DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 56-80 are pending (claim set as filed on 10/29/2025).
Priority
This application is a CON of application no.: 16/482,057 (now abandoned) filed on 07/30/2019, which is a 371 of PCT/US2018/015910 filed on 01/30/2018, which has multiple provisional applications to: (a) 62/616,234 filed on 01/11/2018, (b) 62/579,690 filed on 10/31/2017, (c) 62/529,366 filed on 07/06/2017, (d) 62/485,655 filed on 04/14/2017, and (e) 62/452,769 filed on 01/31/2017.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/06/2026 is acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Withdrawal of Previously Indicated Allowability
The indicated allowability of the previous claims is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference to Salvetti (In Vivo Delivery of Human α-L-Iduronidase in Mice Implanted with Neo-Organs, 1995 - reference provided by Applicant in the IDS filed on 03/06/2026). Examiner’s note: to support unexpected results, Applicant’s post-filing data illustrated that “the recombinant expression vector of the instant claims: 1) was well tolerated in patients” (see pages 11-13 of Applicant’s remarks filed on 10/04/2024). However, Salvetti also suggests human IDUA being well tolerated in subjects (see Salvetti at page 1158, right col.).
Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
New Grounds of Rejection Necessitated by IDS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103, Obviousness
Claims 56-63, 69-77, and 79-80 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salvetti (In Vivo Delivery of Human α-L-Iduronidase in Mice Implanted with Neo-Organs, 1995 - newly cited from the IDS filed on 03/06/2026) in view of McIvor (US 2016/0120960 A1 - previously cited #A34 in the IDS filed on 03/14/2024) and Sawicki (A Composite CMV-IE Enhancer/b-Actin Promoter Is Ubiquitously Expressed in Mouse Cutaneous Epithelium, 1998 - previously cited).
Salvetti’s general disclosure relates to the treatment of mucopolysaccharidoses type I (MPS I) which is a lysosomal storage disease caused by a deficiency in the enzyme α-L-iduronidase (IDUA) (see page 1153: Overview Summary).
Salvetti teaches “genetically modified fibroblasts implanted into neo-organs as an in vivo delivery system for IDUA. The human IDUA cDNA was isolated and inserted into a retroviral vector where it was expressed from the phosphoglycerate kinase 1 gene promoter. MPS I fibroblasts transduced with this vector showed high levels of IDUA activity and secreted phosphorylated molecules that could be internalized by naive deficient cells. Neo-organs containing 2 x 107 IDUA-secreting cells were implanted into nude mice” (see abstract & page 1154).
Salvetti teaches “the demonstration that therapeutic levels of human IDUA can be
delivered in mice using genetically modified fibroblasts, together with our recent observation that neo-organs containing over 109 genetically modified skin fibroblasts are perfectly well tolerated in dogs in which they delivered human β-glucuronidase for up to 1 year, suggest
that this technique can also be considered for human trial” (see page 1158, right col.).
However, Salvetti does not teach: administering to a pediatric patient a recombinant expression vector comprising a CB7 promoter via intracisternal, intracerebroventricular, or lumbar puncture; or the IDUA is produced by human neuronal cells.
McIvor’s general disclosure relates to methods of preventing, inhibiting, and/or treating one or more symptoms associated with a disease of the central nervous system (CNS) in an mammal in need thereof by intrathecally, intracerebroventricularly or endovascularly administering a rAAV encoding a gene product (see abstract & ¶ [0006], [0011]). Diseases that may be prevented, inhibited or treated using the methods disclosed herein include, but are not limited to mucopolysaccharidosis type I disorder (see ¶ [0006] & Example 1). McIvor teaches “methods involve delivering to the CNS of a mammal in need of treatment a composition comprising an effective amount of a recombinant adeno-associated virus (rAAV) vector comprising an open reading frame encoding a gene product, e.g., a therapeutic gene product. Target gene products that may be encoded by an rAAV vector include, but are not limited to, alpha-L-iduronidase, iduronate-2-sulfatase, heparan sulfate sulfatase, N-acetyl-alpha-D-glucosaminidase, beta-hexosaminidase, alpha-galactosidase, beta-galactosidase, beta-glucuronidase or glucocerebrosidase” (see ¶ [0006], [0020]). McIvor teaches “the therapy, if a lysosomal storage enzyme such as IDUA is expressed, results in the normalization of lysosomal storage granules in the neuronal and/or meningeal tissue of the subjects as discussed above. It is contemplated that the deposition of storage granules is ameliorated from neuronal and glial tissue, thereby alleviating the developmental delay and regression seen in individuals suffering with lysosomal storage disease” (see ¶ [0068]).
Regarding the administration site, McIvor further discloses “the term ‘intrathecal administration’ is intended to include delivering a pharmaceutical composition directly into the cerebrospinal fluid of a subject, by techniques including lateral cerebroventricular injection through a burrhole or cistemal or lumbar puncture or the like” (see ¶ [0070]).
Regarding the dosage administration, McIvor discloses a therapeutically effective amount refers to an amount effective, at dosages and for periods of time necessary, to achieve the desired therapeutic result (see ¶ [0046]-[0048]). McIvor teaches “in one embodiment, the mammal is a human. In one embodiment, multiple doses are administered. In one embodiment, the composition is administered weekly, monthly or two or more months apart” (see ¶ [0011]-[0013]). McIvor teaches “Intracranial administration is via injection or infusion and suitable dose ranges for intracranial administration are generally about 103 to 1015 infectious units of viral vector per micro liter delivered in 1 to 3000 microliters of single injection volume” (see ¶ [0066]-[0067], [0089], and Figure 9).
Regarding the subject, McIvor teaches adult humans and includes humans that is typically at least 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 or 6 months of age (see ¶ [0010]). McIvor teaches subjects with severe MPS-I (see ¶ [0003]-[0004]).
Regarding the vector, McIvor teaches “the rAAV vector is an AAV-1, AAV-3, AAV-4, AAV-5, AAV-6, AAV-7, AAV-8, AAV rh10, or AAV-9 vector” (see ¶ [0007], [0011]-[0012], [0049]). Gene products that may be encoded by rAAV vectors include alpha-L-iduronidase (see ¶ [0018]). The entire unit, containing a combination of control elements and encoding region, is often referred to as an expression cassette (see ¶ [0056]).
Regarding the immune suppressant, McIvor teaches administering a immune suppressant including glucocorticoid, tacrolimus, wherein the rAAV and the immune suppressant are co-administered or the immune suppressant is administered after the rAAV, antibody, or an agent active on immunophilin (see claims 9-10). McIvor teaches the mammal is immunotolerized to the gene product before the composition comprising the AAV is administered (see ¶ [0013]); or the immune suppressant is administered before the rAAV (see ¶ [0016]).
McIvor teaches “the two current treatments for MPS I (hematopoietic stem cell transplantation and enzyme replacement therapy) cannot effectively treat all central nervous system (CNS) manifestations of the disease” (see ¶ [0106], [0003]).
Sawicki teaches a regulatory sequence that includes “a combination sequence of the cytomegalovirus-IE (CMV-IE) enhancer and a modified chicken β-actin promoter, designated the CAG promoter. This promoter sequence has been demonstrated to have high activity in cultured cells and in transgenic mice” (see page 367, right col. & Figure 1). Sawicki teaches “Because the CMV enhancer/promoter is very active in cultured cells and in many tissues in transgenic mice, it is often the first promoter researchers consider using if they need a ubiquitously expressed promoter. Our study shows that CAG, and not the CMV enhancer/
promoter, is the better choice for a ubiquitously expressed promoter” (see page 369, left col.).
It would have been first obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ or substitute “a combination sequence of the cytomegalovirus-IE (CMV-IE) enhancer and a modified chicken β-actin promoter, designated the CAG promoter” such as taught by Sawicki in the method of Salvetti. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so is because Sawicki teaches that “CAG (i.e., CB7) and not the CMV enhancer/promoter, is the better choice for a ubiquitously expressed promoter” (see Sawicki at page 369, left col.). The ordinary artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success is because the cited references are directed to vectors and gene therapies. Moreover, note that McIvor discloses “various types of promoters and enhancers are suitable … examples of promoters are … the immediate early promoter from cytomegalovirus (CMV)” (see McIvor at ¶ [0054]-[0055]).
It would have been further obvious to treat a pediatric patient having MPS I such as taught by McIvor in the teachings of Salvetti because Salvetti suggested consideration for human trial (see Salvetti at page 1158, right col.). It would also have been obvious to employ the administration sites such as taught by McIvor in the teachings of Salvetti because Salvetti teaches “exploring different implantation sites” (see Salvetti at page 1158, right col.).
Claims 64 and 78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salvetti in view of McIvor and Sawicki as applied to the claims above, and in further view of Scott (WO 93/10244 - previously cited #B04 in the IDS filed on 03/14/2024).
Salvetti, McIvor, and Sawicki’s teachings are discussed above.
However, Salvetti-McIvor-Sawicki does not teach: wherein the recombinant human IDUA comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 (claims 64 and 78).
Scott’s general disclosure relates to α-L-iduronidase (IDUA) and to genetic sequences encoding the same used for subjects having an IDUA deficiency (see abstract & page 1, lines 6-15). Scott teaches “a method of treating patients suffering from IDUA deficiency, such as in MPS-I, said method comprising administering to said patient an effective amount of IDUA or active like form thereof. Preferably, the IDUA is in recombinant form. Such a method is referred to as enzyme therapy. Alternatively, gene therapy can be employed including introducing an active gene (i.e., a nucleic acid molecule as hereinbefore described) or to parts of the gene or other sequences which facilitate expression of a naturally occurring IDUA gene” (see page 8, lines 11-19). Administration may also be by way of gene therapy including expression of the gene by inclusion of the gene in viral vectors which are introduced into the animal (e.g., human) host to be treated (see page 8, lines 20-28).
Scott teaches a human IDUA or genomic or recombinant genetic sequences encoding the same (see page 2, line 15). In particular, Scott teaches a synthetic IDUA or like molecule and further contemplates a proteinaceous molecule comprising an amino acid sequence corresponding to the full-length mammalian IDUA enzyme or to a like molecule. The like molecule, therefore, comprises parts, derivatives and/or portions of the IDUA enzyme whether functional or not (see page 3, lines 17-33). The IDUA is derivatized by amino acid substitution and may readily be made using peptide synthetic techniques well known in the art, such as solid phase peptide synthesis and the like, or by recombinant DNA manipulations. Techniques for making substitution mutations at predetermined sites in DNA having known or partially known sequence are well known (see page 6, lines 1-18). Scott further teaches “naturally or artificially associated with the IDUA enzyme such as carbohydrate, lipid and/ or other proteinaceous moieties. For example, the present invention extends to glycosylated and non-glycosylated forms of the molecule” (see page 6, lines 21-33).
Scott teaches the nucleic acid molecule may be RNA or DNA (e.g. cDNA), single or double stranded and linear or covalently closed. The nucleic acid molecule may also be genomic DNA corresponding to the entire gene or a substantial portion thereof or to fragments and derivatives thereof (see page 2, lines 21-30). The nucleic acid in cDNA form and particularly when inserted in an expression vector (see page 3, lines 9-15).
Scott teaches the total coding sequence, therefore, for IDUA has an open reading frame of 1959 bp encoding a peptide of 653 amino acids (see pages 23-24, lines 17-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the amino acid sequence such as taught by Scott in the method of Salvetti-McIvor-Sawicki. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so is because it is deemed a simple substitution of the prior arts. The MPEP at 2141 (III) provides exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include: (a) combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; or (b) simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. The ordinary artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both Scott and Salvetti-McIvor-Sawicki are in the same field of endeavor directed to recombinant human α-L-IDUA for the treatment of mucopolysaccharidoses (MPS) storage diseases/disorders.
Claims 65-68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salvetti in view of McIvor and Sawicki as applied to the claims above, and in further view of Pardridge (US 2016/0152719 A1 - previously cited).
The teachings of Salvetti, McIvor, and Sawicki are discussed above.
However, Salvetti-McIvor-Sawicki does not teach: an immune therapy combination of tacrolimus, rapamycin, or prednisolone (claims 65-68).
Pardridge’s general disclosure relates to a method for treating a subject with a central nervous system disorder such as type I mucopolysaccharidosis (see ¶ [0006]). Pardridge teaches administering immunosuppressants such as tacrolimus, rapamycin, glucocorticoids (e.g., prednisolone, methylprednisolone) (see ¶ [0107], [0172]). Pardridge further teaches dosages can be administered continuously such as weeks or months (see ¶ [0184]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the immunosuppressants such as taught by Pardridge in the method of Salvetti-McIvor-Sawicki. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so is because it is deemed a simple substitution of the prior arts or combination of readily known available treatments for mucopolysaccharidosis. The MPEP at 2141 (III) provides exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include: (a) combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; or (b) simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. The ordinary artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both Pardridge and Salvetti-McIvor-Sawicki are in the same field of endeavor directed to the treatment of mucopolysaccharidoses (MPS) storage diseases/disorders with immune suppressants.
Conclusion
No claims were allowed.
Correspondence Information
/NGHI V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1653