DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II (Claims 3-8 and 15-21) in the reply filed on 08-11-2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04-25-2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 3-8 and 15-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0152978 hereinafter Cho.
Regarding Claim 3, Cho teaches a method of preparing an electrode for a battery (paragraph 64), the method comprising: mixing a metal hydroxide precursor with a lithium source (i.e., mixing iron containing precursor with zinc containing precursor); and injecting a sulfur-containing gas into the reactor (paragraphs 65-66, 71).
Regarding Claims 4-8, Cho teaches that the composition for the sulfur-containing gas is not limited (paragraph 74) and can include Na2S and/or H2S; that the precursor comprises zinc solvent and gelling agent; and drying in a furnace at or below 800o C (paragraph 70).
Regarding Claim 15, Cho teaches a method of preparing an electrode for a battery (paragraph 64), the method comprising: mixing a metal hydroxide precursor with a lithium source (i.e., mixing iron containing precursor with zinc containing precursor); and injecting a sulfur-containing gas into the reactor (paragraphs 65-66, 71). Cho further teaches that the firing process is increased from room temperature to 700 or 800o C (i.e., firing the precursor composition to form a slurry and then injecting a sulfur-containing gas at about 400 to 600 o C), while maintaining a selected concentration of the sulfide source gas (paragraphs 72-74).
Regarding Claims 16-21, Cho teaches that the firing process is increased from room temperature to 700 or 800o C (i.e., firing the precursor composition to form a slurry and then injecting a sulfur-containing gas at about 400 to 600 o C), while maintaining a selected concentration of the sulfide source gas (paragraphs 72-74). Cho further teaches that the composition for the sulfur-containing gas is not limited (paragraph 74) and can include Na2S and/or H2S.
Conclusion
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752