Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 29, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 9 – 10 pertaining to “The Office Action acknowledges that Huang fails to disclose using an invasive temperature sensor but contends that it would be obvious to modify the method of Huang to use an invasive temperature sensor in view of Davis. Davis discloses a system for measuring fluid flow and generating phase-based diagnostics related to fluid properties of the flow, where the system includes a temperature sensor in thermal contact with the process flow. (Davis at paras. [0003], [0016]). The method of Huang involves monitoring heat flow applied by the non-invasive thermal probes 100 to the pipe 123 to infer flow characteristics inside the pipe, but Huang does not need to directly measure the temperature of the fluid. … In other words, Huang's method works with an approximation of the fluid temperature and thus modifying Huang to include another sensor to directly measure the fluid temperature proximate the non-invasive thermal probes would not be necessary.
Further, adding an invasive sensor goes against the teachings of Huang, which emphasize non-invasive sensing, clamp-on probes, subsea applications, and otherwise teaches approaches that avoid pipe penetration (e.g., Doppler probes, acoustic impedance probes), for example, to avoid disruption to the industrial/production process. (See e.g., Huang at para. [0056].)”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Huang discloses using multiple sensors including an invasive temperature sensor (¶ 92 additional types of sensors based on other measurement principles, invasive may be added). It would be obvious for one skilled in the art to combine the invasive temperature sensor of Huang and Davis for the benefit of using fluid properties to accurately measure process fluid flow.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 10 pertaining to “With respect to independent claim 16, the Office Action relies on the combination of Huang, Davis, and Gebhardt. As discussed with respect to claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would not modify Huang in view of Davis to include an invasive temperature sensor.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As mentioned above, Huang discloses using multiple sensors including an invasive temperature sensor (¶ 92 additional types of sensors based on other measurement principles, invasive may be added). It would be obvious for one skilled in the art to combine the invasive temperature sensor of Huang and Davis for the benefit of using fluid properties to accurately measure process fluid flow.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 10 – 11 pertaining to “The Office Action concedes that Huang and Davis fail to disclose these recitations but contends that it would be obvious to modify Huang/Davis in view of Gebhardt. Gebhardt discloses a method for determining fluid temperature in a pipe with non-invasive surface temperature sensing and an estimated boundary-layer resistance. (Gebhardt at para. [0022].) Gebhardt discloses a method for calculating a fluid temperature in a pipe from non-invasive temperature sensor data, however, Gebhardt, does not disclose determining flow data of the fluid "based on a comparison model using" using temperature data of a non-invasive temperature sensor, temperature data of an invasive temperature sensor, and process condition data in the manner recited in claim 16.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Gebhardt discloses measuring the fluid temperature in a pipe with a temperature sensor (¶ 55 temperature of the pipe section is measured with a temperature sensor). Gebhart does not disclose using only one type of sensor invasive or non-invasive. Therefore, it would be obvious for one skilled in the art to combine Huang in view of Davis with Gebhardt for the benefit of using heat transfer behavior of a boundary fluid to accurately determine process fluid temperature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 16, 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (US 2008/0163692 A1) (herein after Huang) in view of Davis et al (US 2011/0301867 A1) (herein after Davis), and further in view of Gebhardt et al (US 2020/0408580 A1) (herein after Gebhardt).
Regarding Claim 1, Huang discloses, 1. (Currently Amended) A computer implemented method for determining boundary thermal resistance data of a boundary layer (Fig. 1B, ¶ 31 methods for reliable and accurate flow analysis; ¶ 41 – 44 Rf a thermal resistance of the thin boundary film; unknown Rf may be determined by measuring ΔT) and a flow condition in a pipe, comprising: obtaining first temperature data from a first temperature sensor (Fig. 1A, non-invasive thermal probe), the first temperature sensor being arranged at a first pipe section of the pipe (Fig. 1E, temperature sensor array 170; ”the array is the pipe section”); obtaining second temperature data from a second temperature sensor (Fig. 1A, non-invasive thermal probe), the second temperature sensor arranged at a second pipe section of the pipe proximate the first pipe section (Fig. 1E, temperature sensor array 170); wherein the first temperature sensor is a non-invasive temperature sensor (Fig. 1A, non-invasive thermal probe) to provide a measured surface temperature of the pipe, — providing process condition data (Fig. 1B, ¶ 10 output parameters, flow rates, phase fractions, flow regime); and determining boundary thermal resistance data of a boundary layer of the fluid (Fig. 1B, ¶ 41 – 44 Rf a thermal resistance of the thin boundary film) next to an inner surface of a wall of the pipe based on at least one of: the process condition data, the first temperature data, and the second temperature data (Fig. 1B, ¶ 41 – 44 unknown Rf may be determined by measuring ΔT); —.
Huang fails to disclose, — and the second temperature sensor is an invasive temperature sensor; — predicting a surface temperature of the pipe based on the second temperature data and the determined boundary thermal resistance data; and determining a flow condition in the pipe based at least in part on a difference between the predicted surface temperature and the measured surface temperature of the pipe.
In analogous art, Davis discloses, — and the second temperature sensor is an invasive temperature sensor (Fig. 1, ¶ 16 a temperature-sensitive element positioned in thermal contact with process flow F); —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang by combining the method of determining a process fluid characteristic disclosed by Huang with a method of determining a process fluid characteristic comprising, a temperature sensor that is an invasive temperature sensor; disclosed by Davis for the benefit of using fluid properties to accurately measure process fluid flow, [Davis: ¶ 13 Diagnostic signal DG is related to the fluid properties of process flow F, and in particular to phase transitions, which affect flow measurement accuracy].
Huang in view of Davis fail to disclose, — predicting a surface temperature of the pipe based on the second temperature data and the determined boundary thermal resistance data; and determining a flow condition in the pipe based at least in part on a difference between the predicted surface temperature and the measured surface temperature of the pipe.
In analogous art, Gebhardt discloses, — predicting a surface temperature of the pipe (Fig. 1, ¶ 51 estimated temperature) based on the second temperature data and the determined boundary thermal resistance data (Fig. 1, ¶ 51 difference between the newly determined temperature of the fluid and the previously determined temperature of the fluid is output); and determining a flow condition in the pipe (Fig. 1, ¶ 51 temperature used to recalculate the material properties) based at least in part on a difference between the predicted surface temperature and the measured surface temperature of the pipe (Fig. 1, ¶ 51 difference between the newly determined temperature of the fluid and the previously determined temperature of the fluid is output).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Davis by combining the method of determining a process fluid characteristic disclosed by Huang in view of Davis with a method of determining a process fluid characteristic, further comprising: predicting a surface temperature of the pipe based on the second temperature data and the determined boundary thermal resistance data; and determining a flow condition in the pipe based at least in part on a difference between the predicted surface temperature and the measured surface temperature of the pipe; disclosed by Gebhardt for the benefit of using heat transfer behavior of a boundary fluid to accurately determine process fluid temperature [Gebhardt: ¶ 22 advantage of the proposed method is that the heat transfer behavior of the boundary layer, can be included and thus the temperature of the fluid can be determined more accurately].
Regarding Claim 2, Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Huang in view of Davis fail to disclose, 2. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1, further comprising determining the temperature data of the fluid based on at least the first and/or second temperature data and the boundary thermal resistance data of the boundary layer.
Gebhardt further discloses, 2. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1, further comprising determining the temperature data of the fluid (Fig. 1, ¶ 59 temperature TM of the fluid) based on at least the first and/or second temperature data and the boundary thermal resistance data (Fig. 1, ¶ 59 determined on the basis of the heat transfer behavior of the boundary layer 15) of the boundary layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt by combining the method of determining a process fluid characteristic disclosed by Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt with a method of determining a process fluid characteristic wherein, determining the temperature data of the fluid based on at least the first and/or second temperature data and the boundary thermal resistance data of the boundary layer; disclosed by Gebhardt for the benefit of using heat transfer behavior of a boundary fluid to accurately determine process fluid temperature [Gebhardt: ¶ 22 advantage of the proposed method is that the heat transfer behavior of the boundary layer, can be included and thus the temperature of the fluid can be determined more accurately].
Regarding Claim 3, Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt disclose the limitations of claim 3, which this claim depends on.
Huang in view of Davis fail to disclose, 3. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1, further comprising determining flow data of the fluid based on a comparison model using the first and second temperature data and the process condition data.
Gebhardt further discloses, 3. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1, further comprising determining flow data of the fluid based on a comparison model (Fig. 1, ¶ 56 temperature model) using the first and second temperature data and the process condition data (Fig. 1, ¶ 63 distance 1 between the location, at which the temperature Twa of the pipe section 11 is measured, location at which the fluid 12 enters a pipe).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt by combining the method of determining a process fluid characteristic disclosed by Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt with a method of determining a process fluid characteristic wherein, determining flow data of the fluid based on a comparison model using the first and second temperature data and the process condition data; disclosed by Gebhardt for the benefit of using heat transfer behavior of a boundary fluid to accurately determine process fluid temperature [Gebhardt: ¶ 22 advantage of the proposed method is that the heat transfer behavior of the boundary layer, can be included and thus the temperature of the fluid can be determined more accurately].
Regarding Claim 4, Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Huang in view of Davis fail to disclose, 4. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 3, wherein the flow data comprises flow state data and/or flow regime data and/or stratification data and/or allocation data.
Gebhardt further discloses, 4. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 3, wherein the flow data comprises flow state data and/or flow regime data (Fig. 1, ¶ 22 a laminar boundary layer, a turbulent boundary layer or a transition layer) and/or stratification data and/or allocation data (Fig. 1, ¶ 22 boundary layer may have a viscous underlayer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt by combining the method of determining a process fluid characteristic disclosed by Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt with a method of determining a process fluid characteristic wherein, the flow data comprises flow state data and/or flow regime data and/or stratification data and/or allocation data; disclosed by Gebhardt for the benefit of using heat transfer behavior of a boundary fluid to accurately determine process fluid temperature [Gebhardt: ¶ 22 advantage of the proposed method is that the heat transfer behavior of the boundary layer, can be included and thus the temperature of the fluid can be determined more accurately].
Regarding Claim 5, Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Huang in view of Davis fail to disclose, 5. (Original) The method according to claim 1, wherein the process condition data comprises distance data of the first temperature sensor and/or second temperature sensor to a reference point.
Gebhardt further discloses, 5. (Original) The method according to claim 1, wherein the process condition data comprises distance data (Fig. 1, ¶ 63 distance 1 between the location, at which the temperature Twa of the pipe section 11 is measured) of the first temperature sensor and/or second temperature sensor to a reference point (Fig. 1, ¶ 63 location at which the fluid 12 enters a pipe).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt by combining the method of determining a process fluid characteristic disclosed by Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt with a method of determining a process fluid characteristic wherein the process condition data comprises distance data of the first temperature sensor and/or second temperature sensor to a reference point; disclosed by Gebhardt for the benefit of using heat transfer behavior of a boundary fluid to accurately determine process fluid temperature [Gebhardt: ¶ 22 advantage of the proposed method is that the heat transfer behavior of the boundary layer, can be included and thus the temperature of the fluid can be determined more accurately].
Regarding Claim 6, Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt disclose the limitations of claim 5, which this claim depends on.
Huang in view of Davis fail to disclose, 6. (Original) The method according to claim 5, wherein the reference point is a feature of the pipe.
Gebhardt further discloses, 6. (Original) The method according to claim 5, wherein the reference point is a feature of the pipe (Fig. 1, ¶ 63 location at which the fluid 12 enters a pipe).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt by combining the method of determining a process fluid characteristic disclosed by Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt with a method of determining a process fluid characteristic wherein, the reference point is a feature of the pipe. disclosed by Gebhardt for the benefit of using heat transfer behavior of a boundary fluid to accurately determine process fluid temperature [Gebhardt: ¶ 22 advantage of the proposed method is that the heat transfer behavior of the boundary layer, can be included and thus the temperature of the fluid can be determined more accurately].
Regarding Claim 7, Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt disclose the limitations of claim 6, which this claim depends on.
Huang in view of Davis fail to disclose, 7. (Original) The method according to claim 6, wherein the feature of the pipe is an inlet of the pipe.
Gebhardt further discloses, 7. (Original) The method according to claim 6, wherein the feature of the pipe is an inlet of the pipe (Fig. 1, ¶ 63 location at which the fluid 12 enters a pipe).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt by combining the method of determining a process fluid characteristic disclosed by Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt with a method of determining a process fluid characteristic wherein, the feature of the pipe is an inlet of the pipe; disclosed by Gebhardt for the benefit of using heat transfer behavior of a boundary fluid to accurately determine process fluid temperature [Gebhardt: ¶ 22 advantage of the proposed method is that the heat transfer behavior of the boundary layer, can be included and thus the temperature of the fluid can be determined more accurately].
Regarding Claim 8, Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Huang in view of Davis fail to disclose, 8 . (Original) The method according to claim 1, wherein the process condition data comprises flow velocity data, viscosity data and density data of the fluid and pipe diameter data.
Gebhardt further discloses, 8 . (Original) The method according to claim 1, wherein the process condition data comprises flow velocity data, viscosity data and density data (Fig. 1, ¶ 25 velocity, dynamic viscosity, density) of the fluid and pipe diameter data (Fig. 1, ¶ 31 a diameter of the fluid cross section).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt by combining the method of determining a process fluid characteristic disclosed by Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt with a method of determining a process fluid characteristic, wherein the process condition data comprises flow velocity data, viscosity data and density data of the fluid and pipe diameter data; disclosed by Gebhardt for the benefit of using heat transfer behavior of a boundary fluid to accurately determine process fluid temperature [Gebhardt: ¶ 22 advantage of the proposed method is that the heat transfer behavior of the boundary layer, can be included and thus the temperature of the fluid can be determined more accurately].
Regarding Claim 9, Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Huang in view of Davis fail to disclose, 9 . (Original) The method according to claim 1, wherein the process condition data comprises viscosity data, thermal conductivity data and specific heat capacity data of the fluid.
Gebhardt further discloses, 9 . (Original) The method according to claim 1, wherein the process condition data comprises viscosity data, thermal conductivity data and specific heat capacity data of the fluid (Fig. 1, ¶ 25 dynamic viscosity, thermal conductivity, specific heat capacity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt by combining the method of determining a process fluid characteristic disclosed by Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt with a method of determining a process fluid characteristic, wherein the process condition data comprises viscosity data, thermal conductivity data and specific heat capacity data of the fluid; disclosed by Gebhardt for the benefit of using heat transfer behavior of a boundary fluid to accurately determine process fluid temperature [Gebhardt: ¶ 22 advantage of the proposed method is that the heat transfer behavior of the boundary layer, can be included and thus the temperature of the fluid can be determined more accurately].
Regarding Claim 10, Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Huang in view of Davis fail to disclose, 10 . (Original) The method according to claim 1, wherein the process condition data comprises curvature radius data and diameter data of the pipe.
Gebhardt further discloses, 10 . (Original) The method according to claim 1, wherein the process condition data comprises curvature radius data and diameter data of the pipe (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 – 31 radius of the pipe, a diameter of the fluid cross section).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt by combining the method of determining a process fluid characteristic disclosed by Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt with a method of determining a process fluid characteristic, wherein the process condition data comprises curvature radius data and diameter data of the pipe. disclosed by Gebhardt for the benefit of using heat transfer behavior of a boundary fluid to accurately determine process fluid temperature [Gebhardt: ¶ 22 advantage of the proposed method is that the heat transfer behavior of the boundary layer, can be included and thus the temperature of the fluid can be determined more accurately].
Regarding Claim 11, Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Huang in view of Davis fail to disclose, 11. (Original) The method according to claim 1, wherein the process condition data comprises pressure data and/or pipe material data and/or wall thickness data.
Gebhardt further discloses, 11. (Original) The method according to claim 1, wherein the process condition data comprises pressure data and/or pipe material data and/or wall thickness data (Fig. 1, ¶ 63 a pressure, a thickness sw of the wall 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt by combining the method of determining a process fluid characteristic disclosed by Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt with a method of determining a process fluid characteristic, wherein the process condition data comprises pressure data and/or the pipe material data and/or wall thickness data; disclosed by Gebhardt for the benefit of using heat transfer behavior of a boundary fluid to accurately determine process fluid temperature [Gebhardt: ¶ 22 advantage of the proposed method is that the heat transfer behavior of the boundary layer, can be included and thus the temperature of the fluid can be determined more accurately].
Regarding Claim 12, Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Huang in view of Davis fail to disclose, 12. (Original) The method according to claim 1, further comprising determining a thermal resistance network; wherein the thermal resistance network comprises external thermal resistance data, insulation thermal resistance data, pipe thermal resistance data and the boundary thermal resistance data.
Gebhardt further discloses, 12. (Original) The method according to claim 1, further comprising determining a thermal resistance network; wherein the thermal resistance network comprises external thermal resistance data (Fig. 1, ¶ 60 thermal resistance of an environment Rp), insulation thermal resistance data, pipe thermal resistance data (Fig. 1, ¶ 60 the wall 20 and the insulation layer 21 form a thermal resistance Rw of the pipe section 11) and the boundary thermal resistance data.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt by combining the method of determining a process fluid characteristic disclosed by Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt with a method of determining a process fluid characteristic, further comprising determining a thermal resistance network; wherein the thermal resistance network comprises external thermal resistance data, insulation thermal resistance data, pipe thermal resistance data and the boundary thermal resistance data; disclosed by Gebhardt for the benefit of using heat transfer behavior of a boundary fluid to accurately determine process fluid temperature [Gebhardt: ¶ 22 advantage of the proposed method is that the heat transfer behavior of the boundary layer, can be included and thus the temperature of the fluid can be determined more accurately].
Regarding Claim 13, Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Huang in view of Davis fail to disclose, 13. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1, wherein the flow condition includes whether stratification is present.
Gebhardt further discloses, 13. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1, wherein the flow condition includes whether stratification is present (Fig. 1, ¶ 25 density).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt by combining the method of determining a process fluid characteristic disclosed by Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt with a method of determining a process fluid characteristic, further comprising: wherein the flow condition includes whether whether a stratification is present; disclosed by Gebhardt for the benefit of using heat transfer behavior of a boundary fluid to accurately determine process fluid temperature [Gebhardt: ¶ 22 advantage of the proposed method is that the heat transfer behavior of the boundary layer, can be included and thus the temperature of the fluid can be determined more accurately].
Regarding Claim 14, Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Huang further discloses, 14. (Original) The method according to claim 1, wherein the non-invasive first temperature sensor is positioned circumferentially offset (Fig. 1B, ¶ 36 numerous sensor probes may be mounted at different angular positions on a pipe) from the invasive second temperature sensor; —
Huang in view of Davis fail to disclose — and wherein to determine the flow condition includes to determine an allocation of condensate, crystallization and/or other buildups on the inner surface of the wall of the pipe.
Gebhardt further discloses, — and wherein to determine the flow condition includes to determine an allocation of condensate, crystallization and/or other buildups (Fig. 1, ¶ 25 phase state of the fluid) on the inner surface of the wall of the pipe (Fig. 1, ¶ 51 difference between the newly determined temperature of the fluid and the previously determined temperature of the fluid is output).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt by combining the method of determining a process fluid characteristic disclosed by Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt with a method wherein, to determine the flow condition includes to determine an allocation of condensate, crystallization and/or other buildups on the inner surface of the wall of the pipe.; disclosed by Gebhardt for the benefit of using heat transfer behavior of a boundary fluid to accurately determine process fluid temperature [Gebhardt: ¶ 22 advantage of the proposed method is that the heat transfer behavior of the boundary layer, can be included and thus the temperature of the fluid can be determined more accurately].
Regarding Claim 15, Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Huang in view of Davis fail to disclose, 15. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1, wherein the second temperature data provides a measured invasive temperature, and wherein determining the flow condition includes determining a flow regime, wherein the flow regime includes whether a turbulent, transitional or laminar flow regime is present.
Gebhardt further discloses, 15. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1, wherein the second temperature data provides a measured invasive temperature (Fig. 1, ¶ 50 the temperature of the fluid determined as a function of the estimated temperature), and wherein determining the flow condition includes determining a flow regime (Fig. 1, ¶ 51 difference between the newly determined temperature of the fluid and the previously determined temperature of the fluid is output), wherein the flow regime includes whether a turbulent, transitional or laminar flow regime is present (Fig. 1, ¶ 22 a laminar boundary layer, a turbulent boundary layer or a transition layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt by combining the method of determining a process fluid characteristic disclosed by Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt with a method of The method according to claim 1, wherein the second temperature data provides a measured invasive temperature, and wherein determining the flow condition includes determining a flow regime, wherein the flow regime includes whether a turbulent, transitional or laminar flow regime is present.; disclosed by Gebhardt for the benefit of using heat transfer behavior of a boundary fluid to accurately determine process fluid temperature [Gebhardt: ¶ 22 advantage of the proposed method is that the heat transfer behavior of the boundary layer, can be included and thus the temperature of the fluid can be determined more accurately].
Regarding Claim 16, Huang discloses, 16. (Currently Amended) A system for providing temperature data of a fluid flowing through a pipe (Fig. 1B, ¶ 31 systems for reliable and accurate flow analysis; ¶ 41 – 44 Rf a thermal resistance of the thin boundary film; unknown Rf may be determined by measuring ΔT), the system comprising: a first temperature sensor disposed to provide first temperature data (Fig. 1A, non-invasive thermal probe), the first temperature sensor being thermally coupled to a first pipe section (Fig. 1E, temperature sensor array 170; ”the array is the pipe section”); a second temperature sensor disposed to provide second temperature data (Fig. 1A, non-invasive thermal probe), the second temperature sensor being thermally coupled to a second pipe section proximate the first pipe section (Fig. 1E, temperature sensor array 170); wherein the first temperature sensor is a non-invasive temperature sensor —.
Huang fails to disclose, — and the second temperature sensor is an invasive temperature sensor; a processing unit configured to: determine the temperature data of the fluid based on at least one of the first temperature data and the second temperature data, and further based on boundary thermal resistance data of a boundary layer; and determine flow data of the fluid based on a comparison model using the first temperature data, the second temperature data, and process condition data including: determining a predicted surface temperature based at least in part on the second temperature data and boundary thermal resistance data of the boundary layer; determining a measured surface temperature based at least in part on the first temperature data; and determining flow data based at least in part on a difference between the predicted surface temperature and the measured surface temperature.
In analogous art, Davis discloses, — and the second temperature sensor is an invasive temperature sensor (Fig. 1, ¶ 16 a temperature-sensitive element positioned in thermal contact with process flow F); —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang by combining the system for providing temperature data disclosed by Huang with a system for providing temperature data, comprising a temperature sensor that is an invasive temperature sensor; disclosed by Davis for the benefit of using fluid properties to accurately measure process fluid flow, [Davis: ¶ 13 Diagnostic signal DG is related to the fluid properties of process flow F, and in particular to phase transitions, which affect flow measurement accuracy].
Huang in view of Davis fail to disclose, — a processing unit configured to: determine the temperature data of the fluid based on at least one of the first temperature data and the second temperature data, and further based on boundary thermal resistance data of a boundary layer; and determine flow data of the fluid based on a comparison model using the first temperature data, the second temperature data, and process condition data including: determining a predicted surface temperature based at least in part on the second temperature data and boundary thermal resistance data of the boundary layer; determining a measured surface temperature based at least in part on the first temperature data; and determining flow data based at least in part on a difference between the predicted surface temperature and the measured surface temperature.
In analogous art, Gebhardt discloses, — a processing unit (Fig. 2, evaluation unit 19) configured to: determine the temperature data of the fluid (Fig. 1, ¶ 59 temperature TM of the fluid) based on at least one of the first temperature data and the second temperature data, and further based on boundary thermal resistance data (Fig. 1, ¶ 59 determined on the basis of the heat transfer behavior of the boundary layer 15) of a boundary layer; and determine flow data of the fluid based on a comparison model (Fig. 1, ¶ 56 temperature model) using the first temperature data, the second temperature data, and process condition data (Fig. 1, ¶ 63 distance 1 between the location, at which the temperature Twa of the pipe section 11 is measured, location at which the fluid 12 enters a pipe) including: determining a predicted surface temperature (Fig. 1, ¶ 51 estimated temperature) based at least in part on the second temperature data and boundary thermal resistance data (Fig. 1, ¶ 51 difference between the newly determined temperature of the fluid and the previously determined temperature of the fluid is output) of the boundary layer; determining a measured surface temperature (Fig. 1, ¶ 51 estimated temperature) based at least in part on the first temperature data; and determining flow data based at least in part on a difference between the predicted surface temperature and the measured surface temperature (Fig. 1, ¶ 51 difference between the newly determined temperature of the fluid and the previously determined temperature of the fluid is output).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Davis by combining the system for providing temperature data disclosed by Huang in view of Davis with a system for providing temperature data, ------ a processing unit configured to: determine the temperature data of the fluid based on at least one of the first temperature data and the second temperature data, and further based on boundary thermal resistance data of a boundary layer; and determine flow data of the fluid based on a comparison model using the first temperature data, the second temperature data, and process condition data including: determining a predicted surface temperature based at least in part on the second temperature data and boundary thermal resistance data of the boundary layer; determining a measured surface temperature based at least in part on the first temperature data; and determining flow data based at least in part on a difference between the predicted surface temperature and the measured surface temperature; disclosed by Gebhardt for the benefit of using heat transfer behavior of a boundary fluid to accurately determine process fluid temperature [Gebhardt: ¶ 22 advantage of the proposed method is that the heat transfer behavior of the boundary layer, can be included and thus the temperature of the fluid can be determined more accurately].
Regarding Claim 18, Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt disclose the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Huang in view of Davis fail to disclose, 18. (Original) The system according to claim 16, the flow data comprises flow state data and/or flow regime data and/or stratification data and/or allocation data.
Gebhardt further discloses, 18. (Original) The system according to claim 16, the flow data comprises flow state data and/or flow regime data (Fig. 1, ¶ 22 a laminar boundary layer, a turbulent boundary layer or a transition layer) and/or stratification data and/or allocation data (Fig. 1, ¶ 22 boundary layer may have a viscous underlayer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt by combining the system for providing temperature data disclosed by Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt with a system for providing temperature data, wherein the flow data comprises flow state data and/or flow regime data and/or stratification data and/or allocation data; disclosed by Gebhardt for the benefit of using heat transfer behavior of a boundary fluid to accurately determine process fluid temperature [Gebhardt: ¶ 22 advantage of the proposed method is that the heat transfer behavior of the boundary layer, can be included and thus the temperature of the fluid can be determined more accurately].
Regarding Claim 19, Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt disclose the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Huang in view of Davis fail to disclose, 19. (Original) The system according to claim 16, wherein the process condition data comprises distance data of the first temperature sensor and/or second temperature sensor to a reference point.
Gebhardt further discloses, 19. (Original) The system according to claim 16, wherein the process condition data comprises distance data (Fig. 1, ¶ 63 distance 1 between the location, at which the temperature Twa of the pipe section 11 is measured) of the first temperature sensor and/or second temperature sensor to a reference point (Fig. 1, ¶ 63 location at which the fluid 12 enters a pipe).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt by combining the system for providing temperature data disclosed by Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt with a system for providing temperature data, the system according to claim 16, wherein the process condition data comprises distance data of the first temperature sensor and/or second temperature sensor to a reference point; disclosed by Gebhardt for the benefit of using heat transfer behavior of a boundary fluid to accurately determine process fluid temperature [Gebhardt: ¶ 22 advantage of the proposed method is that the heat transfer behavior of the boundary layer, can be included and thus the temperature of the fluid can be determined more accurately].
Regarding Claim 20, Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt disclose the limitations of claim 19, which this claim depends on.
Huang in view of Davis fail to disclose, 20. (Original) The system according to claim 19, wherein the reference point is a feature of the pipe.
Gebhardt further discloses, 20. (Original) The system according to claim 19, wherein the reference point is a feature of the pipe (Fig. 1, ¶ 63 location at which the fluid 12 enters a pipe).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt by combining the system for providing temperature data disclosed by Huang in view of Davis in view of Gebhardt with a system for providing temperature data, the system according to claim 19, wherein the reference point is a feature of the pipe; disclosed by Gebhardt for the benefit of using heat transfer behavior of a boundary fluid to accurately determine process fluid temperature [Gebhardt: ¶ 22 advantage of the proposed method is that the heat transfer behavior of the boundary layer, can be included and thus the temperature of the fluid can be determined more accurately].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. ROGHANIZAD (US 2022/0390292 A1) discloses, a first temperature sensor disposed to provide first temperature data, a second temperature sensor disposed to provide second temperature data (Fig. 12, ¶ 146 In this example embodiment, each NITI sensor (i.e., sensor node or node) contains one heat flux sensor-temperature sensor pair).
/JOSEPH O. NYAMOGO/
Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/FARHANA A HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858