DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The response filed on February 24th 2026 is acknowledged. Three pages of amended claims were received on 2/24/2026. Claims 1, 3-9, and 11-16 have been amended. Claims 2 and 10 have been cancelled.
The claims have been amended to overcome previous claim objections and previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) in the non-final rejection mailed 1/2/2026, however Claims 1, 3-4, 6-9, 11-12, and 14-16 are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), 35 U.S.C. 112(b), and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as noted below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Tension Indicating Species A (Figs. 3A-3B) in the reply filed on 12/10/2025 in response to the requirement for restriction mailed 10/16/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 5 and 13 were withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-9, 11-12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 9 each state “a movable indicator disposed on an exterior surface of the body” which is not supported by the disclosure as originally filed. The specification makes no mention of the movable indicator being disposed on an exterior surface of the body and none of the figures show the movable indicator being disposed on an exterior surface of the body. The Specification in Paragraph 0012 states that “the piston head is provided with a movable indicator” and Paragraph 0019 states “the tension indicating device further includes a window provided on the body to allow visual inspection of a location of the movable indicator”. None of the figures clearly show that the movable indicator is disposed on an exterior surface of the body. In fact, Claims 8 and 16 each require “a window provided on the body to allow visual inspection of a location of the movable indicator”. Therefore, it appears that “a movable indicator disposed on an exterior surface of the body” as now claimed in Claims 1 and 9 is not in the disclosure as originally filed, and thus constitutes new matter.
Claims 3-4 and 6-8 depend from Claim 1 and Claims 11-12 and 14-16 depend from Claim 9, therefore Claims 3-4, 6-8, 11-12, and 14-16 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-9, 11-12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because Lines 3-5 state “a body comprising a first end and a second end, at least one of the first end and the second end configured to be operatively coupled to a corresponding first tensioned line and second tensioned line of a mechanical fire detection line of a fire suppression system” and Lines 12-17 state “wherein responsive to the tensioned line being provided with tension, the piston moves towards the at least one of the first end and the second end of the body, thereby causing the movable indicator to correspondingly move along the length of the body of the tension indicating device to indicate a tension in the corresponding one of the first tensioned line and second tension line of the fire suppression system and wherein when the movable indicator is in alignment with the reference indicator, the tension indicating device indicates that the tensioned line is correctly tensioned.” and it is not clear what “the tensioned line” and “the corresponding one of the first tension line and second tension line” corresponds to. It is not clear if “the corresponding one of the first tension line and second tension line” corresponds to the tensioned line that the free end of the connecting rod is connected to, or something else. Fig. 3A shows a first end of the body coupled to a first tensioned line and a second end of the body coupled to a second tensioned line. For the purpose of examination, based on the disclosure as a whole, Claim 1 Lines 3-5 will be interpreted to state “a body comprising a first end and a second end, the first end and the second end each configured to be operatively coupled to a first tensioned line and second tensioned line of a mechanical fire detection line of a fire suppression system” and Claim 1 Lines 12-17 will be interpreted to state “wherein responsive to a corresponding tensioned line of the first tensioned line and second tensioned line being provided with tension, the piston moves towards the first end or the second end of the body, thereby causing the movable indicator to correspondingly move along the length of the body of the tension indicating device to indicate a tension in the corresponding tensioned line of the fire suppression system and wherein when the movable indicator is in alignment with the reference indicator, the tension indicating device indicates that the corresponding tensioned line is correctly tensioned”.
Claims 3-4 and 6-8 depend from Claim 1, therefore Claims 3-4 and 6-8 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for being indefinite.
Claims 3-4 and 6 are also indefinite because they each use the term “the tensioned line” and it is not clear if “the tensioned line” applies to the first tensioned line or the second tensioned line. For the purpose of examination, each instance of “the tensioned line” in Claims 3-4 and 6 will be interpreted as “the first tensioned line or the second tensioned line”.
Claims 7-8 depend from Claim 6, therefore Claims 7-8 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for being indefinite since Claim 6 is indefinite.
Claim 9 is indefinite because Lines 3-5 state “a body comprising a first end and a second end, at least one of the first end and the second end configured to be operatively coupled to a corresponding first tensioned line and second tension line of a mechanical fire detection line of a fire suppression system” and Lines 12-18 state “wherein responsive to the tensioned line being provided with tension, the piston moves towards the at least one of the first end and the second end of the body, thereby causing the movable indicator to correspondingly move along the length of the body of the tension indicating device to indicate a tension in the corresponding one of the first tensioned line and second tension line of the fire suppression system, and wherein, when the movable indicator is in alignment with the reference indicator, the tension indicating device indicates that the tensioned line is correctly tensioned.” and it is not clear what “the tensioned line” and “the corresponding one of the first tension line and second tension line” corresponds to. It is not clear if “the corresponding one of the first tension line and second tension line” corresponds to the tensioned line that the free end of the connecting rod is connected to, or something else. Fig. 3A shows a first end of the body coupled to a first tensioned line and a second end of the body coupled to a second tensioned line. For the purpose of examination, based on the disclosure as a whole, Claim 9 Lines 3-5 will be interpreted to state “a body comprising a first end and a second end, the first end and the second end each configured to be operatively coupled to a first tensioned line and second tensioned line of a mechanical fire detection line of a fire suppression system” and Claim 1 Lines 12-18 will be interpreted to state “wherein responsive to a corresponding tensioned line of the first tensioned line and second tensioned line being provided with tension, the piston moves towards the first end or the second end of the body, thereby causing the movable indicator to correspondingly move along the length of the body of the tension indicating device to indicate a tension in the corresponding tensioned line of the fire suppression system and, wherein, when the movable indicator is in alignment with the reference indicator, the tension indicating device indicates that the corresponding tensioned line is correctly tensioned”.
Claims 11-12 and 14-16 depend from Claim 9, therefore Claims 11-12 and 14-16 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for being indefinite.
Claims 11-12 and 14 are also indefinite because they each use the term “the tensioned line” and it is not clear if “the tensioned line” applies to the first tensioned line or the second tensioned line. For the purpose of examination, each instance of “the tensioned line” in Claims 11-12 and 14 will be interpreted as “the first tensioned line or the second tensioned line”.
Claims 15-16 depend from Claim 14, therefore Claims 15-16 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for being indefinite since Claim 14 is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-9, 11-12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 9,656,107 B2 to Zlatintsis (“Zlatintsis”).
As to Claim 1, Zlatintsis discloses a tension indicating device (See Annotated Fig. 2, the device shown has an indication of tension) for a fire suppression system (See Fig. 1 showing the entire fire suppression system), the device comprising:
a body (See Annotated Fig. 2, the body is made up of multiple components) comprising a first end (See Annotated Fig. 2) and a second end (See Annotated Fig. 2), at least one of the first end and the second end configured to be operatively coupled to a corresponding first tensioned line and second tensioned line of a mechanical fire detection line of a fire suppression system (See Annotated Fig. 2 and See Col. 9 Lines 1-10 and See Col. 10 Lines 50-60. #29 is operatively connected to the first end and #13 is operatively connected to the second end);
a piston (#7, which includes #14 and #43) configured to be slidably disposed along a length of the body (See Annotated Fig. 2 and Col. 9 Lines 9-20, the piston moves along a length of the body), the piston comprising a piston head (See Annotated Fig. 2, the piston head is made up of #43 and #7) and a connecting rod (#14, which is a cylindrical structure equivalent to a rod), wherein a free end of the connecting rod extends towards the at least one of the first and second ends (See Annotated Fig. 2, the free left end of #43 extends partially toward the first end), wherein the free end is configured to be coupled to one of the first tensioned line and the second tensioned line (See Annotated Fig. 2, the free end is coupled to #13), and wherein the piston head is provided with a movable indicator (See Annotated Fig. 2, #43 is equivalent to a movable indicator on the piston head) disposed on an exterior surface of the body (See Annotated Fig. 2 and See Col. 10 Lines 55-60, the pin #43 travels through hole #42 such that it is on an exterior surface of the body); and
a reference indicator fixed on the body of the tension indicating device (See Annotated Fig. 2. Fitting #36a is equivalent to a reference indicator that is fixed on the body of tension indicating device via #35); and
wherein responsive to the tensioned line being provided with tension, the piston moves towards the at least one of the first end and the second end of the body (See Annotated Fig. 2 and Col. 9 Lines 1-10. Tensioning #13 or #29 will cause the piston to move towards the first end or the second end), thereby causing the movable indicator to correspondingly move along the length of the body of the tension indicating device to indicate a tension in the corresponding one of the first tensioned line and second tensioned line of the fire suppression system (See Annotated Fig. 2, when the piston moves, #43 will move, which will indicate a tension in #13 or #29) and wherein when the movable indicator is in alignment with the reference indicator, the tension indicating device indicates that the tensioned line is correctly tensioned (See Annotated Fig. 2 showing the movable indicator #43 being aligned horizontally with the reference indicator #36a, which can be considered to be a state in which the tensioned line is correctly tensioned).
As to Claim 3, in reference to the tension indicating device of Zlatintsis as applied to Claim 1 above, Zlatintsis further discloses wherein when the movable indicator is not in alignment with the reference indicator, the tension indicating device indicates that the tensioned line is improperly tensioned (See Annotated Fig. 2, when #43 is moved such that it is not horizontally aligned with #36a, this indicates a state that can be considered improperly tensioned since it is not in a correctly tensioned state).
As to Claim 4, in reference to the tension indicating device of Zlatintsis as applied to Claim 1 above, Zlatintsis further discloses wherein the tension indicating device indicates that the tensioned line is having one of excessive tension and inadequate tension based on location of the movable indicator with respect to the reference indicator (See Annotated Fig. 2, a position where #43 moves to not be horizontally aligned with #36a can be a state that has is considered to have either too much tension or not enough tension).
As to Claim 6, in reference to the tension indicating device of Zlatintsis as applied to Claim 1 above, Zlatintsis further discloses the tension indicating device comprising a compressible element (#9, which is a spring) configured to be disposed between the piston head and the second end (See Annotated Fig. 2), wherein, responsive to the tensioned line being provided with tension, the piston moves towards the second end, thereby causing the compressible element to compress (See Annotated Fig. 2. When #13 is tensioned, the piston will move towards the second end and compress #9).
As to Claim 7, in reference to the tension indicating device of Zlatintsis as applied to Claim 6 above, Zlatintsis further discloses wherein the compressible element is a helical spring (See Fig. 2 and Col. 9 Lines 45-50).
As to Claim 8, in reference to the tension indicating device of Zlatintsis as applied to Claim 7 above, Zlatintsis further discloses the tension indicating device comprising a window (#42) provided on the body to allow visual inspection of a location of the movable indicator (See Annotated Fig. 2. The opening #42 allows visual inspection of where #43 is within the body).
As to Claim 9, Zlatintsis discloses a fire suppression system (See Fig. 1 showing the entire fire suppression system) comprising a tension indicating device for a mechanical fire detection line (See Annotated Fig. 2, the device shown has an indication of tension), the tension indicating device comprising:
a body (See Annotated Fig. 2, the body is made up of multiple components) comprising a first end (see Annotated Fig. 2) and a second end (See Annotated Fig. 2), at least one of the first end and the second end configured to be operatively coupled to a corresponding first tensioned line and second tension line of a mechanical fire detection line of a fire suppression system (See Annotated Fig. 2 and See Col. 9 Lines 1-10 and See Col. 10 Lines 50-60. #29 is operatively connected to the first end and #13 is operatively connected to the second end);
a piston (#7, which includes #14 and #43) configured to be slidably disposed along a length of the body (See Annotated Fig. 2 and Col. 9 Lines 9-20, the piston moves along a length of the body), the piston comprising a piston head (See Annotated Fig. 2) and a connecting rod (#14), wherein a free end of the connecting rod extends towards the at least one of the first end and the second end (See Annotated Fig. 2, the free end of #43 extends partially toward the first end), wherein the free end is configured to be coupled to one of the first tensioned line and the second tensioned line (See Annotated Fig. 2, the free end is coupled to #13), and wherein the piston head is provided with a movable indicator (See Annotated Fig. 2, #43 is equivalent to a movable indicator on the piston head) disposed on an exterior surface of the body (See Annotated Fig. 2 and See Col. 10 Lines 55-60, the pin #43 travels through hole #42 such that it is on an exterior surface of the body); and
a reference indicator fixed on the body of the tension indicating device (See Annotated Fig. 2. Fitting #36a is equivalent to a reference indicator that is fixed on the body of tension indicating device via #35); and
wherein responsive to the tensioned line being provided with tension, the piston moves towards the at least one of the first end and the second end of the body (See Annotated Fig. 2 and Col. 9 Lines 1-10. Tensioning #13 or #29 will cause the piston to move towards the first end or the second end), thereby causing the movable indicator to correspondingly move along the length of the body of the tension indicating device to indicate a tension in the corresponding one of the first tensioned line and second tensioned line of the fire suppression system (See Annotated Fig. 2, when the piston moves, #43 will move, which will indicate a tension in #13 or #29), and
wherein, when the movable indicator is in alignment with the reference indicator, the tension indicating device indicates that the tensioned line is correctly tensioned (See Annotated Fig. 2 showing the movable indicator #43 being aligned horizontally with the reference indicator #36a, which can be considered to be a state in which the tensioned line is correctly tensioned).
As to Claim 11, in reference to the fire suppression system of Zlatintsis as applied to Claim 9 above, Zlatintsis further discloses wherein when the movable indicator is not in alignment with the reference indicator, the tension indicating device indicates that the tensioned line is improperly tensioned (See Annotated Fig. 2, when #43 is moved such that it is not horizontally aligned with #36a, this indicates a state that can be considered improperly tensioned since it is not in a correctly tensioned state).
As to Claim 12, in reference to the fire suppression system of Zlatintsis as applied to Claim 9 above, Zlatintsis further discloses wherein the tension indicating device indicates that the tensioned line is having one of excessive tension and inadequate tension based on a location of the movable indicator with respect to the reference indicator (See Annotated Fig. 2, a position where #43 moves to not be horizontally aligned with #36a can be a state that has is considered to have either too much tension or not enough tension).
As to Claim 14, in reference to the fire suppression system of Zlatintsis as applied to Claim 9 above, Zlatintsis further discloses the fire suppression system comprising a compressible element (#9, which is a spring) configured to be disposed between the piston head and the second end (See Annotated Fig. 2), wherein, responsive to the tensioned line being provided with tension, the piston moves towards the second end, thereby causing the compressible element to compress (See Annotated Fig. 2. When #13 is tensioned, the piston will move towards the second end and compress #9).
As to Claim 15, in reference to the fire suppression system of Zlatintsis as applied to Claim 14 above, Zlatintsis further discloses wherein the compressible element is a helical spring (See Fig. 2 and Col. 9 Lines 45-50).
As to Claim 16, in reference to the fire suppression system of Zlatintsis as applied to Claim 15 above, Zlatintsis further discloses wherein the tension indicating device comprises a window (#42) provided on the body to allow visual inspection of a location of the movable indicator (See Annotated Fig. 2. The opening #42 allows visual inspection of where #43 is within the body).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent Claims 1 and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) do not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN EDWARD SCHWARTZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 3752 March 26, 2026