DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 03/27/2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are now pending in the application. Applicant's amendments have addressed all informalities as previously set forth in the non-final action mailed on 12/29/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ROUMI ET AL. (US 20200006962 A1) (hereinafter “ROUMI”) in view of SOOD ET AL. (US 20180287219 A1) (hereinafter “SOOD”).
With respect to Claim(s) 1, ROUMI teaches a plurality of battery packs is provided in communication with an energy monitoring and control system. Each battery pack includes a plurality of battery cells that collectively dictate the capabilities of the battery pack. The energy monitoring and control system determines a plurality of pack charging or pack discharging parameters for each battery pack that, when performed, achieve one or more performance metrics at a user level (e.g., performance metrics of each battery pack within a system of multiple battery packs). The battery pack further determines a plurality of cell charging or cell discharging parameters for each battery cell based upon the determined plurality of pack charging or pack discharging parameters for each battery cell that, when performed, achieve one or more performance metrics at a battery level (e.g., performance metrics of different cells of each battery pack) and the BRI of:
A system
for
monitoring a health condition of a battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0007),
the system comprising:
a battery pack electrically connected to a load, the battery pack comprising one or more load-bearing battery cells, wherein the one or more load bearing battery cells have been subjected to a first number of charge/discharge cycles (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1A-5C);
a reference device comprising:
a reference battery cell, wherein the reference battery cell is a preconditioned battery cell that, prior to the disposition within the reference device, has been subjected to a second number of charge/discharge cycles (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1A-5C);
a battery charger/discharger electrically connected to the reference battery cell (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1A-5C);
and
a sensing device positioned to measure a physical characteristic of the reference battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0144; See also, e.g., Fig(s). Fig(s). 1A-5C),
and
a battery management device communicatively connected to the battery pack and the reference device (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1A-5C),
wherein
the battery management device is configured to
receive a load current corresponding to a current required by the load (See, e.g., ¶ 0007, 0029, 0037, 0040, 0146),
wherein
the battery management device is configured to
transmit a reference current corresponding to the load current, wherein the reference current corresponding to the load current is applied to the reference battery cell of the reference device, and determine the health condition of the one or more load-bearing battery cells based on the measured physical characteristic of the reference battery cell and the reference current corresponding to the load current applied to the reference battery cell of the reference device (See, e.g., ¶ 0058, 0068, 0148, 0170-0172, 0178-0200).
However, ROUMI is lacking the explicit language of:
the second number of charge/discharge cycles is greater than the first number of charge/discharge cycles.
SOOD teaches a monitoring device for a battery pack, which includes a plurality of battery cells, has at least one ultrasound source and at least one ultrasound sensor. The ultrasound source can be configured to generate and direct ultrasound at one or more battery cells of the battery pack. The ultrasound sensor can be configured to detect ultrasound reflected from or transmitted through one or more cells of the battery pack. A battery management unit receives one or more signals from the ultrasound sensor responsive to the detected ultrasound. The battery management unit can be configured to determine a state of the battery pack based at least in part on the detected ultrasound and the BRI of:
the second number of charge/discharge cycles is greater than the first number of charge/discharge cycles (See, e.g., ¶ 0127-0128; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 11-12B, 15-17)
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify ROUMI to include the second number of charge/discharge cycles is greater than the first number of charge/discharge cycles.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify ROUMI because it would be beneficial to health monitor an energy storage device. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 10, ROUMI teaches a plurality of battery packs is provided in communication with an energy monitoring and control system. Each battery pack includes a plurality of battery cells that collectively dictate the capabilities of the battery pack. The energy monitoring and control system determines a plurality of pack charging or pack discharging parameters for each battery pack that, when performed, achieve one or more performance metrics at a user level (e.g., performance metrics of each battery pack within a system of multiple battery packs). The battery pack further determines a plurality of cell charging or cell discharging parameters for each battery cell based upon the determined plurality of pack charging or pack discharging parameters for each battery cell that, when performed, achieve one or more performance metrics at a battery level (e.g., performance metrics of different cells of each battery pack) and the BRI of:
A reference device
for
monitoring a health condition of one or more load-bearing cells subjected to a load current (See, e.g., ¶ 0007),
wherein
the one or more load bearing battery cells have been subjected to a first number of charge/discharge cycles (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1A-5C),
the reference device comprising:
a reference battery cell (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1A-5C);
a battery charger/discharger electrically connected to the reference battery cell (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1A-5C);
and
a sensing device positioned to measure a physical characteristic of the reference battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0144; See also, e.g., Fig(s). Fig(s). 1A-5C);
and
wherein
a reference current corresponding to the load current is applied to the reference battery cell, such that the health condition of the one or more load-bearing battery cells is determined by a battery management device based on the measured physical characteristic of the reference battery cell and the reference current corresponding to the load current applied to the reference battery cell of the reference device (See, e.g., ¶ 0058, 0068, 0148, 0170-0172, 0178-0200).
However, ROUMI is lacking the explicit language of:
the reference battery cell is a preconditioned battery cell that, prior to the disposition within the reference device, has been subjected to a second number of charge/discharge cycles, the second number of charge/discharge cycles is greater than the first number of charge/discharge cycles.
SOOD teaches a monitoring device for a battery pack, which includes a plurality of battery cells, has at least one ultrasound source and at least one ultrasound sensor. The ultrasound source can be configured to generate and direct ultrasound at one or more battery cells of the battery pack. The ultrasound sensor can be configured to detect ultrasound reflected from or transmitted through one or more cells of the battery pack. A battery management unit receives one or more signals from the ultrasound sensor responsive to the detected ultrasound. The battery management unit can be configured to determine a state of the battery pack based at least in part on the detected ultrasound and the BRI of:
the reference battery cell is a preconditioned battery cell that, prior to the disposition within the reference device, has been subjected to a second number of charge/discharge cycles, the second number of charge/discharge cycles is greater than the first number of charge/discharge cycles (See, e.g., ¶ 0127-0128; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 11-12B, 15-17)
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify ROUMI to include the reference battery cell is a preconditioned battery cell that, prior to the disposition within the reference device, has been subjected to a second number of charge/discharge cycles, the second number of charge/discharge cycles is greater than the first number of charge/discharge cycles.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify ROUMI because it would be beneficial to health monitor an energy storage device. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 18, ROUMI teaches a plurality of battery packs is provided in communication with an energy monitoring and control system. Each battery pack includes a plurality of battery cells that collectively dictate the capabilities of the battery pack. The energy monitoring and control system determines a plurality of pack charging or pack discharging parameters for each battery pack that, when performed, achieve one or more performance metrics at a user level (e.g., performance metrics of each battery pack within a system of multiple battery packs). The battery pack further determines a plurality of cell charging or cell discharging parameters for each battery cell based upon the determined plurality of pack charging or pack discharging parameters for each battery cell that, when performed, achieve one or more performance metrics at a battery level (e.g., performance metrics of different cells of each battery pack) and the BRI of:
A method
for
monitoring one or more load-bearing battery cells wherein the one or more load bearing battery cells have been subjected to a first number of charge/discharge cycles (See, e.g., ¶ 0007),
the method comprising:
determining a load current, wherein the load current corresponds to a current required by a load electrically connected to the one or more load-bearing battery cells (See, e.g., ¶ 0007, 0029, 0037, 0040, 0146);
causing
a battery charger/discharger electrically connected to a reference battery cell (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1A-5C)
to
apply a reference current, corresponding to the load current, to the reference battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0058, 0068, 0148, 0170-0172, 0178-0200);
receiving a physical characteristic of the reference battery cell from a sensing device, wherein the sensing device is positioned to measure a physical characteristic of the reference battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0144; See also, e.g., Fig(s). Fig(s). 1A-5C);
determining, by a battery management device, a health condition of the reference battery cell based at least in part on the physical characteristic of the reference battery cell and the reference current corresponding to the load current applied to the reference battery cell of the reference device (See, e.g., ¶ 0058, 0068, 0148, 0170-0172, 0178-0200);
and
performing an action with reference to the one or more load-bearing battery cells, based on the health condition of the reference battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0058, 0068, 0148, 0170-0172, 0178-0200).
However, ROUMI is lacking the explicit language of:
the reference battery cell is a preconditioned battery cell that, prior to the disposition within the reference device, has been subjected to a second number of charge/discharge cycles, the second number of charge/discharge cycles is greater than the first number of charge/discharge cycles.
SOOD teaches a monitoring device for a battery pack, which includes a plurality of battery cells, has at least one ultrasound source and at least one ultrasound sensor. The ultrasound source can be configured to generate and direct ultrasound at one or more battery cells of the battery pack. The ultrasound sensor can be configured to detect ultrasound reflected from or transmitted through one or more cells of the battery pack. A battery management unit receives one or more signals from the ultrasound sensor responsive to the detected ultrasound. The battery management unit can be configured to determine a state of the battery pack based at least in part on the detected ultrasound and the BRI of:
the reference battery cell is a preconditioned battery cell that, prior to the disposition within the reference device, has been subjected to a second number of charge/discharge cycles, the second number of charge/discharge cycles is greater than the first number of charge/discharge cycles (See, e.g., ¶ 0127-0128; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 11-12B, 15-17).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify ROUMI to include the reference battery cell is a preconditioned battery cell that, prior to the disposition within the reference device, has been subjected to a second number of charge/discharge cycles, the second number of charge/discharge cycles is greater than the first number of charge/discharge cycles.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify ROUMI because it would be beneficial to health monitor an energy storage device. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 2, 11, ROUMI, SOOD teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
ROUMI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the reference device further comprises
a housing defining a compartment physically separated from a the one or more load-bearing battery cells (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1A-5C),
and
wherein
the reference battery cell is disposed within the compartment (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1A-5C).
With respect to Claim(s) 3, ROUMI, SOOD teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
SOOD teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the reference battery cell is subjected to charge/discharge cycles, such that the second number of charge/discharge cycles is greater than the second number of charge/discharge cycles, before being disposed within the compartment of the reference device (See, e.g., ¶ 0127-0128; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 11-12B, 15-17).
With respect to Claim(s) 12, ROUMI, SOOD teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
SOOD teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the reference battery cell is subjected to charge/discharge cycles,
such that the second number of charge/discharge cycles is greater than the first number of charge/discharge cycles, before being disposed within the compartment of the reference device (See, e.g., ¶ 0127-0128; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 11-12B, 15-17).
With respect to Claim(s) 4, 13, ROUMI, SOOD teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
ROUMI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the sensing device comprises at least one of
an ultrasonic transducer, a voltage sensor, and a temperature sensor (See, e.g., ¶ 0024).
With respect to Claim(s) 5, 14, ROUMI, SOOD teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
ROUMI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the reference device further comprises
a representative battery cell, wherein the representative battery cell is subjected to a third number of charge/discharge cycles, wherein the third number of charge/discharge cycles is substantially equivalent to the second first number of charge/discharge cycles associated with the number of charge/discharge cycles of the one or more load-bearing battery cells (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1A-5C),
wherein
the battery management device is configured to
compare at least one measured physical characteristic of the representative battery cell while the reference current is applied to determine the health condition of the one or more load-bearing battery cells based on a deviation between the reference battery cell and the representative battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0058, 0068, 0148, 0170-0172, 0178-0200).
SOOD further teaches the BRI of:
the third number of charge/discharge cycles is less than the first second number of charge/discharge cycles associated with the number of charge/discharge cycles of the reference battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0127-0128; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 11-12B, 15-17).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify ROUMI to include the third number of charge/discharge cycles is less than the first second number of charge/discharge cycles associated with the number of charge/discharge cycles of the reference battery cell.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify ROUMI because it would be beneficial to health monitor an energy storage device. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 6, 15, ROUMI, SOOD teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
ROUMI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
a second sensing device is positioned proximate the representative battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0144; See also, e.g., Fig(s). Fig(s). 1A-5C)
to
measure a physical characteristic of the representative battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0144; See also, e.g., Fig(s). Fig(s). 1A-5C).
With respect to Claim(s) 7, 16, ROUMI, SOOD teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
ROUMI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the second sensing device comprises at least one of
an ultrasonic transducer, a voltage sensor, and a temperature sensor (See, e.g., ¶ 0144; See also, e.g., Fig(s). Fig(s). 1A-5C).
With respect to Claim(s) 8, 17, ROUMI, SOOD teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
ROUMI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
a comparison is made between the physical characteristic of the reference battery cell and the physical characteristic of the representative battery cell See, e.g., ¶ 0058, 0068, 0148, 0170-0172, 0178-0200),
and
wherein
the health condition of the one or more load-bearing battery cells is determined based at least in part on the comparison See, e.g., ¶ 0058, 0068, 0148, 0170-0172, 0178-0200).
With respect to Claim(s) 19, ROUMI, SOOD teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
ROUMI further teaches the BRI of:
further comprising:
receiving a physical characteristic of a representative battery cell, wherein the representative battery cell is subjected to a third number of charge/discharge cycles, wherein the third number of charge/discharge cycles is substantially equivalent to the first number of charge/discharge cycles associated with the number of charge/discharge cycles of the one or more load-bearing battery cells (See, e.g., ¶ 0144; See also, e.g., Fig(s). Fig(s). 1A-5C),
and
wherein
a second sensing device is positioned proximate the representative battery cell to measure a physical characteristic of the representative battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0144; See also, e.g., Fig(s). Fig(s). 1A-5C);
comparing the physical characteristic of the reference battery cell and the physical characteristic of the representative battery cell while the reference current is applied to the reference battery cell; and determining the health condition of the one or more load-bearing battery cells based at least in part on a deviation between the physical characteristic of the reference battery cell and the physical characteristic of the representative battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0058, 0068, 0148, 0170-0172, 0178-0200).
SOOD further teaches the BRI of:
the third number of charge/discharge cycles is less than the second number of charge/discharge cycles associated with the number of charge/discharge cycles of the reference battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0127-0128; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 11-12B, 15-17).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify ROUMI to include the third number of charge/discharge cycles is less than the second number of charge/discharge cycles associated with the number of charge/discharge cycles of the reference battery cell.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify ROUMI because it would be beneficial to health monitor an energy storage device. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 9, ROUMI, SOOD teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
ROUMI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the physical characteristic compared is at least one of
an amplitude of a received ultrasonic signal, a voltage difference across a first and second terminal of the battery cell, and a temperature proximate the battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0058, 0068, 0148, 0170-0172, 0178-0200).
With respect to Claim(s) 20, ROUMI, SOOD teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
ROUMI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
performing an action with reference to the one or more load-bearing battery cells comprises
electrically disconnecting the load from the one or more load-bearing cells (See, e.g., ¶ 0032).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, filed on 03/27/2026, have been entered and fully considered. In light of the applicant’s amendments changing the scope of the claimed invention, the rejection(s) have been withdrawn or updated. However, upon further consideration, a new or updated ground(s) of rejection(s) have been made, and applicant's argument(s)/remark(s) pertaining to the amended language have been rendered moot.
Applicant's argument(s)/remark(s), see page(s) 9, filed 03/27/2026, with respect to the 112 rejection(s) has/have been fully considered.
-Applicant states
“II. REJECTIONS UNDER 35 U.S.C. § 112
Claims 1-20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as allegedly being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In response to the Office Action's assertion, Applicant respectfully submits that claims 1, 5, 10, 14, 18, and 19 are presently amended such that the indicated rejections are overcome. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that these rejections are moot and requests withdrawal of the same.”.
Examiner agrees with the underlined argument(s)/remark(s).
Said rejection(s) has/have been withdrawn.
Applicant's argument(s)/remark(s), see page(s) 10-13, filed 03/27/2026, with respect to the art rejection(s) has/have been fully considered.
-Applicant states
“III. PRIOR ART REJECTION UNDER 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as allegedly being unpatentable over Roumi (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0006962 Al) in view of Sood (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0287219 Al).
The rejections are respectfully traversed at least in view of the amendments and remarks herein.
…
Applicant respectfully submits that neither Roumi nor Sood, whether taken alone or in proper combination, disclose or suggest these features.
Roumi relates generally to a distributed smart-battery management framework in which parameters of operating battery cells (such as voltage, impedance, and temperature) are collected by monitoring components and used in numerical models to estimate the state of charge (SOC) or state of health (SOH) of those same operating cells.
Roumi describes that "[t]he measured the electrical and physical parameters of the battery pack 106 (e.g., a profile for one or more pack parameter values over a selected operating time- frame) are transmitted to the energy management and monitoring system 102 (e.g., by respective cell monitoring and management components 210 or the battery pack monitoring and management component 104) for use in determining charging or discharging parameters for the battery pack 106. For example, the pack parameters are employed by the energy management and monitoring system 102 to estimate a state of charge (SOC) and a state of health (SOH) for the battery pack 106. For example, state of health and state of charge before and after charging or discharging may be estimated from numerical models based upon operating conditions. Optionally, comparable cell parameters measured for other cells in similar operational conditions (e.g., environment, working conditions, etc.) may also be employed in this modeling." See Roumi at [0148].
Roumi describes an Energy Management and Monitoring System which receives the electrical and physical parameters of a battery pack, utilizes numerical models utilizing comparable cell parameters measured for other cells in similar operating conditions and estimates the state of heath (SOH) for the battery pack based on the measured parameters and the numerical model. Firstly, nowhere does Roumi teach a reference current corresponding to a load current being applied to the other cells in similar operating conditions. Secondly, nowhere does Roumi teach determining the State of Health (SOH) of the battery pack based on the measured physical characteristic of the other cells in similar operating conditions and based on the reference current corresponding to the load current applied to the other cells in similar operating conditions.
Therefore, Roumi does not disclose, at least the feature of "wherein the reference current corresponding to the load current is applied to the reference battery cell of the reference device, and wherein the battery management device is configured to determine the health condition of the one or more load-bearing battery cells based on the measured physical characteristic of the reference battery cell and the reference current corresponding to the load current applied to the reference battery cell of the reference device," as recited in amended independent claim 1.
Sood does not remedy the above-noted deficiencies of Roumi. Sood is directed to ultrasonic health monitoring of lithium-ion battery cells and describes embodiments in which either all or only a subset of the actual battery pack cells are instrumented with ultrasonic sensors. Sood explains that the battery management unit may infer state of health of the unmonitored cells based on ultrasonic signals obtained from monitored cells within the same pack.
Sood describes that "[i]n one or more embodiments, a battery system employs a battery health monitoring device, for example, one or more of the battery health monitoring devices described above, to monitor individual battery cells within a battery pack. For example, the battery system 1500 can have a battery pack 1504 with a plurality of battery cells 200, each with a corresponding ultrasonic health monitoring device 1502, as shown in FIG. 15. The battery pack 1504 can be connected to a load or charging device (not shown)." See Sood at [0103]. Sood further describes that "[i]n yet another alternative, one or only some of the battery cells 200 can be provided with ultrasonic health monitoring devices, for example, as with battery system 1600 in FIG. 16. In contrast to the embodiment of FIG. 15, only the subset 1602 of the plurality of battery cells 200 are provided with an ultrasonic health monitoring device 1502." See Sood at[0107]. Sood further describes that "[t]he controller 312 can use information from the ultrasonic health monitoring devices 1502 associated with the subset 1602 to infer or predict the state of health of the remaining cells 200 within the battery pack 200." See Sood at [0108].
Sood describes a method of predicting the state of health of the battery pack based on the measured battery health of a subset of the battery cells within the battery pack. Nowhere does Sood teach a reference current corresponding to the load current being applied to a reference battery cell, rather Sood teaches the load current being applied directly to the subset of the battery cells of the battery pack which are being monitored as the battery pack is connected to the load. Further, nowhere does Sood teach the controller determining the state of health of the battery pack based on measured physical characteristics of a reference battery cell and a reference current corresponding to the load current being applied on the reference battery cell.
Therefore, Sood does not disclose, at least the feature of "wherein the reference current corresponding to the load current is applied to the reference battery cell of the reference device, and wherein the battery management device is configured to determine the health condition of the one or more load-bearing battery cells based on the measured physical characteristic of the reference battery cell and the reference current corresponding to the load current applied to the reference battery cell of the reference device," as recited in amended independent claim 1.
Accordingly, at least these features of independent claim 1 are not disclosed, taught, or suggested by Roumi nor Sood, thus, independent claim 1 is patentable over the cited references. Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejections and issuance of a Notice of Allowance. Independent claims 10 and 18 include similar recitations and are allowable for at least similar reasons.
With respect to the various rejections of the dependent claims, the patentability of the independent claims from which these claims depend has been argued as set forth above, and thus Applicant will not take this opportunity to argue the merits of the rejections with regard to the dependent claims. However, Applicant does not concede that these dependent claims are not independently patentable and reserves the right to argue the patentability of these claims at a later date, if necessary.”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the underlined argument(s)/remark(s).
Said argument(s)/remark(s) are directed towards amended limitation(s) of claim 1:
“…
wherein
the reference current corresponding to the load current is applied to the reference battery cell of the reference device,
and
wherein
the battery management device is configured to
determine the health condition of the one or more load-bearing battery cells based on the measured physical characteristic of the reference battery cell and the reference current corresponding to the load current applied to the reference battery cell of the reference device”.
Examiner’s BRI of the said amended limitations is to determine the health of a first one or more battery cells based on a second/reference battery cell’s measured characteristics and current.
ROUMI teaches at least:
[ABSTRACT] A plurality of battery packs is provided in communication with an energy monitoring and control system. Each battery pack includes a plurality of battery cells that collectively dictate the capabilities of the battery pack. The energy monitoring and control system determines a plurality of pack charging or pack discharging parameters for each battery pack that, when performed, achieve one or more performance metrics at a user level (e.g., performance metrics of each battery pack within a system of multiple battery packs). The battery pack further determines a plurality of cell charging or cell discharging parameters for each battery cell based upon the determined plurality of pack charging or pack discharging parameters for each battery cell that, when performed, achieve one or more performance metrics at a battery level (e.g., performance metrics of different cells of each battery pack);
[0007] the battery pack parameters include at least one of: a state of health of a battery pack, a state of charge of a battery pack, a voltage profile, a current profile, a temperature profile, a strain tensor profile, an entropy profile, an enthalpy profile, a priority level for a battery pack, a priority level of an electronic device powered by a battery pack, a required change in state of charge, a required energy for completing a desired task in a desired period of time by an electronic device powered by a battery pack, a location of the battery pack, and combinations thereof.
[0022-0024] the cell operating parameters include at least one of: a cell current profile, a cell voltage profile, a cell charge start time, a cell discharge start time, a cell charge duration, a cell discharge duration, a cell temperature profile at a specific location of the cell, a cell DC impedance profile, a cell AC impedance profile at a specific frequency, a cell enthalpy, a cell entropy, a cell open cell voltage for a specific state of charge, a cell state of charge, a cell state of health, and combinations thereof…each cell monitoring and management component is operative to measure at least one electrical or physical parameter of its cell…the at least one electrical or physical parameter includes at least one of: voltage, current, internal impedance, charging rate, discharging rate, temperature, stress tensor, strain tensor, pressure, acoustic emissions, optical emissions, internal DC resistance, real internal AC impedance for a specific AC frequency, imaginary internal AC impedance for a specific AC frequency, open circuit voltage after a short non-charging period during the charging, and combinations thereof.
Examiner maintains that the combination of ROUMI, SOOD teaches the BRI of the claimed invention.
See updated rejection(s) above necessitated by amendment(s).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RAYMOND NIMOX
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2857
/RAYMOND L NIMOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit