatures of the passengers.
In the same field of endeavor of vehicle airflow control, Kumar teaches (Figure 1):
It is known in the vehicle airflow control (title) art for a temperature sensor (45 and 46) to sense the surface temperatures of the passengers (comfort sensors 45 and 46 provide respective comfort signals to the controller 30 for characterizing temperature or other thermal characteristic associated with a respective row zone or seat location. An infrared sensor, for example could characterize the skin temperature of an occupant to assess whether a particular comfort level is achieved, Col. 3, lines 8-18) in a zone (the zone of the second row and the zone of the third row) in addition to a seat occupancy sensor (31-37).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the temperature sensor indicating the cabin internal temperature shown by Quartarone to be an infrared sensor sensing surface/skin temperature of each occupant, as taught by Kumar, to increase passenger comfort by asses skin temperature of each occupant to assess whether a particular comfort level is achieved on an individual level.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Quartarone (Figures 1 and 2) and Kumar (Figure 1) teaches:
Sensing (Quartarone: see Step 200), by the at least one cabin occupancy sensor (Quartarone: 34; temperature sensor, Paragraph 0054; as modified in view of Kumar above to measure surface temperature of the passengers), surface temperature (Kumar: comfort sensors 45 and 46 provide respective comfort signals to the controller 30 for characterizing temperature or other thermal characteristic associated with a respective row zone or seat location. An infrared sensor, for example could characterize the skin temperature of an occupant to assess whether a particular comfort level is achieved, Col. 3, lines 8-18) of passengers within a second zone (Quartarone: second zone of the different zones of 32, Paragraph 0064) of the cabin (Quartarone: controlled environment 32, such as a cabin of the aircraft, Paragraph 0040) of the aircraft (Quartarone: aircraft, Paragraph 0040);
communicating (Quartarone: values from the one or more sensors 34 may be passed to the controller 40, Paragraph 0055) data representative of temperature (Quartarone: data from 34 indicating temperature) and the number of occupied seats (Quartarone: if weight/heartbeat is detected, the seat is occupied; by totaling from each sensor, the number of occupied seat is represented) within the second zone (Quartarone: second zone of the different zones of 32, Paragraph 0064) from the at least one cabin occupancy sensor (Quartarone: 34; temperature sensor, Paragraph 0054; a pressure sensor for detecting pressure in a seat in the controlled environment, which may detect either or both the weight of a seated passenger and/or a heartbeat of an occupant of the seat, Paragraph 0065) to the electronic controller (Quartarone: 40), wherein the electronic controller (Quartarone: 40) is in communication with (Quartarone: as illustrated in Figure 1) a second environmental control system (Quartarone: 20; “air conditioning packs 20”, Paragraph 0043; accordingly, there is more than one 20); and
sending (Quartarone: see Step 204 and Paragraph 0054) a first temperature command (Quartarone: the controller 40 controls environmental properties including temperature. Cabin temperature sensor data may be used to determine the fresh air flow 11; accordingly a first temperature command is sent by 40 to 20 to control the temperature of 11), by the electronic controller (Quartarone: 40), to the second environmental control system (Quartarone: 20) to adjust a temperature (Quartarone: via 20) of a first air inflow (Quartarone: 11) into the second zone (Quartarone: second zone of the different zones of 32, Paragraph 0064) of the cabin (Quartarone: controlled environment 32, such as a cabin of the aircraft, Paragraph 0040) based on the temperature (Quartarone: data from 34 indicating temperature) and the number of occupied seats (Quartarone: the flow control valve 50 may be adjusted by the controller 40 to provide a particular air flow 1 to the controlled environment 32 based on the estimated number of people in the controlled environment 32, Paragraph 0054) sensed by the at least one cabin occupancy sensor (Quartarone: 34; temperature sensor, Paragraph 0054).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quartarone et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0107662) in view of Kumar et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,102,215).
Regarding Claim 13, Quartarone shows (Figures 1 and 2):
A method (method for controlling fresh air flow into a controlled environment, Abstract; method illustrated in Figure 2) for controlling an atmosphere (32) within an aircraft (aircraft, Paragraph 0040), the method (method for controlling fresh air flow into a controlled environment, Abstract; method illustrated in Figure 2) comprising:
sensing (see Step 200), by at least one cabin occupancy sensor (34; temperature sensor, Paragraph 0054; a pressure sensor for detecting pressure in a seat in the controlled environment, which may detect either or both the weight of a seated passenger and/or a heartbeat of an occupant of the seat, Paragraph 0065), temperature (cabin temperature, Paragraph 0061) within a first zone (one zone of the different zones of 32, Paragraph 0064) of a cabin (controlled environment 32, such as a cabin of the aircraft, Paragraph 0040) of the aircraft (aircraft, Paragraph 0040);
communicating (values from the one or more sensors 34 may be passed to the controller 40, Paragraph 0055) data representative of temperature (data from 34 indicating temperature) and the number of occupied seats (if weight/heartbeat is detected, the seat is occupied; by totaling from each sensor, the number of occupied seat is represented) within the first zone (one zone of the different zones of 32, Paragraph 0064) from the at least one cabin occupancy sensor (34; temperature sensor, Paragraph 0054; a pressure sensor for detecting pressure in a seat in the controlled environment, which may detect either or both the weight of a seated passenger and/or a heartbeat of an occupant of the seat, Paragraph 0065) to an electronic controller (40), wherein the electronic controller (40) is in communication with (as illustrated in Figure 1) a cabin air circulation system (30) and a first environmental control system (20); and
sending (see Step 204 and Paragraph 0054) a first temperature command (the controller 40 controls environmental properties including temperature. Cabin temperature sensor data may be used to determine the fresh air flow 11; accordingly a first temperature command is sent by 40 to 20 to control the temperature of 11), by the electronic controller (40), to the first environmental control system (20) to adjust a temperature (via 20) of a first air inflow (11) into the first zone (one zone of the different zones of 32, Paragraph 0064) of the cabin (controlled environment 32, such as a cabin of the aircraft, Paragraph 0040) based on the temperature (data from 34 indicating temperature) and the number of occupied seats (the flow control valve 50 may be adjusted by the controller 40 to provide a particular air flow 1 to the controlled environment 32 based on the estimated number of people in the controlled environment 32, Paragraph 0054) sensed by the at least one cabin occupancy sensor (34; temperature sensor, Paragraph 0054; a pressure sensor for detecting pressure in a seat in the controlled environment, which may detect either or both the weight of a seated passenger and/or a heartbeat of an occupant of the seat, Paragraph 0065).
Further, “the controller 40 may be configured to estimate the passenger density in different zones within the cabin. Such information can be used to control the fresh air flow 11 and recirculation flows within the different zones based on the occupant density in each zone”, Paragraph 0064.
However, Quartarone lacks showing the temperature sensor measures the surface temperatures of the passengers.
In the same field of endeavor of vehicle airflow control, Kumar teaches (Figure 1):
It is known in the vehicle airflow control (title) art for a temperature sensor (45 and 46) to sense the surface temperatures of the passengers (comfort sensors 45 and 46 provide respective comfort signals to the controller 30 for characterizing temperature or other thermal characteristic associated with a respective row zone or seat location. An infrared sensor, for example could characterize the skin temperature of an occupant to assess whether a particular comfort level is achieved, Col. 3, lines 8-18) in a zone (the zone of the second row and the zone of the third row) in addition to a seat occupancy sensor (31-37).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the temperature sensor indicating the cabin internal temperature shown by Quartarone to be an infrared sensor sensing surface/skin temperature of each occupant, as taught by Kumar, to increase passenger comfort by asses skin temperature of each occupant to assess whether a particular comfort level is achieved on an individual level.
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Quartarone (Figures 1 and 2) and Kumar (Figure 1) teaches:
Sensing (Quartarone: see Step 200), by the at least one cabin occupancy sensor (Quartarone: 34; temperature sensor, Paragraph 0054; as modified in view of Kumar above to measure surface temperature of the passengers), surface temperature (Kumar: comfort sensors 45 and 46 provide respective comfort signals to the controller 30 for characterizing temperature or other thermal characteristic associated with a respective row zone or seat location. An infrared sensor, for example could characterize the skin temperature of an occupant to assess whether a particular comfort level is achieved, Col. 3, lines 8-18) of passengers within a second zone (Quartarone: second zone of the different zones of 32, Paragraph 0064) of the cabin (Quartarone: controlled environment 32, such as a cabin of the aircraft, Paragraph 0040) of the aircraft (Quartarone: aircraft, Paragraph 0040);
communicating (Quartarone: values from the one or more sensors 34 may be passed to the controller 40, Paragraph 0055) data representative of temperature (Quartarone: data from 34 indicating temperature) and the number of occupied seats (Quartarone: if weight/heartbeat is detected, the seat is occupied; by totaling from each sensor, the number of occupied seat is represented) within the second zone (Quartarone: second zone of the different zones of 32, Paragraph 0064) from the at least one cabin occupancy sensor (Quartarone: 34; temperature sensor, Paragraph 0054; a pressure sensor for detecting pressure in a seat in the controlled environment, which may detect either or both the weight of a seated passenger and/or a heartbeat of an occupant of the seat, Paragraph 0065) to the electronic controller (Quartarone: 40), wherein the electronic controller (Quartarone: 40) is in communication with (Quartarone: as illustrated in Figure 1) a second environmental control system (Quartarone: 20; “air conditioning packs 20”, Paragraph 0043; accordingly, there is more than one 20); and
sending (Quartarone: see Step 204 and Paragraph 0054) a first temperature command (Quartarone: the controller 40 controls environmental properties including temperature. Cabin temperature sensor data may be used to determine the fresh air flow 11; accordingly a first temperature command is sent by 40 to 20 to control the temperature of 11), by the electronic controller (Quartarone: 40), to the second environmental control system (Quartarone: 20) to adjust a temperature (Quartarone: via 20) of a first air inflow (Quartarone: 11) into the second zone (Quartarone: second zone of the different zones of 32, Paragraph 0064) of the cabin (Quartarone: controlled environment 32, such as a cabin of the aircraft, Paragraph 0040) based on the temperature (Quartarone: data from 34 indicating temperature) and the number of occupied seats (Quartarone: the flow control valve 50 may be adjusted by the controller 40 to provide a particular air flow 1 to the controlled environment 32 based on the estimated number of people in the controlled environment 32, Paragraph 0054) sensed by the at least one cabin occupancy sensor (Quartarone: 34; temperature sensor, Paragraph 0054).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 – 5, 9 – 11, and 15 – 18 are objected to as being dependent on a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claims 3 and 15, Fuchte teaches (Figures 3 and 4):
Sensing a distribution of empty seats within the cabin of the aircraft (the evaluation device 24 also evaluates the seat occupancy of the seat 3, in particular it evaluates whether an on which seats 3 of the seat region 2 a person is sitting and whether and which seats are unoccupied, Paragraph 0056) and communicating data representative of the distribution of empty seats to the electronics controller (28).
However, neither Quartarone nor Fuchte teaches sending a temperature command, by the electronic controller, to the at least one environmental control system to adjust a temperature of the total air inflow into the cabin based on the distribution of empty seats sensed by the at least one cabin occupancy sensor.
Modifying the combination accordingly requires impermissible hindsight.
Claims 4 and 5 depend from Claim 3.
Claims 16 – 18 depend from Claim 15.
Regarding Claim 9, Quartarone shows (Figures 1 and 2):
An environmental control system (20), wherein the electronic controller (40) is in communication with (as illustrated in Figure 1) the environmental control system (20).
Fuchte teaches (Figures 3 and 4):
Detecting a distribution of empty seats within the cabin of the aircraft (the evaluation device 24 also evaluates the seat occupancy of the seat 3, in particular it evaluates whether an on which seats 3 of the seat region 2 a person is sitting and whether and which seats are unoccupied, Paragraph 0056) and communicating data representative of the distribution of empty seats to the electronics controller (28).
However, neither Quartarone nor Fuchte teaches the electronic controller is configured to send commands to the environmental control system based on the distribution of empty seats sensed by the cabin occupancy sensor.
Modifying the combination accordingly requires impermissible hindsight.
Claims 10 and 11 depend from Claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided in the Notice of References Cited.
The following prior art teaches related aircraft atmosphere control systems and methods:
Krenz et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0394912): see Figure 1
Zhang et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,889,939): see Figure 1
Jouper et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,302,781): see Figures 1B and 2
Desmarais et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2013/0231035): see Figure 1
Gray et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,837,541): see Figures 1 and 3
/DANA K TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/STEVEN B MCALLISTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762