DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
Claims 1, 10 and 19 are amended.
No new claim is added.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to arguments
With respect to Applicant’s remarks filed on 04/30/2026; Applicant's “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered. Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
Applicant remarks:
Hoedt and Liu do not teach the reference line can at a lateral distance from the lane boundary on the display device, which as amended the reference line comprises a graphical image of the lane boundary.
Office Response:
Please see new mapping above, specifically the mapping for the independent and depended claims.
Applicant further argues that the other independent claims which recite similar features are allowable and the dependent claims are also allowable since they depend on allowable subject and the Office respectfully disagrees. It is the Office's stance that all of the claimed subject matter has been properly rejected; therefore, the Office's respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-13,18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20220055481 A1 to Shimizu (herein after “Shimizu”) in view of CN113692360A to Gordon (herein after “Gordon”).
Regarding claim 1, Shimizu discloses A method for activating a display device of a navigation system of a vehicle (see Shimizu abstract a display control device for a vehicle to control a display )during a lane change of the vehicle, (see Shimizu abstract when lane change information related to a lane change of the vehicle is acquired from a lane change )comprising: detecting a lane change prompt (See Shimizu at least para[0080] The periphery monitoring sensor 30 can detect moving objects and stationary objects in a detection range around the subject vehicle. The moving objects include pedestrians, cyclists, non-human animals, and other vehicles, for example.); determining a lane boundary for the lane change prompt(See Shimizu at least para[0088] The driving assistance ECU 50 provides the HCU 100 with information (hereinafter, boundary information) indicating the relative positions and shapes of the left and right lane markings (or road edges) of the lane on which the vehicle A is currently traveling (hereinafter, subject vehicle lane Lns, see FIG. 7)); providing a reference line for the lane boundary in a field of view of the display device(See Shimizu at least para[0088] A stationary on the horizontal plane, and is set with reference to the traveling direction of the vehicle A.); and providing a lane change indication using the reference line on the display device, (see Shimizu at least para[0066] displaying an estimated trajectory content indicating an estimated trajectory of the in-lane traveling to be superimposed on a road surface as a superimposition target; acquiring lane change information related to a lane change of the vehicle from a lane change control unit that controls the lane change of the vehicle; and displaying a lane change content indicating an estimated trajectory of the lane change together with the estimated trajectory content based on the lane change information, when the lane change information is acquired during the in-lane traveling. ).
However, Shimizu does not teach wherein the reference line comprises a graphical image of the lane boundary, wherein the reference line is arranged in a field of view of the display device in such a way that the reference line is positioned in a field of view through a vehicle window of the vehicle at a configured lateral distance with respect to the lane boundary. Nevertheless, Gordon same field of endeavor teaches wherein the reference line comprises a graphical image of the lane boundary; wherein the reference line is arranged in a field of view of the display device in such a way that the reference line is positioned in a field of view through a vehicle window of the vehicle at a configured lateral distance with respect to the lane boundary (See Gordon at least para [0104] In this embodiment, the driver information display also includes graphic elements 40a and 40b for adjacent lanes. The graphic element is positioned laterally next to the lane object 30, wherein the self object 31 is arranged on the lane object 30, and the lane extends laterally in a perspective representation. In this embodiment, only lane markings 30a and 30b are displayed at the edge of the lane object 30 for the vehicle's own lane 20b. The type of marking shown here also corresponds to the markings that actually exist on lane 20 according to the previously determined demarcation marking category).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Gordon’s graphic elements 40a and 40b for adjacent lanes in the display device (Shimizu) in order to allow to help drivers to easily and effectively determine whether they can safely make a lane change in a particular lane. (see Gordon para[0056]).
Regarding claim 2, Shimizu and Gordon remain applied as claim 1. Shimizu teaches wherein only one reference line is represented for a lane change prompt. (see Shimizu CTs, CTt in figure 7) (See Gordon para[0056] This method can also evaluate whether lane changes to adjacent lanes can be safely performed. Accordingly, a graphical representation of lane objects can be formed in the display. As a result, drivers can easily and effectively determine whether they can safely make a lane change in a particular lane).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Gordon’s graphic elements 40a and 40b for adjacent lanes in the display device (Shimizu) in order to allow to help drivers to easily and effectively determine whether they can safely make a lane change in a particular lane. (see Gordon para[0056]).
Regarding claim 3, Shimizu and Gordon remain applied as claim 1. However, Shimizu does not teach wherein, in the case of a multiple lane change prompt, a reference line is depicted in each case for each impending lane change, the reference lines being arranged corresponding to a sequence of impending lane changes. Nevertheless, Gordon same field of endeavor teaches wherein, in the case of a multiple lane change prompt, a reference line is depicted in each case for each impending lane change (see Gordon para[0051] The change over time in this representation may also involve the shape of the graphic object shown or a one-time or periodic change in size. Emphasizing features can also be used to construct other graphical objects, such as the frame or border of a lane object.) , the reference lines being arranged corresponding to a sequence of impending lane changes (see para[0047] According to the present invention, the lane object of the graphic included in the driver information display is formed such that the lane object of the graphic allows the user or driver of the vehicle to spatially associate the graphic elements of the driver information display with the actual driving lane located in front of the vehicle.
Here, the lane object can refer to the lane currently being used by the vehicle itself. The lane object can also refer to the lane on which the vehicle expects to pass through the curve, especially when a lane change should be performed before entering the curve. In addition, a lane object may include multiple lanes, especially the lane currently being traversed by the vehicle itself and at least one spatially adjacent lane, especially adjacent lanes in the same direction of travel)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Gordon’s graphic elements 40a and 40b for adjacent lanes in the display device (Shimizu) in order to allow to help drivers to easily and effectively determine whether they can safely make a lane change in a particular lane. (see Gordon para[0056]).
Regarding claim 4, Shimizu and Gordon remain applied as claim 1. Shimizu discloses does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the configured lateral distance is set in such a way that the reference line maps an overall appearance of the lane boundary in the field of view through the vehicle window onto the field of view of the display device without (i) intersecting a boundary of the field of view of the display device in the direction of the lane boundary and/or (ii) distorting the perspective of the reference line compared to the perspective of the lane boundary. Nevertheless, Gordon same field of endeavor teaches wherein the configured lateral distance is set in such a way that the reference line maps an overall appearance of the lane boundary in the field of view through the vehicle window onto the field of view of the display device (see Gordon para[0026] Commonly known field-of-view displays, such as head-up displays, are used for projection, for example, by using a vehicle's windshield or glasses.)
without (i) intersecting a boundary of the field of view of the display device in the direction of the lane boundary (see Gordon figures 5c, 5D and 6C) and/or (ii) distorting the perspective of the reference line compared to the perspective of the lane boundary. (see Gordon para[0047] According to the present invention, the lane object of the graphic included in the driver information display is formed such that the lane object of the graphic allows the user or driver of the vehicle to spatially associate the graphic elements of the driver information display with the actual driving lane located in front of the vehicle.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Gordon’s graphic elements 40a and 40b for adjacent lanes in the display device (Shimizu) in order to allow to help drivers to easily and effectively determine whether they can safely make a lane change in a particular lane. (see Gordon para[0056]).
Regarding claim 9, Shimizu and Gordon remain applied as claim 1. Shimizu discloses wherein (i) the lane change indication is represented in the form of a directional indication, in the form of an S-shaped arrow (see Shimizu figure 24, “CTwc”) , which penetrates the reference line, (ii) the lane change indication is represented by the reference line itself, by a curvature, flection and/or a bend of the reference line in the direction of the lane change prompt, or (iii) different representations of the lane change indication are provided within the scope of user settings (see Shimizu figure 24, para [0189] The LCA standby content CTwc has an arrow shape extending from the subject vehicle lane Lns to the destination lane Lnd. When a lane change to the right lane is instructed, the arrow-shaped LCA standby content CTwc extending from the subject vehicle lane Lns in the right front direction is displayed. On the other hand, when the lane change to the left lane is instructed, the arrow-shaped LCA standby content CTwc extending from the subject vehicle lane Lns in the left front direction is displayed.).
Regarding claim 10, Shimizu discloses A control device for activating a display device of a navigation system of a vehicle, comprising: a memory device; and a computing device, operatively coupled to the memory (see Shimizu at least para [0084] The inertial sensor 42 includes a gyro sensor and an acceleration sensor, for example. The high-precision map DB 43 is mainly composed of a non-volatile memory, and stores map data (hereinafter, high-precision map data) having higher accuracy than ordinary map data used for navigation, para [0272] For example, the storage medium is not limited to the configuration provided on the circuit board, and may be provided in the form of a memory card or the like.)device, wherein the computing device is configured to detect a lane change prompt; determine a lane boundary for the lane change prompt(See Shimizu at least para[0080] The periphery monitoring sensor 30 can detect moving objects and stationary objects in a detection range around the subject vehicle. The moving objects include pedestrians, cyclists, non-human animals, and other vehicles, for example.); provide a reference line for the lane boundary in a field of view of the display device(See Shimizu at least para[0088] A stationary on the horizontal plane, and is set with reference to the traveling direction of the vehicle A.); and provide a lane change indication with using the reference line on the display device(see Shimizu at least para[0066] displaying an estimated trajectory content indicating an estimated trajectory of the in-lane traveling to be superimposed on a road surface as a superimposition target; acquiring lane change information related to a lane change of the vehicle from a lane change control unit that controls the lane change of the vehicle; and displaying a lane change content indicating an estimated trajectory of the lane change together with the estimated trajectory content based on the lane change information, when the lane change information is acquired during the in-lane traveling. ).
However, Shimizu does not teach wherein the reference line comprises a graphical image of the lane boundary; wherein the reference line is arranged in a field of view of the display device in such a way that the reference line is positioned in a field of view through a vehicle window of the vehicle at a configured lateral distance with respect to the lane boundary. Nevertheless, Gordon same field of endeavor teaches wherein the reference line comprises a graphical image of the lane boundary; wherein the reference line is arranged in a field of view of the display device in such a way that the reference line is positioned in a field of view through a vehicle window of the vehicle at a configured lateral distance with respect to the lane boundary (See Gordon at least para [0104] In this embodiment, the driver information display also includes graphic elements 40a and 40b for adjacent lanes. The graphic element is positioned laterally next to the lane object 30, wherein the self object 31 is arranged on the lane object 30, and the lane extends laterally in a perspective representation. In this embodiment, only lane markings 30a and 30b are displayed at the edge of the lane object 30 for the vehicle's own lane 20b. The type of marking shown here also corresponds to the markings that actually exist on lane 20 according to the previously determined demarcation marking category).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Gordon’s graphic elements 40a and 40b for adjacent lanes in the display device (Shimizu) in order to allow to help drivers to easily and effectively determine whether they can safely make a lane change in a particular lane. (see Gordon para[0056]).
Regarding claim 11, Shimizu and Gordon remain applied as claim 10. Shimizu teaches wherein only one reference line is represented for a lane change prompt. (see Shimizu CTs, CTt in figure 7).
Regarding claim 12, Shimizu and Gordon remain applied as claim 10. However, Shimizu does not teach wherein, in the case of a multiple lane change prompt, a reference line is depicted in each case for each impending lane change, the reference lines being arranged corresponding to a sequence of impending lane changes. Nevertheless, Gordon same field of endeavor teaches wherein, in the case of a multiple lane change prompt, a reference line is depicted in each case for each impending lane change (see Gordon para[0051] The change over time in this representation may also involve the shape of the graphic object shown or a one-time or periodic change in size. Emphasizing features can also be used to construct other graphical objects, such as the frame or border of a lane object.) , the reference lines being arranged corresponding to a sequence of impending lane changes (see para[0047] According to the present invention, the lane object of the graphic included in the driver information display is formed such that the lane object of the graphic allows the user or driver of the vehicle to spatially associate the graphic elements of the driver information display with the actual driving lane located in front of the vehicle.
Here, the lane object can refer to the lane currently being used by the vehicle itself. The lane object can also refer to the lane on which the vehicle expects to pass through the curve, especially when a lane change should be performed before entering the curve. In addition, a lane object may include multiple lanes, especially the lane currently being traversed by the vehicle itself and at least one spatially adjacent lane, especially adjacent lanes in the same direction of travel)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Gordon’s graphic elements 40a and 40b for adjacent lanes in the display device (Shimizu) in order to allow to help drivers to easily and effectively determine whether they can safely make a lane change in a particular lane. (see Gordon para[0056]).
Regarding claim 13, Shimizu and Gordon remain applied as claim 10. However, Shimizu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the configured lateral distance is set in such a way that the reference line maps an overall appearance of the lane boundary in the field of view through the vehicle window onto the field of view of the display device without (i) intersecting a boundary of the field of view of the display device in the direction of the lane boundary and/or (ii) distorting the perspective of the reference line compared to the perspective of the lane boundary. Nevertheless, Gordon same field of endeavor teaches wherein the configured lateral distance is set in such a way that the reference line maps an overall appearance of the lane boundary in the field of view through the vehicle window onto the field of view of the display device (see Gordon para[0026] Commonly known field-of-view displays, such as head-up displays, are used for projection, for example, by using a vehicle's windshield or glasses.)
without (i) intersecting a boundary of the field of view of the display device in the direction of the lane boundary (see Gordon figures 5c, 5D and 6C) and/or (ii) distorting the perspective of the reference line compared to the perspective of the lane boundary. (see Gordon para[0047] According to the present invention, the lane object of the graphic included in the driver information display is formed such that the lane object of the graphic allows the user or driver of the vehicle to spatially associate the graphic elements of the driver information display with the actual driving lane located in front of the vehicle.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Gordon’s graphic elements 40a and 40b for adjacent lanes in the display device (Shimizu) in order to allow to help drivers to easily and effectively determine whether they can safely make a lane change in a particular lane. (see Gordon para[0056]).
Regarding claim 18, Shimizu and Gordon remain applied as claim 10. Shimizu discloses wherein (i) the lane change indication is represented in the form of a directional indication, in the form of an S-shaped arrow (see Shimizu figure 24, “CTwc”) , which penetrates the reference line, (ii) the lane change indication is represented by the reference line itself, by a curvature, flection and/or a bend of the reference line in the direction of the lane change prompt, or (iii) different representations of the lane change indication are provided within the scope of user settings (see Shimizu figure 24, para [0189] The LCA standby content CTwc has an arrow shape extending from the subject vehicle lane Lns to the destination lane Lnd. When a lane change to the right lane is instructed, the arrow-shaped LCA standby content CTwc extending from the subject vehicle lane Lns in the right front direction is displayed. On the other hand, when the lane change to the left lane is instructed, the arrow-shaped LCA standby content CTwc extending from the subject vehicle lane Lns in the left front direction is displayed.).
Figure 24 (Shimizu)
Regarding claim 19, Shimizu discloses A display device of a navigation system of a vehicle, comprising: a memory; a control device comprising a memory and a computing device(see Shimizu at least para [0084] The inertial sensor 42 includes a gyro sensor and an acceleration sensor, for example. The high-precision map DB 43 is mainly composed of a non-volatile memory, and stores map data (hereinafter, high-precision map data) having higher accuracy than ordinary map data used for navigation, para [0272] For example, the storage medium is not limited to the configuration provided on the circuit board, and may be provided in the form of a memory card or the like.) the control device being configured to detect a lane change prompt; determine a lane boundary for the lane change prompt(See Shimizu at least para[0080] The periphery monitoring sensor 30 can detect moving objects and stationary objects in a detection range around the subject vehicle. The moving objects include pedestrians, cyclists, non-human animals, and other vehicles, for example.); provide a reference line for the lane boundary in a field of view of the display device(See Shimizu at least para[0088] A stationary on the horizontal plane, and is set with reference to the traveling direction of the vehicle A.); and provide a lane change indication with using the reference line on the display device(see Shimizu at least para[0066] displaying an estimated trajectory content indicating an estimated trajectory of the in-lane traveling to be superimposed on a road surface as a superimposition target; acquiring lane change information related to a lane change of the vehicle from a lane change control unit that controls the lane change of the vehicle; and displaying a lane change content indicating an estimated trajectory of the lane change together with the estimated trajectory content based on the lane change information, when the lane change information is acquired during the in-lane traveling. ).
However, Shimizu does not teach wherein the reference line comprises a graphical image of the lane boundary, wherein the reference line is arranged in a field of view of the display device in such a way that the reference line is positioned in a field of view through a vehicle window of the vehicle at a configured lateral distance with respect to the lane boundary. Nevertheless, Gordon same field of endeavor teaches wherein the reference line comprises a graphical image of the lane boundary; wherein the reference line is arranged in a field of view of the display device in such a way that the reference line is positioned in a field of view through a vehicle window of the vehicle at a configured lateral distance with respect to the lane boundary (See Gordon at least para [0104] In this embodiment, the driver information display also includes graphic elements 40a and 40b for adjacent lanes. The graphic element is positioned laterally next to the lane object 30, wherein the self object 31 is arranged on the lane object 30, and the lane extends laterally in a perspective representation. In this embodiment, only lane markings 30a and 30b are displayed at the edge of the lane object 30 for the vehicle's own lane 20b. The type of marking shown here also corresponds to the markings that actually exist on lane 20 according to the previously determined demarcation marking category).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Gordon’s graphic elements 40a and 40b for adjacent lanes in the display device (Shimizu) in order to allow to help drivers to easily and effectively determine whether they can safely make a lane change in a particular lane. (see Gordon para[0056]).
Regarding claim 20, Shimizu and Gordon remain applied as claim 19. Shimizu discloses wherein only one reference line is represented for a lane change prompt (see Shimizu CTs, CTt in figure 7) (See Gordon para[0056] This method can also evaluate whether lane changes to adjacent lanes can be safely performed. Accordingly, a graphical representation of lane objects can be formed in the display. As a result, drivers can easily and effectively determine whether they can safely make a lane change in a particular lane).
However, Shimizu does not teach wherein, in the case of a multiple lane change prompt, a reference line is depicted in each case for each impending lane change, the reference lines being arranged corresponding to a sequence of impending lane changes. Nevertheless, Gordon same field of endeavor teaches wherein, in the case of a multiple lane change prompt, a reference line is depicted in each case for each impending lane change (see Gordon para[0051] The change over time in this representation may also involve the shape of the graphic object shown or a one-time or periodic change in size. Emphasizing features can also be used to construct other graphical objects, such as the frame or border of a lane object.) , the reference lines being arranged corresponding to a sequence of impending lane changes (see para[0047] According to the present invention, the lane object of the graphic included in the driver information display is formed such that the lane object of the graphic allows the user or driver of the vehicle to spatially associate the graphic elements of the driver information display with the actual driving lane located in front of the vehicle.
Here, the lane object can refer to the lane currently being used by the vehicle itself. The lane object can also refer to the lane on which the vehicle expects to pass through the curve, especially when a lane change should be performed before entering the curve. In addition, a lane object may include multiple lanes, especially the lane currently being traversed by the vehicle itself and at least one spatially adjacent lane, especially adjacent lanes in the same direction of travel)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Gordon’s graphic elements 40a and 40b for adjacent lanes in the display device (Shimizu) in order to allow to help drivers to easily and effectively determine whether they can safely make a lane change in a particular lane. (see Gordon para[0056]).
Claims 5-7 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over Shimizu in view of Gordon and AUMOVIO (Head-up device).
Regarding claim 5, Shimizu and Gordon remain applied as claim 1. Shimizu does not teach the configured lateral distance is set in such a way that the reference line maps an overall appearance of the lane boundary in the field of view through the vehicle window onto the field of view of the display device, wherein (i) the configured lateral distance is set using a ratio between a width of the field of view through the vehicle window and a width of the field of view of the display device. Nevertheless, Gordon same field of endeavor teaches wherein the configured lateral distance is set in such a way that the reference line maps an overall appearance of the lane boundary in the field of view through the vehicle window onto the field of view of the display device, wherein (i) the configured lateral distance is set using a ratio between a width of the field of view through the vehicle window and a width of the field of view of the display device, and/or (ii) the configured lateral distance is set proportionally to a ratio between a width of the field of view through the vehicle window and a width of the field of view of the display device (See Gordon at least para[00026] Output can also be achieved using a field-of-view display, which projects at least a portion of the driver information onto the user's eyes, allowing the display to be superimposed on the optical perception of the physical surroundings. In particular, methods and devices from the field of augmented reality can be used here. Commonly known field-of-view displays, such as head-up displays, are used for projection, for example, by using a vehicle's windshield or glasses; para [0074] In other embodiments, the display unit 4 includes a head-up display configured such that a display is projected into the field of vision of the driver of the vehicle 1, such that the display is superimposed on the driver's natural perception; para[0102] In another embodiment, the display unit 4 includes a head-up display and displays at least the lane object 30 for driver information display in such a manner. In particular, the lane object can be displayed such that the lane object appears to be superimposed on the lane 20b actually perceived from the driver's position. Curving area 32 is thus emphasized to enable the driver to assess the hazard level of the area in front of him and recognize that manual reduction of speed or additional steering torque is required to safely navigate the curve; in head-up display the lateral distance displayed or calculated is scaled proportionally to the ratio of the FOV through the vehicle window to the FOV of the display device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Gordon’s Head-up display device specifically AUMOVIO which provide window projection in order to allow to help drivers to easily and effectively determine whether they can safely make a lane change in a particular lane. (see Gordon para[0056]) and transforms vehicle side windows into vibrant, high-quality display surfaces (see AUMOVIO window projection).
Regarding claim 6, Shimizu and Gordon remain applied as claim 1. Shimizu discloses wherein (i) the reference line in the field of view of the display device in relation to an appearance of the lane boundary in the field of view through the vehicle window is represented in a corresponding perspective manner, (see Shimizu figure 14). However, Shimizu does not teach the reference line in the field of view of the display device in relation to an appearance of the lane boundary in the field of view through the vehicle window is represented in a corresponding scaled manner, at a proportional ratio that corresponds to a ratio between (a) a width of the field of view of the display device, and (b) a width of the field of view through the vehicle window. Nevertheless, Gordon same field of endeavor teaches the reference line in the field of view of the display device in relation to an appearance of the lane boundary in the field of view through the vehicle window is represented in a corresponding scaled manner, at a proportional ratio that corresponds to a ratio between (a) a width of the field of view of the display device, and (b) a width of the field of view through the vehicle window (See Gordon at least para[00026] Output can also be achieved using a field-of-view display, which projects at least a portion of the driver information onto the user's eyes, allowing the display to be superimposed on the optical perception of the physical surroundings. In particular, methods and devices from the field of augmented reality can be used here. Commonly known field-of-view displays, such as head-up displays, are used for projection, for example, by using a vehicle's windshield or glasses; para [0074] In other embodiments, the display unit 4 includes a head-up display configured such that a display is projected into the field of vision of the driver of the vehicle 1, such that the display is superimposed on the driver's natural perception; para[0102] In another embodiment, the display unit 4 includes a head-up display and displays at least the lane object 30 for driver information display in such a manner. In particular, the lane object can be displayed such that the lane object appears to be superimposed on the lane 20b actually perceived from the driver's position. Curving area 32 is thus emphasized to enable the driver to assess the hazard level of the area in front of him and recognize that manual reduction of speed or additional steering torque is required to safely navigate the curve; in head-up display the lateral distance displayed or calculated is scaled proportionally to the ratio of the FOV through the vehicle window to the FOV of the display device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Gordon’s Head-up display device specifically AUMOVIO which provide window projection in order to allow to help drivers to easily and effectively determine whether they can safely make a lane change in a particular lane. (see Gordon para[0056]) and transforms vehicle side windows into vibrant, high-quality display surfaces (see AUMOVIO window projection).
Regarding claim 7, Shimizu and Gordon remain applied as claim 1. However, Shimizu does not teach wherein the reference line is configured as a scaled distance with respect to a boundary of the field of view of the display device in the direction of the lane boundary, and wherein the distance in relation to a distance between the lane boundary and a corresponding boundary of the field of view through the vehicle window is set in a scaled manner, at a proportional ratio corresponding to a ratio between (i) a width of the field of view of the display device, and (ii) a width of the field of view through the vehicle window. Nevertheless, Gordon same field of endeavor teaches wherein the reference line is configured as a scaled distance with respect to a boundary of the field of view of the display device in the direction of the lane boundary, and wherein the distance in relation to a distance between the lane boundary and a corresponding boundary of the field of view through the vehicle window is set in a scaled manner, at a proportional ratio corresponding to a ratio between (i) a width of the field of view of the display device, and (ii) a width of the field of view through the vehicle window(See Gordon at least para[00026] Output can also be achieved using a field-of-view display, which projects at least a portion of the driver information onto the user's eyes, allowing the display to be superimposed on the optical perception of the physical surroundings. In particular, methods and devices from the field of augmented reality can be used here. Commonly known field-of-view displays, such as head-up displays, are used for projection, for example, by using a vehicle's windshield or glasses; para [0074] In other embodiments, the display unit 4 includes a head-up display configured such that a display is projected into the field of vision of the driver of the vehicle 1, such that the display is superimposed on the driver's natural perception; para[0102] In another embodiment, the display unit 4 includes a head-up display and displays at least the lane object 30 for driver information display in such a manner. In particular, the lane object can be displayed such that the lane object appears to be superimposed on the lane 20b actually perceived from the driver's position. Curving area 32 is thus emphasized to enable the driver to assess the hazard level of the area in front of him and recognize that manual reduction of speed or additional steering torque is required to safely navigate the curve; in head-up display the lateral distance displayed or calculated is scaled proportionally to the ratio of the FOV through the vehicle window to the FOV of the display device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Gordon’s Head-up display device specifically AUMOVIO which provide window projection in order to allow to help drivers to easily and effectively determine whether they can safely make a lane change in a particular lane. (see Gordon para[0056]) and transforms vehicle side windows into vibrant, high-quality display surfaces (see AUMOVIO window projection).
Regarding claim 14, Shimizu and Gordon remain applied as claim 10. However, Shimizu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the configured lateral distance is set in such a way that the reference line maps an overall appearance of the lane boundary in the field of view through the vehicle window onto the field of view of the display device. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Gordon same field of endeavor teaches wherein the configured lateral distance is set in such a way that the reference line maps an overall appearance of the lane boundary in the field of view through the vehicle window onto the field of view of the display device, wherein (i) the configured lateral distance is set using a ratio between a width of the field of view through the vehicle window and a width of the field of view of the display device, and/or (ii) the configured lateral distance is set proportionally to a ratio between a width of the field of view through the vehicle window and a width of the field of view of the display device (See Gordon at least para[00026] Output can also be achieved using a field-of-view display, which projects at least a portion of the driver information onto the user's eyes, allowing the display to be superimposed on the optical perception of the physical surroundings. In particular, methods and devices from the field of augmented reality can be used here. Commonly known field-of-view displays, such as head-up displays, are used for projection, for example, by using a vehicle's windshield or glasses;para [0074] In other embodiments, the display unit 4 includes a head-up display configured such that a display is projected into the field of vision of the driver of the vehicle 1, such that the display is superimposed on the driver's natural perception; para[0102] In another embodiment, the display unit 4 includes a head-up display and displays at least the lane object 30 for driver information display in such a manner. In particular, the lane object can be displayed such that the lane object appears to be superimposed on the lane 20b actually perceived from the driver's position. Curving area 32 is thus emphasized to enable the driver to assess the hazard level of the area in front of him and recognize that manual reduction of speed or additional steering torque is required to safely navigate the curve; in head-up displaythe lateral distance displayed or calculated is scaled proportionally to the ratio of the FOV through the vehicle window to the FOV of the display device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Gordon’s Head-up display device specifically AUMOVIO which provide window projection in order to allow to help drivers to easily and effectively determine whether they can safely make a lane change in a particular lane. (see Gordon para[0056]) and transforms vehicle side windows into vibrant, high-quality display surfaces (see AUMOVIO window projection).
Regarding claim 15, Shimizu and Gordon remain applied as claim 10. Shimizu discloses wherein (i) the reference line in the field of view of the display device in relation to an appearance of the lane boundary in the field of view through the vehicle window is represented in a corresponding perspective manner, (see Shimizu figure 14). However, Shimizu does not teach the reference line in the field of view of the display device in relation to an appearance of the lane boundary in the field of view through the vehicle window is represented in a corresponding scaled manner, at a proportional ratio that corresponds to a ratio between (a) a width of the field of view of the display device, and (b) a width of the field of view through the vehicle window. Nevertheless, Gordon same field of endeavor teaches the reference line in the field of view of the display device in relation to an appearance of the lane boundary in the field of view through the vehicle window is represented in a corresponding scaled manner, at a proportional ratio that corresponds to a ratio between (a) a width of the field of view of the display device, and (b) a width of the field of view through the vehicle window (See Gordon at least para[00026] Output can also be achieved using a field-of-view display, which projects at least a portion of the driver information onto the user's eyes, allowing the display to be superimposed on the optical perception of the physical surroundings. In particular, methods and devices from the field of augmented reality can be used here. Commonly known field-of-view displays, such as head-up displays, are used for projection, for example, by using a vehicle's windshield or glasses;para [0074] In other embodiments, the display unit 4 includes a head-up display configured such that a display is projected into the field of vision of the driver of the vehicle 1, such that the display is superimposed on the driver's natural perception; para[0102] In another embodiment, the display unit 4 includes a head-up display and displays at least the lane object 30 for driver information display in such a manner. In particular, the lane object can be displayed such that the lane object appears to be superimposed on the lane 20b actually perceived from the driver's position. Curving area 32 is thus emphasized to enable the driver to assess the hazard level of the area in front of him and recognize that manual reduction of speed or additional steering torque is required to safely navigate the curve; in head-up displaythe lateral distance displayed or calculated is scaled proportionally to the ratio of the FOV through the vehicle window to the FOV of the display device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Gordon’s Head-up display device specifically AUMOVIO which provide window projection in order to allow to help drivers to easily and effectively determine whether they can safely make a lane change in a particular lane. (see Gordon para[0056]) and transforms vehicle side windows into vibrant, high-quality display surfaces (see AUMOVIO window projection).
Regarding claim 16, Shimizu and Gordon remain applied as claim 10. However, Shimizu does not teach wherein the reference line is configured as a scaled distance with respect to a boundary of the field of view of the display device in the direction of the lane boundary, and wherein the distance in relation to a distance between the lane boundary and a corresponding boundary of the field of view through the vehicle window is set in a scaled manner, at a proportional ratio corresponding to a ratio between (i) a width of the field of view of the display device, and (ii) a width of the field of view through the vehicle window. Nevertheless, Gordon same field of endeavor teaches wherein the reference line is configured as a scaled distance with respect to a boundary of the field of view of the display device in the direction of the lane boundary, and wherein the distance in relation to a distance between the lane boundary and a corresponding boundary of the field of view through the vehicle window is set in a scaled manner, at a proportional ratio corresponding to a ratio between (i) a width of the field of view of the display device, and (ii) a width of the field of view through the vehicle window (See Gordon at least para[00026] Output can also be achieved using a field-of-view display, which projects at least a portion of the driver information onto the user's eyes, allowing the display to be superimposed on the optical perception of the physical surroundings. In particular, methods and devices from the field of augmented reality can be used here. Commonly known field-of-view displays, such as head-up displays, are used for projection, for example, by using a vehicle's windshield or glasses;para [0074] In other embodiments, the display unit 4 includes a head-up display configured such that a display is projected into the field of vision of the driver of the vehicle 1, such that the display is superimposed on the driver's natural perception; para[0102] In another embodiment, the display unit 4 includes a head-up display and displays at least the lane object 30 for driver information display in such a manner. In particular, the lane object can be displayed such that the lane object appears to be superimposed on the lane 20b actually perceived from the driver's position. Curving area 32 is thus emphasized to enable the driver to assess the hazard level of the area in front of him and recognize that manual reduction of speed or additional steering torque is required to safely navigate the curve; in head-up displaythe lateral distance displayed or calculated is scaled proportionally to the ratio of the FOV through the vehicle window to the FOV of the display device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Gordon’s Head-up display device specifically AUMOVIO which provide window projection in order to allow to help drivers to easily and effectively determine whether they can safely make a lane change in a particular lane. (see Gordon para[0056]) and transforms vehicle side windows into vibrant, high-quality display surfaces (see AUMOVIO window projection).
Claims 8 and 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over Shimizu in view of Gordon(with AUMOVIO head-up display device) and CN111788459A to Kleen (herein after” Kleen”).
Regarding claim 8, Shimizu and Gordon remain applied as claim 1. However, Shimizu does not teach wherein (i) the reference line is represented by a plurality of shapes, symmetrically arranged with respect to one another, the reference line is represented by a shading of a depicted lane of the vehicle, which is represented with greater intensity in the direction of the lane change prompt. Nevertheless, Kleen same field of endeavor teaches wherein (i) the reference line is represented by a plurality of shapes, symmetrically arranged with respect to one another, (see Kleen at para[0055] The grid 22 is projected such that the grid is located in the street or suspended in space with the street. the grid is composed of a plurality of diamond symbols 23; )(ii) the reference line is represented by a shading of a depicted lane of the vehicle, which is represented with greater intensity in the direction of the lane change prompt, (see Kleen figure 4) (iii) the reference line is represented by a progression of a pattern of a depicted lane of the vehicle, which is represented more densely in the direction of the lane change prompt, (see Kleen figure 4, 5) (iv) the reference line is presented by a color progression of a depicted lane of the vehicle, which changes in the direction of the lane change prompt, or (v) different representations of the reference line are provided within the scope of user settings (see Kleen at least para[0010] for example, navigation instructions can be given to the driver in which the street ahead of the driver up to the horizon is marked in color or is displayed with an arrow directly on the lane) .
Figure 4 (Kleen reference)
Figure 5(Kleen reference)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Kleen’s display of auxiliary information on the display unit to bring some benefits to the driver during lane change and to ensure that the driver can responsibly control the vehicle at all times (see para[0002] and para[0005]).
Regarding claim 17, Shimizu and Gordon remain applied as claim 10. However, Shimizu does not teach wherein (i) the reference line is represented by a plurality of shapes, symmetrically arranged with respect to one another, the reference line is represented by a shading of a depicted lane of the vehicle, which is represented with greater intensity in the direction of the lane change prompt. Nevertheless, Kleen same field of endeavor teaches wherein (i) the reference line is represented by a plurality of shapes, symmetrically arranged with respect to one another, (see Kleen at para[0055] The grid 22 is projected such that the grid is located in the street or suspended in space with the street. the grid is composed of a plurality of diamond symbols 23; )(ii) the reference line is represented by a shading of a depicted lane of the vehicle, which is represented with greater intensity in the direction of the lane change prompt, (see Kleen figure 4) (iii) the reference line is represented by a progression of a pattern of a depicted lane of the vehicle, which is represented more densely in the direction of the lane change prompt, (see Kleen figure 4, 5) (iv) the reference line is presented by a color progression of a depicted lane of the vehicle, which changes in the direction of the lane change prompt, or (v) different representations of the reference line are provided within the scope of user settings (see Kleen at least para[0010] for example, navigation instructions can be given to the driver in which the street ahead of the driver up to the horizon is marked in color or is displayed with an arrow directly on the lane) .
Figure 4 (Kleen reference)
Figure 5(Kleen reference)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimizu’s display control device for a vehicle to control a display the lane change information with Kleen’s display of auxiliary information on the display unit to bring some benefits to the driver during lane change and to ensure that the driver can responsibly control the vehicle at all times (see para[0002] and para[0005]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAZIA AFRIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666