DETAILED ACTION
Miscellaneous Office Note
The prior Final Rejection is vacated. Accordingly, a new Non-Final Office Action is provided herewith along with a new statutory period for response (2 Months) (see MPEP 710.06). Applicant's request for reconsideration of the finality of the rejection of the last Office action is persuasive.
Status of claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
No amendment is made and no new claim is added.
Response to arguments
Regarding the arguments on page 10, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s position that Shimizu in view of Liu and Hoedt fail to teach “ the reference line is …lane boundary”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner states that Shimizu teaches a display control device (see Shimizu abstract) and Hoedt teaches a predefined reference line for a transportation vehicle where a reference line that can be at a lateral distance from the lane boundary can extend in the center of the lane. (see Hoedt para[0035]). Hoedt’s reference line is a local line that can be along the center of a lane (see para[0032]) or reference line can be at a lateral distance from the lane boundary(see para[0035]). It would been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the Shimizu’s display device (which is graphical arrangement) with Hoedt’s reference line which is at a lateral distance from the lane boundary to support the subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4 ,9, 10,11, 13, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20220055481 A1 to Shimizu (herein after “Shimizu”) in view of WO2022266844A1 to Liu (herein after ”Liu”) and US 20190143974 A1 to Hoedt et at.(herein after “Hoedt”).
Regarding claim 1, Shimizu discloses A method for activating a display device of a navigation system of a vehicle (see Shimizu abstract a display control device for a vehicle to control a display )during a lane change of the vehicle, (see Shimizu abstract when lane change information related to a lane change of the vehicle is acquired from a lane change )comprising: detecting a lane change prompt (See Shimizu at least para[0080] The periphery monitoring sensor 30 can detect moving objects and stationary objects in a detection range around the subject vehicle. The moving objects include pedestrians, cyclists, non-human animals, and other vehicles, for example.); determining a lane boundary for the lane change prompt(See Shimizu at least para[0088] The driving assistance ECU 50 provides the HCU 100 with information (hereinafter, boundary information) indicating the relative positions and shapes of the left and right lane markings (or road edges) of the lane on which the vehicle A is currently traveling (hereinafter, subject vehicle lane Lns, see FIG. 7)); providing a reference line for the lane boundary in a field of view of the display device(See Shimizu at least para[0088] A stationary on the horizontal plane, and is set with reference to the traveling direction of the vehicle A.); and providing a lane change indication with using the reference line on the display device, (see Shimizu at least para[0066] displaying an estimated trajectory content indicating an estimated trajectory of the in-lane traveling to be superimposed on a road surface as a superimposition target; acquiring lane change information related to a lane change of the vehicle from a lane change control unit that controls the lane change of the vehicle; and displaying a lane change content indicating an estimated trajectory of the lane change together with the estimated trajectory content based on the lane change information, when the lane change information is acquired during the in-lane traveling. ).
However, Shimizu does not teach wherein the reference line is arranged in a field of view of the display device in such a way that the reference line is positioned in a field of view through a vehicle window of the vehicle at a configured lateral distance with respect to the lane boundary. Nevertheless, Liu same field of endeavor teaches a field of view of the display device through a vehicle window of the vehicle. (see Liu at least para[0145] Referring to Fig. 6A, vehicle A (first vehicle) is driving in the first lane, vehicle B (second vehicle) is driving in the second lane, vehicles A and B are traveling in the same direction, and the distance is within the first threshold range, when vehicle A It is detected that vehicle A is performing a lane change operation (for example, the computing device detects that the turn signal is turned on and/or the steering wheel is turned), and the window of vehicle A close to vehicle B is controlled to display the first prompt information to the outside, as shown in Figure 6A.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Liu’s display through the window in order to allow to improving the cooperative capability between vehicles to display a first prompt message to the outside (see Lui para[0145]).
Additionally, Hoedt same field of endeavor teaches wherein the reference line is arranged in in such a way that the reference line is positioned in a field of view at a configured lateral distance with respect to the lane boundary (see Hoedt para[0035] shows the course of a lane 6 that can be bounded by a lane boundary 4. A reference line 1 that can be at a lateral distance from the lane boundary 4 can extend in the center of the lane 6.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Liu’s display through the window and Hoedt’s reference line arrangement in order to allow to adjust individual sections of the reference line by purely geometric optimization (see Hoedt para[0007])).
Regarding claim 2, Shimizu, Liu and Hoedt remain applied as claim 1. Shimizu teaches wherein only one reference line (see Hoedt’s reference line 1 ) is represented for a lane change prompt. (see Shimizu CTs, CTt in figure 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Liu’s display through the window and Hoedt’s reference line arrangement in order to allow to adjust individual sections of the reference line by purely geometric optimization (see Hoedt para[0007])).
Regarding claim 4, Shimizu , Liu and Hoedt remain applied as claim 1. Shimizu discloses does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the configured lateral distance is set in such a way that the reference line maps an overall appearance of the lane boundary in the field of view through the vehicle window onto the field of view of the display device without (i) intersecting a boundary of the field of view of the display device in the direction of the lane boundary and/or (ii) distorting the perspective of the reference line compared to the perspective of the lane boundary. Nevertheless, Hoedt same field of endeavor teaches wherein the configured lateral distance is set in such a way that the reference line maps an overall appearance of the lane boundary in the field of view through the vehicle window onto the field of view of the display device without (i) intersecting a boundary of the field of view of the display device in the direction of the lane boundary and/or (ii) distorting the perspective of the reference line compared to the perspective of the lane boundary. (see Hoedt para[0035] hows the course of a lane 6 that can be bounded by a lane boundary 4. A reference line 1 that can be at a lateral distance from the lane boundary 4 can extend in the center of the lane 6.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Liu’s display through the window and Hoedt’s reference line arrangement in order to allow to adjust individual sections of the reference line by purely geometric optimization (see Hoedt para[0007])).
Regarding claim 9, Shimizu , Liu and Hoedt remain applied as claim 1. Shimizu discloses wherein (i) the lane change indication is represented in the form of a directional indication, in the form of an S-shaped arrow (see Shimizu figure 24, “CTwc”) , which penetrates the reference line, (ii) the lane change indication is represented by the reference line itself, by a curvature, flection and/or a bend of the reference line in the direction of the lane change prompt, or (iii) different representations of the lane change indication are provided within the scope of user settings (see Shimizu figure 24, para [0189] The LCA standby content CTwc has an arrow shape extending from the subject vehicle lane Lns to the destination lane Lnd. When a lane change to the right lane is instructed, the arrow-shaped LCA standby content CTwc extending from the subject vehicle lane Lns in the right front direction is displayed. On the other hand, when the lane change to the left lane is instructed, the arrow-shaped LCA standby content CTwc extending from the subject vehicle lane Lns in the left front direction is displayed.).
Regarding claim 10, Shimizu discloses A control device for activating a display device of a navigation system of a vehicle, comprising: a memory device; and a computing device, operatively coupled to the memory (see Shimizu at least para [0084] The inertial sensor 42 includes a gyro sensor and an acceleration sensor, for example. The high-precision map DB 43 is mainly composed of a non-volatile memory, and stores map data (hereinafter, high-precision map data) having higher accuracy than ordinary map data used for navigation, para [0272] For example, the storage medium is not limited to the configuration provided on the circuit board, and may be provided in the form of a memory card or the like.)device, wherein the computing device is configured to detect a lane change prompt; determine a lane boundary for the lane change prompt(See Shimizu at least para[0080] The periphery monitoring sensor 30 can detect moving objects and stationary objects in a detection range around the subject vehicle. The moving objects include pedestrians, cyclists, non-human animals, and other vehicles, for example.); provide a reference line for the lane boundary in a field of view of the display device(See Shimizu at least para[0088] A stationary on the horizontal plane, and is set with reference to the traveling direction of the vehicle A.); and provide a lane change indication with using the reference line on the display device(see Shimizu at least para[0066] displaying an estimated trajectory content indicating an estimated trajectory of the in-lane traveling to be superimposed on a road surface as a superimposition target; acquiring lane change information related to a lane change of the vehicle from a lane change control unit that controls the lane change of the vehicle; and displaying a lane change content indicating an estimated trajectory of the lane change together with the estimated trajectory content based on the lane change information, when the lane change information is acquired during the in-lane traveling. ).
However, Shimizu does not teach wherein the reference line is arranged in a field of view of the display device in such a way that the reference line is positioned in a field of view through a vehicle window of the vehicle at a configured lateral distance with respect to the lane boundary. Nevertheless, Liu same field of endeavor teaches a field of view of the display device through a vehicle window of the vehicle. (see Liu at least para[0145] Referring to Fig. 6A, vehicle A (first vehicle) is driving in the first lane, vehicle B (second vehicle) is driving in the second lane, vehicles A and B are traveling in the same direction, and the distance is within the first threshold range, when vehicle A It is detected that vehicle A is performing a lane change operation (for example, the computing device detects that the turn signal is turned on and/or the steering wheel is turned), and the window of vehicle A close to vehicle B is controlled to display the first prompt information to the outside, as shown in Figure 6A.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Liu’s display through the window in order to allow to improving the cooperative capability between vehicles to display a first prompt message to the outside (see Lui para[0145]).
Additionally, Hoedt same field of endeavor teaches wherein the reference line is arranged in in such a way that the reference line is positioned in a field of view at a configured lateral distance with respect to the lane boundary (see Hoedt para[0035] shows the course of a lane 6 that can be bounded by a lane boundary 4. A reference line 1 that can be at a lateral distance from the lane boundary 4 can extend in the center of the lane 6.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Liu’s display through the window and Hoedt’s reference line arrangement in order to allow to adjust individual sections of the reference line by purely geometric optimization (see Hoedt para[0007])).
Regarding claim 11, Shimizu , Liu and Hoedt remain applied as claim 10. Shimizu teaches wherein only one reference line is represented for a lane change prompt. (see Shimizu CTs, CTt in figure 7).
Regarding claim 13, Shimizu, Liu and Hoedt remain applied as claim 10. However, Shimizu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the configured lateral distance is set in such a way that the reference line maps an overall appearance of the lane boundary in the field of view through the vehicle window onto the field of view of the display device without (i) intersecting a boundary of the field of view of the display device in the direction of the lane boundary and/or (ii) distorting the perspective of the reference line compared to the perspective of the lane boundary. Nevertheless, Hoedt same field of endeavor teaches wherein the configured lateral distance is set in such a way that the reference line maps an overall appearance of the lane boundary in the field of view through the vehicle window onto the field of view of the display device without (i) intersecting a boundary of the field of view of the display device in the direction of the lane boundary and/or (ii) distorting the perspective of the reference line compared to the perspective of the lane boundary (see Hoedt para[0035] hows the course of a lane 6 that can be bounded by a lane boundary 4. A reference line 1 that can be at a lateral distance from the lane boundary 4 can extend in the center of the lane 6.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Liu’s display through the window and Hoedt’s reference line arrangement in order to allow to adjust individual sections of the reference line by purely geometric optimization (see Hoedt para[0007])).
Regarding claim 18, Shimizu, Liu and Hoedt remain applied as claim 10. Shimizu discloses wherein (i) the lane change indication is represented in the form of a directional indication, in the form of an S-shaped arrow (see Shimizu figure 24, “CTwc”) , which penetrates the reference line, (ii) the lane change indication is represented by the reference line itself, by a curvature, flection and/or a bend of the reference line in the direction of the lane change prompt, or (iii) different representations of the lane change indication are provided within the scope of user settings (see Shimizu figure 24, para [0189] The LCA standby content CTwc has an arrow shape extending from the subject vehicle lane Lns to the destination lane Lnd. When a lane change to the right lane is instructed, the arrow-shaped LCA standby content CTwc extending from the subject vehicle lane Lns in the right front direction is displayed. On the other hand, when the lane change to the left lane is instructed, the arrow-shaped LCA standby content CTwc extending from the subject vehicle lane Lns in the left front direction is displayed.).
Figure 24 (Shimizu)
Regarding claim 19, Shimizu discloses A display device of a navigation system of a vehicle, comprising: a memory; a control device comprising a memory and a computing device(see Shimizu at least para [0084] The inertial sensor 42 includes a gyro sensor and an acceleration sensor, for example. The high-precision map DB 43 is mainly composed of a non-volatile memory, and stores map data (hereinafter, high-precision map data) having higher accuracy than ordinary map data used for navigation, para [0272] For example, the storage medium is not limited to the configuration provided on the circuit board, and may be provided in the form of a memory card or the like.) the control device being configured to detect a lane change prompt; determine a lane boundary for the lane change prompt(See Shimizu at least para[0080] The periphery monitoring sensor 30 can detect moving objects and stationary objects in a detection range around the subject vehicle. The moving objects include pedestrians, cyclists, non-human animals, and other vehicles, for example.); provide a reference line for the lane boundary in a field of view of the display device(See Shimizu at least para[0088] A stationary on the horizontal plane, and is set with reference to the traveling direction of the vehicle A.); and provide a lane change indication with using the reference line on the display device(see Shimizu at least para[0066] displaying an estimated trajectory content indicating an estimated trajectory of the in-lane traveling to be superimposed on a road surface as a superimposition target; acquiring lane change information related to a lane change of the vehicle from a lane change control unit that controls the lane change of the vehicle; and displaying a lane change content indicating an estimated trajectory of the lane change together with the estimated trajectory content based on the lane change information, when the lane change information is acquired during the in-lane traveling. ).
However, Shimizu does not teach wherein the reference line is arranged in a field of view of the display device in such a way that the reference line is positioned in a field of view through a vehicle window of the vehicle at a configured lateral distance with respect to the lane boundary. Nevertheless, Liu same field of endeavor teaches a field of view of the display device through a vehicle window of the vehicle. (see Liu at least para[0145] Referring to Fig. 6A, vehicle A (first vehicle) is driving in the first lane, vehicle B (second vehicle) is driving in the second lane, vehicles A and B are traveling in the same direction, and the distance is within the first threshold range, when vehicle A It is detected that vehicle A is performing a lane change operation (for example, the computing device detects that the turn signal is turned on and/or the steering wheel is turned), and the window of vehicle A close to vehicle B is controlled to display the first prompt information to the outside, as shown in Figure 6A.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Liu’s display through the window in order to allow to improving the cooperative capability between vehicles to display a first prompt message to the outside (see Lui para[0145]).
Additionally, Hoedt same field of endeavor teaches wherein the reference line is arranged in in such a way that the reference line is positioned in a field of view at a configured lateral distance with respect to the lane boundary (see Hoedt para[0035] shows the course of a lane 6 that can be bounded by a lane boundary 4. A reference line 1 that can be at a lateral distance from the lane boundary 4 can extend in the center of the lane 6.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Liu’s display through the window and Hoedt’s reference line arrangement in order to allow to adjust individual sections of the reference line by purely geometric optimization (see Hoedt para[0007])).
Claims 3 , 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20220055481 A1 to Shimizu (herein after “Shimizu”) in view of WO2022266844A1 to Liu (herein after ”Liu”), US 20190143974 A1 to Hoedt et at.(herein after “Hoedt”) and JP2023111830A to Kume (herein after “Kume”).
Regarding claim 3, Shimizu, Liu and Hoedt remain applied as claim 1. However, Shimizu does not teach wherein, in the case of a multiple lane change prompt, a reference line is depicted in each case for each impending lane change, the reference lines being arranged corresponding to a sequence of impending lane changes. Nevertheless, Kume same field of endeavor teaches wherein, in the case of a multiple lane change prompt, a reference line is depicted in each case for each impending lane change, the reference lines being arranged corresponding to a sequence of impending lane changes (see Kume at least para[0074] The presentation control unit 88 laterally moves each of the lane icons LpS, LpM, and LpG in the own vehicle status StA, see Kume at least para[0060] Here, when multiple lane changes are required at the LC required point P3, the lane change control unit 79 sets multiple LC start points, see figures 10,11])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Kume’s a reference line is depicted in each case for each impending lane change to control to change lanes of the host vehicle from the current lane to another lane (see Kume para[0002]).
Regarding claim 12, Shimizu, Liu and Hoedt remain applied as claim 10. However, Shimizu does not teach wherein, in the case of a multiple lane change prompt, a reference line is depicted in each case for each impending lane change, the reference lines being arranged corresponding to a sequence of impending lane changes. Nevertheless, Kume same field of endeavor teaches wherein, in the case of a multiple lane change prompt, a reference line is depicted in each case for each impending lane change, the reference lines being arranged corresponding to a sequence of impending lane changes (see Kume at least para[0074] The presentation control unit 88 laterally moves each of the lane icons LpS, LpM, and LpG in the own vehicle status StA, see Kume at least para[0060] Here, when multiple lane changes are required at the LC required point P3, the lane change control unit 79 sets multiple LC start points, see figures 10,11])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Kume’s a reference line is depicted in each case for each impending lane change to control to change lanes of the host vehicle from the current lane to another lane (see Kume para[0002]).
Regarding claim 20, Shimizu, Liu and Hoedt remain applied as claim 19. Shimizu discloses the display device according to claim 19, wherein only one reference line is represented for a lane change prompt(see Shimizu CTs, CTt in figure 7). However, Shimizu does not teach wherein, in the case of a multiple lane change prompt, a reference line is depicted in each case for each impending lane change, the reference lines being arranged corresponding to a sequence of impending lane changes. Nevertheless, Kume same field of endeavor teaches wherein, in the case of a multiple lane change prompt, a reference line is depicted in each case for each impending lane change, the reference lines being arranged corresponding to a sequence of impending lane changes (see Kume at least para[0074] The presentation control unit 88 laterally moves each of the lane icons LpS, LpM, and LpG in the own vehicle status StA, see Kume at least para[0060] Here, when multiple lane changes are required at the LC required point P3, the lane change control unit 79 sets multiple LC start points, see figures 10,11])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Kume’s a reference line is depicted in each case for each impending lane change to control to change lanes of the host vehicle from the current lane to another lane (see Kume para[0002]).
Claims 5 and 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20220055481 A1 to Shimizu (herein after “Shimizu”) in view of WO2022266844A1 to Liu (herein after ”Liu”), US 20190143974 A1 to Hoedt et at.(herein after “Hoedt”) and JP2022071799A to Hodotsuka (herein after “Hodotsuka”).
Regarding claim 5, Shimizu and Liu remain applied as claim 1. Shimizu does not teach the configured lateral distance is set in such a way that the reference line maps an overall appearance of the lane boundary in the field of view through the vehicle window onto the field of view of the display device, wherein (i) the configured lateral distance is set using a ratio between a width of the field of view through the vehicle window and a width of the field of view of the display device. Nevertheless, Hodotsuka same field of endeavor teaches wherein the configured lateral distance is set in such a way that the reference line maps an overall appearance of the lane boundary in the field of view through the vehicle window onto the field of view of the display device, wherein (i) the configured lateral distance is set using a ratio between a width of the field of view through the vehicle window and a width of the field of view of the display device, and/or (see Hodotsuka at least para[0077]the display area in which the image content is displayed may be fixed to the display unit 25 provided in each window of the vehicle, and the ratio of the display area of the image content to the window is limited to a predetermined value or less. ) (ii) the configured lateral distance is set proportionally to a ratio between a width of the field of view through the vehicle window and a width of the field of view of the display device. (see Hodotsuka at least para[0077] Further, the display area in which the image content is displayed may be fixed to the display unit 25 provided in each window of the vehicle, and the ratio of the display area of the image content to the window is limited to a predetermined value or less.) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Hodotsuka’s lateral distance set based on ratio of the width of the window to display to display the image content in association with each object in the scenery visually recognized through the window (see Hodotsuka para[0077]).
Regarding claim 14, Shimizu , Liu and Hoedt remain applied as claim 10. However, Shimizu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the configured lateral distance is set in such a way that the reference line maps an overall appearance of the lane boundary in the field of view through the vehicle window onto the field of view of the display device. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Hoedt teaches wherein the configured lateral distance is set in such a way that the reference line maps an overall appearance of the lane boundary in the field of view through the vehicle window onto the field of view of the display device(see Hoedt para[0035] hows the course of a lane 6 that can be bounded by a lane boundary 4. A reference line 1 that can be at a lateral distance from the lane boundary 4 can extend in the center of the lane 6.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Liu’s display through the window and Hoedt’s reference line arrangement in order to allow to adjust individual sections of the reference line by purely geometric optimization (see Hoedt para[0007])).
However, Shimizu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach
wherein (i) the configured lateral distance is set using a ratio between a width of the field of view through the vehicle window and a width of the field of view of the display device. Nevertheless, Hodotsuka same field of endeavor teaches
wherein (i) the configured lateral distance is set using a ratio between a width of the field of view through the vehicle window and a width of the field of view of the display device, and/or (see Hodotsuka at least para[0077]the display area in which the image content is displayed may be fixed to the display unit 25 provided in each window of the vehicle, and the ratio of the display area of the image content to the window is limited to a predetermined value or less. ) (ii) the configured lateral distance is set proportionally to a ratio between a width of the field of view through the vehicle window and a width of the field of view of the display device. (see Hodotsuka at least para[0077] Further, the display area in which the image content is displayed may be fixed to the display unit 25 provided in each window of the vehicle, and the ratio of the display area of the image content to the window is limited to a predetermined value or less.) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Hodotsuka’s lateral distance set based on ratio of the width of the window to display to display the image content in association with each object in the scenery visually recognized through the window (see Hodotsuka para[0077]).
Claims 6, 7, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20220055481 A1 to Shimizu (herein after “Shimizu”) in view of WO2022266844A1 to Liu (herein after ”Liu”), US 20190143974 A1 to Hoedt et at.(herein after “Hoedt”) and WO2022078154A1 to Wang (herein after” Wang”).
Regarding claim 6, Shimizu , Liu and Hoedt remain applied as claim 1. Shimizu discloses wherein (i) the reference line in the field of view of the display device in relation to an appearance of the lane boundary in the field of view through the vehicle window is represented in a corresponding perspective manner, (see Shimizu figure 14). However, Shimizu does not teach the reference line in the field of view of the display device in relation to an appearance of the lane boundary in the field of view through the vehicle window is represented in a corresponding scaled manner, at a proportional ratio that corresponds to a ratio between (a) a width of the field of view of the display device, and (b) a width of the field of view through the vehicle window. Nevertheless, Wang same field of endeavor teaches the reference line in the field of view of the display device in relation to an appearance of the lane boundary in the field of view through the vehicle window is represented in a corresponding scaled manner, at a proportional ratio that corresponds to a ratio between (a) a width of the field of view of the display device, and (b) a width of the field of view through the vehicle window. (see Wang at least para[0004] In the related art, when the ratio of a video is inconsistent with the ratio of the playback window, the video is usually scaled to a smaller size so that it can be displayed in the playback window; para[0070] The exemplary target video will be scaled during player playback. In order to ensure that the displayed content is not deformed, the image is generally scaled proportionally in height and width.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Wang’s information processing device to display information to scale the image after confirming the scaling factor according to the height (width) and to ensure that the displayed content is not deformed ( see Wang para[0070]).
Regarding claim 7, Shimizu , Liu and Hoedt remain applied as claim 1. However, Shimizu does not teach wherein the reference line is configured as a scaled distance with respect to a boundary of the field of view of the display device in the direction of the lane boundary, and wherein the distance in relation to a distance between the lane boundary and a corresponding boundary of the field of view through the vehicle window is set in a scaled manner, at a proportional ratio corresponding to a ratio between (i) a width of the field of view of the display device, and (ii) a width of the field of view through the vehicle window. Nevertheless, Wang same field of endeavor teaches wherein the reference line is configured as a scaled distance with respect to a boundary of the field of view of the display device in the direction of the lane boundary, and wherein the distance in relation to a distance between the lane boundary and a corresponding boundary of the field of view through the vehicle window is set in a scaled manner, at a proportional ratio corresponding to a ratio between (i) a width of the field of view of the display device, and (ii) a width of the field of view through the vehicle window. (see Wang at least para [0055]In some embodiments, in order to achieve full-screen playback of the fitness video in the first playback window, the display device may scale the image of the target video so that the image size of the scaled target video is scaled to be consistent with the size of the full-screen window; See Wang at least para[0070]In some embodiments, during the software execution, the target display area may not be determined, and the first moving distance of the target video may be directly determined based on the position parameters of the first play window and the second play window in the play interface. The exemplary target video will be scaled during player playback. In order to ensure that the displayed content is not deformed, the image is generally scaled proportionally in height and width).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Wang’s information processing device to display information to scale the image after confirming the scaling factor according to the height (width) and to ensure that the displayed content is not deformed ( see Wang para[0070]).
Regarding claim 15, Shimizu , Liu and Hoedt remain applied as claim 10. Shimizu discloses wherein (i) the reference line in the field of view of the display device in relation to an appearance of the lane boundary in the field of view through the vehicle window is represented in a corresponding perspective manner, (see Shimizu figure 14). However, Shimizu does not teach the reference line in the field of view of the display device in relation to an appearance of the lane boundary in the field of view through the vehicle window is represented in a corresponding scaled manner, at a proportional ratio that corresponds to a ratio between (a) a width of the field of view of the display device, and (b) a width of the field of view through the vehicle window. Nevertheless, Wang same field of endeavor teaches the reference line in the field of view of the display device in relation to an appearance of the lane boundary in the field of view through the vehicle window is represented in a corresponding scaled manner, at a proportional ratio that corresponds to a ratio between (a) a width of the field of view of the display device, and (b) a width of the field of view through the vehicle window. (see Wang at least para[0004] In the related art, when the ratio of a video is inconsistent with the ratio of the playback window, the video is usually scaled to a smaller size so that it can be displayed in the playback window; para[0070] The exemplary target video will be scaled during player playback. In order to ensure that the displayed content is not deformed, the image is generally scaled proportionally in height and width.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Wang’s information processing device to display information to scale the image after confirming the scaling factor according to the height (width) and to ensure that the displayed content is not deformed ( see Wang para[0070]).
Regarding claim 16, Shimizu , Liu and Hoedt remain applied as claim 10. However, Shimizu does not teach wherein the reference line is configured as a scaled distance with respect to a boundary of the field of view of the display device in the direction of the lane boundary, and wherein the distance in relation to a distance between the lane boundary and a corresponding boundary of the field of view through the vehicle window is set in a scaled manner, at a proportional ratio corresponding to a ratio between (i) a width of the field of view of the display device, and (ii) a width of the field of view through the vehicle window. Nevertheless, Wang same field of endeavor teaches wherein the reference line is configured as a scaled distance with respect to a boundary of the field of view of the display device in the direction of the lane boundary, and wherein the distance in relation to a distance between the lane boundary and a corresponding boundary of the field of view through the vehicle window is set in a scaled manner, at a proportional ratio corresponding to a ratio between (i) a width of the field of view of the display device, and (ii) a width of the field of view through the vehicle window. (see Wang at least para [0055]In some embodiments, in order to achieve full-screen playback of the fitness video in the first playback window, the display device may scale the image of the target video so that the image size of the scaled target video is scaled to be consistent with the size of the full-screen window; See Wang at least para[0070]In some embodiments, during the software execution, the target display area may not be determined, and the first moving distance of the target video may be directly determined based on the position parameters of the first play window and the second play window in the play interface. The exemplary target video will be scaled during player playback. In order to ensure that the displayed content is not deformed, the image is generally scaled proportionally in height and width).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Wang’s information processing device to display information to scale the image after confirming the scaling factor according to the height (width) and to ensure that the displayed content is not deformed ( see Wang para[0070]).
Claims 8 and 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20220055481 A1 to Shimizu (herein after “Shimizu”) in view of WO2022266844A1 to Liu (herein after ”Liu”), US 20190143974 A1 to Hoedt et at.(herein after “Hoedt”) and CN111788459A to Kleen (herein after ” Kleen”).
Regarding claim 8, Shimizu, Liu and Hoedt remain applied as claim 1. However, Shimizu does not teach wherein (i) the reference line is represented by a plurality of shapes, symmetrically arranged with respect to one another, the reference line is represented by a shading of a depicted lane of the vehicle, which is represented with greater intensity in the direction of the lane change prompt. Nevertheless, Kleen same field of endeavor teaches wherein (i) the reference line is represented by a plurality of shapes, symmetrically arranged with respect to one another, (see Kleen at para[0055] The grid 22 is projected such that the grid is located in the street or suspended in space with the street. the grid is composed of a plurality of diamond symbols 23; )(ii) the reference line is represented by a shading of a depicted lane of the vehicle, which is represented with greater intensity in the direction of the lane change prompt, (see Kleen figure 4) (iii) the reference line is represented by a progression of a pattern of a depicted lane of the vehicle, which is represented more densely in the direction of the lane change prompt, (see Kleen figure 4, 5) (iv) the reference line is presented by a color progression of a depicted lane of the vehicle, which changes in the direction of the lane change prompt, or (v) different representations of the reference line are provided within the scope of user settings (see Kleen at least para[0010] for example, navigation instructions can be given to the driver in which the street ahead of the driver up to the horizon is marked in color or is displayed with an arrow directly on the lane) .
Figure 4 (Kleen reference)
Figure 5(Kleen reference)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Kleen’s display of auxiliary information on the display unit to bring some benefits to the driver during lane change and to ensure that the driver can responsibly control the vehicle at all times (see para[0002] and para[0005]).
Regarding claim 17, Shimizu , Liu and Hoedt remain applied as claim 10. However, Shimizu does not teach wherein (i) the reference line is represented by a plurality of shapes, symmetrically arranged with respect to one another, the reference line is represented by a shading of a depicted lane of the vehicle, which is represented with greater intensity in the direction of the lane change prompt. Nevertheless, Kleen same field of endeavor teaches wherein (i) the reference line is represented by a plurality of shapes, symmetrically arranged with respect to one another, (see Kleen at para[0055] The grid 22 is projected such that the grid is located in the street or suspended in space with the street. the grid is composed of a plurality of diamond symbols 23; )(ii) the reference line is represented by a shading of a depicted lane of the vehicle, which is represented with greater intensity in the direction of the lane change prompt, (see Kleen figure 4) (iii) the reference line is represented by a progression of a pattern of a depicted lane of the vehicle, which is represented more densely in the direction of the lane change prompt, (see Kleen figure 4, 5) (iv) the reference line is presented by a color progression of a depicted lane of the vehicle, which changes in the direction of the lane change prompt, or (v) different representations of the reference line are provided within the scope of user settings (see Kleen at least para[0010] for example, navigation instructions can be given to the driver in which the street ahead of the driver up to the horizon is marked in color or is displayed with an arrow directly on the lane) .
Figure 4 (Kleen reference)
Figure 5(Kleen reference)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Kleen’s display of auxiliary information on the display unit to bring some benefits to the driver during lane change and to ensure that the driver can responsibly control the vehicle at all times (see para[0002] and para[0005]).
Conclusion
/NAZIA AFRIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666