DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vein (US 2005/00190965) in view of Lelkes (US 2012/0058090).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Vein discloses a non-human tissue engineered meat product and a method for producing such meat product. Vein teaches that the meat product comprises muscle cells and is used for food consumption. (Abstract)
Vein discloses that a population of muscle cells are grown in culture into muscle tissues that are attached to a support structure such as two or three-dimensional scaffold or support structure. [0012]
Vein discloses the use of two- or three-dimensional scaffolds (supports) for growing animal cells into muscle tissue as described above, and further teaches using electric or oscillating current to increase similarity in texture between the cultured meat and meat derived from whole animals, but fails to specifically teach that the scaffold comprises electrospun polymer fibers.
Lelkes discloses alimentary protein-based scaffolds. The scaffolds are produced from plant products. The engineered biomaterials are able to support the growth of animal cells. (Abstract) Lelkes further discloses that plant material is electrospun to produce electrospun fibers. [0013-0014] Lelkes teaches of using various natural and/or synthetic polymers for producing the scaffolds. [001-0012, 0018-0019]
As Lelkes teaches that it is well known in the art to grown muscle cells on a scaffold comprising electrospun polymer fibers, it would have been obvious to have the scaffold of Vein comprise electrospun polymer fibers. Lelkes teaches that this type of scaffold has the advantage of providing a unique mix of mechanical and physical properties that facilitate cell penetration and proliferation within the scaffolds ([0034]-[0035]) and therefore would expectedly provide the same advantages to the scaffold of Vein.
With respect to the cultered meat product having a thickness as claimed, Vein teaches that the scaffold may be sculpted into different sizes, shapes, and forms, as desired to provide the shape of form to resemble the meat product being made ([0013]). It is well known in the art that meat products vary in size and thickness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the size and shape of the scaffold of Vein to result in a cultured meat product having a desired thickness. The prior art clearly teaches that the scaffold size/length can vary depending on the desired meat product being mimicked and therefore it is well within the ordinary skill to vary the thickness.
Further, as stated in MPEP 2144.04, a change in size is merely an obvious variant over the prior art.
With respect to the scaffold comprising a plurality of electrospun fiber fragments dispersed throughout, the fragments having a maximum length of about 10 mm, Lelkes further teaches that the scaffold comprises multiple electrospun polymer fibers aligned in a desired direction ([0148]). Lelkes teaches that the alignment is dependent on the desired application and can be vary between a single direction, criss-cross alignment in orthogonal directions, or more complicated fiber architecture in order to more closely match the product/application it is being used for. Therefore, as Lelkes teaches multiple fibers, Lelkes is considered to render obvious a scaffold comprising a plurality of electrospun fiber fragments dispersed throughout the scaffold. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a plurality of fiber fragments dispersed throughout the scaffold depending on the product/application it is being used for.
As Vein teaches that the scaffold may be sculpted into different sizes, shapes, and forms, as desired to provide the shape of form to resemble the meat product being made ([0013]), and Lelkes further teaches that the scaffold comprises multiple electrospun polymer fibers aligned in a desired direction ([0148]), wherein the alignment is dependent on the desired application and can be vary between a single direction, criss-cross alignment in orthogonal directions, or more complicated fiber architecture in order to more closely match the product/application it is being used for, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, based upon the teachings of both Vein and Lelkes, to have the scaffold comprise a plurality of fiber fragments in order to effectively resemble the product it is being used for.
It further would have been obvious for the fragments to have a maximum length of about 10 mm for the same reasons as stated above, in order to provide desired structure and shape to closely mimic the meat product being made. This is merely routine experimentation that is well within the ordinary skill in the art absent a showing that the length produces new or unexpected results.
Regarding claim 2, Vein teaches that the support structure, or scaffold, can be made from natural or synthetic biomaterials, including collagen, alginate and copolymers thereof ([0015]).
Lelkes teaches that the electrospun polymer fibers can also be made from collagen and alginate, and further fibrin, fibronectin, a plant protein, along with a variety of synthetic materials ([0110]-[0115]).
Regarding claims 3-5, as stated above, Vein in view of Lelkes teaches the use of electrospun polymer fibers for the scaffold, and both references further teach the use of the same materials for the scaffold as claimed.
Vein teaches that the support structure, or scaffold, can be made from natural or synthetic biomaterials, including collagen, alginate and copolymers thereof ([0015]).
Lelkes teaches that the electrospun polymer fibers can also be made from collagen and alginate, and further fibrin, fibronectin, a plant protein, along with a variety of synthetic materials ([0110]-[0115]).
Therefore, the polymers taught by the prior are would be “configured” to degrade to produce a byproduct as claimed or degrade upon exposure to saliva as claimed as the polymer of the prior art and that of the instant invention are the exact same.
As stated in In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977): Where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on "inherency" under 35 U.S.C. § 102, on “prima facie obviousness” under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products.
Regarding claim 6, Lelkes further teaches that the scaffold comprises multiple electrospun polymer fibers aligned in a desired direction ([0148]). Lelkes teaches that the alignment is dependent on the desired application and can be vary between a single direction, criss-cross alignment in orthogonal directions, or more complicated fiber architecture in order to more closely match the product/application it is being used for.
As Vein teaches that the scaffold may be sculpted into different sizes, shapes, and forms, as desired to provide the shape of form to resemble the meat product being made ([0013]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, based upon the teachings of both Vein and Lelkes, to align the electrospun polymer fibers substantially parallel to one another is desired.
Regarding claims 8-9, Vein teaches that the cultured meat product is configured to mimic a property of a traditional slaughtered meat, such as shape, size, and texture ([0013], [0019]).
Regarding claim 10, Vein teaches that the muscle cells are derived from embryonic mesenchymal stem cells that give rise to muscle cells. The muscle cells may also be derived from other tissues. [0011]
Regarding claim 11, as stated above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a plurality of fiber fragments dispersed throughout the scaffold depending on the product/application it is being used for.
As Vein teaches that the scaffold may be sculpted into different sizes, shapes, and forms, as desired to provide the shape of form to resemble the meat product being made ([0013]), and Lelkes further teaches that the scaffold comprises multiple electrospun polymer fibers aligned in a desired direction ([0148]), wherein the alignment is dependent on the desired application and can be vary between a single direction, criss-cross alignment in orthogonal directions, or more complicated fiber architecture in order to more closely match the product/application it is being used for, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, based upon the teachings of both Vein and Lelkes, to have the scaffold comprise a plurality of fiber fragments in order to effectively resemble the product it is being used for.
It further would have been obvious for the fragments to have a maximum length of about 1 mm for the same reasons as stated above, in order to provide desired structure and shape to closely mimic the meat product being made. This is merely routine experimentation that is well within the ordinary skill in the art absent a showing that the length produces new or unexpected results.
Regarding claims 12 and 20, Vein discloses a method of producing a cultured meat product comprising preparing a scaffold comprising polymer fibers, placing the scaffold into a bioreactor, adding a population of cells to the bioreactor, culturing the populating of cells in the bioreactor for a period of time to form a cultured meat product, and removing the cultured meat product from the bioreactor ([0013]-[0019], See Examples).
Vein discloses the use of two- or three-dimensional scaffolds (supports) for growing animal cells into muscle tissue as described above, and further teaches using electric or oscillating current to increase similarity in texture between the cultered meat and meat derived from whole animals, but fails to specifically teach that the scaffold comprises electrospun polymer fibers.
Lelkes discloses alimentary protein-based scaffolds. The scaffolds are produced from plant products. The engineered biomaterials are able to support the growth of animal cells. (Abstract) Lelkes further discloses that plant material is electrospun to produce electrospun fibers. [0013-0014] Lelkes teaches of using various natural and/or synthetic polymers for producing the scaffolds. [001-0012, 0018-0019]
As Lelkes teaches that it is well known in the art to grown muscle cells on a scaffold comprising electrospun polymer fibers, it would have been obvious to have the scaffold of Vein comprise electrospun polymer fibers. Lelkes teaches that this type of scaffold has the advantage of providing a unique mix of mechanical and physical properties that facilitate cell penetration and proliferation within the scaffolds ([0034]-[0035]) and therefore would expectedly provide the same advantages to the scaffold of Vein.
With respect to the cultured meat product having a thickness as claimed, Vein teaches that the scaffold may be sculpted into different sizes, shapes, and forms, as desired to provide the shape of form to resemble the meat product being made ([0013]). It is well known in the art that meat products vary is size and thickness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the size and shape of the scaffold of Vein to result in a cultured meat product having a desired thickness. The prior art clearly teaches that the scaffold size/length can vary depending on the desired meat product being mimicked and therefore it is well within the ordinary skill to vary the thickness.
Further, as stated in MPEP 2144.04, a change in size is merely an obvious variant over the prior art.
With respect to the scaffold comprising a plurality of electrospun fiber fragments dispersed throughout, the fragments having a maximum length of about 10 mm, Lelkes further teaches that the scaffold comprises multiple electrospun polymer fibers aligned in a desired direction ([0148]). Lelkes teaches that the alignment is dependent on the desired application and can be vary between a single direction, criss-cross alignment in orthogonal directions, or more complicated fiber architecture in order to more closely match the product/application it is being used for. Therefore, as Lelkes teaches multiple fibers, Lelkes is considered to render obvious a scaffold comprising a plurality of electrospun fiber fragments dispersed throughout the scaffold. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a plurality of fiber fragments dispersed throughout the scaffold depending on the product/application it is being used for.
As Vein teaches that the scaffold may be sculpted into different sizes, shapes, and forms, as desired to provide the shape of form to resemble the meat product being made ([0013]), and Lelkes further teaches that the scaffold comprises multiple electrospun polymer fibers aligned in a desired direction ([0148]), wherein the alignment is dependent on the desired application and can be vary between a single direction, criss-cross alignment in orthogonal directions, or more complicated fiber architecture in order to more closely match the product/application it is being used for, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, based upon the teachings of both Vein and Lelkes, to have the scaffold comprise a plurality of fiber fragments in order to effectively resemble the product it is being used for.
It further would have been obvious for the fragments to have a maximum length of about 10 mm for the same reasons as stated above, in order to provide desired structure and shape to closely mimic the meat product being made. This is merely routine experimentation that is well within the ordinary skill in the art absent a showing that the length produces new or unexpected results.
Regarding claims 13-14, Vein discloses the method as described above, wherein the cells are cultured in the bioreactor for a period of time to form the cultured meat product, but fails to specifically disclose the claimed period of time.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimum period of time depending on the type of meat product being meat and the rate of growth on the scaffold. This is merely routine experimentation that is well within the ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 15, Vein teaches that the support structure, or scaffold, can be made from natural or synthetic biomaterials, including collagen, alginate and copolymers thereof ([0015]).
Lelkes teaches that the electrospun polymer fibers can also be made from collagen and alginate, and further fibrin, fibronectin, a plant protein, along with a variety of synthetic materials ([0110]-[0115]).
Regarding claims 16-18, as stated above, Vein in view of Lelkes teaches the use of electrospun polymer fibers for the scaffold, and both references further teach the use of the same materials for the scaffold as claimed.
Vein teaches that the support structure, or scaffold, can be made from natural or synthetic biomaterials, including collagen, alginate and copolymers thereof ([0015]).
Lelkes teaches that the electrospun polymer fibers can also be made from collagen and alginate, and further fibrin, fibronectin, a plant protein, along with a variety of synthetic materials ([0110]-[0115]).
Therefore, the polymers taught by the prior are would be “configured” to degrade to produce a byproduct as claimed or degrade upon exposure to saliva as claimed as the polymer of the prior art and that of the instant invention are the exact same. Further, as Vein teaches that the product is a meat product, which is intended to be eaten, it would have bene obvious for the method to further comprise exposing the fiber to saliva.
As stated in In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977): Where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on "inherency" under 35 U.S.C. § 102, on “prima facie obviousness” under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products.
Regarding claim 19, Lelkes further teaches that the scaffold comprises multiple electrospun polymer fibers aligned in a desired direction ([0148]). Lelkes teaches that the alignment is dependent on the desired application and can be vary between a single direction, criss-cross alignment in orthogonal directions, or more complicated fiber architecture in order to more closely match the product/application it is being used for.
As Vein teaches that the scaffold may be sculpted into different sizes, shapes, and forms, as desired to provide the shape of form to resemble the meat product being made ([0013]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, based upon the teachings of both Vein and Lelkes, to align the electrospun polymer fibers substantially parallel to one another is desired.
Regarding claims 21-22, Vein teaches that the cultured meat product is configured to mimic a property of a traditional slaughtered meat, such as shape, size, and texture ([0013], [0019]).
Regarding claim 23, Vein teaches that the muscle cells are derived from embryonic mesenchymal stem cells that give rise to muscle cells. The muscle cells may also be derived from other tissues. [0011]
Regarding claim 24, as stated above with respect to claim 12, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a plurality of fiber fragments dispersed throughout the scaffold depending on the product/application it is being used for.
As Vein teaches that the scaffold may be sculpted into different sizes, shapes, and forms, as desired to provide the shape of form to resemble the meat product being made ([0013]), and Lelkes further teaches that the scaffold comprises multiple electrospun polymer fibers aligned in a desired direction ([0148]), wherein the alignment is dependent on the desired application and can be vary between a single direction, criss-cross alignment in orthogonal directions, or more complicated fiber architecture in order to more closely match the product/application it is being used for, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, based upon the teachings of both Vein and Lelkes, to have the scaffold comprise a plurality of fiber fragments in order to effectively resemble the product it is being used for.
It further would have been obvious for the fragments to have a maximum length of about 1 mm for the same reasons as stated above, in order to provide desired structure and shape to closely mimic the meat product being made. This is merely routine experimentation that is well within the ordinary skill in the art absent a showing that the length produces new or unexpected results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 103 rejection have been fully considered but were not found persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 5-6 that neither Vein nor Lelkes discloses discrete electrospun fiber fragments with the claimed maximum length of 10 mm and it would not have been obvious to fragment the fibers of Lelkes.
This is not found persuasive as Lelkes teaches that the scaffold comprises multiple electrospun polymer fibers aligned in a desired direction ([0148]). Lelkes teaches that the alignment is dependent on the desired application and can be vary between a single direction, criss-cross alignment in orthogonal directions, or more complicated fiber architecture in order to more closely match the product/application it is being used for. Therefore, as Lelkes teaches multiple different fibers, Lelkes is considered to render obvious a scaffold comprising a plurality of electrospun fiber fragments dispersed throughout the scaffold. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a plurality of fiber fragments dispersed throughout the scaffold depending on the product/application it is being used for.
As Vein teaches that the scaffold may be sculpted into different sizes, shapes, and forms, as desired to provide the shape of form to resemble the meat product being made ([0013]), and Lelkes further teaches that the scaffold comprises multiple electrospun polymer fibers aligned in a desired direction ([0148]), wherein the alignment is dependent on the desired application and can be vary between a single direction, criss-cross alignment in orthogonal directions, or more complicated fiber architecture in order to more closely match the product/application it is being used for, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, based upon the teachings of both Vein and Lelkes, to have the scaffold comprise a plurality of fiber fragments in order to effectively resemble the product it is being used for.
It further would have been obvious for the fragments to have a maximum length of about 10 mm for the same reasons as stated above, in order to provide desired structure and shape to closely mimic the meat product being made. This is merely routine experimentation that is well within the ordinary skill in the art absent a showing that the length produces new or unexpected results.
Further, applicant has not shown criticality for the claimed range. The prior art clearly recognizes that the scaffold can vary in shape and size as Vein teaches that the scaffold may be sculpted into different sizes, shapes, and forms, as desired to provide the shape of form to resemble the meat product being made ([0013]).Lelkes further teaches that the scaffold may be shaped into different sizes depending on the application ([0121]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the length of the fiber fragments depending on the desired shape and size of the scaffold. The prior art clearly teaches that the scaffold size/length can vary depending on the desired use and therefore it is well within the ordinary skill to vary the length of each fragment in order to obtain a scaffold of desired size. Further, as stated in MPEP 2144.04, a change in size is merely an obvious variant over the prior art.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In the instant case, the prior art clearly recognizes fibers varying in size, direction and shape. Therefore, providing small fiber fragments as claimed is merely an obvious variant as it would further aid in resembling the intended product/application.
For the reasons stated above, the 103 rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/STEPHANIE A KOHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791