DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 1/30/2026 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1, 8, and 15 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
The amendment filed 1/30/2025 has cured the 112b rejection of the previous Office Action. Therefore, the 112b rejection has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on Pg 6-7 of Remarks, with respect to claims 1, 3, 7, 8, 10, 14-15 and 18-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7-8, 10, 14-15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2023/0180269 A1), hereinafter “Li”, in view of Zhou et al. (US 2023/0063082 A1), hereinafter “Zhou”.
Re. Claim 1, Li teaches:
A data transmission method, (¶0320 A method, system, computer readable storage medium, or apparatus provides for receiving, by a user equipment (UE), a schedule associated with physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission, wherein the schedule associated with PDSCH transmission is for receiving a PDSCH transmission of multicast service [i.e. data transmission method for multicast service] or broadcast service through dynamic scheduling or semi-persistent scheduling;)
comprising: receiving first multicast data using a multicast based semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) transmission; (¶0320 wherein the schedule associated with PDSCH transmission is for receiving a PDSCH transmission of multicast service or broadcast service through dynamic scheduling or semi-persistent scheduling [i.e. PDSCH transmission of multicast is multicast data] & ¶0135 Once an MBS SPS PDSCH [i.e. a first multicast data transmission] is NACK-ed by the UE 241)
receiving first downlink control information (DCI) scrambled by a configured scheduling radio network temporary identifier (CS-RNTI}; (¶103, 0104 the DCI may be scrambled by the same RNTI, e.g., CS-RNTI, [i.e. DCI used for activating/scheduling scrambled by CS-RNTI] used for unicast SPS; &0135 after a UE 241 sends NACK for an MBS SPS PDSCH transmission, the UE 241 may monitor the PDCCH to detect the DCI scheduling the retransmission [i.e. receiving the first DCI])
Yet, Li does not explicitly teach: receiving first information indicating that a retransmission scheduling manner is unicast based; and receiving retransmitted data of the first multicast data based on the first DCI.
However, in the analogous art, Zhou teaches:
receiving first information indicating that a retransmission scheduling manner is unicast based; (Fig. 30b & ¶0324 The retransmission scheduling type may comprise a unicast retransmission of the MBS TB, wherein a unicast DCI (e.g., with C-RNTI/CS-RNTI/MCS-C-RNTI) via a unicast PDCCH schedules the retransmission in a unicast PDSCH resource, as described above with respect to FIG. 30B. The retransmission scheduling type may comprise either a unicast retransmission of the MBS TB or a multicast retransmission of the MBS TB, wherein the base station may determine (not known to the wireless device before the real transmission) whether the unicast retransmission or the multicast retransmission will be applied for the MBS TB. [i.e. DCI received by UE in Fig. 30b comprises indication for if retransmission will be unicast based])
and receiving retransmitted data of the first multicast data based on the first DCI. (¶0399 the wireless device may monitor PDCCH for a group common DCI scheduling a retransmission of the MBS TB. The wireless device may receive the group common DCI (e.g., 2nd DCI with MBS-RNTI at T1 in FIG. 38) scheduling the retransmission of the MBS TB. The wireless device may receive the retransmission of the MBS TB (e.g., at T2 in FIG. 38).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of a mechanism of scheduling for broadcast and groupcast on new radio uu interface to include Zhou’s teaching of receiving information indicating that a retransmission scheduling manner is unicast based, because it would enable the device to receive unicast retransmission based on a scheduling type indicated via DCI. (see Zhou ¶0324)
Re. Claim 3, Li combined with Zhou teaches claim 1.
Li further teaches:
wherein the method further comprises: receiving third DCI for activating the multicast based SPS transmission, (¶0101 When group based scheduling is used, group-common PDCCH may be used to transmit the activation DCI [i.e. UE receives the transmitted third DCI] & ¶0320 The UE may be activated or deactivated through group common downlink control signaling when there is semi-persistent scheduling. The group common downlink control signaling [i.e. a third DCI] is scrambled by another (e.g., different) group common multiple multicast broadcast service (MBS) radio network temporary identifier (RNTI).)
wherein the third DCI is scrambled by a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI}, (¶0068 a new RNTI, e.g., G-RNTI, may be introduced to scramble the CRC of the group common DCI [i.e. the third DCI scrambled by G-RNTI] for dynamic scheduling & ¶0320 The UE may be activated or deactivated through group common downlink control signaling when there is semi-persistent scheduling. The group common downlink control signaling is scrambled by another (e.g., different) group common multiple multicast broadcast service (MBS) radio network temporary identifier (RNTI). [i.e. third DCI scrambled by a group RNTI (G-RNTI)])
a value of first indication information comprised in the third DCI is a first value or a second value, (¶0136-¶0137 A UE 241 may be configured with dynamic rescheduling scheme is supported for this MBS SPS configuration, or may be configured with semi-persistent rescheduling scheme is supported, or both schemes are supported. [i.e. two schemes to represent] When both schemes are supported, the UE 241 may be dynamically indicated with which scheme to use by the activation DCI, e.g., through 1-bit field Retransmission type field. [i.e. a 1-bit value being a way to use two values (0 and 1) to indicate information, in this scenario two different schemes] To further dynamically update this setting, the disclosed two updating mechanisms may be applied.)
wherein the first value indicates the multicast based SPS transmission, (¶0136-¶0137 A UE 241 may be configured with dynamic rescheduling scheme is supported for this MBS SPS configuration, or may be configured with semi-persistent rescheduling scheme [i.e. SPS transmission scheme] is supported, or both schemes are supported. When both schemes are supported, the UE 241 may be dynamically indicated with which scheme to use by the activation DCI, e.g., through 1-bit field Retransmission type field. [i.e. a 1-bit value is a way to use two values (0 and 1) to indicate which scheme to use, such as in Table 4, one value represents SPS scheduling scheme] To further dynamically update this setting, the disclosed two updating mechanisms may be applied.)
and the second value indicates a multicast based dynamic scheduling transmission. (¶0136-¶0137 A UE 241 may be configured with dynamic rescheduling scheme [i.e. dynamic scheduling transmission scheme] is supported for this MBS SPS configuration, or may be configured with semi-persistent rescheduling scheme is supported, or both schemes are supported. [i.e. two schemes to represent] When both schemes are supported, the UE 241 may be dynamically indicated with which scheme to use by the activation DCI, e.g., through 1-bit field Retransmission type field. [i.e. a 1-bit value is a way to use two values (0 and 1) to indicate which scheme to use, such as in Table 4, one value represents dynamic scheduling scheme] To further dynamically update this setting, the disclosed two updating mechanisms may be applied.)
Re. Claim 7, Li combined with Zhou teaches claim 1.
Li further teaches:
wherein the method further comprises: receiving fourth DCI for deactivating the multicast based SPS transmission, (¶0101 When group based scheduling is used, group-common PDCCH may be used to transmit the activation DCI and the deactivation DCI [i.e. fourth DCI])
wherein the fourth DCI is scrambled by a G-RNTI, or G-CS-RNTI. (¶0068 a new RNTI, e.g., G-RNTI, may be introduced to scramble the CRC of the group common DCI [i.e. the fourth DCI scrambled by G-RNTI] for dynamic scheduling & ¶0101 where the cyclic redundancy check (CRC) of the group common DCI is scrambled by a group RNTI, e.g., G-SPS-RNTI [i.e. fourth DCI scrambled by G-SPS-RNTI (G-CS-RNTI)])
Re. Claim 8, Li teaches:
A data transmission method, (¶0320 A method, system, computer readable storage medium, or apparatus provides for receiving, by a user equipment (UE), a schedule associated with physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission, wherein the schedule associated with PDSCH transmission is for receiving a PDSCH transmission of multicast service [i.e. data transmission method for multicast service] or broadcast service through dynamic scheduling or semi-persistent scheduling;)
comprising: sending first multicast data using a multicast based semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) transmission; (¶0320 wherein the schedule associated with PDSCH transmission is for receiving a PDSCH transmission of multicast service or broadcast service through dynamic scheduling or semi-persistent scheduling [i.e. PDSCH transmission of multicast is multicast data] & ¶0135 Once an MBS SPS PDSCH [i.e. a first multicast data transmission] is NACK-ed by the UE 241)
and sending first downlink control information (DCI) scrambled by a configured scheduling radio network temporary identifier (CS-RNTI} for scheduling retransmitted data of the first multicast data. (¶103, 0104 the DCI may be scrambled by the same RNTI, e.g., CS-RNTI, [i.e. DCI used for activating/scheduling scrambled by CS-RNTI] used for unicast SPS; &0135 after a UE 241 sends NACK for an MBS SPS PDSCH transmission, the UE 241 may monitor the PDCCH to detect the DCI scheduling the retransmission [i.e. sending the first DCI scheduling the first data in order for it to be monitored and detected])
Yet, Li does not explicitly teach: sending first information indicating that a retransmission scheduling manner is unicast based;
However, in the analogous art, Zhou teaches:
sending first information indicating that a retransmission scheduling manner is unicast based; (Fig. 30b & ¶0324 The retransmission scheduling type may comprise a unicast retransmission of the MBS TB, wherein a unicast DCI (e.g., with C-RNTI/CS-RNTI/MCS-C-RNTI) via a unicast PDCCH schedules the retransmission in a unicast PDSCH resource, as described above with respect to FIG. 30B. The retransmission scheduling type may comprise either a unicast retransmission of the MBS TB or a multicast retransmission of the MBS TB, wherein the base station may determine (not known to the wireless device before the real transmission) whether the unicast retransmission or the multicast retransmission will be applied for the MBS TB. [i.e. DCI sent from gNB in Fig. 30b comprises indication for if retransmission will be unicast based])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of a mechanism of scheduling for broadcast and groupcast on new radio uu interface to include Zhou’s teaching of receiving information indicating that a retransmission scheduling manner is unicast based, because it would enable the device to receive unicast retransmission based on a scheduling type indicated via DCI. (see Zhou ¶0324)
Re. Claim 10, Li combined with Zhou teaches claim 8.
Li further teaches:
wherein the method further comprises: sending third DCI for activating the multicast based SPS transmission, (¶0101 When group based scheduling is used, group-common PDCCH may be used to transmit the activation DCI [i.e. transmits (sending) the third DCI] & ¶0320 The UE may be activated or deactivated through group common downlink control signaling when there is semi-persistent scheduling. The group common downlink control signaling [i.e. the third DCI, sent for activation of the scheme for scheduling SPS transmission] is scrambled by another (e.g., different) group common multiple multicast broadcast service (MBS) radio network temporary identifier (RNTI).)
wherein the third DCI is scrambled by a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI}, (¶0068 a new RNTI, e.g., G-RNTI, may be introduced to scramble the CRC of the group common DCI [i.e. the third DCI scrambled by G-RNTI] for dynamic scheduling & ¶0320 The UE may be activated or deactivated through group common downlink control signaling when there is semi-persistent scheduling. The group common downlink control signaling is scrambled by another (e.g., different) group common multiple multicast broadcast service (MBS) radio network temporary identifier (RNTI). [i.e. third DCI scrambled by a group RNTI (G-RNTI)])
a value of first indication information comprised in the third DCI is a first value or a second value, (¶0136-¶0137 A UE 241 may be configured with dynamic rescheduling scheme is supported for this MBS SPS configuration, or may be configured with semi-persistent rescheduling scheme is supported, or both schemes are supported. [i.e. two schemes to represent] When both schemes are supported, the UE 241 may be dynamically indicated with which scheme to use by the activation DCI, e.g., through 1-bit field Retransmission type field. [i.e. a 1-bit value being a way to use two values (0 and 1) to indicate information, in this scenario two different schemes] To further dynamically update this setting, the disclosed two updating mechanisms may be applied.)
wherein the first value indicates the multicast based SPS transmission, (¶0136-¶0137 A UE 241 may be configured with dynamic rescheduling scheme is supported for this MBS SPS configuration, or may be configured with semi-persistent rescheduling scheme [i.e. SPS transmission scheme] is supported, or both schemes are supported. When both schemes are supported, the UE 241 may be dynamically indicated with which scheme to use by the activation DCI, e.g., through 1-bit field Retransmission type field. [i.e. a 1-bit value is a way to use two values (0 and 1) to indicate which scheme to use, such as in Table 4, one value represents SPS scheduling scheme] To further dynamically update this setting, the disclosed two updating mechanisms may be applied.)
and the second value indicates a multicast based dynamic scheduling transmission. (¶0136-¶0137 A UE 241 may be configured with dynamic rescheduling scheme [i.e. dynamic scheduling transmission scheme] is supported for this MBS SPS configuration, or may be configured with semi-persistent rescheduling scheme is supported, or both schemes are supported. [i.e. two schemes to represent] When both schemes are supported, the UE 241 may be dynamically indicated with which scheme to use by the activation DCI, e.g., through 1-bit field Retransmission type field. [i.e. a 1-bit value is a way to use two values (0 and 1) to indicate which scheme to use, such as in Table 4, one value represents dynamic scheduling scheme] To further dynamically update this setting, the disclosed two updating mechanisms may be applied.)
Re. Claim 14, Li combined with Zhou teaches claim 8.
Li further teaches:
wherein the method further comprises: sending fourth DCI for deactivating the multicast based SPS transmission, (¶0101 When group based scheduling is used, group-common PDCCH may be used to transmit the activation DCI and the deactivation DCI [i.e. transmitting (sending) fourth DCI])
wherein the fourth DCI is scrambled by a G-RNTI, or G-CS-RNTI. (¶0068 a new RNTI, e.g., G-RNTI, may be introduced to scramble the CRC of the group common DCI [i.e. the fourth DCI scrambled by G-RNTI] for dynamic scheduling)
Re. Claim 15, Li teaches:
A communication apparatus, (¶0299 Fig. 32F is a block diagram of an example apparatus or device WTRU 102 that may be configured for wireless communications)
comprising: at least one processor, (the example WTRU 102 may include a processor 118)
wherein the processor is coupled to a memory, (Fig. 32F [memories 130 and 132 are coupled to processor 118])
the memory is configured to store instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform operations (¶0304 the processor 118 may access information from, and store data in, any type of suitable memory, such as the non-removable memory 130 or the removable memory 132. [i.e. store and access information (instructions) for operating the apparatus])
comprising: receiving first multicast data using a multicast based semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) transmission; (¶0320 wherein the schedule associated with PDSCH transmission is for receiving a PDSCH transmission of multicast service or broadcast service through dynamic scheduling or semi-persistent scheduling [i.e. PDSCH transmission of multicast is multicast data] & ¶0135 Once an MBS SPS PDSCH [i.e. a first multicast data transmission] is NACK-ed by the UE 241)
receiving first downlink control information (DCI) scrambled by a configured scheduling radio network temporary identifier (CS-RNTI}; (¶103, 0104 the DCI may be scrambled by the same RNTI, e.g., CS-RNTI, [i.e. DCI used for activating/scheduling scrambled by CS-RNTI] used for unicast SPS; &0135 after a UE 241 sends NACK for an MBS SPS PDSCH transmission, the UE 241 may monitor the PDCCH to detect the DCI scheduling the retransmission [i.e. receiving the first DCI])
Yet, Li does not explicitly teach: receiving first information indicating that a retransmission scheduling manner is unicast based; and receiving retransmitted data of the first multicast data based on the first DCI.
However, in the analogous art, Zhou teaches:
receiving first information indicating that a retransmission scheduling manner is unicast based; (Fig. 30b & ¶0324 The retransmission scheduling type may comprise a unicast retransmission of the MBS TB, wherein a unicast DCI (e.g., with C-RNTI/CS-RNTI/MCS-C-RNTI) via a unicast PDCCH schedules the retransmission in a unicast PDSCH resource, as described above with respect to FIG. 30B. The retransmission scheduling type may comprise either a unicast retransmission of the MBS TB or a multicast retransmission of the MBS TB, wherein the base station may determine (not known to the wireless device before the real transmission) whether the unicast retransmission or the multicast retransmission will be applied for the MBS TB. [i.e. DCI received by UE in Fig. 30b comprises indication for if retransmission will be unicast based])
and receiving retransmitted data of the first multicast data based on the first DCI. (¶0399 the wireless device may monitor PDCCH for a group common DCI scheduling a retransmission of the MBS TB. The wireless device may receive the group common DCI (e.g., 2nd DCI with MBS-RNTI at T1 in FIG. 38) scheduling the retransmission of the MBS TB. The wireless device may receive the retransmission of the MBS TB (e.g., at T2 in FIG. 38).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of a mechanism of scheduling for broadcast and groupcast on new radio uu interface to include Zhou’s teaching of receiving information indicating that a retransmission scheduling manner is unicast based, because it would enable the device to receive unicast retransmission based on a scheduling type indicated via DCI. (see Zhou ¶0324)
Claim 18 is directed to an apparatus claim that recites similar limitations to method claim 7. Therefore, the rejection for claim 18 is similar to that put forth for claim 7.
Claim 19 is directed to an apparatus claim that recites similar limitations to method claim 3. Therefore, the rejection for claim 19 is similar to that put forth for claim 3.
Claims 2, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li combined with Zhou, and further in view of Jung et al. (US 2022/0124766 A1), hereinafter “Jung”.
Re. Claim 2, Li combined with Zhou teaches claim 1.
Li further teaches:
wherein the method further comprises: receiving second DCI for activating the multicast based SPS transmission, (¶0105 the UE 241 may monitor the DCI format 1_0, DCI format 1_1, and DCI format 1_2 with CRC scrambled with G-SPS -RNTI to detect the MBS SPS activation DCI [i.e. monitoring and detecting (receiving) the MBS SPS activation DCI (second DCI)] and deactivation DCI.)
Yet, the combined references do not teach: wherein the second DCI is scrambled by a group-configured scheduling-radio network temporary identifier (G-CS-RNTI).
However, in the analogous art, Jung teaches such a limitation:
wherein the second DCI is scrambled by a group-configured scheduling-radio network temporary identifier (G-CS-RNTI). (¶0131 the base station may transmit the DCI by using a group-configured scheduling-RNTI (G-CS-RNTI) to activate periodic DL communication for one or more terminals. When periodic DL communication for one or more terminals is activated, the same downlink data may be transmitted to the one or more terminals. The DC scrambled by the G-CS-RNTI may be common DCI.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Zhou’s invention of a mechanism of scheduling for broadcast and groupcast on new radio uu interface to include Jung’s teaching of a second DCI scrambled by a G-CS-RNTI, because it allows the reception of activation messages to a plurality of terminals, which reduces control signaling overhead. (see Jung ¶0081 & ¶0131)
Re. Claim 9, Li combined with Zhou teaches claim 8.
Li further teaches:
wherein the method further comprises: sending second DCI for activating the multicast based SPS transmission, (¶0105 the UE 241 may monitor the DCI format 1_0, DCI format 1_1, and DCI format 1_2 with CRC scrambled with G-SPS -RNTI to detect the MBS SPS activation DCI [i.e. monitoring and detecting the transmitted MBS SPS activation DCI (second DCI)] and deactivation DCI.)
Yet, the combined references do not teach: wherein the second DCI is scrambled by a group-configured scheduling-radio network temporary identifier (G-CS-RNTI).
However, in the analogous art, Jung teaches such a limitation:
wherein the second DCI is scrambled by a group-configured scheduling-radio network temporary identifier (G-CS-RNTI). (¶0131 the base station may transmit the DCI by using a group-configured scheduling-RNTI (G-CS-RNTI) to activate periodic DL communication for one or more terminals. When periodic DL communication for one or more terminals is activated, the same downlink data may be transmitted to the one or more terminals. The DC scrambled by the G-CS-RNTI may be common DCI.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Zhou’s invention of a mechanism of scheduling for broadcast and groupcast on new radio uu interface to include Jung’s teaching of a second DCI scrambled by a G-CS-RNTI, because it allows the reception of activation messages to a plurality of terminals, which reduces control signaling overhead. (see Jung ¶0081 & ¶0131)
Claim 16 is directed to an apparatus claim that recites similar limitations to method claim 2. Therefore, the rejection for claim 16 is similar to that put forth for claim 2.
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li combined with Zhou, and further in view of Matsumura et al. (US 2024/0057088 A1), hereinafter “Matsumura”.
Re. Claim 4, Li combined with Zhou teaches claim 3.
Yet, the combined references do not teach: wherein the third DCI is absent of information indicating that the third DCI is used to schedule an uplink transmission or a downlink transmission.
However, in the analogous art, Matsumura teaches such a limitation:
wherein the third DCI is absent of information indicating that the third DCI is used to schedule an uplink transmission (¶0091-¶0092 a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) field can be omitted in the DCI [i.e. information indicating the DCI is used to schedule and uplink transmission can be omitted (absent)] for scheduling the multicast PDSCH… the UE selects (determines) one PUCCH resource set (from among a plurality of PUCCH resource sets configured by higher layer signaling),… and selects (determines) one PUCCH resource from the selected PUCCH resource set, based on a PRI field in the DCI for scheduling the multicast PDSCH [i.e. explains that the PRI field is used as information for scheduling uplink resources for a PUCCH]) *Examiner notes that that only one of the limitations has been mapped due to the presence of the word “or”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Zhou’s invention of a mechanism of scheduling for broadcast and groupcast on new radio uu interface to include Matsumura’s teaching of the DCI being absent of information that the DCI is used for scheduling an uplink transmission, because it would reduce the overhead of the DCI. (see Matsumura ¶0091)
Claim 11 is directed to a method claim that recites similar limitations to method claim 4. Therefore, the rejection for claim 11 is similar to the rejection put forth in claim 4.
Claims 5, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li combined with Zhou, Jung, and further in view of Baek et al. (US 2023/0299890 A1), hereinafter “Baek”.
Re. Claim 5, Li combined with Zhou and Jung teach claim 2.
Yet, the combined references do not teach: wherein a new data indicator (NDI) value in the first DCI is 1, and a NDI value in the second DCI is 0.
However, in the analogous art, Baek teaches such limitations:
wherein a new data indicator (NDI) value in the first DCI is 1, (¶0039 the retransmission resource of the MBS SPS resource is received using a PDCCH resource [i.e. a first DCI] allocated with a G-CS-RNTI, and an NDI value included in the retransmission resource of the MBS SPS resource is set to 1.)
and a NDI value in the second DCI is 0. (¶0034 the receiving of the message indicating deactivation of the MBS SPS may include receiving an MBS SPS activation message by using a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) resource allocated with a G-CS-RNTI, and a new data indicator (NDI) value included in the MBS SPS activation message may be set to 0 & ¶0157 The deactivation of the MBS SPS may be indicated using a PDCCH resource with a G-CS-RNTI [i.e. a second DCI], in which case an NDI value may be set to 0)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s, Zhou, and Jung’s invention of a mechanism of scheduling for broadcast and groupcast on new radio uu interface to include Baek’s teaching of a NDI value in the second DCI being 0, because it would enable the DCI to indicate deactivation of the MBS SPS. (see Baek ¶0157)
Claims 12 and 17 are directed to method and apparatus claims that recite similar limitations to method claim 5. Therefore, the rejections for claim 12 and 17 are similar to the rejection put forth for claim 5.
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li combined with Zhou, in view of Baek, and further in view of Jiang (US 2024/0163017 A1), hereinafter “Jiang”.
Re. Claim 6, Li combined with Zhou teaches claim 3.
Yet, the combined references do not teach: wherein a NDI value in the first DCI is 1, and a NDI value in the second DCI is 0.
However, in the analogous art, Baek teaches such a limitation:
wherein a NDI value in the first DCI is 1, (¶0039 the retransmission resource of the MBS SPS resource is received using a PDCCH resource [i.e. a first DCI] allocated with a G-CS-RNTI, and an NDI value included in the retransmission resource of the MBS SPS resource is set to 1.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Zhou’s invention of a mechanism of scheduling for broadcast and groupcast on new radio uu interface to include Baek’s teaching of a NDI value in the second DCI being 1, because it would enable the DCI to indicate activation of the MBS SPS. (see Baek ¶0039)
Yet, the combined references fail to teach: and a NDI value in the third DCI is 0.
However, in the analogous art, Jiang teaches such a limitation:
and a NDI value in the third DCI is 0. (¶0055 if the type of the DCI is that the PDCCH is indicated by the G-RNTI and the value of NDI included in the DCI is 0, then the type of data transmitted in the HARQ process indicated by the DCI is the new transmission data;)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li, Zhou, and Baek’s invention of a mechanism of scheduling for broadcast and groupcast on new radio uu interface to include Jiang’s teaching of a new data indicator value of the third DCI being 0, because it would enable the DCI to indicate whether or not a transmission is an initial or re-transmission. (see Jiang ¶0055)
Claims 13 and 20 are directed to method and apparatus claims that recite similar limitations to method claim 6. Therefore, the rejections for claim 13 and 20 are similar to the rejection put forth for claim 6.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417