Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EUROPEAN PATENT OFFICE (EPO) 22200091.1, filed on October 6, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 3, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 10, 11, 16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZIVKOVIC (US 2017/0248692 A1) (herein after Zivkovic) in view of Rao et al (US 2015/0185316 A1) (herein after Rao), and further in view of Struckman et al (US 2007/0273576 A1) (herein after Struckman).
Regarding Claim 1, Zivkovic discloses, 1. (Original) An apparatus comprising a processor (Fig. 1, a radar system 100, re-constructor 116) configured to: receive an input dataset, x (Fig. 1, ¶ 32 reflected signal), indicative of radar signals received at a plurality of antenna elements (Fig. 1, antenna 106) that are arranged in a first plane in a two-dimensional array (Fig. 1, ¶ 32 dimensional matrix 180), wherein the radar signals have reflected from a plurality of targets (Fig. 3, ¶ 48 objects with respect to the radar system 200; ”FIG. 3 shows an example of a radar system 200 similar to Fig. 1 a radar system 100, see ¶ 48”); define a matrix, A (Fig. 1, ¶ 32 dimensional matrix 180), formed of beamsteering vectors, a, comprising one for each one of the plurality of targets (Fig. 1, ¶ 31 elements of matrix 180 may have elements corresponding to the different possible values of angle of arrival), each beamsteering vector representing an expected response (Fig. 1, ¶ 32 incoming samples with a model of the expected response) at the plurality of antenna elements of the radar signals from the respective target with a predetermined amplitude (Fig. 8, ¶ 70 amplitude of the reflected signal; ”Fig 8 is a method of performing the embodiments of Fig 1, and Fig 3, see ¶ 68 FIG. 8 shows a method of determining the location of an object 500 in a radar system”) —.
Zivkovic fails to disclose, — and comprising a function of a first direction of arrival, DoA, angle Θ, relative to the plurality of antenna elements, and a second direction of arrival, DoA, angle Φ, relative to the plurality of antenna elements, wherein the first DoA angle comprises a function of an elevation angle to the respective target and the second DoA angle comprises an azimuth angle to the respective target, wherein the azimuth angle lies in a second plane that is arranged perpendicular to the first plane; define a signal amplitude vector, s, to represent expected complex amplitudes of each of the plurality of targets as received in the radar signals; define an objective function based on x, A and s; search for a set of the first and second DoA angles for each of the plurality of targets by the repeated evaluation of the objective function over points of a search space, each point corresponding to a different combination of the first DoA angle and the second DoA angle, wherein said set of the first and second DoA angles comprise those that provides one of a maximum and a minimum evaluation of the objective function over the search space.
In analogous art, Rao discloses, — and comprising a function (Fig. 1, ¶ 23 signal 'r') of a first direction of arrival, DoA, angle Θ (Fig. 1, ¶ 23 angle 108), relative to the plurality of antenna elements, and a second direction of arrival, DoA, angle Φ (Fig. 1, ¶ 23 angle 104), relative to the plurality of antenna elements, wherein the first DoA angle comprises a function of an elevation angle (Fig. 1, ¶ 23 elevation angle) to the respective target and the second DoA angle comprises an azimuth angle (Fig. 1, ¶ 23 azimuth angle) to the respective target, wherein the azimuth angle lies in a second plane that is arranged perpendicular (Fig. 1, ¶ 22 a perpendicular distance of the additional antenna bl from the XZ plane) to the first plane; define a signal amplitude vector, s (Fig. 1, ¶ 23 signal received at each antenna), to represent expected complex amplitudes (Fig. 1, ¶ 23 A is the complex amplitude) of each of the plurality of targets as received in the radar signals;—.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zivkovic by combining the radar apparatus disclosed by Zivkovic with a radar apparatus configured to, define a function of a first direction of arrival, DoA, angle Θ, relative to the plurality of antenna elements, and a second direction of arrival, DoA, angle Φ, relative to the plurality of antenna elements, wherein the first DoA angle comprises a function of an elevation angle to the respective target and the second DoA angle comprises an azimuth angle to the respective target, wherein the azimuth angle lies in a second plane that is arranged perpendicular to the first plane; define a signal amplitude vector, s, to represent expected complex amplitudes of each of the plurality of targets as received in the radar signals; disclosed by Rao for the benefit of disclosing an apparatus for determining the direction of arrival angles indicative of radar signals while minimizing the number of antennas and processing requirements while maintaining optimum performance and accuracy. [Rao: ¶ 8: Therefore it is important to minimize the number of antennas and processing requirements of the FMCW radar and at the same time maintaining optimum performance level and accuracy].
Zivkovic in view of Rao fail to disclose, — define an objective function based on x, A and s; search for a set of the first and second DoA angles for each of the plurality of targets by the repeated evaluation of the objective function over points of a search space, each point corresponding to a different combination of the first DoA angle and the second DoA angle, wherein said set of the first and second DoA angles comprise those that provides one of a maximum and a minimum evaluation of the objective function over the search space.
In analogous art, Struckman discloses, — define an objective function based on x, A and s (Fig. 5, ¶ 66 |R(α,β)|2, 1 - |R(α,β)|2); search for a set of the first and second DoA angles (Fig. 5, ¶ 97 search steps, α and β; ”α = elevation angle, β = azimuth angle”) for each of the plurality of targets by the repeated evaluation of the objective function over points of a search space (Fig. 5, ¶ 97 conjugate gradient search routine progresses over several hundred search steps), each point corresponding to a different combination of the first DoA angle and the second DoA angle (Fig. 5, ¶ 92 α and β values from the previous conjugate gradient search are used as the starting point for the conjugate gradient search on the new set of updated data), wherein said set of the first and second DoA angles comprise those that provides one of a maximum and a minimum evaluation of the objective function over the search space (Fig. 5, ¶ 66 search for the maximum of |R(α,β)|2, searching for the minimum of 1 - |R(α,β)|2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zivkovic in view of Rao by combining the radar apparatus disclosed by Zivkovic in view of Rao with a radar apparatus configured to, define an objective function based on x, A and s; search for a set of the first and second DoA angles for each of the plurality of targets by the repeated evaluation of the objective function over points of a search space, each point corresponding to a different combination of the first DoA angle and the second DoA angle, wherein said set of the first and second DoA angles comprise those that provides one of a maximum and a minimum evaluation of the objective function over the search space; disclosed by Struckman for the benefit of disclosing an apparatus for determining the direction of arrival angles indicative of radar signals with improved direction finding (DF) that can compensate for multi-path effects and provide for accurate azimuth and elevation measurements [Struckman: ¶ 14 improved DF system that can compensate for multi-path effects by rejecting the multi-path signals and provide for accurate azimuth and elevation measurements].
Regarding Claim 6, Zivkovic in view of Rao in view of Struckman disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Zivkovic further discloses, 6. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of targets comprises two targets (Fig. 2, ¶ 48 one or more peak values indicating the location of respective objects).
Regarding Claim 10, Zivkovic in view of Rao in view of Struckman disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Zivkovic further discloses, 10. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus comprises a frequency-modulated-continuous-wave, FMCW, radar system (Fig. 1, ¶ 29 radar system such as a FMCW radar,).
Regarding Claim 11, Zivkovic discloses,11. (Original) A method for determining the directions of arrival angles (Fig. 8, ¶ 68 FIG. 8 shows a method of determining the location of an object 500 in a radar system) for each of a plurality of targets (Fig. 3, ¶ 48 objects with respect to the radar system 200; ”FIG. 3 shows an example of a radar system 200 similar to Fig. 1 a radar system 100, see ¶ 48”), the method comprising: receiving an input dataset, x (Fig. 1, ¶ 32 reflected signal), indicative of radar signals received at a plurality of antenna elements (Fig. 1, antenna 106) that are arranged in a first plane in a two-dimensional array (Fig. 1, ¶ 32 dimensional matrix 180), wherein the radar signals have reflected from a plurality of targets (Fig. 3, ¶ 48 objects with respect to the radar system 200; ”FIG. 3 shows an example of a radar system 200 similar to Fig. 1 a radar system 100, see ¶ 48”); defining a matrix, A (Fig. 1, ¶ 32 dimensional matrix 180), formed of beamsteering vectors, a, comprising one for each one of the plurality of targets (Fig. 1, ¶ 31 elements of matrix 180 may have elements corresponding to the different possible values of angle of arrival), each beamsteering vector representing an expected response Fig. 1, ¶ 32 incoming samples with a model of the expected response) at the plurality of antenna elements of the radar signals from the respective target with a predetermined amplitude (Fig. 8, ¶ 70 amplitude of the reflected signal; ”Fig 8 is a method of performing the embodiments of Fig 1, and Fig 3, see ¶ 68 FIG. 8 shows a method of determining the location of an object 500 in a radar system”) —
Zivkovic fails to disclose, — and comprising a function of a first direction of arrival, DoA, angle Θ, relative to the plurality of antenna elements, and a second direction of arrival, DoA, angle Φ, relative to the plurality of antenna elements, wherein the first DoA angle comprises a function of an elevation angle to the respective target and the second DoA angle comprises an azimuth angle to the respective target, wherein the azimuth angle lies in a second plane that is arranged perpendicular to the first plane; defining a signal amplitude vector, s, to represent expected complex amplitudes of each of the plurality of targets as received in the radar signals; defining an objective function based on x, A and s; searching for a set of the first and second DoA angles for each of the plurality of targets by the repeated evaluation of the objective function over points of a search space, each point corresponding to a different combination of the first DoA angle and the second DoA angle, wherein said set of the first and second DoA angles comprise those that provides one of a maximum and a minimum evaluation of the objective function over the search space.
In analogous art, Rao discloses, — and comprising a function (Fig. 1, ¶ 23 signal 'r') of a first direction of arrival, DoA, angle Θ (Fig. 1, ¶ 23 angle 108), relative to the plurality of antenna elements, and a second direction of arrival, DoA, angle Φ (Fig. 1, ¶ 23 angle 104), relative to the plurality of antenna elements, wherein the first DoA angle comprises a function of an elevation angle (Fig. 1, ¶ 23 elevation angle) to the respective target and the second DoA angle comprises an azimuth angle (Fig. 1, ¶ 23 azimuth angle) to the respective target, wherein the azimuth angle lies in a second plane that is arranged perpendicular (Fig. 1, ¶ 22 a perpendicular distance of the additional antenna bl from the XZ plane) to the first plane; defining a signal amplitude vector, s (Fig. 1, ¶ 23 signal received at each antenna), to represent expected complex amplitudes (Fig. 1, ¶ 23 A is the complex amplitude) of each of the plurality of targets as received in the radar signals; —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zivkovic by combining the method performed by the radar apparatus disclosed by Zivkovic with a method performed by a radar apparatus comprising: a function of a first direction of arrival, DoA, angle Θ, relative to the plurality of antenna elements, and a second direction of arrival, DoA, angle Φ, relative to the plurality of antenna elements, wherein the first DoA angle comprises a function of an elevation angle to the respective target and the second DoA angle comprises an azimuth angle to the respective target, wherein the azimuth angle lies in a second plane that is arranged perpendicular to the first plane; defining a signal amplitude vector, s, to represent expected complex amplitudes of each of the plurality of targets as received in the radar signals; disclosed by Rao for the benefit of disclosing an apparatus for determining the direction of arrival angles indicative of radar signals while minimizing the number of antennas and processing requirements while maintaining optimum performance and accuracy. [Rao: ¶ 8: Therefore it is important to minimize the number of antennas and processing requirements of the FMCW radar and at the same time maintaining optimum performance level and accuracy].
Zivkovic in view of Rao fail to disclose, — defining an objective function based on x, A and s; searching for a set of the first and second DoA angles for each of the plurality of targets by the repeated evaluation of the objective function over points of a search space, each point corresponding to a different combination of the first DoA angle and the second DoA angle, wherein said set of the first and second DoA angles comprise those that provides one of a maximum and a minimum evaluation of the objective function over the search space.
In analogous art, Struckman discloses, — defining an objective function based on x, A and s (Fig. 5, ¶ 66 |R(α,β)|2, 1 - |R(α,β)|2); searching for a set of the first and second DoA angles (Fig. 5, ¶ 97 search steps, α and β; ”α = elevation angle, β = azimuth angle”) for each of the plurality of targets by the repeated evaluation of the objective function over points of a search space (Fig. 5, ¶ 97 conjugate gradient search routine progresses over several hundred search steps), each point corresponding to a different combination of the first DoA angle and the second DoA angle (Fig. 5, ¶ 92 α and β values from the previous conjugate gradient search are used as the starting point for the conjugate gradient search on the new set of updated data), wherein said set of the first and second DoA angles comprise those that provides one of a maximum and a minimum evaluation of the objective function over the search space (Fig. 5, ¶ 66 search for the maximum of |R(α,β)|2, searching for the minimum of 1 - |R(α,β)|2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zivkovic in view of Rao by combining the method performed by the radar apparatus disclosed by Zivkovic in view of Rao with a method performed by a radar apparatus comprising: defining an objective function based on x, A and s; searching for a set of the first and second DoA angles for each of the plurality of targets by the repeated evaluation of the objective function over points of a search space, each point corresponding to a different combination of the first DoA angle and the second DoA angle, wherein said set of the first and second DoA angles comprise those that provides one of a maximum and a minimum evaluation of the objective function over the search space; disclosed by Struckman for the benefit of disclosing an apparatus for determining the direction of arrival angles indicative of radar signals with improved direction finding (DF) that can compensate for multi-path effects and provide for accurate azimuth and elevation measurements [Struckman: ¶ 14 improved DF system that can compensate for multi-path effects by rejecting the multi-path signals and provide for accurate azimuth and elevation measurements].
Regarding Claim 16, Zivkovic in view of Rao in view of Struckman disclose the limitations of claim 11, which this claim depends on.
Zivkovic further discloses, 16. (New) The method of claim 11, wherein the plurality of targets comprises two targets (Fig. 2, ¶ 48 one or more peak values indicating the location of respective objects).
Regarding Claim 20, Zivkovic in view of Rao in view of Struckman disclose the limitations of claim 11, which this claim depends on.
Zivkovic further discloses, 20. (New) A non-transitory computer program product comprising computer program code which, when executed by a processor (Fig. 1, a radar system 100, re-constructor 116) of an apparatus provides the method of claim 11 (Fig. 2, ¶ 45 signal re-constructor 116 may be implemented for example by software).
Claim(s) 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZIVKOVIC (US 2017/0248692 A1) (herein after Zivkovic) in view of Rao et al (US 2015/0185316 A1) (herein after Rao), in view of Struckman et al (US 2007/0273576 A1) (herein after Struckman), and further in view of Frush (5,469,169) (herein after Frush).
Regarding Claim 9, Zivkovic in view of Rao in view of Struckman disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Zivkovic, Rao, and Struckman fail to disclose, 9. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 1,wherein the input dataset is Range-Doppler processed such that it is one or both of representative of one or more targets located at a predetermined range of distances from the antenna elements; and one or more targets having a predetermined range of radial velocities relative to the antenna elements.
In analogous art, Frush discloses, 9. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 1,wherein the input dataset is Range-Doppler processed (Fig. 1. Col. 4. Ln. 42 – 43 multiple-Doppler radar network is illustrated in block diagram form in FIG. 1) such that it is one or both of representative of one or more targets (Fig. 1. Col. 5. Ln. 7 – 8 various targets ST in the volume V) located at a predetermined range of distances (Fig. 1. Col. 8. Ln. 47 high gain in a predetermined direction) from the antenna elements; and one or more targets having a predetermined range of radial velocities (Fig. 1. Col. 6. Ln. 25 – 26 VR, is the radial velocity) relative to the antenna elements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zivkovic in view of Rao in view of Struckman by combining the radar apparatus disclosed by Zivkovic in view of Rao in view of Struckman with a radar apparatus, wherein the input dataset is Range-Doppler processed such that it is one or both of representative of one or more targets located at a predetermined range of distances from the antenna elements; and one or more targets having a predetermined range of radial velocities relative to the antenna elements; disclosed by Frush for the benefit of disclosing an apparatus for determining the direction of arrival angles indicative of radar signals with low cost and high accuracy [Frush: Col. 3, Ln. 10 – 12: and the accuracy of the resultant data makes bistatic networks very attractive].
Regarding Claim 19, Zivkovic in view of Rao in view of Struckman disclose the limitations of claim 11, which this claim depends on.
Zivkovic, Rao, and Struckman fail to disclose, 19. (New) The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the input dataset is Range- Doppler processed such that it is one or both of representative of one or more targets located at a predetermined range of distances from the antenna elements; and one or more targets having a predetermined range of radial velocities relative to the antenna elements.
In analogous art, Frush discloses, 19. (New) The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the input dataset is Range- Doppler processed (Fig. 1. Col. 4. Ln. 42 – 43 multiple-Doppler radar network is illustrated in block diagram form in FIG. 1) such that it is one or both of representative of one or more targets (Fig. 1. Col. 5. Ln. 7 – 8 various targets ST in the volume V) located at a predetermined range of distances (Fig. 1. Col. 8. Ln. 47 high gain in a predetermined direction) from the antenna elements; and one or more targets having a predetermined range of radial velocities (Fig. 1. Col. 6. Ln. 25 – 26 VR, is the radial velocity) relative to the antenna elements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zivkovic in view of Rao in view of Struckman by combining the method performed by the radar apparatus disclosed by Zivkovic in view of Rao in view of Struckman with a method performed by a radar apparatus, wherein the input dataset is Range- Doppler processed such that it is one or both of representative of one or more targets located at a predetermined range of distances from the antenna elements; and one or more targets having a predetermined range of radial velocities relative to the antenna elements; disclosed by Frush for the benefit of disclosing an apparatus for determining the direction of arrival angles indicative of radar signals with low cost and high accuracy [Frush: Col. 3, Ln. 10 – 12: and the accuracy of the resultant data makes bistatic networks very attractive].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 – 5, 7, 8, 12 – 15, 17, 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art fails to teach in combination with the rest of the limitations in the claim: “2. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the beamsteering vectors are defined as:
wherein k and l are indices for stepping through the points in the search space that correspond to candidate first and second DoA angles respectively, d1 to dN represent the spacing of respective ones of the plurality of antenna elements from a first reference antenna element of the plurality of antenna elements in a first direction, L1 to LN represent the spacing of respective ones of the plurality of antenna elements from a second reference antenna element of the plurality of antenna elements in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, λ represents the wavelength of the radar signals, Θl, comprises the first DoA angle at index l for a target of the plurality of targets, and Φk comprises the second DoA angle at index k for the target of the plurality of targets.”
Regarding claim 3, the prior art fails to teach in combination with the rest of the limitations in the claim: “3. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the elevation angle to said target of the plurality of targets is measured from the second plane and wherein said function of the elevation angle comprises: the first DoA angle Θl = 90º - elevation angle.”
Regarding claim 4, the prior art fails to teach in combination with the rest of the limitations in the claim: “4. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of any preceding claim claim 1,wherein the points in the search space are arranged such that:
cos Θl+1 - cos Θl = Δ, wherein Θl and Θl+1 are first DoA angles corresponding to all directly adjacent points in the search space and Δ comprises a first predetermined constant; and
sin Φk+1 sin Θl - sin Φk sin Θl = δ,
wherein Φk and Φk+1 are second DoA angles corresponding to all directly adjacent points in the search space and δ comprises a second predetermined constant.”
Regarding claim 8, the prior art fails to teach in combination with the rest of the limitations in the claim: “8. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of any preceding claim claim 1,wherein the objective function is based on Q, wherein Q = |x - As|2.”
Claims 5 and 7 are objected to due to their dependency on claim 4.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art fails to teach in combination with the rest of the limitations in the claim: “12. (Original) The method of claim 11, wherein each of the beamsteering vectors are defined as:
wherein k and l are indices for stepping through the points in the search space that correspond to candidate first and second DoA angles respectively, d1 to dN represent the spacing of respective ones of the plurality of antenna elements from a first reference antenna element of the plurality of antenna elements in a first direction, L1 to LN represent the spacing of respective ones of the plurality of antenna elements from a second reference antenna element of the plurality of antenna elements in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, λ represents the wavelength of the radar signals, Θl, comprises the first DoA angle at index l for a target of the plurality of targets, and Φk comprises the second DoA angle at index k for the target of the plurality of targets.”
Regarding claim 13, the prior art fails to teach in combination with the rest of the limitations in the claim: “13. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 11, wherein the elevation angle to said target of the plurality of targets is measured from the second plane and wherein said function of the elevation angle comprises:the first DoA angle Θl = 90º - elevation angle.”
Regarding claim 14, the prior art fails to teach in combination with the rest of the limitations in the claim: “14. (Currently Amended) The method of any of claim 11, wherein the points in the search space are arranged such that:
cos Θl+1 - cos Θl = Δ, wherein Θl and Θl+1 are first DoA angles corresponding to all directly adjacent points in the search space and A comprises a first predetermined constant; and
sin Φk+1 sin Θl - sin Φk sin Θl = δ,
wherein Φk and Φk+1 are second DoA angles corresponding to all directly adjacent points in the search space and 8 comprises a second predetermined constant.”
Regarding claim 18, the prior art fails to teach in combination with the rest of the limitations in the claim: “18. (New) The method of claim 11, wherein the objective function is based on Q, wherein Q = |x - As|2.”
Claims 15 and 17 are objected to due to their dependency on claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee et al (US 2010/0066592 A1) discloses, an apparatus comprising a processor configured to: receive an input dataset, x, indicative of radar signals (Fig. 1, 2, ¶ 21 FIGS. 1 and 2, an example of the radar signature generation system is a radar signature generation system 10).
/JOSEPH O. NYAMOGO/
Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/FARHANA A HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858