CTNF 18/480,041 CTNF 100139 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/03/2023 and 10/16/2024 have been considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-2 and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Maeda et al. WO 2020217843 A1 Regarding claim 1, Maeda teaches a CPAP device (title), comprising: a main unit (Figure 1, main body unit 10) including a first inlet (First introduction unit 13), a first outlet (outlet 141), and a first electric circuit including a blower (Figure 6, blower 22); and a base unit (Second unit 40), to which the main unit is attachable (figure 3), including a second outlet (481), a second inlet (441), a blower tube (lead out portion 45), and a second electric circuit different from the first electric circuit (Figure 6 depicts a second electric circuit within base unit 40), wherein the main unit has a first wall facing the base unit (wall of housing 11, figure 2), and the first wall has a first terminal connected to the first electric circuit (First electrical connection part 203), the base unit has a second wall facing the first wall of the main unit (Wall of lower surface 422 and 432) , and the second wall has a second terminal connected to the second electric circuit (Electrical connection portion 603), the first terminal and the second terminal are disposed side by side in a direction substantially parallel to a direction in which the first wall and the second wall face each other (both terminal lie on top of each other and are parallel to each other), and one of the first terminal and the second terminal includes a biasing force generation member configured to generate biasing force in the direction in which the first wall and the second wall face each other (Spring 700 provides a biasing force.). Regarding claim 2, Maeda teaches the CPAP device according to Claim 1, wherein one of the main unit and the base unit includes a switch (Spring 700 also acts as a switch) configured to change over between an attached state in which the main unit is attached to the base unit and a released state in which the attached state is released with the biasing force (Page 13 of the translated reference states “The spring 700 urges the second electrical connection portion 603 upward. Then, in a state where no force is acting on the second electrical connection portion 603 from others, the second electrical connection portion 603 is urged by the spring 700 and projects upward from the fourth connection surface 431.”). Regarding claim 5, Maeda teaches the CPAP device according to Claim 2, wherein the main unit has a flow path forming wall (surface 113, figure 1), in which the first outlet is provided (outlet 141) and a gas flow path on a side of the main unit is provided (Flow path 16, figure 1), and the first wall having the first terminal on different surfaces (Connection 203 is on a different surface, the bottom one), the base unit has a flow path forming wall (Surface 423, figure 20), in which the second inlet is provided and a gas flow path on a side of the base unit is provided (Introduction portion 44) and an outer surface of the second wall having the second terminal on different surfaces (Connection 603 is on a different surface), and the main unit is attached to the base unit in a state in which the flow path forming wall on the side of the main unit and the flow path forming wall on the side of the base unit face each other (Based on figure 2, when both units are connected, 14 and 44 would face each other), and the first wall on the side of the main unit and the second wall on the side of the base unit face each other (when connected the wall of housing 11 and surface 422 and 432 would face each other). Regarding claim 6, Maeda teaches the CPAP device according to Claim 5, wherein the base unit includes a high height portion (Figure 1, top portion of unit 40) and a low height portion (bottom portion of unit 40), the high height portion and the low height portion are physically connected to each other (Connection depicted in figure 1), a side surface comprising a step of the high height portion (Surface around housing 42) and the low height portion is an outer surface of the flow path forming wall on the side of the base unit (The top of the low height portion is connected to an outer surface of housing 41 that contains the second flow path 49), and an upper surface of the low height portion is an outer surface of the second wal l (Surface 421). Regarding claim 7, Maeda teaches the CPAP device according to Claim 6, wherein the first outlet is a cylindrical body protruding from a wall surface of the main unit to an outside (lead out part 14 is cylindrical, figure 1), and in the attached state, the cylindrical body is inserted into the second inlet (inserted into inlet 44). Regarding claim 8, Maeda teaches the CPAP device according to Claim 7, wherein a flow path forming surface on the side of the base unit and a flow path forming surface on the side of the main unit are provided with a protrusion and a recess inserted and fitted to each other (Figures 4a and 4b, connection of 144 to 444). Regarding claim 9, Maeda teaches the CPAP device according to Claim 8, wherein a formation position of the second inlet is in a vicinity of one end in a width direction of the side surface comprising the step (inlet 44 is on surface 423), and a formation position of the protrusion or the recess provided on the side surface comprising the step is in a vicinity of another end in the width direction of the side surface comprising the step (Guide portions 602, figure 20, is located at another end of the width direction). Regarding claim 10, Maeda teaches the CPAP device according to Claim 6, wherein the first terminal is disposed at a position being in a vicinity of a surface opposed to a flow path forming surface on the side of the main unit (Terminal 203 is located on a surface at the bottom of housing 11 which is opposing the flow path of 16 on the interior as depicted in figure 20) and being in a lower surface of the main unit facing the upper surface of the low height portion (This surface faces surface 431), and the second terminal is disposed in a vicinity of a side surface of the low height portion (Terminal 603 is located near side surface of 432) being most distant from the side surface comprising the step on the upper surface of the low height portion (The terminal is located away from the side surface of 423). Regarding claim 11, Maeda teaches the CPAP device according to Claim 10, wherein the upper surface of the low height portion is provided with a frame having a shape along an outer periphery of the upper surface (Figure 20, frame of unit 43 containing portions 652 and 653), the main unit has a groove along an outer periphery of the lower surface, and the frame is inserted into the groove (Connection surface 112 is connected to surface 431 via the portions 652 and 653) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda in view of Davoine et al. EP 3539601 A1 Regarding claim 3, Maeda teaches the CPAP device according to Claim 2 , but fails to teach wherein the switch includes a groove provided in one of the main unit and the base unit and a hook member disposed on another of the main unit and the base unit, and the attached state and the released state are changed over depending on a locking state of the hook member to the groove. Davoine teaches an analogous ventilation device that does teach wherein the switch (Figure 13, release 6) includes a groove provided in one of the main unit and the base unit (opening 8, figure 8) and a hook member disposed on another of the main unit and the base unit (Hook element 7), and the attached state and the released state are changed over depending on a locking state of the hook member to the groove (page 3 of the attached translated application states “the docking station further comprises release means, operable manually, cooperating with the hook elements so as to move them to the decoupling position, when manually operated by a user. the release means comprise a push button. the push button is operable by a user to release the fan, that is to say the push button acts, directly or indirectly, on the hook elements to move them to their decoupling position. the release means comprise a push button movable in translation.”). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spring connection method of Maeda with the hook method of Davoine and include wherein the switch includes a groove provided in one of the main unit and the base unit and a hook member disposed on another of the main unit and the base unit, and the attached state and the released state are changed over depending on a locking state of the hook member to the groove as this allows for quick coupling and decoupling of the main unit to the base unit (page 3). Regarding claim 4, Maeda in view of Davoine teaches the CPAP device according to Claim 1, wherein one of the first terminal and the second terminal is a pin terminal configured to generate the biasing force in the direction in which the first wall and the second wall face each other (603 is a pin terminal that does generate a biasing force with the spring), and another of the first terminal and the second terminal is a film-like electrode pattern (electrical connection portion 203 has a film-like electrode pattern). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ROHAN DEEP PATEL whose telephone number is (571)270-5538. The examiner can normally be reached Mon - Fri 5:30 AM - 3:00 PM PST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Brandy S Lee can be reached at (571) 2707410. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ROHAN PATEL/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785 /BRANDY S LEE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/480,041 Page 2 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/480,041 Page 3 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/480,041 Page 4 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/480,041 Page 5 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/480,041 Page 6 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/480,041 Page 7 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/480,041 Page 8 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/480,041 Page 9 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/480,041 Page 10 Art Unit: 3785