Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following antecedent basis informalities:
Claim 15, ll. 5, consider amending to, --through [[the]]a center of the sanding head, wherein the fluid--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izumisawa et al. (EP 0691181), as provided by applicant in IDS filed on 10/02/2023 and translation provided by Examiner, in view of Greer (US 2009/0124184).
Regarding claim 1, Izumisawa et al. (EP 0691181) discloses an apparatus for polishing a surface (p. 1, pp. 6 in NPL):
a housing (item 18; figs. 1-2) having an inlet (designated in annotated fig. 1 below) and an outlet (item 22; fig. 1), wherein the inlet and the outlet are fluidly connected (p. 2, pp. 6; air is injected through inlet and outlet 22 in order to flow through polishing surface);
a polisher (item 3; fig. 1) attached to the housing (polisher 3 mounts directly to housing 18; figs. 1-2);
a head (item 4; figs. 1-2) attached to the outlet of the housing configured to polish the surface (p. 2, pp. 3; head 4 includes pad for polishing), wherein the polisher is configured to actuate the head (p. 2, pp. 3; polisher 3 includes motor 11 to drive the head which is connected to shaft 12; fig. 1);
a fluid supply line (defined as items 19b, 21, 25; fig. 1) connecting the inlet of the housing to a fluid supply source (inlet of housing 3 is connected to fluid supply source, i.e. defined as items 5, 9, 19, via fluid supply line; fig. 1); and
a handle (item 1; figs. 1-3) attached to the polisher (handle 1 extends directly outward from polisher 3; figs. 1-3), wherein the fluid supply source is configured to provide a fluid (p. 2, pp. 5; fluid defined as compressed air) through the fluid supply line and the sanding head to cool the surface (p. 2, pp. 5; fluid supply source 5 is capable of providing the compressed air through the fluid supply line 19b, 21, 25 and into the head 4 through item 23 to cool the surface).
Though Izumisawa discloses the primary object of the invention is to polish and finish a work, Izumisawa does not explicitly disclose wherein the apparatus comprises a sanding housing, a sander, and a sanding head (i.e. with sanding pad).
However, Greer (US 2009/0124184) teaches an apparatus (item 220) for sanding, polishing, or otherwise finishing a surface wherein power polishers and sanders are somewhat interchangeable, depending on the job and thereby, by attaching a fine sanding disk to a rotary polisher (corresponding to polisher in Izumisawa), the polisher can sand a surface (pp. [0007-0008]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the head, as disclosed in Izumisawa, to include a fine sanding disk thereby, defining the apparatus as a sander with sanding housing and sanding head, as taught in Greer, in order for the apparatus to function as intended and sand, polish, and otherwise finish a surface.
Further, though Izumisawa et al. appears to disclose the sanding head is removably attached to the outlet of the housing (i.e. via screw on sanding head, fig. 1), Izumisawa does not explicitly disclose wherein the sanding head is removably attached to the sanding housing.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sanding head, as disclosed in Izumisawa as modified by Greer, to be removable from the outlet of the housing since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements for replacement, maintenance, and/or repair involves only routine skill in the art (refer to MPEP 2144.04.V-C).
Izumisawa Annotated Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 3, Izumisawa as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the fluid is compressed air (p. 2, pp. 5; compressed air is introduced into sander 3 via port 5).
Regarding claim 4, Izumisawa as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the sander is an orbital sander (p. 2, pp. 4; sander is an orbital sander as head rotates and oscillates, i.e. sanding surface via circular motion).
Regarding claim 5, Izumisawa as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a second handle (item 2; fig. 3; p. 2, pp. 3-4) attached to the sander (second handle 2 extends from sander 3; fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Izumisawa as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the sanding head comprises a sanding pad (Greer; pad 2 is modified as a fine sanding disk) and a sanding pad support structure (item 14; fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Izumisawa as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 6, wherein the sanding pad is a porous material suitable for the fluid to pass through the sanding pad to the surface (p. 2, pp. 6; pad 4, as modified in Greer as a fine sanding disk, includes opening 23 for air to pass through onto surface, i.e. porous).
Regarding claim 10, Izumisawa as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the sanding head is circular in shape (fig. 3; head 4 is circular).
Regarding claim 11, Izumisawa as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the sanding head defines a first axis (designated in annotated fig. 1 above) passing through a center of the sanding head (first axis extends through center portion of head 4; fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Izumisawa as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 11, wherein the fluid supply line is arranged parallel to the first axis (a portion of fluid supply line, i.e. items 21, 25, is parallel to first axis; fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Izumisawa as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 11, wherein the fluid supply source is arranged parallel to the first axis (at least a portion of fluid supply source, i.e. item 19, designated in annotated fig. 1 above, is arranged parallel to the first axis).
Regarding claim 14, Izumisawa as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 11, wherein the sander is arranged orthogonal to the first axis (designated in annotated fig. 1 above; outer surface of sander, i.e. item 18, is orthogonal, i.e. angled, relative to first axis).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izumisawa et al. (EP 0691181), as provided by applicant in IDS filed on 10/02/2023 and translation provided by Examiner, in view of Greer (US 2009/0124184), and further in view of Forbes (US Patent No. 6,520,846).
Regarding claim 2, Izumisawa as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the fluid supply source is a vortex tube.
However, Forbes (US Patent No. 6,520,846) teaches an apparatus for polishing or sanding a surface (abstract), wherein the apparatus includes a fluid supply line (defined as feed line; col. 2, ll. 53-65) connecting an inlet (item 3; fig. 1) of a sanding head (item 5; fig. 1) to a fluid supply source (item 16; fig. 1), and wherein the fluid supply source is a vortex tube (item 8; fig. 1) and may be incorporated in a handle of the apparatus (col. 4, ll. 13-15; corresponding to fluid supply source in handle of Izumisawa).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluid supply source disposed in the handle, as disclosed in Izumisawa, to include a vortex tube, as taught in Forbes, in order to provide a simple, effective, and economical method of delivering cold gas to the surface to be cleaned and head of a sanding or polishing apparatus (Forbes; col. 2, ll. 66 through col. 3, ll. 2).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izumisawa et al. (EP 0691181), as provided by applicant in IDS filed on 10/02/2023 and translation provided by Examiner, in view of Greer (US 2009/0124184), and further in view Rogy (FR 2953750), as provided by the Examiner. i
Regarding claim 8, Izumisawa as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 6, but does not disclose wherein the sanding pad support structure has a plurality of apertures configured to allow the fluid to pass through the sanding pad and configured to collect solid particulate.
However, Rogy (FR2953750) teaches an apparatus for polishing (fig. 1) comprising a compressed air cooling means, analogous to the compressed air cooling means in Izumisawa, wherein the apparatus comprises a polishing head (incudes items 5, 6; fig. 2) including a pad support structure (item 5; fig. 2) and a pad (item 6; fig. 2), and wherein the pad support structure has a plurality of apertures (items 17; fig. 2) configured to allow the compressed air to pass through to the pad and configured to collect solid particulate (pad support structure 5 is capable of allowing compressed air, i.e. fluid, to flow through the pad via apertures 17 and simultaneously, collect solid particulate via solid portions of the support structure, i.e. no apertures; fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sanding head, as disclosed in Izumisawa as modified by Greer, to include a plurality of apertures in the sanding pad support structure, as disclosed in Rogy, in order for the cooling of the polishing medium to be effective, complete, and homogeneous, without leaving any heated areas; thereby, improving performance and ensuring a longer lifespan of the apparatus by delaying the wear of the device (Rogy; pp. [0006], [0011], and [0017]).
Regarding claim 9, Izumisawa as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 8, wherein the solid particulate is ice (as modified by Rogy above; pad support structure is capable of collecting solid particulate, such as ice, formed through compressed air supply).
Claims 15-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE202011004232 (DE’232), as provided by the Examiner, in view of Greer (US 2009/0124184).
Regarding claim 15, DE202011004232 (DE’232) discloses an apparatus (item 1; figs. 1-2) for sanding or polishing a surface (pp. [0018] in NPL; apparatus is used for sanding or polishing) comprising:
a polisher (includes items 13; fig. 1) having a motor (item 4; pp. [0009]; fig. 1) and a polishing head (includes items 2, 3, 6, 18, 20, 23, 26, 27; fig. 1; similar to applicant’s disclosure in which the sanding head may include a sanding head support structure and a sanding pad, p. 12 of instant disclosure), wherein the polishing head defines a fluid flow axis (defined as axis extending along dashed-line through item 6 in view of fig. 1 below) passing through the center of the polishing head (center of polishing head defined as portion of polishing head within rectangular boundary, designated in annotated fig. 1 below; fluid flow axis passes through the center), wherein the fluid flow axis is non-parallel with the surface (fluid flow axis is non-parallel, i.e. orthogonal, to the surface in which glass polishing is occurring);
at least one cooling fluid device (includes items 10, 11, 17, 19, 21; fig. 1) fluidly connected to the polishing head (at least one cooling device connects fluid supply line to the polishing head; fig. 1) configured to provide a cooling fluid (pp. [0005-0006]; item 7; defined as compressed air) along the fluid flow axis through the polishing head (pp. [0030] and [0038-0039]; when trigger 12 is activated, fluid is supplied through from fluid supply source and into polishing head in order to provide cooled compressed air to the surface and ensure optimal polishing results); and
at least one handle (item 8; fig. 1) configured to structurally support the motor and the at least one cooling fluid device (handle 8 extends from sander 13 to support, i.e. bear the weight of, the motor and the cooling device within polisher 13 structure; fig. 1);
wherein the at least one cooling fluid device is fluidly connected to a fluid supply source (item 9; pp. [0030]; fig. 1; at least one cooling fluid device is selectively fluidly connected to supply source via trigger 12 and valve 11), wherein the polishing head comprises a particulate filter (item 24; pp. [0035-0036]; fig. 1) to capture solid particulate generated by the cooling fluid (pp. [0035-0036]; the filter captures containments within the cooling fluid, i.e. compressed air).
Though DE’232 suggest sponges or flexible foam pads are used as polishing pads for polishing or sanding surfaces (pp. [0018]), DE’232 does not explicitly disclose wherein the head is a sanding head (i.e. sanding pad).
However, Greer (US 2009/0124184) teaches an apparatus (item 220) for sanding, polishing, or otherwise finishing a surface wherein power polishers and sanders are somewhat interchangeable, depending on the job and thereby, by attaching a fine sanding disk to a rotary polisher (corresponding to polisher in DE’232), the polisher can sand a surface (pp. [0007-0008]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the head, as disclosed in DE’232, to include a fine sanding disk thereby, defining the apparatus as a sander with a sanding head, as taught in Greer, in order for the apparatus to function as intended and sand, polish, and otherwise finish a surface.
DE’232 Annotated Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 16, DE’232 as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 15, wherein the cooling fluid is compressed air (pp. [0005-0006]; item 7; defined as compressed air).
Regarding claim 18, DE’232 as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 15, wherein the sanding head comprises a material that allows fluid to flow through the material (pp. [0039-0040]; sanding head comprises pad, i.e. item 2, which allows compressed air to flow through and to the underside of the pad).
Regarding claim 19, DE’232 as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 15, wherein the at least one handle is configured to be mounted to a robotic arm (the handle 8 is capable of being mounted to a robotic arm).
Regarding claim 20, DE’232 as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 15, further comprising at least one tube (item 17 is a cylindrical, hollow structure; fig. 1) fluidly connects the at least one cooling fluid device to the sanding head (pp. [0032-0034]; item 17 fluidly connects cooling fluid device to sanding head when trigger 12 is activated; fig. 1).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE202011004232 (DE’232), as provided by the Examiner, in view of Greer (US 2009/0124184), and further in view of Forbes (US Patent No. 6,520,846).
Regarding claim 17, DE’232 as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 15, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one cooling fluid device is at least one vortex tube.
However, Forbes (US Patent No. 6,520,846) teaches an apparatus for polishing or sanding a surface (abstract), wherein the apparatus includes at least one cooling device (defined as feed line; col. 2, ll. 53-65) connecting an inlet (item 3; fig. 1) of a sanding head (item 5; fig. 1) to a fluid supply source (item 16; fig. 1), and wherein the at least one cooling device is a vortex tube (item 8; fig. 1) that may be incorporated in a handle of the apparatus (col. 4, ll. 13-15; corresponding to at least one cooling fluid device extending into handle of DE’232) and may include a valve to cut off air supply to the vortex tube (col. 5, ll. 9-12; corresponding to valve 11 in DE’232).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify at least cooling device extending into handle, as disclosed in DE’232, to be a vortex tube, as taught in Forbes, in order to provide a simple, effective, and economical method of delivering cold gas to the surface to be cleaned and head of a sanding or polishing apparatus (Forbes; col. 2, ll. 66 through col. 3, ll. 2).
Conclusion
/SIDNEY D FULL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723