DETAILED ACTION
The Examiner thanks the Applicant for the well-prepared amendment. The Examiner appreciates the Applicant’s effort to carefully analyze the Office action, and make appropriate arguments and amendments.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 responded on September 29, 2025 are pending, claims 1, 6, 11 and 16 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-13, 15-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samsung (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 NR Ad-Hoc#2 R1-1710650, hereinafter "3GPP") in view of LEE et al. (US 2019/0238247 A1, hereinafter "Lee") and Ying et al. (US 2018/0368110 A1, Provisional application No. 62/519,730, filed on Jun 14, 2017, hereinafter "Ying").
Regarding claim 1, 3GPP discloses a method for wireless communication, comprising:
transmitting, from a base station to a terminal, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message that includes X sets of parameter values (3GPP, pg. 1 transmission parameters set 1… semi-static configuration via RRC for transmission parameter set 1: DMRS configuration, Time domain DMRS bundling, maximum number of layers for PDSCH/PUSCH, PRG candidate configuration, Configuration of PTRS, Resource allocation type and QCL parameter set configuration),
wherein each of the X sets of parameter values jointly encodes (1) a configuration parameter of a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) (3GPP, pg. 1 following parameters should be supported: DMRS configuration), and (2) a parameter for a Phase Tracking Reference Signal (PTRS) indicating whether the PTRS is present (3GPP, pg. 2 following parameters should be supported: configuration of PTRS…Based on the configuration, DCI can dynamically indicate that the presence of PTRS or type of PTRS), X being a positive integer, and wherein the X sets of parameter values are associated with a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) table for a data transmission (Samsung, pg. 1 Maximum number of layers for PDSCH/PUSCH assignment can be configured to UE. Based on this configuration, the number of MCS fields); and
transmitting, from the base station to the terminal, a Downlink Control Information message that includes a selection indication indicating a set of parameter values from the X sets of parameter values included in the RRC (3GPP, pg.2 Transmission parameter set 2 is a set of parameter to be dynamically indicated to UE via DCI…QCL parameter set can be selected via DCI…presence of PTRS or transmitted PTRS type can be indicated via DCI).
3GPP does not a parameter for a Phase Tracking Reference Signal (PTRS) indicating whether the PTRS is present in RRC message.
Lee from the same field of endeavor discloses a parameter for a Phase Tracking Reference Signal (PTRS) indicating whether the PTRS is present in RRC message (Lee, [0172] the BS may configure ON/OFF of transmission of the single type of PTRS through RRC).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified transmission parameter sets disclosed by 3GPP and PTRS configuration through RRC message disclosed by Lee with a motivation to make this modification in order to improve throughput (Lee, [0168]).
Samsung in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the X sets of parameter values are associated with a hybrid automatic retransmission request (HARQ) parameter, the HARQ parameter related to coding block group (CBG) information.
Ying from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the X sets of parameter values are associated with a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) table for a data transmission and a hybrid automatic retransmission request (HARQ) parameter, the HARQ parameter related to coding block group (CBG) information (Ying, [0095] the CBG indicator may be jointly designed with a Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS). The reserved, remaining or unused values of the MCS field may be reused to indicate CBGs of a TB are transmitted. For example, some values in NR MCS table may be reserved. If one of these values is used, it may mean that MCS of the CBG transmission is the same as the previous transmission in the same HARQ process and it may also indicate which CBGs of a TB are transmitted).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to include the teachings of Ying’s system for parameter with MCS and HARQ into 3GPP’s transmission parameter set as modified by Lee with a motivation to make this modification in order to improve communication capacity, speed, flexibility and/or efficiency (Ying, [0004]).
Regarding claim 2, 3GPP discloses wherein the parameter for the PTRS indicates a resource location used by the PTRS (3GPP, pg. 2 configuration of PTRS and resource allocation type).
Regarding claim 3, 3GPP discloses the parameter for the PTRS but does not explicitly disclose a transmission density used by the PTRS.
Lee from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the parameter for the PTRS indicates a transmission density used by the PTRS (Lee, [0179] UE-dedicated PTRSs having different time density may be used depending on TRB sizes or MCS levels, and such a UE-dedicated PTRS may be configured for a UE through RRC).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified transmission parameter sets disclosed by 3GPP and PTRS configuration through RRC message disclosed by Lee with a motivation to make this modification in order to improve throughput (Lee, [0168]).
Regarding claim 5, 3GPP discloses wherein the configuration parameter of the DMRS comprises a scrambling value for scrambling the DMRS (3GPP, pg. 2 DMRS sequence indication: In order to support dynamic point selection, indication of DMRS sequence can be dynamically delivered to UE based on DMRS configuration in transmission parameter set 1).
Regarding claims 11-13 and 15, these claims recite "a device for wireless communication" that disclose similar steps as recited by the method of claims 1-3 and 5, thus are rejected with the same rationale applied against claims 1-3 and 5 as presented above.
Regarding claim 6, 3GPP discloses a method for wireless communication, comprising:
receiving, by a terminal from a base station, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message that includes X sets of parameter values (3GPP, pg. 1 transmission parameters set 1… semi-static configuration via RRC for transmission parameter set 1: DMRS configuration, Time domain DMRS bundling, maximum number of layers for PDSCH/PUSCH, PRG candidate configuration, Configuration of PTRS, Resource allocation type and QCL parameter set configuration),
wherein each set of parameter values jointly encodes (1) a configuration parameter
of a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) (3GPP, pg. 1 following parameters should be supported: DMRS configuration), and (2) a parameter for a
Phase Tracking Reference Signal (PTRS) indicating whether the PTRS is present (3GPP, pg. 2 following parameters should be supported: configuration of PTRS…Based on the configuration, DCI can dynamically indicate that the presence of PTRS or type of PTRS), X being a positive integer, and wherein the X sets of parameter values are associated with a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) table for a data transmission (Samsung, pg. 1 Maximum number of layers for PDSCH/PUSCH assignment can be configured to UE. Based on this configuration, the number of MCS fields); and
receiving, by the terminal from the base station, a Downlink Control Information message that includes a selection indication indicating a set of parameter values from the X sets of parameter values included in the RRC message (3GPP, pg.2 Transmission parameter set 2 is a set of parameter to be dynamically indicated to UE via DCI…QCL parameter set can be selected via DCI…presence of PTRS or transmitted PTRS type can be indicated via DCI).
3GPP does not a parameter for a Phase Tracking Reference Signal (PTRS) indicating whether the PTRS is present in RRC message.
Lee from the same field of endeavor discloses a parameter for a Phase Tracking Reference Signal (PTRS) indicating whether the PTRS is present in RRC message (Lee, [0172] the BS may configure ON/OFF of transmission of the single type of PTRS through RRC).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified transmission parameter sets disclosed by 3GPP and PTRS configuration through RRC message disclosed by Lee with a motivation to make this modification in order to improve throughput (Lee, [0168]).
Samsung in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the X sets of parameter values are associated with a hybrid automatic retransmission request (HARQ) parameter, the HARQ parameter related to coding block group (CBG) information.
Ying from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the X sets of parameter values are associated with a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) table for a data transmission and a hybrid automatic retransmission request (HARQ) parameter, the HARQ parameter related to coding block group (CBG) information (Ying, [0095] the CBG indicator may be jointly designed with a Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS). The reserved, remaining or unused values of the MCS field may be reused to indicate CBGs of a TB are transmitted. For example, some values in NR MCS table may be reserved. If one of these values is used, it may mean that MCS of the CBG transmission is the same as the previous transmission in the same HARQ process and it may also indicate which CBGs of a TB are transmitted).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to include the teachings of Ying’s system for parameter with MCS and HARQ into 3GPP’s transmission parameter set as modified by Lee with a motivation to make this modification in order to improve communication capacity, speed, flexibility and/or efficiency (Ying, [0004]).
Regarding claim 7, 3GPP discloses wherein the parameter for the PTRS indicates a resource location used by the PTRS (3GPP, pg. 2 configuration of PTRS and resource allocation type).
Regarding claim 8, 3GPP discloses the parameter for the PTRS but does not explicitly disclose a transmission density used by the PTRS.
Lee from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the parameter for the PTRS indicates a transmission density used by the PTRS (Lee, [0179] UE-dedicated PTRSs having different time density may be used depending on TRB sizes or MCS levels, and such a UE-dedicated PTRS may be configured for a UE through RRC).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified transmission parameter sets disclosed by 3GPP and PTRS configuration through RRC message disclosed by Lee with a motivation to make this modification in order to improve throughput (Lee, [0168]).
Regarding claim 10, 3GPP discloses wherein the configuration parameter of the DMRS comprises a scrambling value for scrambling the DMRS (3GPP, pg. 2 DMRS sequence indication: In order to support dynamic point selection, indication of DMRS sequence can be dynamically delivered to UE based on DMRS configuration in transmission parameter set 1).
Regarding claims 16-18 and 20, these claims recite "a device for wireless communication" that disclose similar steps as recited by the method of claims 6-8 and 10, thus are rejected with the same rationale applied against claims 6-8 and 10 as presented above.
Claim(s) 4, 9, 14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samsung (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 NR Ad-Hoc#2 R1-1710650, hereinafter "3GPP") in view of LEE et al. (US 2019/0238247 A1, hereinafter "Lee") and Ying et al. (US 2018/0368110 A1, hereinafter "Ying") as applied to claim above, and further in view of Gao et al. (US 2021/0135922 A1, hereinafter "Gao").
Regarding claim 4, 3GPP in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose a type of the DMRS.
Gao from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the configuration parameter of the DMRS comprises a type of the DMRS (Gao, [0077] the RS configuration pattern may be indicated in advance (also referred to as “the first indication” in the following) to the terminal device 120 via higher layer signaling, such as signaling on Radio Resource Control (RRC) Layer, Medium Access Control (MAC) layer and so on. The first indication of RS configuration pattern may be conducted per bandwidth part, per sub-band, and/or per component carrier. For example, the DMRS configuration pattern, the number of DMRS symbols (i.e. type of the DMRS)).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to include the teachings of Gao’s system for transmission parameter set into 3GPP’s transmission parameter set as modified by Lee and Ying with a motivation to make this modification in order to reduce signaling overhead for indicating the DMRS configuration (Gao, [0034]).
Regarding claims 9, 14 and 19, these claims recite "a device for wireless communication" that disclose similar steps as recited by the method of claim 4, thus are rejected with the same rationale applied against claim 4 as presented above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUNA WEISSBERGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2415