CTNF 18/479,921 CTNF 76116 DETAILED ACTION Election/Restrictions 08-25 AIA Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-10 and 15-22) in the reply filed on 4/7/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “Because of the common aspects in the claims of both Group I and Group II, there would not appear to be a serious search burden during the examination if all claims were to remain in the application” (see Remarks p. 8 of 9) . This is not found persuasive because the inventions as claimed may be related products, but the inventions have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants. The inventions are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply: The inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification; the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter; and/or the inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries). Examples demonstrating a serious search and/or examination burden may include: a search for the apparatus (or product) may not need all of the steps of the method; and the search for the method may not need the same search strategies as all of the details of the apparatus (or product) . The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Specification The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the term “are disclosed” is stated in line 2. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b). 06-16 AIA Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details. The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 or 103 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-27-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-10 and 15-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over BRAY ET AL (US 8869579, cited par. numbers in parentheses are from the text copy of the US patent) . With respect to claim 1, BRAY ET AL discloses a fastener for use in an aircraft assembly (Figs. 7-9), the fastener comprising: a fastener exterior surface comprising a fastener exterior surface region; a curable sealant material 30 dose configured to coat at least a portion of fastener exterior surface region, with the curable sealant material dose comprising a first chemical composition; an at least partially-cured protective shell (size coat protective layer/moisture barrier (par.38)), said at least partially-cured protective shell configured to substantially completely encase the curable sealant material dose within the at least partially-cured protective shell; wherein said curable sealant material dose is preserved in an uncured state within the at least partially-cured protective shell; and wherein the curable sealant material dose and the at least partially-cured protective shell comprise at least one of the first chemical composition and a chemically compatible material. See especially Figs. 7-9, pars. (20), (24-25), (38-39), and claims 1-10. With respect to claim 2, BRAY ET AL teaches wherein the fastener is made from at least one of a metal, a thermoplastic material, a composite material, and combinations thereof. See pars. (20), (22), (39), and (41). With respect to claim 3, BRAY ET AL teaches further comprising a curable sealant material/at least partially cured protective shell interface (Fig. 8). With respect to claim 4, BRAY ET AL teaches wherein the curable sealant material dose and the at least partially-cured protective shell comprise a curable material. See Fig. 9, par. (41), (51). With respect to claim 5, BRAY ET AL teaches wherein the curable sealant material dose comprises a polysulfide-based sealant material and the at least partially-cured protective shell comprises a polysulfide-based sealant detackifier. See pars. (24-34) With respect to claim 6, BRAY ET AL teaches wherein the curable sealant material dose comprises a UV-curable sealant material in an uncured state and the at least partially-cured protective shell comprises the UV-curable sealant material in a partially-cured state. See pars. (41), (51-52). With respect to claim 7, BRAY ET AL teaches wherein the fastener further comprises a UV-curable sealant material/at least partially-UV-cured material protective shell interface. See pars. (41), (51-52). With respect to claim 8, BRAY ET AL teaches wherein the curable sealant material dose comprises an average thickness ranging from about 1/8 inch to about 1/4 inch. See Fig. 9, pars. (47), (49), (51-52). Although silent as to exact thickness range as claimed, it would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to provide for a thickness range as claimed insofar as because it has been held "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). With respect to claim 9, BRAY ET AL teaches wherein the at least partially-cured protective shell comprises an average thickness ranging from about 1 mm to about 2 mm. See Fig. 9, pars. (47), (49), (51-52). Although silent as to exact thickness range as claimed, it would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to provide for a thickness range as claimed insofar as because it has been held "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). With respect to claim 10, BRAY ET AL teaches wherein the at least partially-cured protective shell is configured to rupture at an applied pressure ranging from about 275 psi to about 400 psi. See pars. (19), (38). Although silent as to exact pressure range as claimed, it would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to provide for a pressure range as claimed insofar as because it has been held "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). With respect to claim 15, a method for making a fastener for an aircraft assembly, the method comprising: applying a curable sealant material dose to a fastener exterior region of a fastener; forming a curable sealant material-dosed fastener, said curable sealant material-dosed fastener comprising a curable sealant material-dosed fastener exterior region; and forming an at least partially-cured protective shell configured to encase the curable sealant material dose in an uncured state at the curable sealant material-dosed fastener exterior region. See especially Figs. 7-9, pars. (20), (24-25), (38-39), and claims 11-20. With respect to claim 16, BRAY ET AL teaches further comprising coating the curable sealant material-dosed fastener exterior region with a sealant detackifier material layer, said at least partially-cured protective shell comprising the sealant detackifier material layer. See Fig. 9, pars. (24-34), (51). With respect to claim 17, BRAY ET AL teaches wherein the curable sealant material dose comprises a UV-curable material. See pars. (41), (51-52). With respect to claim 18, BRAY ET AL teaches wherein the curable sealant material dose comprises a polysulfide-based material and the sealant detackifier material layer comprises a polysulfide-based material. See pars. See pars. (24-34), (41), (51-52). With respect to claim 19, BRAY ET AL teaches further comprising: at least partially-curing a curable sealant material dose outer region of the UV- curable material to form the at least partially-cured protective shell. See pars. (41), (51-52). With respect to claim 20, BRAY ET AL teaches a fastener made according to the method of Claim 15. See claim 15 citations, and additionally pars. (4-5). With respect to claim 21, BRAY ET AL teaches an aircraft assembly comprising a fastener made according to the method of Claim 15. See claim 15 citations, and additionally pars. (4-5). With respect to claim 22, BRAY ET AL teaches an aircraft comprising a fastener made according to the method of Claim 15. See claim 15 citations, and additionally pars. (4-5). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ZAKIYA W BATES whose telephone number is (571)272-7039. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30am - 5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Doug Hutton can be reached at 5712724137. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ZAKIYA W BATES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674 6/11/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/479,921 Page 2 Art Unit: 3674 Application/Control Number: 18/479,921 Page 3 Art Unit: 3674 Application/Control Number: 18/479,921 Page 4 Art Unit: 3674 Application/Control Number: 18/479,921 Page 5 Art Unit: 3674 Application/Control Number: 18/479,921 Page 6 Art Unit: 3674 Application/Control Number: 18/479,921 Page 7 Art Unit: 3674