Claims 1-20 are examined in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1) as being anticipated by Deville et al. (US Patent No. 10,531,883 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Deville discloses a thrombectomy catheter (catheter 600, Fig. 56) and pump assembly (vacuum source 610, Fig. 56), the assembly (thrombectomy system 400, Fig. 47) comprising:
a thrombectomy catheter (catheter 600, Fig. 56);
a pump (vacuum source 610, Fig. 56);
a connection manifold assembly (manifold 630, Fig. 56) positioned between the thrombectomy catheter and the pump (Fig. 56);
an effluent return tube (extension line 674, Fig. 56) fluidly coupled to the thrombectomy catheter and the connection manifold assembly ("… a catheter 600 defines a working lumen 662 fluidically connecting a distal end 664 thereof to a proximal manifold connector assembly 670 …" - Para [154]);
an effluent collection bag (collection canister 612, Fig. 55);
an effluent waste tube fluidly coupled to the connection manifold assembly and the effluent collection bag (See annotated Fig. 55); and
a valve (valve 620, Fig. 55) positioned in line with the effluent waste tube (Fig. 55).
Regarding claim 2, Deville discloses the thrombectomy catheter (catheter 600, Fig. 56) and pump assembly (vacuum source 610, Fig. 56), the assembly (thrombectomy system 400, Fig. 47) recited above wherein:
the valve (valve 620, Fig. 55) is configured to selectively ("The controller 700 selectively opens and closes the vacuum and vent valve 620 …" - Para [155]) allow a flow of effluent ("Fluid rushes into the distal end 664 of the catheter 660 and into the canister of the vacuum source 610 while the vacuum valve 620 is open … When the vacuum valve is closed, the sudden stop of flow ..." - Para [160]) from the thrombectomy catheter (catheter 660, Fig. 55) to the effluent collection bag (collection canister, Fig. 55) during use of the thrombectomy catheter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6, 8-11, 14-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deville et al. (US Patent No. 10,531,883 B1) in view of Hanlon (US Pub No 2022/0233759 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Deville discloses the thrombectomy catheter (catheter 600, Fig. 56) and pump assembly (vacuum source 610, Fig. 56), the assembly (thrombectomy system 400, Fig. 47) recited above wherein:
the valve is a spool valve ("Configurations for the valves include spool valves …" - Para [155]) comprising a valve body (valve body 422, Fig. 31) defining an interior lumen (vent lumen 424, Fig. 31) and
Deville does not expressly disclose a spool movably disposed within the interior lumen.
Hanlon teaches a spool (spool 156, Fig. 4) movably disposed within the interior lumen ("a spool that is movable within the bore …" - Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the assembly of Deville to include a spool movably disposed within the interior lumen as taught by Hanlon to control fluid flow (Hanlon, Para [0010]).
Regarding claim 4, Deville discloses the thrombectomy catheter (catheter 600, Fig. 56) and pump assembly (vacuum source 610, Fig. 56), the assembly (thrombectomy system 400, Fig. 47) recited above wherein:
Deville does not expressly disclose that the spool further comprises an annular groove extending about a circumference of the spool, the annular groove positioned between a first end of the spool and a second end of the spool.
Hanlon teaches that the spool (spool 156, Fig. 4) further comprises an annular groove (groove 162a, Fig. 4) extending about a circumference of the spool (Fig. 4), the annular groove positioned between a first end of the spool (base 156a, Fig. 4) and a second end of the spool (See annotated Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include to modify Deville to include that the spool further comprises an annular groove extending about a circumference of the spool, the annular groove positioned between a first end of the spool and a second end of the spool as taught by Hanlon to provide translational or sliding movement to the spool (Hanlon, Para [0037]).
Regarding claim 5, Deville discloses the thrombectomy catheter (catheter 600, Fig. 56) and pump assembly (vacuum source 610, Fig. 56), the assembly (thrombectomy system 400, Fig. 47) recited above wherein:
the spool valve (valve 620, Fig. 55) is fluidly coupled to the effluent waste tube (See annotated Fig. 55) downstream of the connection manifold assembly (manifold 630, See annotated Fig. 55) and coupled to the effluent waste tube (See annotated Fig. 55) upstream of the effluent collection bag (collection canister 612, See Fig. 55).
Deville does not expressly disclose that the spool valve includes an effluent inlet port and an effluent outlet port
Hanlon teaches that the spool valve includes an effluent inlet port (port 154d, Fig. 3) and an effluent outlet port (port 154f, Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the assembly of Deville to include that the spool valve includes an effluent inlet port and an effluent outlet port as taught by Hanlon so the respective ports may be placed in fluid communication with different components of the irrigation device (Hanlon, Para [0034]).
Regarding claim 6, Deville discloses the thrombectomy catheter (catheter 600, Fig. 56) and pump assembly (vacuum source 610, Fig. 56), the assembly (thrombectomy system 400, Fig. 47) recited above wherein:
Deville does not expressly disclose that the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port are positioned on opposite sides of the valve body.
Hanlon teaches that the effluent inlet port (a third port 154c, Fig. 3) and the effluent outlet port (a sixth port 154f, Fig. 3) are positioned on opposite sides of the valve body (Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the assembly of Deville to include that the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port are positioned on opposite sides of the valve body as taught by Hanlon so the respective ports may be placed in fluid communication with different components of the irrigation device (Hanlon, Para [0034]).
Regarding claim 8, Deville discloses the thrombectomy catheter (catheter 600, Fig. 56) and pump assembly (vacuum source 610, Fig. 56), the assembly (thrombectomy system 400, Fig. 47) recited above wherein:
Deville does not expressly disclose that the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port are in fluid communication with the interior lumen of the valve body when the valve is in an open position, and wherein the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port are fluidly isolated from the interior lumen of the valve body when the valve is in a closed position.
Hanlon teaches that the effluent inlet port (port 154f, Fig. 7) and the effluent outlet port (port 154g, Fig. 7) are in fluid communication with the interior lumen of the valve body ("… a plurality of ports 154a-154g spaced apart along and in fluid communication with the bore 152 …" - Para [0047]) when the valve is in an open position (Fig. 7), and wherein the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port are fluidly isolated from the interior lumen of the valve body ("… port 154f … is closed … and port 154g ... is closed …" - Para [0039]) when the valve is in a closed position (Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the assembly of Deville to include the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port are in fluid communication with the interior lumen of the valve body when the valve is in an open position, and wherein the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port are fluidly isolated from the interior lumen of the valve body when the valve is in a closed position as taught by Hanlon to control fluid flow (Hanlon, Para [0038]).
Regarding claim 9, Deville discloses the thrombectomy catheter (catheter 600, Fig. 56) and pump assembly (vacuum source 610, Fig. 56), the assembly (thrombectomy system 400, Fig. 47) recited above wherein:
Deville does not expressly disclose that the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port are in fluid communication with the interior lumen of the valve body when an annular groove of the spool is aligned with the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port
Hanlon teaches that the effluent inlet port (port 154f, Fig. 7) and the effluent outlet port (port 154g, Fig. 7) are in fluid communication with the interior lumen of the valve body (Fig. 7) when an annular groove (groove 162b, Fig. 7) of the spool is aligned with the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port ("… port 154f … and port 154g … are in fluid communication via groove 162b …" - Para [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the assembly of Deville to include that the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port are in fluid communication with the interior lumen of the valve body when an annular groove of the spool is aligned with the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port as taught by Hanlon to control fluid flow (Hanlon, Para [0038]).
Regarding claim 10, Deville discloses the thrombectomy catheter (catheter 600, Fig. 56) and pump assembly (vacuum source 610, Fig. 56), the assembly (thrombectomy system 400, Fig. 47) recited above wherein:
Deville does not expressly disclose that the spool valve includes a fluid inlet port.
Hanlon teaches that the spool valve (spool valve 113, Fig. 3) includes a fluid inlet port (port 154b, Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the assembly of Deville to include that the spool valve includes a fluid inlet port as taught by Hanlon so the respective ports may be placed in fluid communication with different components of the irrigation device (Hanlon, Para [0034]).
Regarding claim 11, Deville discloses the thrombectomy catheter (catheter 600, Fig. 56) and pump assembly (vacuum source 610, Fig. 56), the assembly (thrombectomy system 400, Fig. 47) recited above further comprising:
Deville does not expressly disclose that an aperture extending through a wall of the spool such that the fluid inlet port is in communication with either the effluent outlet port or a fluid outlet port.
Hanlon teaches that an aperture extending through a wall of the spool (groove 162a, Fig. 6) such that the fluid inlet port (port 154b, Fig. 6) is in communication with either the effluent outlet port or a fluid outlet port ("… port 154b … and port 154c … are in fluid communication via groove 162a …" - Para [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the assembly of Deville to include that an aperture extending through a wall of the spool such that the fluid inlet port is in communication with either the effluent outlet port or a fluid outlet port as taught by so the respective ports may be placed in fluid communication with different components of the irrigation device (Hanlon, Para [0034]).
Regarding claim 14, Deville discloses the thrombectomy catheter (catheter 600, Fig. 56) and pump assembly (vacuum source 610, Fig. 56), the assembly (thrombectomy system 400, Fig. 47) recited above further comprising:
Deville does not expressly first and second O-rings positioned between an outer surface of the spool and an inner surface of the valve body.
Hanlon teaches first (circumferential seal 166a, Fig. 6) and second (circumferential seal 166d, Fig. 6) O-rings ("… a plurality of circumferential seals 164a-164h, such as O-ring seals …" - Para [0036]) positioned between an outer surface of the spool (See annotated Fig. 6) and an inner surface of the valve body (See annotated Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the assembly of Deville to include first and second O-rings positioned between an outer surface of the spool and an inner surface of the valve body as taught by Hanlon to control fluid flow (Hanlon, Para [0038]).
Regarding claim 15, Deville discloses the thrombectomy catheter (catheter 600, Fig. 56) and pump assembly (vacuum source 610, Fig. 56), the assembly (thrombectomy system 400, Fig. 47) recited above wherein:
Deville does not expressly that when the valve is in a closed configuration the effluent inlet port is positioned between the first and second O-rings
Hanlon teaches that when the valve is in a closed configuration (Fig. 6) the effluent inlet port (port 154b, Fig. 6) is positioned between the first (circumferential seal 166a, Fig. 6) and second (circumferential seal 166d, Fig. 6) O-rings ("… a plurality of circumferential seals 164a-164h, such as O-ring seals …" - Para [0036], Fig. 6)
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the assembly of Deville to include when the valve is in a closed configuration the effluent inlet port is positioned between the first and second O-rings as taught by Hanlon to control fluid flow (Hanlon, Para [0038]).
Regarding claim 16, Deville discloses a thrombectomy catheter (catheter 600, Fig. 56) and pump assembly (vacuum source 610, Fig. 56), the assembly (thrombectomy system 400, Fig. 47) comprising:
a thrombectomy catheter (catheter 600, Fig. 56);
a pump (vacuum source 610, Fig. 56);
a connection manifold assembly (manifold 360, Fig. 56) positioned between the thrombectomy catheter and the pump (Fig. 56)
an effluent return tube (extension line 674, Fig. 56) fluidly coupled to the thrombectomy catheter and the connection manifold assembly ("… a catheter 600 defines a working lumen 662 fluidically connecting a distal end 664 thereof to a proximal manifold connector assembly 670 …" - Para [154]);
an effluent collection bag (collection canister 612, Fig. 55);
an effluent waste tube (See annotated Fig. 55) fluidly coupled to the connection manifold assembly and the effluent collection bag ("… to move the fluid in the manifold 630 and in the lumen 662 proximally into the collection canister 612 …" - Para [162]); and
a spool valve ("Configurations for the valves include spool valves …" - Para [155])
positioned in line with the effluent waste tube (See annotated Fig. 55 above), the spool valve comprising:
a valve body (valve 620, Fig. 55);
in fluid communication with a first portion of the effluent waste tube (See annotated Fig. 55); and in fluid communication with a second portion of the effluent waste tube (See annotated Fig. 55);
Deville does not expressly disclose an effluent inlet port, an effluent outlet port; and
a fluid inlet port, the fluid inlet port at least substantially fluidly isolated from the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port; and a spool movably disposed within an interior lumen of the valve body; wherein the spool is configured to move between a closed configuration configured to fluidly isolate the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port from one another and an open configuration configured to fluidly couple the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port
Hanlon teaches an effluent inlet port (port 154f, Fig. 7), an effluent outlet port
(port 154g, Fig. 7); and a fluid inlet port (port 154b, Fig. 6), the fluid inlet port at least substantially fluidly isolated from the effluent inlet port (port 154f, Fig. 7) (Fig. 8) and the effluent outlet port (154g, Fig. 7); and a spool (spool 156, Fig. 4) movably disposed within an interior lumen of the valve body ("a spool that is movable within the bore …" - Abstract); wherein the spool is configured to move between a closed configuration (Fig. 8) configured to fluidly isolate the effluent inlet port (port 154f, Fig. 7) and the effluent outlet port (port 154g, Fig. 7) from one another and an open configuration (Fig. 7) configured to fluidly couple the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention, to modify the assembly of Deville to include an effluent inlet port, an effluent outlet port; and a fluid inlet port, the fluid inlet port at least substantially fluidly isolated from the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port; and a spool movably disposed within an interior lumen of the valve body; wherein the spool is configured to move between a closed configuration configured to fluidly isolate the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port from one another and an open configuration configured to fluidly couple the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port as taught by Hanlon so the respective ports may be placed in fluid communication with different components of the irrigation device (Hanlon, Para [0034]).
Regarding claim 18, Deville discloses the thrombectomy catheter (catheter 600, Fig. 56) and pump assembly (vacuum source 610, Fig. 56), the assembly (thrombectomy system 400, Fig. 47) recited above, wherein
when the valve (valve 620, Fig. 55) is in the open position effluent flows freely ("switching of these valves 620 … causes the fluid in the manifold and the lumen 662 proximally into the collection canister 612 …" - Para [162]) from the thrombectomy catheter (catheter 600, Fig. 56) to the effluent collection bag (collection canister 612, Fig. 55).
Deville does not expressly disclose that when the spool is in the open position the effluent flows freely
Hanlon teaches when the spool (spool 156, Fig. 4) is in the open position effluent flows freely.
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the assembly of Deville to include that when the spool is in the open position the effluent flows freely as taught by Hanlon so the respective ports may be placed in fluid communication with different components of the irrigation device (Hanlon, Para [0034]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deville et al. (US Patent No. 10,531,883 B1) in view of Hanlon (US Pub No 2022/0233759 A1) and Chang (US Patent No. 11,066,291 B1).
Regarding claim 7, Deville discloses the thrombectomy catheter (catheter 600, Fig. 56) and pump assembly (vacuum source 610, Fig. 56), the assembly (thrombectomy system 400, Fig. 47) recited above, wherein
Deville does not expressly disclose that the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port extend at a generally orthogonal angle to one another.
Chang teaches that the effluent inlet port (inlet 123, Fig. 1) and the effluent outlet port (outlet 122, Fig. 1) extend at a generally orthogonal angle to one another (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the assembly of Deville to include that the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port extend at a generally orthogonal angle to one another as taught by Chang to selectively direct fluid (Chang, Para [12]).
Claim(s) 12-13, 17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deville et al. (US Patent No. 10,531,883 B1) and Hanlon (US Pub No 2022/0233759 A1) in further view of Duchon et al. (WO 02/064195).
Regarding claim 12, Deville discloses the thrombectomy catheter (catheter 600, Fig. 56) and pump assembly (vacuum source 610, Fig. 56), the assembly (thrombectomy system 400, Fig. 47) recited above, further comprising
wherein a flow of effluent from the thrombectomy catheter to the effluent collection bag is permitted when the valve is in the open position ("Fluid rushes into the distal end 664 of the catheter 660 and into the canister of the vacuum source 610 while the vacuum valve 620 is open …” – Para [160]) and a flow of effluent from the thrombectomy catheter to the effluent collection bag is prevented when the valve is in the closed position ("… When the vacuum valve is closed, the sudden stop of flow …" - Para [160]).
Deville does not expressly disclose that a fluid inlet tube in fluid communication with an
interior of the valve, wherein a fluid passing through the fluid inlet tube into the interior of the valve actuates the valve from a closed position to an open position;
Hanlon teaches that a fluid inlet tube (port 154b, Fig. 6) in fluid communication with an
interior of the valve ("… an elongated bore 152 is in fluid communication with a plurality of ports 154a-154g …" - Para [0034]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention, to modify the assembly of Deville to include a fluid inlet tube in fluid communication with an interior of the valve, wherein a fluid passing through the fluid inlet tube into the interior of the valve actuates the valve from a closed position to an open position as taught by Hanlon so the respective ports may be placed in fluid communication with different components of the irrigation device (Hanlon, Para [0034]).
Hanlon does not expressly disclose wherein a fluid passing through the fluid inlet tube into the interior of the valve actuates the valve from a closed position to an open position;
Duchon teaches that wherein a fluid ("… opens fluid communication …" - Para [0038]) passing through the fluid inlet tube (second end 30, Fig. 1) into the interior of the valve (manifold 22, Fig. 1) ("An example of this type of patient manifold is the spring-loaded spool valve …" - Para [0038]) actuates the valve from a closed position to an open position ("… when a predetermined amount of positive fluid pressure is generated by the syringe 36, the fluid pressure … opens fluid communication between the syringe 36 and the output line 26." - Para [0038]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the assembly of Deville to include wherein a fluid passing through the fluid inlet tube into the interior of the valve actuates the valve from a closed position to an open position as taught by Duchon to deliver saline to the output line (Duchon, Para [0038]).
Regarding claim 13, Deville discloses the thrombectomy catheter (catheter 600, Fig. 56) and pump assembly (vacuum source 610, Fig. 56), the assembly (thrombectomy system 400, Fig. 47) recited above, wherein
Deville does not expressly disclose that the valve is a spool valve including a spool movable between the open position and the closed position, wherein the fluid passing through the fluid inlet tube into the interior of the valve is configured to move the spool from the closed position to the open position
Hanlon teaches that the valve is a spool valve (spool valve 113, Fig. 3) including a spool (spool 156, Fig. 4) movable between the open position and the closed position ("… moving the spool to a first position …" - Para [0017], Fig. 7), wherein the fluid passing through the fluid inlet tube (port 154b, Fig. 6) into the interior of the valve ("… an elongated bore 152 is in fluid communication with a plurality of ports 154a-154g …" - Para [0034])
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the assembly of Deville to include that the valve is a spool valve including a spool movable between the open position and the closed position, wherein the fluid passing through the fluid inlet tube into the interior of the valve is configured to move the spool from the closed position to the open position as taught by Hanlon so the respective ports may be placed in fluid communication with different components of the irrigation device (Hanlon, Para [0034]).
Hanlon does not expressly disclose that the fluid is configured to move the spool from the position to the open position
Duchon teaches that the fluid is configured to move the spool from the position to the open position ("… when a predetermined amount of positive fluid pressure is generated by the syringe 36, the fluid pressure … opens fluid communication between the syringe 36 and the output line 26." - Para [0038])
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the assembly of Deville to include that the fluid is configured to move the spool from the position to the open position as taught by Duchon to deliver saline to the output line (Duchon, Para [0038]).
Regarding claim 17, Deville discloses the thrombectomy catheter (catheter 600, Fig. 56) and pump assembly (vacuum source 610, Fig. 56), the assembly (thrombectomy system 400, Fig. 47) recited above, wherein
Deville in view of Hanlon does not expressly disclose that a flow of fluid into the fluid inlet port during operation of the thrombectomy catheter is configured to move the spool from the closed configuration to the open configuration.
Duchon teaches that a flow of fluid ("… opens fluid communication …" - Para [0038]) into the fluid inlet port (second end 30, Fig. 1) during operation of the thrombectomy catheter (catheter 48, Fig. 1) is configured to move the spool from the closed configuration to the open configuration ("… when a predetermined amount of positive fluid pressure is generated by the syringe 36, the fluid pressure … opens fluid communication between the syringe 36 and the output line 26." - Para [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the assembly of Deville to include that a flow of fluid into the fluid inlet port during operation of the thrombectomy catheter is configured to move the spool from the closed configuration to the open configuration as taught by Duchon to deliver saline to the output line (Duchon, Para [0038]).
Regarding claim 19, Deville discloses a thrombectomy system, the system comprising:
a drive unit (drive assembly 500, Fig. 29, "… drive assembly 500 comprises … a motor controller assembly 550." - Para [124]);
a pump (vacuum source 610, Fig. 56) driven by the drive unit ("… the controller could actuate a peristaltic pump …" - Para [201]);
a fluid inflow pump (vacuum pump 80, Fig. 23), the fluid inflow pump driven by the drive unit ("… the controller could actuate a peristaltic pump …" - Para [201]);
a thrombectomy catheter (catheter 600, Fig. 56), the fluid inflow pump configured to provide fluid inflow through the thrombectomy catheter ("… operation of the suction pump causes fluid and particulates at the distal end of the catheter to enter the distal opening of the hollow lumen and travel to the proximal end of the lumen near or into the suction pump." - Para [4]);
an effluent collection bag (collection canister 612, Fig. 55);
an effluent waste tube fluidly extending between the thrombectomy catheter and the effluent collection bag (See annotated Fig. 55) for passing an effluent from the thrombectomy catheter to the effluent collection bag ("… to move the fluid in the manifold 630 and in the lumen 662 proximally into the collection canister 612 …" - Para [162]; and
a valve (valve 620, Fig. 55) positioned in line with the effluent waste tube upstream of the effluent collection bag (See annotated Fig. 55)
Deville does not expressly disclose a roller pump; the valve comprising: a valve body;
an effluent inlet port; an effluent outlet port; a fluid inlet port fluidly coupled to a fluid inlet tube, the fluid inlet port at least substantially fluidly isolated from the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port; and wherein a portion of the fluid inlet tube is disposed within the roller pump; wherein the valve is configured to move between a closed configuration configured to fluidly isolate the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port from one another and an open configuration configured to fluidly couple the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port in response to a flow of fluid through the fluid inlet tube by activation of the roller pump
Hanlon teaches that a valve body (spool valve 113, Fig. 2); an effluent inlet port (port 154f, Fig. 7); an effluent outlet port (port 154g, Fig. 7); a fluid inlet port (port 154b, Fig. 6) fluidly coupled to a fluid inlet tube, the fluid inlet port at least substantially fluidly isolated from the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port (Fig. 8); wherein the valve is configured to move between a closed configuration (Fig. 8) configured to fluidly isolate the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port from one another and an open configuration (Fig. 7) configured to fluidly couple the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the assembly of Deville to include the valve comprising: a valve body;
an effluent inlet port; an effluent outlet port; a fluid inlet port fluidly coupled to a fluid inlet tube, the fluid inlet port at least substantially fluidly isolated from the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port; wherein the valve is configured to move between a closed configuration configured to fluidly isolate the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port from one another and an open configuration configured to fluidly couple the effluent inlet port and the effluent outlet port as taught by Hanlon so the respective ports may be placed in fluid communication with different components of the irrigation device (Hanlon, Para [0034]).
Hanlon does not expressly disclose that wherein a portion of the fluid inlet tube is disposed within the roller pump; the valve is configured to move in response to a flow of fluid through the fluid inlet tube by activation of the roller pump
Duchon teaches a roller pump ("One skilled in the art will see that any pump substituted for the peristaltic pump 62 …" - Para [0047]); wherein a portion of the fluid inlet tube (saline line 24, Fig. 1) is disposed within the roller pump (peristaltic pump 62, Fig. 1)(“… the saline line 24 is fed through a pump …” – Para [0038]); the valve is configured to move in response to a flow of fluid through the fluid inlet tube (saline line 24, Fig. 1) ("… when a predetermined amount of positive fluid pressure is generated by the syringe 36, the fluid pressure … opens fluid communication between the syringe 36 and the output line 26." - Para [0038]) by activation of the roller pump ("... an automatic pump may be used to pump liquid to the waste bag 60." - Para [0041])
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the assembly of Deville in view of Hanlon to include a roller pump; wherein a portion of the fluid inlet tube is disposed within the roller pump; the valve is configured to move in response to a flow of fluid through the fluid inlet tube by activation of the roller pump as taught by Duchon for removal by aspiration (Duchon, Para [4]).
Regarding claim 20, Deville discloses the thrombectomy catheter (catheter 600, Fig. 56) and pump assembly (vacuum source 610, Fig. 56), the assembly (thrombectomy system 400, Fig. 47) recited above, wherein
Deville does not expressly disclose that the valve is a spool valve having a spool movably disposed within an interior lumen of the valve, wherein the spool is moved to the open position via pressure of the fluid in the fluid inlet tube
Hanlon teaches that the valve is a spool valve (spool valve 113, Fig. 2) having a spool (spool 156, Fig. 4) movably disposed within an interior lumen of the valve ("a spool that is movable within the bore …" - Abstract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the assembly of Deville to include that the valve is a spool valve having a spool movably disposed within an interior lumen of the valve as taught by Hanlon so the respective ports may be placed in fluid communication with different components of the irrigation device (Hanlon, Para [0034])
Hanlon does not expressly disclose that wherein the spool is moved to the open position via pressure of the fluid in the fluid inlet tube
Duchon teaches that wherein the spool is moved to the open position via pressure of the fluid in the fluid inlet tube ("… when a predetermined amount of positive fluid pressure is generated by the syringe 36, the fluid pressure … opens fluid communication between the syringe 36 and the output line 26." - Para [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the assembly of Deville in view of Hanlon to include that wherein the spool is moved to the open position via pressure of the fluid in the fluid inlet tube as taught by Duchon for removal by aspiration (Duchon, Para [4]).
Conclusion
/ESHA PRAKASH KASHYAP/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/CHELSEA E STINSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783