DETAILED ACTION
Examiner received and accepted the amended claims and remarks filed on 15 January 2026. These amended claims and remarks are the claims and remarks being referred to in the instant Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 4 - 12 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(b) Rejection of Claims 4 - 12 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Arguments pertaining to the newly added claim limitations have been addressed in the updated claim rejections below.
If applicant does not traverse the examiner’s assertion of official notice or applicant’s traverse is not adequate, the examiner should clearly indicate in the next Office action that the common knowledge or well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior art because applicant either failed to traverse the examiner’s assertion of official notice or that the traverse was inadequate. See MPEP 2144.03.C. In the rejection of Claims 5 and 8 - 12, Examiner asserted Official Notice “it is common knowledge in the art to perform tapping inspections on aircraft”. As the assertion has not been traversed, the Official Notice is taken to be admitted prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (WO 2020/021589), in view of Soeda et al. (JP 2019-82402). Citations pertaining to Soeda refer to the attached English translation.
Regarding Claim 1, Goto discloses a tapping inspection system comprising: a hand-held hammer for tapping an inspection portion [0013]; a display (202a) configured to display a target position to be tapped with the hammer [0022, 0054, 0055, 0057], the target position being superimposed on the inspection portion [0055, 0057]; a microphone (203b) for collecting sound generated when the inspection portion is tapped with the hammer [0026, 0058, 0065]; a position detector (203d) configured to detect a position in the inspection portion tapped with the hammer [0028, 0037]; and a storage (110, 112) configured to store an inspection record created by relating the sound collected by the microphone with the position detected by the position detector [0037, 0039].
Goto fails to expressly disclose an actual tapping position being detected during tapping inspection and the storage storing the actual tapping position.
Soeda teaches an actual tapping position being detected during tapping inspection [0016] where the actual tapping position is stored [0027]
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Goto’s position detector so that it is configured to detect, during tapping inspection, an actual tapping position and the storage so that is configured to store the inspection record including the actual tapping position for the benefit of associating individual information with the location information can be performed accurately in a short time while simplifying the configuration, as taught by Soeda [0006].
Regarding Claim 4, Goto discloses the display includes a head mounted display for augmented reality (Figure 2) which further displays a drawing delineating a portion of internal structure inside the inspection portion that is not visible to the operator from outside the inspection portion, the drawing being further superimposed on the inspection portion [0057] (the drawing delineates a portion of the structure which inherently includes internal structure nor visible to the operator) (Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 5, Goto and Soeda render obvious using the tapping inspection system according to Claim 1 where Goto discloses displaying, on the display, the target position to be tapped with the hand-held hammer, the target position being superimposed on an inspection portion [0022, 0054 – 0057] (Figure 5) ; collecting, with the microphone, sound generated when the inspection portion is tapped with the hand-held hammer [0026, 0058, 0065]; detecting, with the position detector, a tapping position in the inspection portion tapped with the hand-held hammer, during tapping inspection [0028, 0037]; and storing, in the storage, an inspection record created by relating the collected sound with the detected position [0037, 0039] where Soeda renders obvious an actual tapping position being detected during tapping inspection [0016] where the actual tapping position is stored [0027], the combination being obvious for the same reasons regarding the rejection of Claim 1 above.
The combination fails to expressly disclose the inspection is performed on an aircraft.
Examiner takes Official Notice it is common knowledge in the art to perform tapping inspections on aircraft.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the combination’s method by using it on an aircraft for the benefit of determining if an abnormality has occurred, as taught by Goto [0003].
Regarding Claim 10, Goto and Soeda render obvious using the tapping inspection system according to Claim 4 where Goto discloses displaying, on the head mounted display for augmented reality, the target position to be tapped with the hand-held hammer, the target position being superimposed on an inspection portion [0022, 0054 – 0057] (Figure 5); displaying, on the head mounted display for augmented reality, a drawing delineating a portion of internal structure inside the inspection portion that is not visible to an operator from outside the inspection portion, the drawing being further superimposed on the inspection portion [0057] (Figure 5); collecting, with the microphone, sound generated when the inspection portion is tapped with the hand-held hammer [0026, 0058, 0065]; detecting, with the position detector, a tapping position in the inspection portion tapped with the hand-held hammer, during tapping inspection [0028, 0037]; and storing, in the storage, an inspection record created by relating the collected sound with the detected position [0037, 0039] where Soeda renders obvious an actual tapping position being detected during tapping inspection [0016] where the actual tapping position is stored [0027], the combination being obvious for the same reasons regarding the rejection of Claim 4 above.
The combination fails to expressly disclose the inspection is performed on an aircraft.
Examiner takes Official Notice it is common knowledge in the art to perform tapping inspections on aircraft.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the combination’s method by using it on an aircraft for the benefit of determining if an abnormality has occurred, as taught by Goto [0003].
Claim(s) 2, 3, 6 – 9, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (WO 2020/021589), in view of Soeda et al. (JP 2019-82402), in further view of Zhou et al. (CN 106053004).
Regarding Claim 2, The combination fails to expressly disclose a strain sensor for measuring a shock load when the inspection portion is tapped with the hammer, wherein the inspection record is created by further relating the sound collected by the microphone with the shock load measured by the strain sensor.
Zhou teaches a strain sensor for measuring a shock load when an inspection portion is tapped with a hammer [0032, 0036].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the combination by including a strain sensor for measuring a shock load when the inspection portion is tapped with the hammer, wherein the inspection record is created by further relating the sound collected by the microphone with the shock load measured by the strain sensor i.e. saving data from the shock sensor in the combination with data collected at the same time for the benefit of performing transient dynamic simulation or harmonic response analysis while using a sensor with strong anti-electromagnetic interference capability and long service life, as taught by Zhou [0004, 0006].
Regarding Claim 3, Goto discloses electronic circuitry (140) configured to obtain an inspection result of the inspection portion based on the related sound and position stored as the inspection record in the storage [0032] wherein the combination renders obvious using the shock load as well to perform transient dynamic simulation or harmonic response analysis.
The combination would have been obvious for the same reason regarding the rejection of Claim 2 above.
Regarding Claims 6 and 7, Goto discloses the display includes a head mounted display for augmented reality (Figure 2) which further displays a drawing delineating a portion of internal structure inside the inspection portion that is not visible to the operator from outside the inspection portion, the drawing being further superimposed on the inspection portion [0057] (the drawing delineates a portion of the structure which inherently includes internal structure nor visible to the operator) (Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 8, Goto, Soeda, and Zhu render obvious using the tapping inspection system according to Claim 2 where Goto discloses displaying, on the display, the target position to be tapped with the hand-held hammer, the target position being superimposed on an inspection portion [0022, 0054 – 0057] (Figure 5); collecting, with the microphone, sound generated when the inspection portion is tapped with the hand-held hammer [0026, 0058, 0065]; detecting, with the position detector, a tapping position in the inspection portion tapped with the hand-held hammer, during tapping inspection [0028, 0037]; and storing, in the storage, an inspection record created by relating the collected sound with the detected position [0037, 0039] where Soeda renders obvious an actual tapping position being detected during tapping inspection [0016] where the actual tapping position is stored [0027], where Zhu renders obvious measuring a shock load when an inspection portion is tapped with a hammer [0032, 0036], the combination being obvious for the same reasons regarding the rejection of Claim 2 above.
The combination fails to expressly disclose the inspection is performed on an aircraft.
Examiner takes Official Notice it is common knowledge in the art to perform tapping inspections on aircraft.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the combination’s method by using it on an aircraft for the benefit of determining if an abnormality has occurred, as taught by Goto [0003].
Regarding Claim 9, Goto, Soeda, and Zhu render obvious using the tapping inspection system according to Claim 3 where Goto discloses displaying, on the display, the target position to be tapped with the hand-held hammer, the target position being superimposed on an inspection portion [0022, 0054 – 0057] (Figure 5); collecting, with the microphone, sound generated when the inspection portion is tapped with the hand-held hammer [0026, 0058, 0065]; detecting, with the position detector, a tapping position in the inspection portion tapped with the hand-held hammer, during tapping inspection [0028, 0037]; storing, in the storage, an inspection record created by relating the collected sound with the detected position [0037, 0039]; and obtaining, with the electronic circuitry, and inspection result of the inspection portion based on the inspection record stored in storage [0032], where Soeda renders obvious an actual tapping position being detected during tapping inspection [0016] where the actual tapping position is stored [0027], where Zhu renders obvious measuring a shock load when an inspection portion is tapped with a hammer [0032, 0036], the combination being obvious for the same reasons regarding the rejection of Claim 3 above.
The combination fails to expressly disclose the inspection is performed on an aircraft.
Examiner takes Official Notice it is common knowledge in the art to perform tapping inspections on aircraft.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the combination’s method by using it on an aircraft for the benefit of determining if an abnormality has occurred, as taught by Goto [0003].
Regarding Claim 11, Goto, Soeda, and Zhu render obvious using the tapping inspection system according to Claim 6 where Goto discloses displaying, on the head mounted display for augmented reality, the target position to be tapped with the hand-held hammer, the target position being superimposed on an inspection portion [0022, 0054 – 0057] (Figure 5); displaying, on the head mounted display for augmented reality, a drawing delineating a portion of internal structure inside the inspection portion that is not visible to an operator from outside the inspection portion, the drawing being further superimposed on the inspection portion [0057] (Figure 5); collecting, with the microphone, sound generated when the inspection portion is tapped with the hand-held hammer [0026, 0058, 0065]; detecting, with the position detector, a tapping position in the inspection portion tapped with the hand-held hammer, during tapping inspection [0028, 0037]; and storing, in the storage, an inspection record created by relating the collected sound with the detected position [0037, 0039] where Soeda renders obvious an actual tapping position being detected during tapping inspection [0016] where the actual tapping position is stored [0027], where Zhu renders obvious measuring a shock load when an inspection portion is tapped with a hammer [0032, 0036], the combination being obvious for the same reasons regarding the rejection of Claim 6 above.
The combination fails to expressly disclose the inspection is performed on an aircraft.
Examiner takes Official Notice it is common knowledge in the art to perform tapping inspections on aircraft.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the combination’s method by using it on an aircraft for the benefit of determining if an abnormality has occurred, as taught by Goto [0003].
Regarding Claim 12, Goto, Soeda, and Zhu render obvious using the tapping inspection system according to Claim 7 where Goto discloses displaying, on the head mounted display for augmented reality, the target position to be tapped with the hand-held hammer, the target position being superimposed on an inspection portion [0022, 0054 – 0057] (Figure 5); displaying, on the head mounted display for augmented reality, a drawing delineating a portion of internal structure inside the inspection portion that is not visible to an operator from outside the inspection portion, the drawing being further superimposed on the inspection portion [0057] (Figure 5); collecting, with the microphone, sound generated when the inspection portion is tapped with the hand-held hammer [0026, 0058, 0065]; detecting, with the position detector, a tapping position in the inspection portion tapped with the hand-held hammer, during tapping inspection [0028, 0037]; storing, in the storage, an inspection record created by relating the collected sound with the detected position [0037, 0039]; and obtaining, with the electronic circuitry, and inspection result of the inspection portion based on the inspection record stored in storage [0032], where Soeda renders obvious an actual tapping position being detected during tapping inspection [0016] where the actual tapping position is stored [0027], where Zhu renders obvious measuring a shock load when an inspection portion is tapped with a hammer [0032, 0036], the combination being obvious for the same reasons regarding the rejection of Claim 7 above.
The combination fails to expressly disclose the inspection is performed on an aircraft.
Examiner takes Official Notice it is common knowledge in the art to perform tapping inspections on aircraft.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the combination’s method by using it on an aircraft for the benefit of determining if an abnormality has occurred, as taught by Goto [0003].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALEXANDER A. MERCADO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
/ALEXANDER A MERCADO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855