DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of Amendment filed February 18, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engelhardt (Foreign Patent Document No.: DE 102019117686 A1) in view of Shi et al. (Foreign Patent Document No.: CN 114498977 A) and Cirani et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2013/0026872 A1).
For claim 1, Engelhardt discloses the claimed invention comprising rotor laminated cores (reference numeral 3, see figure 1), the rotor laminated cores comprising a multilayer magnetic system (reference numeral 5) and surrounded by a drum (reference numeral 4, see figure 1), wherein the multilayer magnetic system comprises at least one triad with two magnets arranged in a V shape (reference numeral 15) and a surface magnet (reference numeral 25, see figure 1). Engelhardt however does not specifically disclose the surface magnet having a rectangular cross-section and being equipped with an additional rotor laminated core, which is arranged radially between the surface magnet and the drum.
Shi et al. disclose a magnetic triad with two magnets arranged in a V shape (reference numeral 200a, see figures 14, 15) and a surface magnet (reference numeral 200b) where the surface magnet has a rectangular cross-section (surface magnet 200b having a rectangular cross-section, see figures 14 and 15), and Cirani et al. disclose a surface magnet component (i.e. magnet 52 disposed on the radially outermost portion of rotor 40, see figure 11) having an additional rotor laminated core (reference numeral 44, see figure 11) disposed on the radially outer surface of the surface magnet component (see figure 11), and when applied to the surface magnet of Engelhardt in view of Shi et al. this would disclose the surface magnet being equipped with an additional rotor laminated core, which is arranged radially between the surface magnet and the drum.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the rectangular cross-section for the surface magnet as disclosed by Shi et al. and the additional laminated core as disclosed by Cirani et al. for the surface magnet of Engelhardt for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the secure rotor magnet assembly of the device.
For claim 2, Engelhardt in view of Shi et al. and Cirani et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the additional rotor laminated core being combined with a star-shaped rotor laminated core and a V-shaped rotor laminated core. Cirani et al. further disclose the additional rotor laminated core (reference numeral 44) being combined with other laminated core components (i.e. components 44x, 44y, etc, see figure 11), and when combined with Engelhardt's teaching of a star-shaped rotor laminated core (reference numeral 3, figure 1 of Engelhardt) and a V-shaped rotor laminated core (reference numeral 35, figure 1 of Engelhardt) this would disclose the additional rotor laminated core being combined with a star-shaped rotor laminated core and a V-shaped rotor laminated core. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the additional rotor laminated core as disclosed by Cirani et al. be combined with a star-shaped rotor laminated core and a V-shaped rotor laminated core of Engelhardt in view of Shi et al. and Cirani et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the secure rotor magnet assembly of the device.
For claim 3, Engelhardt discloses a V-shaped receiving space (i.e. space 6 formed for magnets 15, see figure 1) for the two magnets arranged in the V shape (reference numeral 15) being formed between the star-shaped rotor laminated core (reference numeral 3) and the V-shaped rotor laminated core (reference numeral 35, see figure 1).
For claim 4, Engelhardt discloses the V-shaped receiving space (i.e. space 6 formed for magnets 15, see figure 1) opening radially outward (see figure 1) and being only bounded by the drum (reference numeral 4, see figure 1).
For claim 5, Engelhardt discloses the V-shaped receiving space (i.e. space 6 formed for magnets 15, see figure 1) radially inwardly having a shape of a rectangle (reference numeral 16, see figure 1), but Engelhardt in view of Shi et al. and Cirani et al. do not specifically disclose this rectangle shape being arranged parallel to a rectangle in which the surface magnet is received. Shi et al. already disclose the rectangle in which the surface magnet (reference numeral 200b) is received (see figures 14, 15), and when combined with the Engelhardt’s teaching of the rectangle 16 in figure 1 this would disclose the rectangle shape being arranged parallel to a rectangle in which the surface magnet is received. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the rectangle for the surface magnet as disclosed by Shi et al. so that the rectangle receiving space in the V-shaped receiving space would be arranged parallel to the rectangle of the surface magnet for Engelhardt in view of Shi et al. and Cirani et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the secure rotor magnet assembly of the device.
For claim 6, Engelhardt in view of Shi et al. and Cirani et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the rectangle in which the surface magnet is received being part of a radially outwardly V-shaped receiving space. Cirani et al. disclose the rectangle in which the surface magnet is received (i.e. a rectangle shape in which radially outermost magnets 50 are disposed, see figure 11) being part of a radially outwardly V-shaped receiving space (i.e. space formed by components 192, 194, see figure 11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the radially outwardly V-shaped receiving space as disclosed by Cirani et al. for the surface magnet of Engelhardt in view of Shi et al. and Cirani et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the secure rotor magnet assembly of the device.
For claim 7, Engelhardt in view of Shi et al. and Cirani et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the radially outwardly V-shaped receiving space opening radially outwardly and being only bounded by the drum. Cirani et al. already disclose the radially outwardly V-shaped receiving space (i.e. space formed by components 192, 194, see figure 11) opening radially outwardly (see figure 11), and when applied to the space in which the surface magnet is disposed in Engelhardt (reference numeral 25, figure 1) this would disclose the radially outwardly V-shaped receiving space being only bounded by the drum (reference numeral 4, see figure 1 of Engelhardt). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the radially outwardly V-shaped receiving space opening radially outwardly as disclosed by Cirani et al. for the radially outwardly V-shaped receiving space of Engelhardt in view of Shi et al. and Cirani et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the secure rotor magnet assembly of the device.
For claim 8, Engelhardt in view of Shi et al. and Cirani et al. disclose the claimed invention except for all of the two magnets and the surface magnet being rectangular in form. Shi et al. disclose the two magnets and the surface magnet being rectangular in form (reference numerals 200a, 200b, see figures 14, 15), and when applied to the surface magnet of Engelhardt this would disclose all of the two magnets and the surface magnet being rectangular in form. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the surface magnet be rectangular as disclosed by Shi et al. for all of the two magnets and the surface magnet of Engelhardt in view of Shi et al. and Cirani et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the secure rotor magnet assembly of the device.
For claim 9, the magnets of Engelhardt can be considered the same size (reference numerals 15, 25, see figure 1), i.e. wherein all of the two magnets and the surface magnet are the same size.
For claim 10, Engelhardt discloses the triad having the two magnets arranged in a V shape (reference numeral 15, figure 1) and the surface magnet (reference numeral 25, figure 1) being intrinsically symmetrical in relation to a radial (reference numeral 22, see figure 1).
For claim 11, Engelhardt discloses the rotor comprising the two magnets (i.e. two magnets 5 in a V shape, see figure 1) arranged in the V shape and the surface magnet (i.e. radially outer magnet 5, see figure 1), but Engelhardt in view of Shi et al. and Cirani et al. however do not specifically disclose the V shape and the cross-section of the rectangular cross-section being in a radial direction of the rotor. Shi et al. already disclose the rectangular cross-section of the surface magnet (reference numeral 200b, see figures 14, 15), and when applied to the V shape and surface magnet of Engelhardt this would disclose the V shape and the cross-section of the rectangular cross-section being in a radial direction of the rotor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the rectangular cross-section for the surface magnet as disclosed by Shi et al. so that the V shape and the cross-section of the rectangular cross-section is in a radial direction of the rotor for Engelhardt in view of Shi et al. and Cirani et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the secure rotor magnet assembly of the device.
For claim 12, Engelhardt in view of Shi et al. and Cirani et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the additional rotor laminated core abutting a radially inner surface of the drum. Having the additional rotor laminated core abut the radially inner surface of the drum is a known skill as exhibited by Shi et al. (i.e. additional rotor laminated core 112 abutting the radially inner surface of the drum 120, see figures 19, 20), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the additional rotor laminated core abut the radially inner surface of the drum as disclosed by Shi et al. for the additional rotor laminated core and the drum of Engelhardt in view of Shi et al. and Cirani et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the secure rotor magnet assembly of the device.
For claim 13, Engelhardt in view of Shi et al. and Cirani et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the additional rotor laminated core comprising a radially outer surface that abuts the drum with a complimentary curvature to the drum and a radially inner surface that abuts a radially outer surface of the surface magnet. Shi et al. further disclose the additional rotor laminated core (reference numeral 112) comprising a radially outer surface that abuts the drum (reference numeral 120, see figures 19, 20) with a complimentary curvature to the drum (i.e. curve on the radially outer surface of the drum 120, see figures 19, 20) and a radially inner surface that abuts a radially outer surface of the surface magnet (i.e. magnet 200, see figures 19, 20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the curvature for the radially outer surface of the drum and to have the radially inner surface of the drum abutting the outer surface of the magnet as disclosed by Shi et al. for the additional rotor laminated core and the drum of Engelhardt in view of Shi et al. and Cirani et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the secure rotor magnet assembly of the device.
For claim 14, Engelhardt discloses the surface magnet (reference numeral 25, figure 1) being arranged radially further outward than the two magnets arranged in the V shape (i.e. magnets 15 arranged in the V shape, see figure 1).
For claim 15, Engelhardt discloses the radially outwardly opening V-shaped receiving space (i.e. space 6 in which magnets 15 are disposed, see figure 1) being radially inwardly bounded by the rotor laminated core (reference numeral 3) and radially outwardly bounded by a V-shaped rotor laminated core (reference numeral 35, see figure 1).
For claim 16, the magnets of Engelhardt can be considered the same size (reference numerals 15, 25, see figure 1), i.e. each of the two magnets arranged in the V shape and the surface magnet are a same size, but Engelhardt in view of Shi et al. and Cirani et al. however do not specifically disclose each of the two magnets arranged in the V shape and the surface magnet being a same rectangular shape. Shi et al. further disclose the two magnets and the surface magnet being rectangular in form (reference numerals 200a, 200b, see figures 14, 15), and when applied to the surface magnet of Engelhardt this would disclose each of the two magnets arranged in the V shape and the surface magnet being a same rectangular shape. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the surface magnet be rectangular as disclosed by Shi et al. for all of the two magnets and the surface magnet of Engelhardt in view of Shi et al. and Cirani et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the secure rotor magnet assembly of the device.
For claim 17, Engelhardt discloses a V-shaped rotor laminated core (reference numeral 35, figure 1) arranged between the two magnets arranged in the V shape (i.e. magnets 15, figure 1) and the surface magnet (reference numeral 25, figure 1), wherein the V-shaped rotor laminated core comprises two arms (i.e. arms at a radially outer portion of V-shaped rotor laminated core 35 contacting drum 4, figure 1) being bounded by the drum (reference numeral 4, see figure 1), but Engelhardt in view of Shi et al. and Cirani et al. however do not specifically disclose the two arms extending radially beyond the surface magnet. Having two arms extending radially beyond the surface magnet is a known skill as Cirani et al. disclose arms (i.e. inner rotor segment 44x having arms extending radially outward, see figure 11, also see annotated figure of Cirani et al. below) extending radially beyond a surface magnet (i.e. radially outer magnet 50, 52, see figure 11, also see annotated figure of Cirani et al. below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the arms extending radially beyond the surface magnet as disclosed by Cirani et al. for the V-shaped rotor laminated core of Engelhardt in view of Shi et al. and Cirani et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the secure rotor magnet assembly of the device.
For claim 18, Engelhardt discloses the V-shaped rotor laminated core (reference numeral 35, figure 1) comprising an enclave (space 36, see figure 1) that receives the surface magnet (reference numeral 25) between the two arms (see figure 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: While the prior art discloses some of the claimed invention as explained above in the present action, the prior art of record do not sufficiently disclose the combination of features including the additional rotor laminated core being combined with a star-shaped rotor laminated core and a V-shaped rotor laminated core, wherein a V-shaped receiving space for the two magnets arranged in the V shape is formed between the star-shaped rotor laminated core and the V-shaped rotor laminated core, wherein the V-shaped receiving space opens radially outward and is only bounded by the drum, wherein the V-shaped receiving space comprises, radially inwardly, a shape of a rectangle arranged parallel to a rectangle in which the surface magnet is received, wherein the rectangle in which the surface magnet is received is part of a radially outwardly V-shaped receiving space, wherein the radially outwardly V-shaped receiving space opens radially outwardly and is only bounded by the drum, and wherein each of the two magnets arranged in the V shape protrude a radially inward end into the radially inward shape of the rectangle arranged parallel to the rectangle in which the surface magnet is received as recited in claim 19.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/18/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's assertion that the prior art references of Shi et al. and Cirani et al. do not support the cited motivation of “facilitating the secure rotor magnet assembly of the device”, even though the references of Shi et al. and Cirani et al. do not explicitly cite the motivation of securing the magnets in the rotor, it still would have been apparent to a person of ordinary skill that such components of the rotor laminated core 44 of Cirani et al. on the outer surface of the magnet 50, 52 in figure 11 of Cirani et al. would have the function of securing the magnet in addition to the retainer elements 192, 194 locking the magnets in the rotor from the illustration in figure 11, and also the disclosure of Cirani et al. does not suggest that the segment 44 would not have the ability to secure the magnet in the rotor shown in figure 11. In response to Shi et al. not suggesting that these advantages are related to the rectangular cross-section of the magnet, a person of ordinary skill would have been able to apply the rectangular cross-section as taught by Shi et al. to the invention of Engelhardt since both Engelhardt and Shi et al. are in the technological field of embedded magnets comprised of a V-shaped configuration with a surface magnet in the rotor, and the rectangular cross-section taught by Shi et al. would still achieve the function of a magnetic pole for the invention of Engelhardt.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX W MOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834