DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The reply filed 01/30/2026 has been entered into record. Claims 1-20 have been cancelled and Claims 21-40 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/30/2026 in regards to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Roy (US 2023/0208505), in view of Jung (US 2022/0338075) have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the conventional approach (as disclosed by Jung) is to include an SIB1 message in every handover command to notify the UE of the target base station's TAC irrespective of whether the target base station has the same TAC as the source base station. The claimed approach departs from Jung's conventional approach by excluding the SIB1 message from the handover command when the source and target base stations share the same TAC. This significantly reduces overhead (e.g., RRC signaling overhead) because SIB 1 messages are relatively large messages within the context of the corresponding channel (e.g., the RRC signaling channel). Applicant argues neither Roy nor Jung disclose that a UIE determines that a target base station and a source base station share the same TAC based on a handover command excluding an SIB 1 message for the target base station.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Roy teaches excluding the system information from RRC handover/mobility messages, and instead teaches base station 201 provides TAC information to UE 211 by broadcasting a TAC list in the serving cell via System Information Block 1 (SIB1). The list corresponding to all the tracking areas the serving cell covers as the cell moves, dynamically. In cell reselection, UE triggers a TAU only if its registered TA does not match with any tracking area code of the TAC List broadcasted by the reselected cell. As a result, this significantly reduces the TAU signaling overhead ([0024]). Roy further teaches the broadcast of this information, as opposed to inclusion in RRC messages exchanged in mobility management, in order to significantly reduce signaling overhead. For these reasons, Roy anticipates the newly amended limitations as recited, and the rejections over Roy are provided below.
Examiner would like to note that there is a method step missing from the claimed invention, “determining, by the UE, whether the handover command includes or excludes an SIB1 message,” as further described in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) provided below. Without this limitation, the exclusion of SIB1 from the handover command is not an expression of situation or condition, it is a defining statement. This issue is further enhanced in the dependent claims, where the inclusion of SIB1 in the handover command is claimed. These later limitations are contradictory, because the handover command is defined in the independent claim as excluding SIB1 information. In order to consider both of these conditions, the recited claims must include a determining step where the UE checks the handover command message for an SIB 1 message, and not simply provide the result of what happens when an SIB1 is not present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted steps are: “determining, by the UE, whether the handover command includes or excludes an SIB1 message,” as further described in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) provided below. Without this limitation, the exclusion of SIB1 from the handover command is not an expression of situation or condition, it is a defining statement. This issue is further enhanced in the dependent claims, where the inclusion of SIB1 in the handover command is claimed. These later limitations are contradictory, because the handover command is defined in the independent claim as excluding SIB1 information. In order to consider both of these conditions, the recited claims must include a determining step where the UE checks the handover command message for an SIB 1 message, and not simply provide the result of what happens when an SIB1 is not present.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite. Claim 30 requires the handover command both include and exclude the SIB1. Both cannot be simultaneously true, therefore correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. Claims 36-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claimed “computer program product” is not expressly limited to non-transitory medium, and therefore can encompass transitory embodiments. The specification, particularly [0051-0054] also is not limiting to exclusively non-transitory embodiments. For these reasons the claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter and are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-26 and 29-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Roy et al (US 2023/0208505).
Regarding Claim 21, Roy teaches a method (Fig. 5) comprising: receiving, by a user equipment (UE) from a wireless network, a message including a system information block 1 (SIB 1) message for a source base station ([0017], Each cell broadcast (e.g., via SIB1) TAC and PLMN to UEs in the network. On cell reselection, if the TAC and the PLMN broadcasted by the selected cell does not match any of the TAIs in the TAI list, then the UE triggers a TA update (TAU). If network indicates a System Information change to the UE (e.g., via Paging or Direct Indication information), then the UE re-acquires the broadcasted system information, [0029], step 510, UE 501 receives broadcasted TAC information from the network);
determining, by the UE, a tracking area code (TAC) of the source base station based on the SIB 1 message for the source base station ([0029], In step 511, UE 501 selects cell1, which broadcasts TAC2 and TAC3. The AS layer of the UE reports the TAC list of the selected cell (cell1) and the PLMN list to the NAS layer of the UE. In step 521, the NAS layer of the UE sends a Registration Request (Attach Request) message to a serving base station gNB 502. In step 522, gNB 502 forwards the message to the core network 503, along with the tracking area info (TAC2 and TAC3));
receiving, by the UE, a handover command for handing over the UE from the source base station to a target base station ([0024], the base station 201 establishes an RRC connection with the UE 211 via RRC connection handling circuit 205, pages UEs in specific TAs via paging module 204, performs mobility and handover management via mobility management module 209, and provides broadcast and other configuration information to UEs via control and configuration circuit 221, [0030], step 540, UE 501 continue to receive broadcasted TAC information from the network. In step 541, UE 501 performs measurements and cell reselection as the satellite is moving. UE reselects cell2, which broadcasts TAC2 and TAC3. The AS layer of the UE reports the TAC list of the newly re-selected cell (cell2) to the NAS layer of the UE (i.e., TAC2 and TAC3));
determining, by the UE, that the target base station and the source base station share a same TAC based on the handover command excluding an SIB 1 message for the target base station ([0024], UE 211 performs registration and handles RRC connection via registration/connection handling circuit 219, performs cell selection and reselection via cell (re)selection module 214, performs mobility and handover via mobility handling module 215, and obtains broadcast and other configuration information via control and configuration circuit 231. In one novel aspect, base station 201 provides TAC information to UE 211 by broadcasting a TAC list in the serving cell via System Information Block 1 (SIB1). The list corresponding to all the tracking areas the serving cell covers as the cell moves, dynamically. In cell reselection, UE triggers a TAU only if its registered TA does not match with any tracking area code of the TAC List broadcasted by the reselected cell. As a result, this significantly reduces the TAU signaling overhead (SIB1 broadcast instead of including in mobility/handover signaling, to reduce overhead)); and
based on determining that the target base station and the source base station share the same TAC, executing a handover from the source base station to the target base station without performing a mobility registration update (MRU) or a TAC update (TAU) ([0030], The TAC that the UE was registered previously (TAC2) is already included in the TAC list (TAC2+TAC3) broadcasted from cell2, [0031], In step 551, the NAS layer determines that Tracking Area Update (TAU) needs not be initiated. Accordingly, UE 501 is still registered with TAC2. In step 561, network pages UEs (including UE 501) on cells broadcasting TAC2).
Regarding Claim 22, Roy teaches the method of claim 21, wherein, prior to the UE receiving the handover command, the source base station queries the target base station for a current TAC of the target base station and receives, from the target base station, the current TAC of the target base station ([0029-0031], The AS layer of the UE reports the TAC list of the selected cell (cell1) and the PLMN list to the NAS layer of the UE. In step 521, the NAS layer of the UE sends a Registration Request (Attach Request) message to a serving base station gNB 502. In step 522, gNB 502 forwards the message to the core network 503, along with the tracking area info (TAC2 and TAC3). In step 531, network sends a Registration Accept (Attach Accept) message back to UE 501, which includes TAI list (TAC+PLMN) that the UE is registered for. In this example, the network selects TAC2 for UE 501, so the TAI list includes TAC2. When gNB 502 forwards the message to the core network 503, it adds tracking area info (TAC3, TAC4)).
Regarding Claim 23, Roy teaches the method of claim 21, wherein a previous base station that previously served the UE determines that the previous base station and the source base station have different TACs ([0029], UE 501 selects cell1, which broadcasts TAC2 and TAC3. The AS layer of the UE reports the TAC list of the selected cell (cell1) and the PLMN list to the NAS layer of the UE. In step 521, the NAS layer of the UE sends a Registration Request (Attach Request) message to a serving base station gNB 502. In step 522, gNB 502 forwards the message to the core network 503, along with the tracking area info (TAC2 and TAC3). In step 531, network sends a Registration Accept (Attach Accept) message back to UE 501, which includes TAI list (TAC+PLMN) that the UE is registered for (exchange of tracking area info in completion of registration indicates TAU update and new TAC)), and wherein the source base station determines that the source base station and the target base station share a common TAC ([0030], In step 540, UE 501 continue to receive broadcasted TAC information from the network. In step 541, UE 501 performs measurements and cell reselection as the satellite is moving. UE reselects cell2, which broadcasts TAC2 and TAC3. The AS layer of the UE reports the TAC list of the newly re-selected cell (cell2) to the NAS layer of the UE (i.e., TAC2 and TAC3). The TAC that the UE was registered previously (TAC2) is already included in the TAC list (TAC2+TAC3) broadcasted from cell2).
Regarding Claim 24, Roy teaches the method of claim 21, further comprising: while the UE is being served by the target base station after executing the handover, receiving, by the UE, paging from the wireless network through the target base station based on the TAC shared by the source base station and the target base station ([0030], In step 551, the NAS layer determines that Tracking Area Update (TAU) needs not be initiated. Accordingly, UE 501 is still registered with TAC2. In step 561, network pages UEs (including UE 501) on cells broadcasting TAC2).
Regarding Claim 25, Roy teaches the method of The method of wherein the wireless network comprises a fifth generation (5G) cellular network; wherein the source base station comprises a first gNodeB (gNB); wherein the target base station comprises a second gNB ([0017], FIG. 1 illustrates an exemplary 5G new radio (NR) wireless communication system 100 that supports improved tracking area update (TAU) procedure in Low Earth Orbit (LEO) Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN) in accordance with a novel aspect. In NR wireless communication system 100, an operator of a Pubic Land Mobile Network (PLMN) divides its network (NW) into tracking areas (TAs), composed of a set of cells. The cells are served by a plurality of base stations, e.g., evolved Node-Bs (eNodeBs in LTE or gNodeBs in NR) communicating with a plurality of mobile stations referred as user equipment (UEs). UEs located within a TA region are registered with that TA); and wherein the handover command comprises a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message ([0024], the base station 201 establishes an RRC connection with the UE 211 via RRC connection handling circuit 205, pages UEs in specific TAs via paging module 204, performs mobility and handover management via mobility management module 209, and provides broadcast and other configuration information to UEs via control and configuration circuit 221. The UE 211 performs registration and handles RRC connection via registration/connection handling circuit 219, performs cell selection and reselection via cell (re)selection module 214, performs mobility and handover via mobility handling module 215, and obtains broadcast and other configuration information via control and configuration circuit 231).
Regarding Claim 26, Roy teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the SIB 1 message from the source base station to the UE is generated by a control plane of the wireless network ([0028], the network broadcasts both TAC2 and TAC3, e.g., from the base station serving cell1. The network can decide and send the Registration Accept message and no TAU is needed. The network selects TAC2, so the TAI list includes TAC2+PLMN. As a result, UE 401 selects cell1 and is registered with TAC2 initially. The network can page UE 401 on cells broadcasting TAC2 (i.e., cell0 and cell1). At time T2, when UE 401 reselects to cell2, the current registered TAC2 is included in the TAC list, because the network broadcasts both TAC2 and TAC3 from cell2 at time T2. The network can page UE 401 on cells broadcasting TAC2 (i.e. cell1 and cell2), and no TAU is initiated. At time T3, when UE 401 reselects to cell4, UE 401 issues a Registration Update. The network broadcast a TAC list from cell4, which contains TAC3 and TAC4, and none of them UE 401 is currently registered with. Hence UE 401 initiates a TAU and is registered with TAC3, selected by the network. The network can now page UE 401 on cells currently broadcasting TAC3. Based on these explanations, the steps of initial registration and cell re-selection (both with and without TAU) can be determined).
Regarding Claim 29, Roy teaches the method of claim 21, further comprising: receiving, by the UE, a handover command for handing over the UE from the target base station to a third base station, wherein the third base station comprises a gNB ([0024], the base station 201 establishes an RRC connection with the UE 211 via RRC connection handling circuit 205, pages UEs in specific TAs via paging module 204, performs mobility and handover management via mobility management module 209, and provides broadcast and other configuration information to UEs via control and configuration circuit 221, [0030], step 540, UE 501 continue to receive broadcasted TAC information from the network. In step 541, UE 501 performs measurements and cell reselection as the satellite is moving. UE reselects cell2, which broadcasts TAC2 and TAC3. The AS layer of the UE reports the TAC list of the newly re-selected cell (cell2) to the NAS layer of the UE (i.e., TAC2 and TAC3), [0031], E reselects cell4, which broadcasts TAC3 and TAC4. The AS layer of the UE reports the TAC list of the newly re-selected cell (cell4) to the NAS layer of the UE);
determining, by the UE, that the target base station and the third base station share the same TAC based on the handover command excluding the SIB 1 message for the third base station ([0024], UE 211 performs registration and handles RRC connection via registration/connection handling circuit 219, performs cell selection and reselection via cell (re)selection module 214, performs mobility and handover via mobility handling module 215, and obtains broadcast and other configuration information via control and configuration circuit 231. In one novel aspect, base station 201 provides TAC information to UE 211 by broadcasting a TAC list in the serving cell via System Information Block 1 (SIB1). The list corresponding to all the tracking areas the serving cell covers as the cell moves, dynamically. In cell reselection, UE triggers a TAU only if its registered TA does not match with any tracking area code of the TAC List broadcasted by the reselected cell. As a result, this significantly reduces the TAU signaling overhead (SIB1 broadcast instead of including in mobility/handover signaling, to reduce overhead)); and
based on determining that the target base station and the third base station share the same TAC, executing the handover from the target base station to the third base station without performing a mobility registration update (MRU) ([0030], The TAC that the UE was registered previously (TAC2) is already included in the TAC list (TAC2+TAC3) broadcasted from cell2, [0031], In step 551, the NAS layer determines that Tracking Area Update (TAU) needs not be initiated. Accordingly, UE 501 is still registered with TAC2. In step 561, network pages UEs (including UE 501) on cells broadcasting TAC2).
Regarding Claim 30, Roy teaches the method of claim 29, further comprising: determining, by the UE, that the target base station and a third base station have a different TAC based on the handover command including an SIB 1 message for the third base station ([0031], UE reselects cell4, which broadcasts TAC3 and TAC4. The AS layer of the UE reports the TAC list of the newly re-selected cell (cell4) to the NAS layer of the UE (i.e., TAC3 and TAC4). The TAC that the UE was registered previously (TAC2) is not included in TAC list (TAC3+TAC4) broadcasted from cell4. In step 581, the NAS layer initiates a Tracking Area Update (TAU), sends a TAU Request message to the network); and based on determining that the target base station and the third base station share the same TAC, executing the handover from the target base station to the third base station by performing the MRU or a TAC update (TAU) ([0030], The TAC that the UE was registered previously (TAC2) is already included in the TAC list (TAC2+TAC3) broadcasted from cell2, [0031], In step 551, the NAS layer determines that Tracking Area Update (TAU) needs not be initiated. Accordingly, UE 501 is still registered with TAC2. In step 561, network pages UEs (including UE 501) on cells broadcasting TAC2).
Regarding Claim 31, Roy teaches a system comprising: a processor; and a memory storing programming instructions for execution by the processor, the programming instructions, upon execution by the processor ([0021-0023], Fig. 2), causing the system to perform the following operations:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE) from a wireless network, a message including a system information block 1 (SIB 1) message for a source base station ([0017], Each cell broadcast (e.g., via SIB1) TAC and PLMN to UEs in the network. On cell reselection, if the TAC and the PLMN broadcasted by the selected cell does not match any of the TAIs in the TAI list, then the UE triggers a TA update (TAU). If network indicates a System Information change to the UE (e.g., via Paging or Direct Indication information), then the UE re-acquires the broadcasted system information, [0029], step 510, UE 501 receives broadcasted TAC information from the network);
determining, by the UE, a tracking area code (TAC) of the source base station based on the SIB 1 message for the source base station ([0029], In step 511, UE 501 selects cell1, which broadcasts TAC2 and TAC3. The AS layer of the UE reports the TAC list of the selected cell (cell1) and the PLMN list to the NAS layer of the UE. In step 521, the NAS layer of the UE sends a Registration Request (Attach Request) message to a serving base station gNB 502. In step 522, gNB 502 forwards the message to the core network 503, along with the tracking area info (TAC2 and TAC3));
receiving, by the UE, a handover command for handing over the UE from the source base station to a target base station ([0024], the base station 201 establishes an RRC connection with the UE 211 via RRC connection handling circuit 205, pages UEs in specific TAs via paging module 204, performs mobility and handover management via mobility management module 209, and provides broadcast and other configuration information to UEs via control and configuration circuit 221, [0030], step 540, UE 501 continue to receive broadcasted TAC information from the network. In step 541, UE 501 performs measurements and cell reselection as the satellite is moving. UE reselects cell2, which broadcasts TAC2 and TAC3. The AS layer of the UE reports the TAC list of the newly re-selected cell (cell2) to the NAS layer of the UE (i.e., TAC2 and TAC3));
determining, by the UE, that the target base station and the source base station share a same TAC based on the handover command excluding an SIB 1 message for the target base station ([0024], UE 211 performs registration and handles RRC connection via registration/connection handling circuit 219, performs cell selection and reselection via cell (re)selection module 214, performs mobility and handover via mobility handling module 215, and obtains broadcast and other configuration information via control and configuration circuit 231. In one novel aspect, base station 201 provides TAC information to UE 211 by broadcasting a TAC list in the serving cell via System Information Block 1 (SIB1). The list corresponding to all the tracking areas the serving cell covers as the cell moves, dynamically. In cell reselection, UE triggers a TAU only if its registered TA does not match with any tracking area code of the TAC List broadcasted by the reselected cell. As a result, this significantly reduces the TAU signaling overhead (SIB1 broadcast instead of including in mobility/handover signaling, to reduce overhead)); and
based on determining that the target base station and the source base station share the same TAC, executing a handover from the source base station to the target base station without performing a mobility registration update (MRU) or a TAC update (TAU) ([0030], The TAC that the UE was registered previously (TAC2) is already included in the TAC list (TAC2+TAC3) broadcasted from cell2, [0031], In step 551, the NAS layer determines that Tracking Area Update (TAU) needs not be initiated. Accordingly, UE 501 is still registered with TAC2. In step 561, network pages UEs (including UE 501) on cells broadcasting TAC2).
Regarding Claim 32, Roy teaches the system of claim 31, wherein prior to the UE receiving the handover command, the source base station queries the target base station for a current TAC of the target base station and receives, from the target base station, the current TAC of the target base station ([0029-0031], The AS layer of the UE reports the TAC list of the selected cell (cell1) and the PLMN list to the NAS layer of the UE. In step 521, the NAS layer of the UE sends a Registration Request (Attach Request) message to a serving base station gNB 502. In step 522, gNB 502 forwards the message to the core network 503, along with the tracking area info (TAC2 and TAC3). In step 531, network sends a Registration Accept (Attach Accept) message back to UE 501, which includes TAI list (TAC+PLMN) that the UE is registered for. In this example, the network selects TAC2 for UE 501, so the TAI list includes TAC2. When gNB 502 forwards the message to the core network 503, it adds tracking area info (TAC3, TAC4)).
Regarding Claim 33, Roy teaches the system of claim 31, wherein a previous base station that previously served the UE determines that the previous base station and the source base station have different TACs ([0029], UE 501 selects cell1, which broadcasts TAC2 and TAC3. The AS layer of the UE reports the TAC list of the selected cell (cell1) and the PLMN list to the NAS layer of the UE. In step 521, the NAS layer of the UE sends a Registration Request (Attach Request) message to a serving base station gNB 502. In step 522, gNB 502 forwards the message to the core network 503, along with the tracking area info (TAC2 and TAC3). In step 531, network sends a Registration Accept (Attach Accept) message back to UE 501, which includes TAI list (TAC+PLMN) that the UE is registered for (exchange of tracking area info in completion of registration indicates TAU update and new TAC)), and wherein the source base station determines that the source base station and the target base station share a common TAC ([0030], In step 540, UE 501 continue to receive broadcasted TAC information from the network. In step 541, UE 501 performs measurements and cell reselection as the satellite is moving. UE reselects cell2, which broadcasts TAC2 and TAC3. The AS layer of the UE reports the TAC list of the newly re-selected cell (cell2) to the NAS layer of the UE (i.e., TAC2 and TAC3). The TAC that the UE was registered previously (TAC2) is already included in the TAC list (TAC2+TAC3) broadcasted from cell2).
Regarding Claim 34, Roy teaches the system of claim 31, wherein the programming instructions further cause the system to perform the following operations: while the UE is being served by the target base station after executing the handover, receiving, by the UE, paging from the wireless network through the target base station based on the TAC shared by the source base station and the target base station ([0030], In step 551, the NAS layer determines that Tracking Area Update (TAU) needs not be initiated. Accordingly, UE 501 is still registered with TAC2. In step 561, network pages UEs (including UE 501) on cells broadcasting TAC2).
Regarding Claim 35, Roy teaches the system of claim 31, wherein the programming instructions further cause the system to perform the following operations: receiving, by the UE, a handover command for handing over the UE from the target base station to a third base station, wherein the third base station comprises a gNB ([0024], the base station 201 establishes an RRC connection with the UE 211 via RRC connection handling circuit 205, pages UEs in specific TAs via paging module 204, performs mobility and handover management via mobility management module 209, and provides broadcast and other configuration information to UEs via control and configuration circuit 221, [0030], step 540, UE 501 continue to receive broadcasted TAC information from the network. In step 541, UE 501 performs measurements and cell reselection as the satellite is moving. UE reselects cell2, which broadcasts TAC2 and TAC3. The AS layer of the UE reports the TAC list of the newly re-selected cell (cell2) to the NAS layer of the UE (i.e., TAC2 and TAC3), [0031], E reselects cell4, which broadcasts TAC3 and TAC4. The AS layer of the UE reports the TAC list of the newly re-selected cell (cell4) to the NAS layer of the UE);
determining, by the UE, that the target base station and the third base station share the same TAC based on the handover command excluding the SIB 1 message for the third base station ([0024], UE 211 performs registration and handles RRC connection via registration/connection handling circuit 219, performs cell selection and reselection via cell (re)selection module 214, performs mobility and handover via mobility handling module 215, and obtains broadcast and other configuration information via control and configuration circuit 231. In one novel aspect, base station 201 provides TAC information to UE 211 by broadcasting a TAC list in the serving cell via System Information Block 1 (SIB1). The list corresponding to all the tracking areas the serving cell covers as the cell moves, dynamically. In cell reselection, UE triggers a TAU only if its registered TA does not match with any tracking area code of the TAC List broadcasted by the reselected cell. As a result, this significantly reduces the TAU signaling overhead (SIB1 broadcast instead of including in mobility/handover signaling, to reduce overhead)); and
based on determining that the target base station and the third base station share the same TAC, executing the handover from the target base station to the third base station without performing a mobility registration update (MRU) ([0030], The TAC that the UE was registered previously (TAC2) is already included in the TAC list (TAC2+TAC3) broadcasted from cell2, [0031], In step 551, the NAS layer determines that Tracking Area Update (TAU) needs not be initiated. Accordingly, UE 501 is still registered with TAC2. In step 561, network pages UEs (including UE 501) on cells broadcasting TAC2).
Regarding Claim 36, Roy teaches a computer program product storing programming instructions for execution by a processor of a system, the programming instructions, upon execution by the processor ([0021-0023], Fig. 2), causing the system to perform the following operations:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE) from a wireless network, a message including a system information block 1 (SIB1) message for a source base station ([0017], Each cell broadcast (e.g., via SIB1) TAC and PLMN to UEs in the network. On cell reselection, if the TAC and the PLMN broadcasted by the selected cell does not match any of the TAIs in the TAI list, then the UE triggers a TA update (TAU). If network indicates a System Information change to the UE (e.g., via Paging or Direct Indication information), then the UE re-acquires the broadcasted system information, [0029], step 510, UE 501 receives broadcasted TAC information from the network);
determining, by the UE, a tracking area code (TAC) of the source base station based on the SIB 1 message for the source base station ([0029], In step 511, UE 501 selects cell1, which broadcasts TAC2 and TAC3. The AS layer of the UE reports the TAC list of the selected cell (cell1) and the PLMN list to the NAS layer of the UE. In step 521, the NAS layer of the UE sends a Registration Request (Attach Request) message to a serving base station gNB 502. In step 522, gNB 502 forwards the message to the core network 503, along with the tracking area info (TAC2 and TAC3));
receiving, by the UE, a handover command for handing over the UE from the source base station to a target base station ([0024], the base station 201 establishes an RRC connection with the UE 211 via RRC connection handling circuit 205, pages UEs in specific TAs via paging module 204, performs mobility and handover management via mobility management module 209, and provides broadcast and other configuration information to UEs via control and configuration circuit 221, [0030], step 540, UE 501 continue to receive broadcasted TAC information from the network. In step 541, UE 501 performs measurements and cell reselection as the satellite is moving. UE reselects cell2, which broadcasts TAC2 and TAC3. The AS layer of the UE reports the TAC list of the newly re-selected cell (cell2) to the NAS layer of the UE (i.e., TAC2 and TAC3));
determining, by the UE, that the target base station and the source base station share a same TAC based on the handover command excluding an SIB 1 message for the target base station ([0024], UE 211 performs registration and handles RRC connection via registration/connection handling circuit 219, performs cell selection and reselection via cell (re)selection module 214, performs mobility and handover via mobility handling module 215, and obtains broadcast and other configuration information via control and configuration circuit 231. In one novel aspect, base station 201 provides TAC information to UE 211 by broadcasting a TAC list in the serving cell via System Information Block 1 (SIB1). The list corresponding to all the tracking areas the serving cell covers as the cell moves, dynamically. In cell reselection, UE triggers a TAU only if its registered TA does not match with any tracking area code of the TAC List broadcasted by the reselected cell. As a result, this significantly reduces the TAU signaling overhead (SIB1 broadcast instead of including in mobility/handover signaling, to reduce overhead)); and
based on determining that the target base station and the source base station share the same TAC, executing a handover from the source base station to the target base station without performing a mobility registration update (MRU) or a TAC update (TAU) ([0030], The TAC that the UE was registered previously (TAC2) is already included in the TAC list (TAC2+TAC3) broadcasted from cell2, [0031], In step 551, the NAS layer determines that Tracking Area Update (TAU) needs not be initiated. Accordingly, UE 501 is still registered with TAC2. In step 561, network pages UEs (including UE 501) on cells broadcasting TAC2).
Regarding Claim 37, Roy teaches the computer program product of claim 36, wherein prior to the UE receiving the handover command, the source base station queries the target base station for a current TAC of the target base station and receives, from the target base station, the current TAC of the target base station ([0029-0031], The AS layer of the UE reports the TAC list of the selected cell (cell1) and the PLMN list to the NAS layer of the UE. In step 521, the NAS layer of the UE sends a Registration Request (Attach Request) message to a serving base station gNB 502. In step 522, gNB 502 forwards the message to the core network 503, along with the tracking area info (TAC2 and TAC3). In step 531, network sends a Registration Accept (Attach Accept) message back to UE 501, which includes TAI list (TAC+PLMN) that the UE is registered for. In this example, the network selects TAC2 for UE 501, so the TAI list includes TAC2. When gNB 502 forwards the message to the core network 503, it adds tracking area info (TAC3, TAC4)).
Regarding Claim 38, Roy teaches the computer program product of claim 36, wherein a previous base station that previously served the UE determines that the previous base station and the source base station have different TACs ([0029], UE 501 selects cell1, which broadcasts TAC2 and TAC3. The AS layer of the UE reports the TAC list of the selected cell (cell1) and the PLMN list to the NAS layer of the UE. In step 521, the NAS layer of the UE sends a Registration Request (Attach Request) message to a serving base station gNB 502. In step 522, gNB 502 forwards the message to the core network 503, along with the tracking area info (TAC2 and TAC3). In step 531, network sends a Registration Accept (Attach Accept) message back to UE 501, which includes TAI list (TAC+PLMN) that the UE is registered for (exchange of tracking area info in completion of registration indicates TAU update and new TAC)), and wherein the source base station determines that the source base station and the target base station share a common TAC ([0030], In step 540, UE 501 continue to receive broadcasted TAC information from the network. In step 541, UE 501 performs measurements and cell reselection as the satellite is moving. UE reselects cell2, which broadcasts TAC2 and TAC3. The AS layer of the UE reports the TAC list of the newly re-selected cell (cell2) to the NAS layer of the UE (i.e., TAC2 and TAC3). The TAC that the UE was registered previously (TAC2) is already included in the TAC list (TAC2+TAC3) broadcasted from cell2).
Regarding Claim 39, Roy teaches the computer program product of claim 36, wherein the programing instructions further cause the system to perform the following operations: while the UE is being served by the target base station after executing the handover, paging the UE from the wireless network using the TAC shared by the source base station and the target base station; and receiving, by the UE, the paging from the wireless network through the target base station ([0030], In step 551, the NAS layer determines that Tracking Area Update (TAU) needs not be initiated. Accordingly, UE 501 is still registered with TAC2. In step 561, network pages UEs (including UE 501) on cells broadcasting TAC2).
Regarding Claim 40, Roy teaches the computer program product of claim 36, wherein the programing instructions further cause the system to perform the following operations: receiving, by the UE, a handover command for handing over the UE from the target base station to a third base station([0024], the base station 201 establishes an RRC connection with the UE 211 via RRC connection handling circuit 205, pages UEs in specific TAs via paging module 204, performs mobility and handover management via mobility management module 209, and provides broadcast and other configuration information to UEs via control and configuration circuit 221, [0030], step 540, UE 501 continue to receive broadcasted TAC information from the network. In step 541, UE 501 performs measurements and cell reselection as the satellite is moving. UE reselects cell2, which broadcasts TAC2 and TAC3. The AS layer of the UE reports the TAC list of the newly re-selected cell (cell2) to the NAS layer of the UE (i.e., TAC2 and TAC3));
determining, by the UE, that the target base station and the source base station share a same TAC based on the handover command excluding an SIB 1 message for the target base station ([0024], UE 211 performs registration and handles RRC connection via registration/connection handling circuit 219, performs cell selection and reselection via cell (re)selection module 214, performs mobility and handover via mobility handling module 215, and obtains broadcast and other configuration information via control and configuration circuit 231. In one novel aspect, base station 201 provides TAC information to UE 211 by broadcasting a TAC list in the serving cell via System Information Block 1 (SIB1). The list corresponding to all the tracking areas the serving cell covers as the cell moves, dynamically. In cell reselection, UE triggers a TAU only if its registered TA does not match with any tracking area code of the TAC List broadcasted by the reselected cell. As a result, this significantly reduces the TAU signaling overhead (SIB1 broadcast instead of including in mobility/handover signaling, to reduce overhead)); and
based on determining that the target base station and the source base station share the same TAC, executing a handover from the source base station to the target base station without performing a mobility registration update (MRU) or a TAC update (TAU) ([0030], The TAC that the UE was registered previously (TAC2) is already included in the TAC list (TAC2+TAC3) broadcasted from cell2, [0031], In step 551, the NAS layer determines that Tracking Area Update (TAU) needs not be initiated. Accordingly, UE 501 is still registered with TAC2. In step 561, network pages UEs (including UE 501) on cells broadcasting TAC2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roy et al (US 2023/0208505), in view of Wang et al (US 2022/0393957).
Regarding Claim 27, Roy teaches the method of claim 21, except the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches wherein the UE is engaged in a voice over new radio (VoNR) call during the handover ([0108], terminal may be a wireless terminal device that can receive scheduling and indication information from the network device, for example, a device configured to provide a user with voice and/or data connectivity, the terminal device may be a wearable device, a terminal device in a next-generation communication system such as a 5G network, a terminal device in a future evolved public land mobile network (PLMN), a terminal device in an NR communication system, or the like).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the inclusion of system information in handover commands when engaged in new radio communication, as taught in Wang, in the system of Roy, in order to more accurately track and page connected devices across the network.
Regarding Claim 28, Roy teaches the method of claim 21, including determining, by the UE, that the target base station and the source base station have a different TAC based on the handover command including an SIB 1 message for the target base station; and based on determining that the target base station and the source base station share the same TAC, executing the handover from the source base station to the target base station by performing the MRU or a TAC update (TAU) ([0031] UE reselects cell4, which broadcasts TAC3 and TAC4. The AS layer of the UE reports the TAC list of the newly re-selected cell (cell4) to the NAS layer of the UE (i.e., TAC3 and TAC4). The TAC that the UE was registered previously (TAC2) is not included in TAC list (TAC3+TAC4) broadcasted from cell4. In step 581, the NAS layer initiates a Tracking Area Update (TAU), sends a TAU Request message to the network).
Roy fails to teach the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches where the commands are handover commands, the SIB is included in a first handover command ([0134], the TA is calculated in a manner including but not limited to the following three manners: Manner 1: The TA is equal to a sum of the round-trip delay of the service link and the difference; Manner 2: The TA is equal to a sum of the round-trip delay of the service link in the NTN and an offset; Manner 3: The TA is equal to a sum of the round-trip delay of the service link in the NTN, the difference, and an offset. The offsets in Manner 2 and Manner 3 are related to a time division duplex (TDD) mode or a frequency division duplex (FDD) mode).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the inclusion of system information in handover commands when engaged in new radio communication, as taught in Wang, in the system of Roy, in order to more accurately track and page connected devices across the network.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARGARET G WEBB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641