Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EUROPEAN PATENT OFFICE (EPO) 22200295.8, filed on October 7, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 3, 2024 and October 18, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WATANABE (US 2022/0286076 A1) (herein after Watanabe) in view of Quist (US 6,199,018 B1) (herein after Quist).
Regarding Claim 1, Watanabe teaches, a computer implemented method for estimating the power output of an electric motor (Fig. 1A, ¶ 22, 26 description, electric motor 3 outputs a rotational driving force) with at least one — sensor (Fig. 1B, ¶ 52 current sensor portion 420; ”Note: ¶ 48 FIG. 1B is a configuration diagram of the reference rotational rate correction unit 62 of the embodiment”), comprising: — providing magnetic field frequency data based on the magnetic field signal data (Fig. 2, ¶ 59 frequency component data table 621t); determining a fundamental harmonic frequency (Fig. 1, ¶ 22 a frequency of fundamental waves, fundamental frequency f) of the supply frequency of the electric motor; determining at least one further harmonic frequency (Fig. 1, ¶ 54 integer-order harmonic components of the fundamental frequency f) of the fundamental harmonic frequency based on the magnetic field frequency data and/or the magnetic field signal data; determining a ratio (Fig. 2, ¶ 62 normalized) between an amplitude of the at least one further harmonic frequency and an amplitude of the fundamental harmonic frequency (Fig. 2, ¶ 62 fundamental frequency f is used as a reference value; magnitude of the odd-order harmonic component is normalized on the basis of the magnitude of the frequency component of the reference); providing reference ratio data (Fig. 2, ¶ 59 frequency component data table 621t) describing a relation of a ratio between an amplitude of the at least one further harmonic frequency and an amplitude of the fundamental harmonic frequency and a power output (Fig. 1, ¶ 26 a rotational driving force) of the electric motor; estimating the power output of the electric motor based on the reference ratio data and the determined ratio (Fig. 1, ¶ 62 rotational rate based on reference rotational rate (w %) is represented by a percentage).
Watanabe fails to teach, a computer implemented method for estimating the power output of an electric motor with at least one magnetic field sensor, comprising: providing magnetic field signal data from the magnetic field sensor, wherein the magnetic field sensor is arranged and configured to measure a magnetic field of the electric motor; —
In analogous art, Quist teaches, a computer implemented method for estimating the power output of an electric motor (Fig. 1. Col. 13. Ln. 44 – 45 novel method in accordance with certain aspects of the present invention; Col. 5. Ln. 45 load conditions) with at least one magnetic field sensor (Fig. 2B. electromagnetic flux sensor 36; “Note: Fig 2B is part of Fig 1, Col 8. Ln 14 – 17 As reflected in FIG. 2B, the microprocessor 28, machine 11”), comprising: providing magnetic field signal data from the magnetic field sensor (Fig. 2B. Col. 8. Ln. 64 – 65 output signals from an electromagnetic flux sensor 36), wherein the magnetic field sensor is arranged and configured to measure a magnetic field (Fig. 2B. Col. 8. Ln. 67 – Col 9. Ln 1 positioned appropriately with respect to the associated machine 11 to detect the magnitude of the flux) of the electric motor; —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Watanabe by combining the computer implemented method for estimating the power output of an electric motor taught by Watanabe with, a computer implemented method for estimating the power output of an electric motor with at least one magnetic field sensor, comprising: providing magnetic field signal data from the magnetic field sensor, wherein the magnetic field sensor is arranged and configured to measure a magnetic field of the electric motor; taught by Quist for the benefit of measuring the output power of a motor in order to provide information about potential failure of the motor [Quist: Col. 4, Ln. 45 – 48 information to develop an updatable statistical model that can provide useful information concerning the operating condition and failure potential of the various motors 11].
Regarding Claim 2, Watanabe in view of Quist teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Watanabe further teaches, the method according to claim 1, wherein the magnetic field signal data is transformed to magnetic field frequency data by Fast Fourier Transformation (Fig. 1B, ¶ 53 fast Fourier transform unit 623 performs an FFT process (a fast Fourier transform process)).
Regarding Claim 3, Watanabe in view of Quist teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Watanabe fails to teach, the method according to claim 1, wherein the magnetic field sensor is arranged outside and at a radial distance from the electric motor.
Quist further teaches, the method according to claim 1, wherein the magnetic field sensor is arranged outside and at a radial distance (Fig. 2B. Col. 8. Ln. 67 – Col 9. Ln 1 positioned appropriately with respect to the associated machine 11) from the electric motor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Watanabe in view of Quist combining the computer implemented method for estimating the power output of an electric motor taught by Watanabe in view of Quist with, a magnetic sensor wherein, the magnetic field sensor is arranged outside and at a radial distance from the electric motor; taught by Quist for the benefit of measuring the output power of a motor in order to provide information about potential failure of the motor [Quist: Col. 4, Ln. 45 – 48 information to develop an updatable statistical model that can provide useful information concerning the operating condition and failure potential of the various motors 11].
Regarding Claim 4, Watanabe in view of Quist teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Watanabe further teaches, the method according to claim 1, wherein the further harmonic frequency is the third harmonic frequency (Fig. 2, ¶ 62 items of the 3f detection value, correspond to the third-order, harmonic components).
Regarding Claim 5, Watanabe in view of Quist teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Watanabe further teaches, the method according to claim 1, wherein two or more harmonic frequencies (Fig. 1, ¶ 54 integer-order harmonic components of the fundamental frequency f) and the respective ratios (Fig. 2, ¶ 62 normalized) between the amplitudes of the two or more harmonic frequencies and an amplitude of the fundamental harmonic frequency are determined (Fig. 2, ¶ 62 fundamental frequency f is used as a reference value; magnitude of the odd-order harmonic component is normalized on the basis of the magnitude of the frequency component of the reference).
Regarding Claim 6, Watanabe in view of Quist teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Watanabe fails to teach, the method according to claim 1, wherein the reference ratio data is estimated by providing input on actual power output while first measurements are being taken during a test/calibration cycle of the electric motor
Quist further teaches, the method according to claim 1, wherein the reference ratio data is estimated by providing input on actual power output while first measurements are being taken (Fig. 1. Col. 20. Ln. 31 – 32 initial quality of the machine is assessed) during a test/calibration cycle of the electric motor (Fig. 1. Col. 20. Ln. 45 perform initial quality tests).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Watanabe in view of Quist combining the computer implemented method for estimating the power output of an electric motor taught by Watanabe in view of Quist with, reference ratio date wherein, the reference ratio data is estimated by providing input on actual power output while first measurements are being taken during a test/calibration cycle of the electric motor; taught by Quist for the benefit of measuring the output power of a motor in order to provide information about potential failure of the motor [Quist: Col. 4, Ln. 45 – 48 information to develop an updatable statistical model that can provide useful information concerning the operating condition and failure potential of the various motors 11].
Regarding Claim 7, Watanabe in view of Quist teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Watanabe fails to teach, the method according to claim 1, wherein the reference ratio data is estimated by using a slip-based method for estimating the power output at an operating point, in particular where the slip-based method provides a maximum of precision.
Quist further teaches, the method according to claim 1, wherein the reference ratio data is estimated by using a slip-based method (Fig. 2B. Col. 13. Ln. 47 – 51 rotational frequency of the rotor f(r), synchronous speed of the stator field f(s), "slip" S of the machine, S=(f(s)-f(r))/f(s)) for estimating the power output at an operating point (Fig. 2B. Col. 13. Ln. 53 – 54 S will vary from a value of 1 at start-up to a value approaching zero), in particular where the slip-based method provides a maximum of precision (Fig. 2B. Col. 15. Ln. 21 – 22 confirm that the f(r), f(s) and S values are accurate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Watanabe in view of Quist combining the computer implemented method for estimating the power output of an electric motor taught by Watanabe in view of Quist with a reference ration wherein, the reference ratio data is estimated by using a slip-based method for estimating the power output at an operating point, in particular where the slip-based method provides a maximum of precision; taught by Quist for the benefit of measuring the output power of a motor in order to provide information about potential failure of the motor [Quist: Col. 4, Ln. 45 – 48 information to develop an updatable statistical model that can provide useful information concerning the operating condition and failure potential of the various motors 11].
Regarding Claim 8, Watanabe in view of Quist teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Watanabe fails to teach, the method according to claim 1, wherein the reference ratio data is estimated by using an interpolation from a large amount of data with a slip-based power output and the ratios of the amplitudes at the given slip-based power outputs.
Quist further teaches, the method according to claim 1, wherein the reference ratio data is estimated by using an interpolation from a large amount of data (Fig. 1. Col. 4. Ln. 48 – 50 global program is adaptive it can "learn" from the information provided to it) with a slip-based power output (Fig. 1. Col. 24. Ln. 4 determine the inertia of the load) and the ratios of the amplitudes (Fig. 2B. Col. 12. Ln. 64 – 65 normalizes the raw information to provide normalized information) at the given slip-based power outputs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Watanabe in view of Quist combining the computer implemented method for estimating the power output of an electric motor taught by Watanabe in view of Quist with a reference ratio wherein, the reference ratio data is estimated by using an interpolation from a large amount of data with a slip-based power output and the ratios of the amplitudes at the given slip-based power outputs; taught by Quist for the benefit of measuring the output power of a motor in order to provide information about potential failure of the motor [Quist: Col. 4, Ln. 45 – 48 information to develop an updatable statistical model that can provide useful information concerning the operating condition and failure potential of the various motors 11].
Regarding Claim 9, Watanabe in view of Quist teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Watanabe further teaches, the method according to claim 1, further comprising controlling an operation point (Fig. 1B, ¶ 47 rate control unit 64 performs adjustment) of the electric motor based on the estimated power output (Fig. 1, ¶ 47 performs adjustment, so that a difference between the corrected reference rotational rate ω cor_ref and the rotational rate ω_fbk becomes 0).
Regarding Claim 10, Watanabe teaches, a system (Fig. 1A, electric motor drive system 1), comprising: an electric motor (Fig. 1A, electric motor 3); a — sensor (Fig. 1B, ¶ 52 current sensor portion 420; ”Note: ¶ 48 FIG. 1B is a configuration diagram of the reference rotational rate correction unit 62 of the embodiment”); and a computing device (Fig. 1, controller 60); wherein the computing device is configured to determine a power output of the electric motor (Fig. 1A, ¶ 22, 26 description, electric motor 3 outputs a rotational driving force), by: — providing magnetic field frequency data based on the magnetic field signal data (Fig. 2, ¶ 59 frequency component data table 621t); determining a fundamental harmonic frequency (Fig. 1, ¶ 22 a frequency of fundamental waves, fundamental frequency f) of the supply frequency of the electric motor; determining at least one further harmonic frequency (Fig. 1, ¶ 54 integer-order harmonic components of the fundamental frequency f) of the fundamental harmonic frequency based on the magnetic field frequency data and/or the magnetic field signal data; determining a ratio (Fig. 2, ¶ 62 normalized) between an amplitude of the at least one further harmonic frequency and an amplitude of the fundamental harmonic frequency (Fig. 2, ¶ 62 fundamental frequency f is used as a reference value; magnitude of the odd-order harmonic component is normalized on the basis of the magnitude of the frequency component of the reference); providing reference ratio data (Fig. 2, ¶ 59 frequency component data table 621t) describing a relation of a ratio between an amplitude of the at least one further harmonic frequency and an amplitude of the fundamental harmonic frequency and a power output (Fig. 1, ¶ 26 a rotational driving force) of the electric motor; and estimating the power output of the electric motor based on the reference ratio data and the determined ratio (Fig. 1, ¶ 62 rotational rate based on reference rotational rate (w %) is represented by a percentage).
Watanabe fails to teach, a system, comprising: an electric motor a magnetic field sensor; and a computing device; wherein the computing device is configured to determine a power output of the electric motor, by: receiving magnetic field signal data from the magnetic field sensor, wherein the magnetic field sensor is arranged and configured to measure a magnetic field of the electric motor; —
In analogous art, Quist teaches, a system (Fig. 1. diagnostic system 10), comprising: an electric motor (Fig. 1. machine 11) a magnetic field sensor (Fig. 2B. electromagnetic flux sensor 36; “Note: Fig 2B is part of Fig 1, Col 8. Ln 14 – 17 As reflected in FIG. 2B, the microprocessor 28, machine 11”); and a computing device (Fig. 2B. main control board 27); wherein the computing device is configured to determine a power output of the electric motor (Fig. 1. Col. 13. Ln. 44 – 45 novel method in accordance with certain aspects of the present invention; Col. 5. Ln. 45 load conditions), by: receiving magnetic field signal data from the magnetic field sensor (Fig. 2B. Col. 8. Ln. 64 – 65 output signals from an electromagnetic flux sensor 36), wherein the magnetic field sensor is arranged and configured to measure a magnetic field (Fig. 2B. Col. 8. Ln. 67 – Col 9. Ln 1 positioned appropriately with respect to the associated machine 11 to detect the magnitude of the flux) of the electric motor; —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Watanabe by combining a system configured to determine a power output of an electric motor taught by Watanabe with a system, comprising: an electric motor a magnetic field sensor; and a computing device; wherein the computing device is configured to determine a power output of the electric motor, by: receiving magnetic field signal data from the magnetic field sensor, wherein the magnetic field sensor is arranged and configured to measure a magnetic field of the electric motor; taught by Quist for the benefit of measuring the output power of a motor in order to provide information about potential failure of the motor [Quist: Col. 4, Ln. 45 – 48 information to develop an updatable statistical model that can provide useful information concerning the operating condition and failure potential of the various motors 11].
Regarding Claim 11, Watanabe in view of Quist teach the limitations of claim 10, which this claim depends on.
Watanabe further teaches, the system according to claim 10, wherein the magnetic field signal data is transformed to magnetic field frequency data by Fast Fourier Transformation (Fig. 1B, ¶ 53 fast Fourier transform unit 623 performs an FFT process (a fast Fourier transform process)) in the computing device.
Regarding Claim 12, Watanabe in view of Quist teach the limitations of claim 10, which this claim depends on.
Watanabe fails to teach, the system according to claim 10, wherein the magnetic field sensor is arranged outside and at a radial distance from the electric motor.
Quist further teaches, the system according to claim 10, wherein the magnetic field sensor is arranged outside and at a radial distance (Fig. 2B. Col. 8. Ln. 67 – Col 9. Ln 1 positioned appropriately with respect to the associated machine 11) from the electric motor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Watanabe in view of Quist by combining a system configured to determine a power output of an electric motor taught by Watanabe in view of Quist with a magnetic field sensor wherein, the magnetic field sensor is arranged outside and at a radial distance from the electric motor; taught by Quist for the benefit of measuring the output power of a motor in order to provide information about potential failure of the motor [Quist: Col. 4, Ln. 45 – 48 information to develop an updatable statistical model that can provide useful information concerning the operating condition and failure potential of the various motors 11].
Regarding Claim 13, Watanabe in view of Quist teach the limitations of claim 10, which this claim depends on.
Watanabe further teaches, the system according to claim 10, wherein the further harmonic frequency is the third harmonic frequency (Fig. 2, ¶ 62 items of the 3f detection value, correspond to the third-order, harmonic components).
Regarding Claim 14, Watanabe in view of Quist teach the limitations of claim 10, which this claim depends on.
Watanabe further teaches, the system according to claim 10, wherein two or more harmonic frequencies (Fig. 1, ¶ 54 integer-order harmonic components of the fundamental frequency f) and the respective ratios (Fig. 2, ¶ 62 normalized) between the amplitudes of the two or more harmonic frequencies and an amplitude of the fundamental harmonic frequency are determined (Fig. 2, ¶ 62 fundamental frequency f is used as a reference value; magnitude of the odd-order harmonic component is normalized on the basis of the magnitude of the frequency component of the reference).
Regarding Claim 15, Watanabe in view of Quist teach the limitations of claim 10, which this claim depends on.
Watanabe fails to teach, the system according to claim 10, wherein the reference ratio data is estimated by providing input on actual power output while first measurements are being taken during a test/calibration cycle of the electric motor.
Quist further teaches,15. The system according to claim 10, wherein the reference ratio data is estimated by providing input on actual power output while first measurements are being taken (Fig. 1. Col. 20. Ln. 31 – 32 initial quality of the machine is assessed) during a test/calibration cycle of the electric motor (Fig. 1. Col. 20. Ln. 45 perform initial quality tests).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Watanabe in view of Quist by combining a system configured to determine a power output of an electric motor taught by Watanabe in view of Quist with a system wherein, the reference ratio data is estimated by providing input on actual power output while first measurements are being taken during a test/calibration cycle of the electric motor; taught by Quist for the benefit of measuring the output power of a motor in order to provide information about potential failure of the motor [Quist: Col. 4, Ln. 45 – 48 information to develop an updatable statistical model that can provide useful information concerning the operating condition and failure potential of the various motors 11].
Regarding Claim 16, Watanabe in view of Quist teach the limitations of claim 10, which this claim depends on.
Watanabe fails to teach, the system according to claim 10, wherein the reference ratio data is estimated by using a slip-based method for estimating the power output at an operating point, in particular where the slip-based method provides a maximum of precision.
Quist further teaches, the system according to claim 10, wherein the reference ratio data is estimated by using a slip-based method (Fig. 2B. Col. 13. Ln. 47 – 51 rotational frequency of the rotor f(r), synchronous speed of the stator field f(s), "slip" S of the machine, S=(f(s)-f(r))/f(s)) for estimating the power output at an operating point (Fig. 2B. Col. 13. Ln. 53 – 54 S will vary from a value of 1 at start-up to a value approaching zero), in particular where the slip-based method provides a maximum of precision (Fig. 2B. Col. 15. Ln. 21 – 22 confirm that the f(r), f(s) and S values are accurate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Watanabe in view of Quist by combining a system configured to determine a power output of an electric motor taught by Watanabe in view of Quist with a system wherein, the reference ratio data is estimated by using a slip-based method for estimating the power output at an operating point, in particular where the slip-based method provides a maximum of precision; taught by Quist for the benefit of measuring the output power of a motor in order to provide information about potential failure of the motor [Quist: Col. 4, Ln. 45 – 48 information to develop an updatable statistical model that can provide useful information concerning the operating condition and failure potential of the various motors 11].
Regarding Claim 17, Watanabe in view of Quist teach the limitations of claim 10, which this claim depends on.
Watanabe fails to teach, the system according to claim 10, wherein the reference ratio data is estimated in the computing device by using an interpolation from a large amount of data with a slip-based power output and the ratios of the amplitudes at the given slip-based power outputs.
Quist further teaches, the system according to claim 10, wherein the reference ratio data is estimated in the computing device by using an interpolation from a large amount of data (Fig. 1. Col. 4. Ln. 48 – 50 global program is adaptive it can "learn" from the information provided to it) with a slip-based power output (Fig. 1. Col. 24. Ln. 4 determine the inertia of the load) and the ratios of the amplitudes (Fig. 2B. Col. 12. Ln. 64 – 65 normalizes the raw information to provide normalized information) at the given slip-based power outputs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Watanabe in view of Quist by combining a system configured to determine a power output of an electric motor taught by Watanabe in view of Quist with a refence ratio wherein, the reference ratio data is estimated in the computing device by using an interpolation from a large amount of data with a slip-based power output and the ratios of the amplitudes at the given slip-based power outputs; taught by Quist for the benefit of measuring the output power of a motor in order to provide information about potential failure of the motor [Quist: Col. 4, Ln. 45 – 48 information to develop an updatable statistical model that can provide useful information concerning the operating condition and failure potential of the various motors 11].
Regarding Claim 18, Watanabe in view of Quist teach the limitations of claim 10, which this claim depends on.
Watanabe further teaches, the system according to claim 10, further comprising using the computing device to control an operation point (Fig. 1B, ¶ 47 rate control unit 64 performs adjustment) of the electric motor based on the estimated power output (Fig. 1, ¶ 47 performs adjustment, so that a difference between the corrected reference rotational rate ω cor_ref and the rotational rate ω_fbk becomes 0).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
SATO (US 2019/0068030 A1) teaches, an electric motor (Fig. 4, a motor 20); a magnetic field sensor (Fig. 4, magnetic sensors 511 and 512); and a computing device (Fig. 4, controller 30); wherein the computing device is configured to determine a power output (Fig. 4, a three-phase drive electric power) of the electric motor
/JOSEPH O. NYAMOGO/
Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 1/9/2026