DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-10 and 12-20 in the reply filed on 9/10/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). It is noted that applicant requests that the claims be rejoined if Group I is found allowable.
Claim 11 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/10/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 3, the wherein clause is confusing. Specifically, the limitation “when the polymer A is a polymer formed by polymerization of vinyl aromatic hydrocarbon and thermally crosslinkable monomer” can be interpreted two ways. In the preceding limitations it defines a polymerization of at least one of vinyl aromatic hydrocarbon and thermally crosslinking monomer, while when both are polymerized together it is referred to as copolymerization. The limitation quoted above mixes these two limitations and makes it unclear whether it is referring to a 1) polymerization of either vinyl aromatic hydrocarbon or thermally crosslinkable monomer or 2) copolymerization of both vinyl aromatic hydrocarbon and thermally crosslinkable monomer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 9-10, 12, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 227124 (herein Wong).
As to claims 1-2, 4, and 9-10, Wong discloses a polymer capable of forming an elastic material (see page 9 and examples) capable of thermal crosslinking (pages 2-3 and examples). The polymers are synthesized by anionic polymerization (page 7 and examples). The polymer is hydrogenated to be oxidative stable (see page 9 and examples) in order to remove the residual double bonds of the conjugated diene and to produce a saturated polymer.
The polymers are block copolymers of the structure below that read on the claimed structures (see page 10):
Note that Y=claimed formula symbol X, which is a residual of a coupling agent. See page 10.
The polymer A block is a monoalkenyl arene monomer unit block (e.g. styrene, thus reading on a hard block A) and a polymer block B is a conjugated diene block (e.g. butadiene, thus reading on soft block B). See page 9 and examples.
The A block comprises a thermally crosslinking monomer, specifically vinylbenzocyclobutene (VBC) of structure II shown below (see page 9) and reading on claimed formula, wherein R1=R2=R3=hydrogen.
Specific attention is drawn to the examples, such as example 9, which is a styrene butadiene styrene triblock copolymer have the structure A-B-A, wherein A comprises styrene units and VBC units and B comprises butadiene units. Wherein the triblock copolymer is hydrogenated. This reads on the claimed structure, wherein m=n=f=i=j=k=1.
All limitations are met.
As to claim 12, note that the polymer is identical as described above. The preamble “for heart valve prosthesis” is treated as a recitation of intended use, which the polymer is capable of performing since it is the same polymer. MPEP 2111.02 states that "if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction". Further, MPEP 2111.02 states that statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether the purpose or intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
As to claim 17, the number average molecular weight is taught to be about 57,000 g/mol (7500+42,000+7500), the tensile strength (referred to as stress at break) is taught as above 10 MPa (e.g. 20.24 MPa), and the breaking elongation (% Elong at break) is taught as above 300% (e.g. 905%). See examples in table 8. Also see the table on page 11 which gives a number average molecular weight of the blocks which fall within the claimed range for the molecular weight.
As to claim 19, elastic materials formed by crosslinking the polymer are disclosed. See page 12 and examples.
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4,968,754 (herein Wong-2)
As to claims 1-10, Wong-2 discloses ABA triblock copolymers of blocks of hard A of styrene and vinylbenzocyclobutene (VBC) reading on the claimed formula wherein R1=R2=R3=hydrogen and blocks of butadiene with the remained the monomers of the A block (e.g. styrene) which are anionically polymerized. See col. 3, lines 29-65 and examples. Note that the B blocks are tapered, meaning that they comprise some styrene and VBC. See col. 3, lines 55-68. The block copolymers are elastomeric (col. 1, lines 55-68) that are crosslinkable (by heat). See examples. The copolymers are hydrogenated (thus are saturated). See col. 5, line 4 through col. 6, line 6.
As to claims 12-16, note that the polymer is identical as described above. The preamble “for heart valve prosthesis” is treated as a recitation of intended use, which the polymer is capable of performing since it is the same polymer. MPEP 2111.02 states that "if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction". Further, MPEP 2111.02 states that statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether the purpose or intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 227124 (herein Wong) in view of US 2009/0124773 (herein Zhou).
The discussion with respect to Wong set-forth above is incorporated herein by reference.
As to claim 20, Wong is silent on the polymer forming a heart valve prosthesis.
Zhou discloses similar block copolymers having styrene, butadiene and vinylbenzocyclobutene. See examples. Zhou discloses that the polymers are suitable for synthetic heart valve (prosthetic heart valve). See paragraph 17.
It would have been obvious at the time of the invention to have modified the polymer of Wong for use in synthetic heart valves/prosthesis as suggested by Zhou because one would want to utilize the polymer for its intended purpose taught as suitable for similar polymers. See paragraph 17 of Zhou.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 227124 (herein Wong) in view of US 2009/0124773 (herein Zhou) and WO 2017/174253 (herein Ascione).
The discussion with respect to Wong set-forth above is incorporated herein by reference.
As to claim 18, Wong is silent on the polymer forming a heart valve prosthesis.
Zhou discloses similar block copolymers having styrene, butadiene and vinylbenzocyclobutene. See examples. Zhou discloses that the polymers are suitable for synthetic heart valve (prosthetic heart valve). See paragraph 17.
Ascione discloses similar crosslinkable block copolymers for heart valves (see abstract and examples). Ascione teaches that the thickness of the leaflets of the valve should be about 0.3 to 0.5 mm in thickness with examples at 0.4 mm. See page 4 and 8 of Ascione.
It would have been obvious at the time of the invention to have modified the polymer of Wong for use in synthetic heart valves/prosthesis as suggested by Zhou with a thickness of about 0.40 mm as suggested by Ascione because one would want to utilize the polymer for its intended purpose of heart valves utilizing typical parameters/thickness of the components. See paragraph 17 of Zhou and page 4 and 8 of Ascione.
Claim(s) 3, 5-8 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 227124 (herein Wong) in view of US 4,968,754 (herein Wong-2).
The discussion with respect to Wong set-forth above is incorporated herein by reference.
As to claims 3, 5-8 and 13-16, Wong is silent on the B block being a copolymer of conjugated diene with vinyl aromatic hydrocarbon and/or thermally crosslinking monomer.
Wong-2 teaches similar block copolymers. See examples. Wong-2 teaches that the B block may be tapered with 85% conjugated diene monomers and the remainder being monomers of the A block (e.g. vinyl aromatic hydrocarbons such as styrene and thermally crosslinking monomers such as vinylbenzocyclobutene). See col. 3, lines 55-58. In other words, tapered blocks of B are interchangeable with the blocks of Wong.
It would have been obvious at the time of the invention to have modified the polymer of Wong with a tapered B block as suggested by Wong-2 to include monomer units of vinyl aromatic hydrocarbons (styrene) and thermally crosslinking monomers (vinylbenzocyclobutene) as suggested by Wong-2 because Wong-2 teaches that such blocks are suitable and interchangeable for the blocks. See col. 3, lines 55-58 of Wong-2.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10, 12-17 and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5-6 and 13-14 of copending Application No. 18/479,545 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
As to claim 1, copending claim 1 anticipates the claim. Note that the copending claim comprises the additional limitation in the preamble.
As to claim 2, see copending claim 2.
As to claims 3-10, see copending claims 1 and 5-6.
As to claims 12-16, note that the polymer is identical and thus would be capable f being for a heart valve. The preamble “for heart valve prosthesis” is treated as a recitation of intended use, which the polymer is capable of performing since it is the same polymer. MPEP 2111.02 states that "if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction". Further, MPEP 2111.02 states that statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether the purpose or intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
As to claim 17, see copending claims 13-14, which have ranges that overlap the claimed range. It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974). Also see MPEP 2144.05 stating that when there is overlap with the claimed ranges and the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to select any amount within the disclosed ranges, including amounts within the scope of the instant claims.
As to claim 19, see copending claim 16.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/MARK S KAUCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764