Claim Status
This office action is in response to the amendment and remarks submitted 7/1/2026.
Claims 1 has been amended; support is found in figure 8.
Claims 8 and 9 have been added; support is found in figures 8 and 9.
Claims 1-9 are currently pending.
Specification
The amendment to the specification/abstract and title are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nansaka et al. (US 2015/0325885 A1) in view of Yamada et al. (US 12308394 B2).
As to claim 1, Nansaka discloses a battery, comprising:
a flat-shaped wound electrode assembly (20) in which a positive electrode (40) formed in a strip-like shape and a negative electrode (50) formed in a strip-like shape are wound via a separator (62) formed in a strip-like shape (Figure 1),
wherein the wound electrode assembly comprises a first bent area (24b) arranged at one end part side and a second bent area (24a) arranged at the other end part side (figure 1),
a flat area (22) positioned between the first bent area (24b) and the second bent area (24a), the flat area (22) comprising one flat surface (12) on one side of the wound electrode assembly and another flat surface (12) on an opposite side of the wound electrode assembly in a thickness direction of the wound electrode assembly (figure 1),
in a case where, regarding a cross-section view of the wound electrode assembly cut in a direction orthogonal to a wound axis, a straight line extending in a direction perpendicular to the thickness direction of the wound electrode assembly is treated as a straight-line A (see annotated figure below),
the first bent area comprises a first area positioned at the one side of the wound electrode assembly with the straight-line A as a first boundary, and a second area positioned at the opposite side of the wound electrode assembly with the straight-line A as the first boundary (see annotated figure below),
a winding-end end part of the positive electrode and a winding-end end part of the negative electrode are positioned on the first area, (see figure below)
a winding-start end part of the positive electrode and a winding-start end part of the negative electrode are positioned at the flat area at one side of the wound axis of the wound electrode assembly as a second boundary between the first bent area and the second bent area, and (figure 1 the winding start is in the flat area 22).
Nansaka does not disclose the following:
at least a winding-end end part of the separator positioned on the outermost surface of the wound electrode assembly is positioned on the second bent area
a winding-start end part of the separator is positioned at the flat area at the other side of the wound axis of the wound electrode assembly as the second boundary between the first bent area and the second bent area.
Yamada et al. discloses a wound battery and teaches at least a winding-end end part of the separator (20e) positioned on the outermost surface of the wound electrode assembly is positioned on the second bent area (right end of figure 10) (col. 8 lines 12-20) and
a winding-start end part of the separator is positioned at the flat area at the other side of the wound axis of the wound electrode assembly as the second boundary between the first bent area and the second bent area. (figure 10, col. 8, lines 38-46). Yamada teaches such a configuration can prevent a liquid containing property of an inner peripheral portion of the first bending region 3b from decreasing by the winding fastening tape 80.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include the start and end of the separator in the claimed areas because this configuration can prevent a liquid containing property of an inner peripheral portion of the first bending region 3b from decreasing by the winding fastening tape.
As to claim 2, Nansaka discloses the battery according to claim 1, further comprising:
a battery case (10-casing) that is configured to accommodate the wound electrode assembly (20) [0049], wherein
the battery case (10) comprises an outer package (10) [0049] having a boxlike shape formed of aluminum or stainless steel including flat surface 12 and curved surfaces 14 but does not explicitly state a bottom or sealing plate.
Yamada et al. further teaches a box like case (100-figure 1) explicitly stating
comprising a bottom wall (1a), a pair of first side walls (1c,1b), a pair of second side walls (1d, 1e) and an opening, and comprises a sealing plate (2) configured to seal the opening (figure 1- col. 3 lines 14-30)
the wound electrode assembly (3) is arranged inside the battery case (figure 2) so as to make the wound axis of the wound electrode assembly be in a direction perpendicular to the bottom wall (figure 2).
The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results see MPEP § 2143, A In this case, having a bottom wall and sealing plate would still allow the case to be sealed.
As to claim 5. Modified Nansaka discloses the battery according to claim 1, but is silent to wherein a thickness of the wound electrode assembly is equal to or more than 10 cm.
However, it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In re Rose 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); In Gardner V. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
As to claim 7. Modified Nansaka discloses the battery according to claim 1, and further teaches wherein a winding-end tape (80) is arranged at the winding-end end part of the separator, and the winding-end tape is arranged on the straight-line A. (figure 10 of Yamada).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application as effectively filed to include the tape because this would secure the electrode from unwinding.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nansaka et al. (US 2015/0325885 A1) in view of Yamada et al. (US 12308394 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Okamoto (US 2006/0088762 A1).
As to claim 3. Modified Nansaka et al. discloses the battery according to claim 1, but is silent to wherein the separator and at least one of the positive electrode and the negative electrode are adhered with an adhesion layer.
Okamoto et al. discloses a wound electrode group (generating element) and includes an adhesive layer between the separator and the positive and the negative electrode plates [0011]. By doing this there is improved safety while ensuring discharge performance [0008].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application
was effectively filed to include an adhesive layer between the electrodes and the separator layer because this improves the safety of the battery
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nansaka et al. (US 2015/0325885 A1) in view of Yamada et al. (US 12308394 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Umeyama et al. (US 2016/0380299 A1)
Asa to claim 4. Modified Nansaka discloses the battery according to claim 1, but is silent to wherein a length in a direction along the straight-line A of the wound electrode assembly is 3 times or more than a length in a direction along the wound axis of the wound electrode assembly.
Umeyama et al. discloses a battery and teaches a typical battery can be 80-200mm in
length, and thickness of the battery is set to 10-25mm which allows for the length to be 3 times more than the thickness of the battery.
It has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In re Rose 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); In re Gardner V. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied,469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Also see MPEP 2144.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nansaka et al. (US 2015/0325885 A1) in view of Yamada et al. (US 12308394 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kimura et al. (US 2012/0202097 A1).
As to claim 6. Modified Nansaka et al. discloses the battery according to claim 1, wherein but is silent to a winding-start end part of the positive electrode comprises a winding-start end part area, a winding-start end part of the negative electrode comprises a folding area, and in the thickness direction of the wound electrode assembly, the winding-start area and the folding area are overlapped.
Kimura et al. discloses a battery in which a winding-start end part of the positive
electrode comprises a winding-start end part area, a winding-start end part of the negative
electrode comprises a folding area, and in the thickness direction of the wound electrode
assembly, the winding-start area and the folding area are overlapped (see annotated figure
below)
The Supreme Court decided that a claim can be proved obvious merely by showing that the combination of known elements was obvious to try. In this regard, the Supreme Court explained that, "[w]hen there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill in the art has a good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp." An obviousness determination is not the result of a rigid formula disassociated from the consideration of the facts of the case. Indeed, the common sense of those skilled in the art demonstrates why some combinations would have been obvious where others would not. Therefore, choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation for success, is likely to be obvious to a person if ordinary skill in the art. (see MPEP § 2143, E.). In this case, it would have been obvious to have a folded over region included to prevent burrs from the edge of the electrode to piece the separator and short circuit the battery.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nansaka et al. (US 2015/0325885 A1) in view of Yamada et al. (US 12308394 B2), and further in view of Hosokawa et al. (US 2021/0351441 A1)
As to claim 8, Nansaka discloses a battery, comprising:
a flat-shaped wound electrode assembly (20) in which a positive electrode (40) formed in a strip-like shape and a negative electrode (50) formed in a strip-like shape are wound via a separator (62) formed in a strip-like shape (Figure 1),
wherein the wound electrode assembly comprises a first bent area (24b) arranged at one end part side and a second bent area (24a) arranged at the other end part side (figure 1),
a flat area (22) positioned between the first bent area (24b) and the second bent area (24a), the flat area (22) comprising one flat surface (12) on one side of the wound electrode assembly and another flat surface (12) on an opposite side of the wound electrode assembly in a thickness direction of the wound electrode assembly (figure 1),
in a case where, regarding a cross-section view of the wound electrode assembly cut in a direction orthogonal to a wound axis, a straight line extending in a direction perpendicular to the thickness direction of the wound electrode assembly is treated as a straight-line A (see annotated figure below),
the first bent area comprises a first area positioned at the one side of the wound electrode assembly with the straight-line A as a first boundary, and a second area positioned at the opposite side of the wound electrode assembly with the straight-line A as the first boundary (see annotated figure below),
a winding-end end part of the positive electrode and a winding-end end part of the negative electrode are positioned on the first area, (see figure below)
a winding-start end part of the positive electrode and a winding-start end part of the negative electrode are positioned at the flat area at one side of the wound axis of the wound electrode assembly as a second boundary between the first bent area and the second bent area, and (figure 1 the winding start is in the flat area 22).
Nansaka does not disclose the following:
at least a winding-end end part of the separator positioned on the outermost surface of the wound electrode assembly is positioned on the second bent area
a winding-start end part of the separator is positioned at the flat area at the other side of the wound axis of the wound electrode assembly as the second boundary between the first bent area and the second bent area.
Yamada et al. discloses a wound battery and teaches at least a winding-end end part of the separator (20e) positioned on the outermost surface of the wound electrode assembly is positioned on the second bent area (right end of figure 10) (col. 8 lines 12-20) and
a winding-start end part of the separator is positioned at the flat area at the other side of the wound axis of the wound electrode assembly as the second boundary between the first bent area and the second bent area. (figure 10, col. 8, lines 38-46). Yamada teaches such a configuration can prevent a liquid containing property of an inner peripheral portion of the first bending region 3b from decreasing by the winding fastening tape 80.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include the start and end of the separator in the claimed areas because this configuration can prevent a liquid containing property of an inner peripheral portion of the first bending region 3b from decreasing by the winding fastening tape.
Nansaka further discloses the positive electrode comprises a first layer of positive electrode at the flat area from the winding-start end part of the positive electrode to a first turn portion (figure 1) but does not disclose:
the negative electrode comprises a first layer of negative electrode from the winding-start end part of the negative electrode to a first turn portion,
a second layer of negative electrode is overlapped between the first layer of negative electrode and the first layer of positive electrode in the thickness direction of the wound electrode assembly.
Hosokawa discloses a battery and teaches the negative electrode 12 is folded over thus having a first layer the short section before the first turn and the second layer after the first turn (see figure 3) and the positive electrode being formed at one side of the negative electrode thus having the second layer of the negative electrode is overlapped between the first layer of the positive electrode and negative electrode (see figure 3). [0045]. With this configuration the internal short circuit occurrence is reduced [0052].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to have the configuration of Hosokawa because this would help reduce short circuiting from occurring.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nansaka et al. (US 2015/0325885 A1) in view of Yamada et al. (US 12308394 B2), and further in view of Lee et al. (US 9142854 B2)
As to claim 9, Nansaka discloses a battery, comprising:
a flat-shaped wound electrode assembly (20) in which a positive electrode (40) formed in a strip-like shape and a negative electrode (50) formed in a strip-like shape are wound via a separator (62) formed in a strip-like shape (Figure 1),
wherein the wound electrode assembly comprises a first bent area (24b) arranged at one end part side and a second bent area (24a) arranged at the other end part side (figure 1),
a flat area (22) positioned between the first bent area (24b) and the second bent area (24a), the flat area (22) comprising one flat surface (12) on one side of the wound electrode assembly and another flat surface (12) on an opposite side of the wound electrode assembly in a thickness direction of the wound electrode assembly (figure 1),
in a case where, regarding a cross-section view of the wound electrode assembly cut in a direction orthogonal to a wound axis, a straight line extending in a direction perpendicular to the thickness direction of the wound electrode assembly is treated as a straight-line A (see annotated figure below),
the first bent area comprises a first area positioned at the one side of the wound electrode assembly with the straight line A as a first boundary, and a second area positioned at the opposite side of the wound electrode assembly with the straight line A as the first boundary (see annotated figure below),
a winding-end end part of the positive electrode and a winding-end end part of the negative electrode are positioned on the first area, (see figure below)
Nansaka teaches that angle theta 4 (as shown above in first area of the annotated figure above is not limited to 45 degrees and can be arbitrary angle from 0-90 degrees [0061].
Nansaka does not disclose the following:
at least a winding-end end part of the separator positioned on the outermost surface of the wound electrode assembly is positioned on the second bent area
the winding-end end part of the positive electrode is arranged at an area within 30 degrees with respect to the straight-line A treated as a starting line on the first area, and
the winding-end end part of the negative electrode is arranged at an area within 45 to 900 with respect to the straight-line A treated as a starting line on the first area.
Yamada et al. discloses a wound battery and teaches at least a winding-end end part of the separator (20e) positioned on the outermost surface of the wound electrode assembly is positioned on the second bent area (right end of figure 10) (col. 8 lines 12-20)
Yamada et al. teaches such a configuration can prevent a liquid containing property of an inner peripheral portion of the first bending region 3b from decreasing by the winding fastening tape 80.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include the start and end of the separator in the claimed areas because this configuration can prevent a liquid containing property of an inner peripheral portion of the first bending region 3b from decreasing by the winding fastening tape.
Modified Nansaka does not teach
the winding-end end part of the positive electrode is arranged at an area within 30 degrees with respect to the straight-line A treated as a starting line on the first area, and
the winding-end end part of the negative electrode is arranged at an area within 45 to 900 with respect to the straight-line A treated as a starting line on the first area.
Lee et al. discloses a battery and teaches the that it is desirable that a length and width of an anode be longer than a length and width of a cathode, to prevent extraction of lithium ions from the cathode (col. 1 lines 55-57). And as seen from figure 4 the anode ends later in the winding than the cathode thus since Nansaka teaches the angle is arbitrary angle from 0-90 degrees [0061]. It is then foreseeable for the winding-end end part of the positive electrode is arranged at an area within 30 degrees with respect to the straight line A treated as a starting line on the first area, and the winding-end end part of the negative electrode is arranged at an area within 45 to 90 degrees with respect to the straight line A treated as a starting line on the first area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have the anode be longer than a length and width of a cathode, to prevent extraction of lithium ions from the cathode.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Maria Laios/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727