DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to Claim(s) 1, 10, 18, the limitation states
“wherein the reference battery cell is subjected to a first number of charge/discharge cycles and the one or more load-bearing battery cells are subjected to a second number of charge/discharge cycles, such that the first number of charge/discharge cycles is greater than the second number of charge/discharge cycles”.
With respect to Claim(s) 3, 12, the limitation states
“wherein the reference battery cell is subjected to charge/discharge cycles, such that the first number of charge/discharge cycles is greater than the second number of charge/discharge cycles, before being disposed within the compartment of the reference device”.
With respect to Claim(s) 5, 14, 19, the limitation states
“wherein the reference device further comprises a representative battery cell,
wherein the representative battery cell is subjected to a third number of charge/discharge cycles,
wherein the third number of charge/discharge cycles is substantially equivalent to the second number of charge/discharge cycles associated with the number of charge/discharge cycles of the one or more load-bearing battery cells,
and
wherein the third number of charge/discharge cycles is less than the first number of charge/discharge cycles associated with the number of charge/discharge cycles of the reference battery cell”.
It is unclear how these limitations further limit the structure and function of the plurality of battery devices/cells. POSITA would understand a conventional battery cell to be operable to be charged/discharged any number of times through the end of a battery cell’s lifespan. Further, it is unclear how the number of cycles of each battery cell further limits the function of the battery management device. It does not appear that the battery management device utilizes any charge/discharge cycle information to determine a health condition of either battery cell.
For examination purposes, any system/device/method that determines the health of a battery cell of a battery pack based on physical characteristic data of a reference battery cell meets the BRI of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 2, 4, 6-9, 11, 13, 15-17, 20 is/are rejected as for being dependent on the above rejected parent claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ROUMI ET AL. (US 20200006962 A1) (hereinafter “ROUMI”) in view of SOOD ET AL. (US 20180287219 A1) (hereinafter “SOOD”).
With respect to Claim(s) 1, ROUMI teaches a plurality of battery packs is provided in communication with an energy monitoring and control system. Each battery pack includes a plurality of battery cells that collectively dictate the capabilities of the battery pack. The energy monitoring and control system determines a plurality of pack charging or pack discharging parameters for each battery pack that, when performed, achieve one or more performance metrics at a user level (e.g., performance metrics of each battery pack within a system of multiple battery packs). The battery pack further determines a plurality of cell charging or cell discharging parameters for each battery cell based upon the determined plurality of pack charging or pack discharging parameters for each battery cell that, when performed, achieve one or more performance metrics at a battery level (e.g., performance metrics of different cells of each battery pack) and the BRI of:
monitoring a health condition of a battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0007),
a battery pack electrically connected to a load, the battery pack comprising one or more load-bearing battery cells (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1A-5C);
a reference device (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1A-5C)
comprising:
a reference battery cell (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1A-5C);
a battery charger/discharger electrically connected to the reference battery cell (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1A-5C);
and
a sensing device positioned to measure a physical characteristic of the reference battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0144; See also, e.g., Fig(s). Fig(s). 1A-5C),
wherein
the reference battery cell is subjected to a first number of charge/discharge cycles and the one or more load-bearing battery cells are subjected to a second number of charge/discharge cycles (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1A-5C);
and
a battery management device communicatively connected to the battery pack and the reference device (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1A-5C),
wherein
the battery management device
receives a load current corresponding to a current required by the load (See, e.g., ¶ 0007, 0029, 0037, 0040, 0146),
wherein
the battery management device
transmits a reference current corresponding to the load current, and wherein the reference current is applied to the reference battery cell of the reference device, such that the health condition of the one or more load-bearing battery cells is determined based on the measured physical characteristic of the reference battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0058, 0068, 0148, 0170-0172, 0178-0200).
However, ROUMI is lacking the explicit language of:
such that the first number of charge/discharge cycles is greater than the second number of charge/discharge cycles (See 112(b) Rejections).
SOOD teaches a monitoring device for a battery pack, which includes a plurality of battery cells, has at least one ultrasound source and at least one ultrasound sensor. The ultrasound source can be configured to generate and direct ultrasound at one or more battery cells of the battery pack. The ultrasound sensor can be configured to detect ultrasound reflected from or transmitted through one or more cells of the battery pack. A battery management unit receives one or more signals from the ultrasound sensor responsive to the detected ultrasound. The battery management unit can be configured to determine a state of the battery pack based at least in part on the detected ultrasound and the BRI of:
such that the first number of charge/discharge cycles is greater than the second number of charge/discharge cycles (See 112(b) Rejections; See, e.g., ¶ 0127-0128; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 11-12B, 15-17)
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify ROUMI to include such that the first number of charge/discharge cycles is greater than the second number of charge/discharge cycles.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify ROUMI because it would be beneficial to health monitor an energy storage device. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 10, ROUMI teaches a plurality of battery packs is provided in communication with an energy monitoring and control system. Each battery pack includes a plurality of battery cells that collectively dictate the capabilities of the battery pack. The energy monitoring and control system determines a plurality of pack charging or pack discharging parameters for each battery pack that, when performed, achieve one or more performance metrics at a user level (e.g., performance metrics of each battery pack within a system of multiple battery packs). The battery pack further determines a plurality of cell charging or cell discharging parameters for each battery cell based upon the determined plurality of pack charging or pack discharging parameters for each battery cell that, when performed, achieve one or more performance metrics at a battery level (e.g., performance metrics of different cells of each battery pack) and the BRI of:
monitoring a health condition of one or more load-bearing cells subjected to a load current (See, e.g., ¶ 0007),
a reference battery cell (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1A-5C);
a battery charger/discharger electrically connected to the reference battery cell (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1A-5C);
and
a sensing device positioned to measure a physical characteristic of the reference battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0144; See also, e.g., Fig(s). Fig(s). 1A-5C),
wherein
the reference battery cell is subjected to a first number of charge/discharge cycles and the one or more load-bearing battery cells are subjected to a second number of charge/discharge cycles (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1A-5C);
and
wherein
a reference current corresponding to the load current is applied to the reference battery cell, such that the health condition of the one or more load-bearing battery cells is determined based on the measured physical characteristic of the reference battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0058, 0068, 0148, 0170-0172, 0178-0200).
However, ROUMI is lacking the explicit language of:
such that the first number of charge/discharge cycles is greater than the second number of charge/discharge cycles (See 112(b) Rejections).
SOOD teaches a monitoring device for a battery pack, which includes a plurality of battery cells, has at least one ultrasound source and at least one ultrasound sensor. The ultrasound source can be configured to generate and direct ultrasound at one or more battery cells of the battery pack. The ultrasound sensor can be configured to detect ultrasound reflected from or transmitted through one or more cells of the battery pack. A battery management unit receives one or more signals from the ultrasound sensor responsive to the detected ultrasound. The battery management unit can be configured to determine a state of the battery pack based at least in part on the detected ultrasound and the BRI of:
such that the first number of charge/discharge cycles is greater than the second number of charge/discharge cycles (See 112(b) Rejections; See, e.g., ¶ 0127-0128; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 11-12B, 15-17)
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify ROUMI to include such that the first number of charge/discharge cycles is greater than the second number of charge/discharge cycles.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify ROUMI because it would be beneficial to health monitor an energy storage device. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 18, ROUMI teaches a plurality of battery packs is provided in communication with an energy monitoring and control system. Each battery pack includes a plurality of battery cells that collectively dictate the capabilities of the battery pack. The energy monitoring and control system determines a plurality of pack charging or pack discharging parameters for each battery pack that, when performed, achieve one or more performance metrics at a user level (e.g., performance metrics of each battery pack within a system of multiple battery packs). The battery pack further determines a plurality of cell charging or cell discharging parameters for each battery cell based upon the determined plurality of pack charging or pack discharging parameters for each battery cell that, when performed, achieve one or more performance metrics at a battery level (e.g., performance metrics of different cells of each battery pack) and the BRI of:
monitoring one or more load-bearing battery cells (See, e.g., ¶ 0007),
determining a load current, wherein the load current corresponds to a current required by a load electrically connected to the one or more load-bearing battery cells (See, e.g., ¶ 0007, 0029, 0037, 0040, 0146);
causing
a battery charger/discharger electrically connected to a reference battery cell (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1A-5C)
to
apply a reference current, substantially equivalent to the load current, to the reference battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0058, 0068, 0148, 0170-0172, 0178-0200),
wherein
the reference battery cell is subjected to a first number of charge/discharge cycles and the one or more load-bearing battery cells are subjected to a second number of charge/discharge cycles (See, e.g., ¶ 0058, 0068, 0148, 0170-0172, 0178-0200);
receiving a physical characteristic of the reference battery cell from a sensing device (See, e.g., ¶ 0144; See also, e.g., Fig(s). Fig(s). 1A-5C),
wherein
the sensing device is positioned to
measure a physical characteristic of the reference battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0144; See also, e.g., Fig(s). Fig(s). 1A-5C);
determining a health condition of the reference battery cell based at least in part on the physical characteristic (See, e.g., ¶ 0058, 0068, 0148, 0170-0172, 0178-0200);
and
performing an action with reference to the one or more load-bearing battery cells, based on the health condition of the reference battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0058, 0068, 0148, 0170-0172, 0178-0200).
However, ROUMI is lacking the explicit language of:
such that the first number of charge/discharge cycles is greater than the second number of charge/discharge cycles (See 112(b) Rejections).
SOOD teaches a monitoring device for a battery pack, which includes a plurality of battery cells, has at least one ultrasound source and at least one ultrasound sensor. The ultrasound source can be configured to generate and direct ultrasound at one or more battery cells of the battery pack. The ultrasound sensor can be configured to detect ultrasound reflected from or transmitted through one or more cells of the battery pack. A battery management unit receives one or more signals from the ultrasound sensor responsive to the detected ultrasound. The battery management unit can be configured to determine a state of the battery pack based at least in part on the detected ultrasound and the BRI of:
such that the first number of charge/discharge cycles is greater than the second number of charge/discharge cycles (See 112(b) Rejections; See, e.g., ¶ 0127-0128; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 11-12B, 15-17)
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify ROUMI to include such that the first number of charge/discharge cycles is greater than the second number of charge/discharge cycles.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify ROUMI because it would be beneficial to health monitor an energy storage device. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 2, 11, ROUMI, SOOD teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
ROUMI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the reference device further comprises
a housing defining a compartment physically separated from a the one or more load-bearing battery cells (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1A-5C),
and
wherein
the reference battery cell is disposed within the compartment (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1A-5C).
With respect to Claim(s) 3, 12, ROUMI, SOOD teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
ROUMI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the reference battery cell is subjected to charge/discharge cycles, such that the first number of charge/discharge cycles is greater than the second number of charge/discharge cycles, before being disposed within the compartment of the reference device (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1A-5C).
With respect to Claim(s) 4, 13, ROUMI, SOOD teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
ROUMI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the sensing device comprises at least one of
an ultrasonic transducer, a voltage sensor, and a temperature sensor (See, e.g., ¶ 0024).
With respect to Claim(s) 5, 14, ROUMI, SOOD teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
ROUMI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the reference device further comprises
a representative battery cell (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1A-5C),
wherein
the representative battery cell is subjected to a third number of charge/discharge cycles (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1A-5C),
wherein
the third number of charge/discharge cycles is substantially equivalent to the second number of charge/discharge cycles associated with the number of charge/discharge cycles of the one or more load-bearing battery cells (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1A-5C).
SOOD further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the third number of charge/discharge cycles is less than the first number of charge/discharge cycles associated with the number of charge/discharge cycles of the reference battery cell (See 112(b) Rejections; See, e.g., ¶ 0127-0128; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 11-12B, 15-17).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify ROUMI to include wherein the third number of charge/discharge cycles is less than the first number of charge/discharge cycles associated with the number of charge/discharge cycles of the reference battery cell.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify ROUMI because it would be beneficial to health monitor an energy storage device. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 6, 15, ROUMI, SOOD teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
ROUMI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
a second sensing device is positioned proximate the representative battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0144; See also, e.g., Fig(s). Fig(s). 1A-5C)
to
measure a physical characteristic of the representative battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0144; See also, e.g., Fig(s). Fig(s). 1A-5C).
With respect to Claim(s) 7, 16, ROUMI, SOOD teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
ROUMI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the second sensing device comprises at least one of
an ultrasonic transducer, a voltage sensor, and a temperature sensor (See, e.g., ¶ 0144; See also, e.g., Fig(s). Fig(s). 1A-5C).
With respect to Claim(s) 8, 17, ROUMI, SOOD teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
ROUMI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
a comparison is made between the physical characteristic of the reference battery cell and the physical characteristic of the representative battery cell See, e.g., ¶ 0058, 0068, 0148, 0170-0172, 0178-0200),
and
wherein
the health condition of the one or more load-bearing battery cells is determined based at least in part on the comparison See, e.g., ¶ 0058, 0068, 0148, 0170-0172, 0178-0200).
With respect to Claim(s) 19, ROUMI, SOOD teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
ROUMI further teaches the BRI of:
further comprising:
receiving a physical characteristic of a representative battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0144; See also, e.g., Fig(s). Fig(s). 1A-5C),
wherein
the representative battery cell is subjected to a third number of charge/discharge cycles (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1A-5C),
such that
the third number of charge/discharge cycles is substantially equivalent to the second number of charge/discharge cycles associated with the number of charge/discharge cycles of the one or more load-bearing battery cells (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1A-5C),
and
wherein
a second sensing device is positioned proximate the representative battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0144; See also, e.g., Fig(s). Fig(s). 1A-5C)
to
measure a physical characteristic of the representative battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0144; See also, e.g., Fig(s). Fig(s). 1A-5C);
comparing the physical characteristic of the reference battery cell and the physical characteristic of the representative battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0058, 0068, 0148, 0170-0172, 0178-0200);
and
determining the health condition of the one or more load-bearing battery cells based at least in part on the comparison between the physical characteristic of the reference battery cell and the physical characteristic of the representative battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0058, 0068, 0148, 0170-0172, 0178-0200).
SOOD further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the third number of charge/discharge cycles is less than the first number of charge/discharge cycles associated with the number of charge/discharge cycles of the reference battery cell (See 112(b) Rejections; See, e.g., ¶ 0127-0128; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 11-12B, 15-17).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify ROUMI to include wherein the third number of charge/discharge cycles is less than the first number of charge/discharge cycles associated with the number of charge/discharge cycles of the reference battery cell.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify ROUMI because it would be beneficial to health monitor an energy storage device. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 9, ROUMI, SOOD teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
ROUMI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the physical characteristic compared is at least one of
an amplitude of a received ultrasonic signal, a voltage difference across a first and second terminal of the battery cell, and a temperature proximate the battery cell (See, e.g., ¶ 0058, 0068, 0148, 0170-0172, 0178-0200).
With respect to Claim(s) 20, ROUMI, SOOD teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
ROUMI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
performing an action with reference to the one or more load-bearing battery cells comprises
electrically disconnecting the load from the one or more load-bearing cells (See, e.g., ¶ 0032).
Conclusion
RAYMOND NIMOX
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2857
/RAYMOND L NIMOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857