DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Breault, Jr. (11,108,421).
As to claims 1-2, Breault discloses a case (10) for protecting a portable electronic device, the case including a single-piece main body (12) and a frame (14), the main body including a well for receiving a portable electronic device (Figure 4), the well defined by a plurality of perimeter walls (perimeter wall 18 with front 26, back 28, lateral sides 30 and 32) and a back wall (16) spanning therebetween, the well including at least one perimeter channel (as shown in Figure 4, the side wall 30 with the upper lip extend inward forming a channel between the lip and the back wall), the frame being received in the perimeter channel (Figure 4, the frame 14 is place inside the perimeter channel), an exterior surface of the frame being level with an exterior surface of the main body (as shown in Figure 4 above), the perimeter channel includes a lip, the lip interfering with the frame to retain the frame in the well.
As to claim 7, Breault further discloses the perimeter channel includes ribs, the ribs extending away from the perimeter channel (as shown in Figure 2, the backwall have plurality of channels (34), the wall between the channels are considered as ribs which is inside the perimeter channel below the lip of front side 26, backside 28, and lateral side 30 and 32).
As to claim 8, Breault further discloses the backwall is dished (as shown in Figures 5-6, the back wall 16 have recessed portion 34 that is dished, according to Merriam-Webster dictionary, the definition of the word dished is concave, which the recessed portion 34 is concave into the backwall).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breault, Jr. (11,108,421) in view of Alsberg et al (2016/0254836).
As to claims 3, 5-6, Breault does not specifically disclose the lip includes a terminal portion, the terminal portion engaging a notch on the frame when the frame is in the well, the lip includes a bevel on a top surface of the lip, the bevel adjacent to the frame when the frame is seated in the well and the lip includes a bevel on a bottom surface of the lip. Nevertheless, Alsberg discloses a case (Figure 11) for protecting a portable electronic device (105), the case including a main body (220, 230, 240) and a frame (210), the main body including a well for receiving a portable electronic device (as shown in Figure 11, the well is formed to hold the electronic device (105)) , the well defined by a plurality of perimeter walls and a back wall (back wall is considered as 220 and back wall of 230) spanning therebetween, the well including at least one perimeter channel (channel is form between the back wall and the lip 250) , the frame being received in the perimeter channel (210), Alsberg further discloses the lip includes a terminal portion, the terminal portion engaging a notch on the frame to retain the frame in the well (Figure 11), the lip includes a bevel on a top surface of the lip and the bottom surface of the lip , the bevel adjacent to the frame when the frame is seated in the well (as annotate above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of the electronic device case of Breault with terminal end of the lip lock into the a notch of the frame as taught by Alsberg in order to provide a greater locking mechanism to secure the frame inside the main body.
Claims 9-11 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breault, Jr. (11,108,421) in view of Fathollahi (2020/0295795).
As to claims 9-10, Breault discloses a case (10) for protecting a portable electronic device, the case including a main body (12) having a perimeter channel (as shown in Figure 4, the side wall 30 with the upper lip extend inward forming a channel between the lip and the back wall) surrounding a well (Figure 4) for receiving a portable electronic device and a removable frame (14), wherein the at least a portion of the frame being received in the perimeter channel (Figure 4, the frame 14 is place inside the perimeter channel) when the frame is seated in the well (Figure 4).
However, Breault does not disclose the frame has a durometer that is at least 20A higher than the durometer of the main body. Nevertheless, Fathollahi discloses a case (Figure 2C) to accommodate a plurality of sizes of portable electronic devices (functional language, the case can hold the exact size of the electronic device and/or hold a slightly smaller electronic device), the case including a main body (500) having a perimeter channel surrounding a well (a cell is form between the main body and the middle layer (400) for receiving a portable electronic device, a frame (300) having a durometer that is at least 20A higher than the durometer of the perimeter channel of the main body (according to the specification [0068] teaches that the first layer is 300, [0074] teaches the third layer is 500. [0045] discloses a first layer may have shore A durometer harness that is 40% or more greater than the third layer with the third layer may have a shore A durometer of 75. Therefore with the first layer may have a shore A durometer of 53.5. and thus meeting the claim language of a frame (300) having a durometer that is at least 20A higher than the durometer of the perimeter channel of the main body (500). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of the electronic device case of Breault with various shore A durometer hardness material as taught by Fathollahi in order to withstand various forces they are subject to without undergoing permanent deformation or damage.
As to claim 11, Breault as modified further disclose the perimeter channel includes a lip, the lip interfering with the frame to retain the frame in the well (Figure 4 as annotated above).
As to claim 16, Breault as modified further discloses the perimeter channel includes ribs, the ribs extending away from the perimeter channel (as shown in Figure 2, the backwall have plurality of channels (34), the wall between the channels are considered as ribs which is inside the perimeter channel below the lip of front side 26, backside 28, and lateral side 30 and 32).
As to claim 17, Breault as modified further discloses the backwall is dished (as shown in Figures 5-6, the back wall 16 have recessed portion 34 that is dished, according to Merriam-Webster dictionary, the definition of the word dished is concave, which the recessed portion 34 is concave into the backwall).
As to claim 18, Breault as modified further discloses the case retains a portable device of a first size without the frame being seated in the well, and retains a portable electronic device of a size different from the first size when the frame is seated in the well (Figure 4 of Breault teaches the case holding a first size of electronic device, and without the frame 14, the housing is capable of holding a greater size electronic device).
Claims 12, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breault, Jr. (11,108,421) in view of Fathollahi (2020/0295795), further in view of Alsberg et al (2016/0254836).
As to claims 12, 14-15, Breault does not specifically disclose the lip includes a terminal portion, the terminal portion engaging a notch on the frame when the frame is in the well, the lip includes a bevel on a top surface of the lip, the bevel adjacent to the frame when the frame is seated in the well and the lip includes a bevel on a bottom surface of the lip. Nevertheless, Alsberg discloses a case (Figure 11) for protecting a portable electronic device (105), the case including a main body (220, 230, 240) and a frame (210), the main body including a well for receiving a portable electronic device (as shown in Figure 11, the well is formed to hold the electronic device (105)) , the well defined by a plurality of perimeter walls and a back wall (back wall is considered as 220 and back wall of 230) spanning therebetween, the well including at least one perimeter channel (channel is form between the back wall and the lip 250) , the frame being received in the perimeter channel (210), Alsberg further discloses the lip includes a terminal portion, the terminal portion engaging a notch on the frame to retain the frame in the well (Figure 11), the lip includes a bevel on a top surface of the lip and the bottom surface of the lip , the bevel adjacent to the frame when the frame is seated in the well (as annotate above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of the electronic device case of Breault with terminal end of the lip lock into the a notch of the frame as taught by Alsberg in order to provide a greater locking mechanism to secure the frame inside the main body.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 19-20 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHUN HOI CHEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736