DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
Claims 1-6 are currently pending. Claims 1 has been amended and claim 7 has been cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 03/10/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura et al. (JP2007238419A).
Regarding claim 1, Miura discloses a quartz glass made of silica (0003) comprising a plurality of micropores (0016, Fig 1 and 2). The pores including non-communication and communication pores (Fig. 1 and 2).
Miura does not expressly teach an average pore size, obtained by mercury intrusion porosimetry, of 10 to 150 µm.
Miura discloses the same raw materials (silicon tetrachloride) and method of manufacturing of the body including flame hydrolysis (0008), deposition on a target (0008), growth by VAD method (0008), heat treatment and sintering in an inert environment with e.g., with Ar gas (0009 and 0011-0012). Thus an overlapping range of pore size would be expected.
Once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the examiner presents evidence or reasoning tending to show inherency, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference. "[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433-34 (CCPA 1977)), see MPEP 2112. Applicant has not clearly shown an unobvious difference between the instant invention and the prior art’s product.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Miura does not expressly teach a gas permeability or specific surface area of the silica glass. As discussed above, however, Miura, teaches the same raw materials and method manufacturing of the body (0008-0009 and 0011-0012), these properties would be expected from the prior art silica porous body (MPEP 2112).
Regarding claim 4, Miura discloses a bulk density of 1.3 x 103 kg/m3 or less (0007) (1.3 g/cm3 or less), overlapping the claimed bulk density of 0.3 to 2 g/cm3.
Regarding claim 5, Miura teaches a content of metal impurities including Na, Li, K, alkaline earth metals, and transition metals are each 50 ppb or less (0.05 ppm or less; 0012), overlapping the claimed 0.5 ppm by mass or less.
Regarding the overlapping ranges discussed in claims 1, 4, and 5, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90, In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, and In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 6, Miura does not expressly teach the silica glass porous body being a shower plate. However, Miura teaches a silica glass body having a plurality of pores as claimed. As best understood from applicant’s specification, the structure imparted by the recitation of a “shower plate” is having pores, thus the body of Miura is capable of being used as a shower plate as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments filed 03/10/2026 have been entered. Accordingly, the claim objections and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant argues Miura does not teach subjecting the silica to a high pressure treatment and thus the pores size range would not be expected from the product of Miura.
Applicants specification teaches that the “high-pressure treatment” is a pressure of preferably 0.01 MPa to 200 MPa. Atmospheric pressure is 0.1 MPa. While Miura does not expressly disclose a pressure Miura does not teach sintering under a vacuum and thus it is presumed atmospheric pressure is used, and thus the silica is subjected to the same “high-pressure treatment” as argued by applicant.
Applicant argues that Miura states that the micropores and continuous open micropores and thus does not teach non-communication pores and communication pores.
It is clear from the images of Miura both communication pores and non-communication pores are present. Furthermore it is maintained that Miura disclose the same materials and processing.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALICIA J WEYDEMEYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781