DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of a new grounds of rejection necessitated by the amendments to the claims.
The claim amendments dated 08/18/2026 have overcome the previously presented claim objections, 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections, and non-statutory double patenting rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frey et al. (WO 2019008189 A1; US equivalent document Patent Application Publication 2020/0208088 will be cited herein).
Regarding claim 1, Frey et al. discloses a cell aggregate culture device (Abstract, para. 1, 10), comprising:
a cell culture chamber (microtissue wells 4 and spaces 13 collectively form a cell culture chamber, see para. 1, 160-162) including a plurality of wells (spaces 13 read on wells, see para. 162 and Fig. 1A, sheet 1 of 11);
one or more reservoirs storing a culture medium (para. 169);
one or more first conduits respectively connecting the culture chamber and the one or more reservoirs (para. 61-62, 169); and
a plurality of second conduits (22) each connecting adjacent wells of the plurality of wells (13) (para. 163, 173) (Figs. 1A and 4A, sheets 1 and 4 of 11),
wherein each of the plurality of wells (13) is open at a top and a bottom thereof (para. 163, 173) (Figs. 1A-4A and 10A, sheets 1-4 and 11 of 11), and
wherein each of the plurality of second microchannels is connected to upper portions of the adjacent wells (Figs. 1A and 4A, sheets 1 and 4 of 11).
Frey et al. does not expressly teach wherein the first conduits are first microchannels and wherein the second conduits are second microchannels.
Nonetheless, it has been held that changes in size are not sufficient to introduce a patentable distinction over the prior art (MPEP 2144.04). Therefore, the claim limitation of microchannels does not introduce a patentable distinction over Frey et al., as Frey et al. discloses channels (conduits).
Furthermore, Frey et al. discloses that the device is a “microfluidic system” (para. 183) and further discloses that other fluid conduits within the device are microchannels (para. 73-74).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form each of the first conduits and second conduits disclosed by Frey et al. as microchannels, in order to fabricate the device using a known conduit configuration already disclosed by Frey et al.
Regarding claim 3, Frey et al. discloses wherein a distance between the adjacent wells (13) is 4.5 mm or 2.25 mm (either falls within the claim range) (Frey et al. discloses that distance between wells 4 is 4.5 mm or 2.25 mm, see para. 76-77, and this would also apply to the wells 13 as they are coaxial with the wells 4, see para. 162).
Frey et al. does not expressly teach a diameter of each of the plurality of wells (13).
However, the skilled artisan would clearly recognize that each of the plurality of wells (13) has a diameter on the order of millimeters based on the dimensions of the device as a whole (see para. 72-78 and Figs. 1A-2A, sheets 1-2 of 11). Furthermore, Frey et al. discloses that the wells (13) serve to exchange gas with a cell culture (para. 57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to discover an optimum or workable range for the diameter, as it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation, when the particular parameter is recognized as a result-effective variable (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 4, Frey et al. discloses wherein the one or more reservoirs are located at both ends of the device (para. 169) (Fig. 4A, sheet 4 of 11).
Regarding claim 5, Frey et al. discloses wherein the cell aggregate is a spheroid or organoid derived from cardiac cells (para. 10, 98).
Regarding claim 6, Frey et al. discloses wherein the cell aggregate is derived from heart organoids (para. 10, 98).
Regarding claim 7, Frey et al. discloses a cell aggregate culture system (Abstract, para. 1, 10, 68), comprising:
a cell aggregate culture device (Abstract, para. 1, 10), comprising:
a cell culture chamber (microtissue wells 4 and spaces 13 collectively form a cell culture chamber, see para. 1, 160-162) including a plurality of wells (spaces 13 read on wells, see para. 162 and Fig. 1A, sheet 1 of 11);
one or more reservoirs storing a culture medium (para. 169);
one or more first conduits respectively connecting the culture chamber and the one or more reservoirs (para. 61-62, 169); and
a plurality of second conduits (22) each connecting adjacent wells of the plurality of wells (13) (para. 163, 173) (Figs. 1A and 4A, sheets 1 and 4 of 11),
wherein each of the plurality of wells (13) is open at a top and a bottom thereof (para. 163, 173) (Figs. 1A-4A and 10A, sheets 1-4 and 11 of 11), and
wherein each of the plurality of second microchannels is connected to upper portions of the adjacent wells (Figs. 1A and 4A, sheets 1 and 4 of 11);
a rocker (para. 68); and
culture medium shared through a microchannel (para. 68-74).
Frey et al. does not expressly teach wherein the first conduits are first microchannels and wherein the second conduits are second microchannels.
Nonetheless, it has been held that changes in size are not sufficient to introduce a patentable distinction over the prior art (MPEP 2144.04). Therefore, the claim limitation of microchannels does not introduce a patentable distinction over Frey et al., as Frey et al. discloses channels (conduits).
Furthermore, Frey et al. discloses that the device is a “microfluidic system” (para. 183) and further discloses that other fluid conduits within the device are microchannels (para. 73-74).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form each of the first conduits and second conduits disclosed by Frey et al. as microchannels, in order to fabricate the device using a known conduit configuration already disclosed by Frey et al.
Regarding claim 8, Frey et al. discloses wherein the rocker may cause the device to make a swing motion (para. 68).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOLLY KIPOUROS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799