DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I and claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 04/16/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that both inventions relate to exemplary aspects of a heating assembly for a water heater. This is not found persuasive because Invention II and claims 11-18 are not drawn to a water heater appliance. They are broadly drawn to a refrigeration system that is not specific to water heating and therefore is classified separate from the water heater appliance of Invention I.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-18 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 04/16/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bailey (US 2018/0017286 A1) in view of Teraki (JP 2016-205682 A).
Regarding claim 1, Bailey discloses a water heater appliance (Bailey 100) comprising:
A housing (Bailey 159);
A tank (Bailey 112) attached to the housing, the tank defining an interior volume (Bailey 114);
A refrigeration system (Bailey 120) comprising a sealed refrigerant loop in thermal communication with the tank to heat the interior volume (Bailey [0023]);
An electronics board (Bailey 150) attached to the housing apart from the tank (see Bailey figure 1);
Bailey is silent regarding a conductive interface proximal to the electronics board and a conduction line extending between the conductive interface and the sealed refrigerant loop to convey waste heat away from the electronics board to the sealed refrigerant loop.
However, Teraki teaches a cooling system for electrical components comprising an electronics board (Teraki 61) comprising heat generating components (Teraki 63), a conductive interface (Teraki 90, outer surface contacting heat generating components, see translation [0048]) proximal to the electronics board and spaced apart from the sealed refrigerant loop, the conductive interface comprising a plurality of fins (Teraki 91b and 92b); and a conduction line (Teraki 91a and 91b) extending between the conductive interface and the sealed refrigerant loop (see Teraki figures 1 and 2, examiner notes cooling pipe 15 is part of the refrigerant loop).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Bailey’s water heater appliance to incorporate Teraki’s teachings of cooling an electronics board utilizing a conductive interface and a conduction line in communication with a refrigerant loop to produce a predictable result of providing improved cooling for the electronics board to improve performance.
Regarding claim 3, Bailey and Teraki as applied to claim 1 teach the conductive interface (Teraki 90, outer surface) is connected to the electronics board (see Teraki figure 2) in conductive thermal communication therewith to draw heat from the electronics board to the conductive interface (Teraki translation [0010]).
Regarding claim 4, Bailey and Teraki as applied to claim 1 teach the conduction line is clipped to the sealed refrigerant loop by a refrigerant jacket (Teraki 80).
Regarding claim 5, Bailey and Teraki as applied to claim 1 teach the conduction line extends from a first end proximal to the conductive interface (see Teraki figure 2) to a second end proximal to the sealed refrigerant loop (see Teraki figure 2) and above the first end (see Teraki figure 2),
Regarding claim 6, Bailey and Teraki as applied to claim 5 teach the sealed refrigerant loop comprises an evaporator (Teraki 31), and wherein the second end of the conduction line is proximal to the evaporator (see Teraki figure 1) and in conductive thermal communication therewith (Teraki translation [0039], Examiner notes the cooling pipe must be in thermal communication with the evaporator to provide cooling).
Regarding claim 10, Bailey and Teraki as applied to claim 1 teach the electronics board and conduction line are disposed directly above the tank (see Bailey figure 2).
Double Patenting
Claim 1, 2, and 4-10 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 2, and 4-10 of copending Application No. 18/461185 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because The corresponding claims of the copending application recite each limitation with the only difference being the use of the term "heat pipe" instead of "conduction line" however a heat pipe conducts heat and therefore is being interpreted as reading upon the present claims which recite "conduction line".
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, and 7-9 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Current prior art of record teaches the conductive interface and conduction line are integral together and therefore it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to separate the two as recited in claim 2. Further while Weyant (US 9,952,000 B1) teaches a heat pipe comprising conductor wings it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Teraki’s conduction line structure which is in direct contact with the refrigerant loop to be directly attached to the evaporator .
Conclusion
/CHARLES R BRAWNER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/HELENA KOSANOVIC/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762