DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in response to the application filed on ----12/4/2025 for application 18/480,178. Claim 1, 5 – 8, 12 – 15, 19 – 22, 26 – 32 are pending and have been examined.
Claim 2 – 4, 9 – 11, 16 – 18, 23 – 25 are canceled.
Claim 29 – 32 are new.
Claim 1, 5 – 8, 12 – 15, 19 – 22, 26 – 28 are amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/20/2025, 12/4/2025, 1/23/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitation is:
“means for determining” in Claim 15 – 21. Structure for this limitation maybe found at least at [0099] of the instant application “due to the nature of software and computers, functions described above can be implemented using software executed by a processor, hardware, firmware, hardwiring, or a combination of any of these.”
Respond to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 12/4/2025 has been entered.
Respond to Argument
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 12/4/2025, with respect to the claim rejection under U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made to Claim 8, 12 – 13, 15, 19 – 20, 22, 26 – 27. For further detail, refer to the following section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 8, 12 – 13, 15, 19 – 20, 22, 26 – 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rummelhard et al., (hereinafter Rummelhard), “Conditional Monte Carlo Dense Occupancy Tracker”.
Claim 8, Rummelhard discloses an occupancy grid probability prediction method comprising:
determine a plurality of dynamic particle probability based on a first probability that a dynamic particle will move from a donor cell of an occupancy grid to a recipient cell of the occupancy grid (fig. 4, illustrated multiple particle dynamically moving from donor cell to recipient cell; fig. 4, “the data is expressed in the new reference frame, by interpolation of grids and particle accumulation for dynamic parts”; sec. II.A – B, & eq. 1 shows the determination of current state probabilities of are based upon the moving probabilities at prior states )
determine a plurality of predicted probabilities of the recipient cell based on the dynamic particle probability (sec. II.A., “Possible states are s for ‘occupied by a static object’ object”, d for ‘occupied by a dynamic object’, e for ‘empty’ and u for ‘unknown’”; fig. 2, “environment is divided into cells to which are associated static, dynamic, empty and unknown coefficients”; i.e., occupancy grid with different/plurality of particle probabilities)
wherein determine the plurality of predicted probabilities comprises:
(1) the processor is configured to determine a predicted static probability of the recipient cell by reducing a present static probability of the recipient cell based on the dynamic particle probability (sec. III.A – B, “The s state refers to motionless occupancy, which includes strictly speaking static objects”, “The static part is represented in a classic probabilistic grid”, “a static component is assumed to remain static, or in a restricted portion to become dynamic (hypothetical set in motion of previously stationary elements)”; i.e., with a dynamic particle entering a static cell, the static object can be set in motion and reduce the probability that the cell remains static);
(2) the processor is configured to determine a predicted dynamic probability of the recipient cell by increasing a present dynamic probability of the recipient cell based on the dynamic particle probability (sec. III.A – B, ” The d state refers to dynamic occupancy represented by a set of weighted particles which sample the cell velocity”; i.e., when there are probability that a moving/dynamic particle enters the cell, the probability that the cell remain dynamic increases ); and
(3) the processor is configured to determine a predicted empty probability of the recipient cell by reducing a present empty probability of the recipient cell based on the dynamic particle probability (sec. III.A – B, “The e state corresponds to the free space, and is described in a classic probabilistic grid”; i.e., when there are probability that a moving/dynamic particle enters the cell, the probability that the cell remain empty reduces);
performing an autonomous driving operation based on the one or more predicted probabilities of the at least one of the donor cell or the recipient cell (sec. I, “The field of occupancy grid based interpretation of the environment is a developed study domain, overlapping various applications, such as … automatic autonomous navigation”).
Claim 12, Rummelhard discloses all the limitation of Claim 8. Rummelhard further teach: determine the plurality of predicted probabilities comprises: (4) the processor is configured to determine a predicted unknown probability of the recipient cell by increasing a present unknown probability of the recipient cell based on the dynamic particle probability (sec. III.A – C, “consideration is reflected on state transition coefficients, which allow a significant depreciation into the unknown state, which represents the lack of information”, “Typically, in case of laser data, the ”unknown” model scores low values before and around the impact, and high values further (where no information is available)”; as illustrated in Fig. 5, when dynamic/moving particle enters a cell having static object, the impact happens and the probability of “unknown” state raise up. ).
Claim 13, Rummelhard discloses all the limitation of Claim 8. Rummelhard further teach: the dynamic particle probability is a composite dynamic particle probability comprising an aggregate of a plurality of probabilities of dynamic particles from a plurality of donor cells being received by the recipient cell. (eq. 1 – 3, & sec. II. B., “P(C−1) is the distribution over all possible antecedents of the cell”; i.e., when evaluating the dynamic particle, more than one donor cells are considered; sec. III.C., “Dynamic predictions are accumulated (adding) from moving particles located in the cell. In a given cell c, according to equation (3), those predictions are confronted with the observation”; i.e., when considering the recipient cells, the formular accumulate all the cells/particles that have a possibility to be received by the recipient cell).
Claim 15, 19 – 20, 22, 26 – 27 are the corresponding apparatus and non-transitory, processor-readable storage medium claim of Claim 8 – 13. The methods discloses in sec II are algorithm instructions for the computation unit to perform. The non-transitory storage medium is inherent to a generic computation system. The claims are rejected with same reason.
Claim 30, Rummelhard discloses all the limitation of Claim 13. Rummelhard further teach: the composite dynamic particle probability is a sum of the plurality of probabilities of dynamic particles from a plurality of donor cells being received by the recipient cell (refer to the mapping in Claim 13 & sec. III.C., “accumulated (sum) from moving particles”).
Claim 31 and 32 are the corresponding apparatus and non-transitory, processor-readable storage medium claim of Claim 30 and thus are rejected with same reason.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1, 5 – 7, and 29 are allowed.
Specifically, none of the prior fairly discloses either along or combination the calculation of probability of the static, dynamic and empty state as described in the independent Claim 1.
Claim 14, 21 and 28 would be allowable if rewritten or amended in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Specifically, none of the prior fairly discloses either along or combination the calculation of probability of the static, dynamic and empty state as described in Claim 14, 21 and 28.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: Adarve et al., “Computing Occupancy Grid From Multiple Sensor Using Linear Opinion Pool”, IEEE, 2012, which teaches the method and computing system that performs real time occupancy grid estimation.
/SHIEN MING CHOU/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645