DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments/amendments filed Nov. 17, 2025 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Objections
2. The claim(s) is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 3, the claim limitation “…an onboard battery system…” should be “…the onboard battery system…” according to antecedent basis requirement.
Regarding claim 8, the claim limitation “…a lower surface of the power station…an upper surface of the power station…” should be “…a lower surface of the inverter power station…an upper surface of the inverter power station…” according to antecedent basis requirement.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-3, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamashita et al. (11,631,990) (“Yamashita”).
Regarding claim 1, Yamashita discloses a power station and gas generator assembly (Figs.1 and 2, please refer to the whole reference for detailed) comprising: an inverter power station (3) comprising: an onboard battery system (54 in Fig.3); and an inverter (55) electrically coupled to the onboard battery system and configured to convert a DC power output from the onboard battery system into a first AC power output; a gas generator (1) configured to generate a second AC power output; and a linking module (2) electrically couplable to the inverter power station (3) and the gas generator (1; column 6, line 64-67), wherein the linking module couples the gas generator and the inverter power station in parallel and the linking module is capable of combining the first AC power output with the second AC power output to provide a combined power output therefrom when the inverter power station generates the first AC power output and the gas generator generates the second AC power output (please refer to at least column 3, line 33-52); wherein: the inverter power station (3) comprises a power output receptacle (8) comprising a first pair of linking module connection ports (ports connected to a pair of outputs from 55 in Fig.2) configured to provide the first AC power output; the gas generator (1) comprises a power output receptacle (22) comprising a second pair of linking module connection ports (ports connected to a pair of outputs from 51 in Fig.2) configured to provide the second AC power output; and the linking module comprises first and second pairs of power leads (first pair of power lead connected to 4 and second pair of power lead connected to 5), wherein each of the first and second pairs of power leads is electrically couplable to the first or second pair of linking module connection ports (Fig.2).
Regarding claim 2, Yamashita discloses wherein the gas generator (1) is electrically couplable to the inverter power station (3) to charge the onboard battery system (54; column 6, line 60-63).
Regarding claim 3, Yamashita discloses the inverter power station (3) comprises an onboard battery system (54) and is electrically couplable to one or more expansion batteries to receive power therefrom (column 6, line 47-53).
Regarding claim 6, Yamashita discloses the inverter power station (3) is electrically couplable to another inverter power station via the linking module (2; column 6, line 47-53).
Regarding claim 7, Yamashita discloses the linking module (2) receives AC power from the inverter power station (3) and the gas generator (1); and the linking module comprises at least one AC power output receptacle (59) to provide the combined power output therefrom (please refer to at least column 3, line 33-52).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita et al. (11,631,990) (“Yamashita”) in view of Luangrath et al. (2021/0376635) (“Luangrath”).
Regarding claim 5, Yamashita is used to reject claims 1 and 3 above.
Yamashita doesn’t disclose the inverter power station comprises a battery gage configured to display a combined battery level of each of the one or more expansion batteries when connected to the inverter power station.
Luangrath discloses the inverter power station (Fig.1) comprises a battery gage configured to display a combined battery level of each of the one or more expansion batteries when connected to the inverter power station (please refer to at least ¶ 51 and 55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamashita with the teaching of Luangrath to provide the inverter power station comprises a battery gage configured to display a combined battery level of each of the one or more expansion batteries when connected to the inverter power station. The suggestion/motivation would have been to use stack storage method as taught by Luangrath to provide a compact system and/or to reduce space.
8. Claims 10-13, 15-18 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita et al. (11,631,990) (“Yamashita”) in view of Collie (2013/0293023).
Regarding claim 10, Yamashita discloses a power station and gas inverter assembly (Figs.1 and 2, please refer to the whole reference for detailed) comprising: a power station (3) comprising: a battery system (54) capable of generating a DC power output when the battery has a charge, and an inverter (55) electrically coupled to the battery system and capable of converting the DC power output of the battery system into a first AC power output; a gas inverter generator (1; column 6, line 64-67) capable of generating a second AC power output; and a linking module (2) electrically couplable to the power station and the gas inverter generator to combine the first AC power output received from the power station with the second AC power output received from the gas inverter generator into a combined power output when the power station generates the first AC power output and the gas generator generates the second AC power output (please refer to at least column 3, line 33-52), wherein the linking module (2) is configured to provide the combined power output with an increased current output in comparison to a current of the first AC power output received from the power station and a current of the second AC power output received from the gas inverter generator (please refer to at least column 3, line 33-52) and with a voltage output equal to a voltage of the first and second AC power outputs received from the power station and the gas inverter generator (please refer to at least column 3, line 33-52; Note: AC output voltage is standardized - for example in United States: it is 120 V), wherein the power station and the linking module are placed side by side.
Yamashita doesn’t disclose wherein the power station and linking module are stackable, with the linking module having connecting members on an upper or lower surface thereof that mate securely with connecting members on an upper or lower surface of the power station.
Collie discloses an example of a linking module (28) is configured to provide the combined power output (at 52 of 28 in Figs.1 and 3) with an increased current output in comparison to a current of the first AC power output received from a first power station (for example - 20) and a current of the second AC power output received from a second power station (for example - 22) and with a voltage output (voltage output at 52 of 28) equal to a voltage of the first and second AC power outputs received from the first station (for example - 20) and the second power station (for example - 22) (please refer to at least ¶ 4, 8-11, 22 and 29-36); wherein the power station and linking module are stackable (Fig.1), with the linking module having connecting members on an upper or lower surface thereof that mate securely with connecting members on an upper or lower surface of the power station (please refer to Fig.1 and ¶ 46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamashita with the teaching of Collie to provide the power station and linking module are stackable, with the linking module having connecting members on an upper or lower surface thereof that mate securely with connecting members on an upper or lower surface of the power station. The suggestion/motivation would have been to fasten the linking module to the top or side of the power station as desired as suggested by Collie’s ¶ 46.
Regarding claim 11, Yamashita in view of Collie is used to reject claim 10 above.
Yamashita discloses the gas inverter generator (1) is electrically couplable to the power station (3) to charge the battery system (column 6, line 60-63).
Regarding claim 12, Yamashita in view of Collie is used to reject claim 10 above.
Yamashita discloses the linking module (2) is configured to electrically couple the first and second AC power outputs (AC power outputs “8 and 22”) from the power station (3) and the gas inverter generator (1) in parallel (Fig.2).
Regarding claim 13, Yamashita in view of Collie is used to reject claim 10 above.
Yamashita discloses the linking module (2) comprises an AC power output receptacle (59) configured to provide the combined power output (please refer to at least column 3, line 33-52).
Regarding claim 15, Yamashita in view of Collie is used to reject claim 10 above.
Yamashita discloses the power station (3) is an expandable power station couplable to one or more expansion batteries (column 6, line 49-59).
Regarding claim 16, Yamashita in view of Collie is used to reject claim 10 above.
Yamashita discloses the power station (3) is electrically couplable to another power station comprising a battery system (55 in Fig.2) and an inverter (55) electrically coupled to the battery system (column 6, line 49-59).
Regarding claim 17, Yamashita discloses a power station and gas generator assembly (Figs.1 and 2, please refer to the whole reference for detailed) comprising: an inverter power station (3) configured to provide a first AC power output at an AC voltage and a first AC current at or below a first AC current rating; a gas inverter generator (1) configured to provide a second AC power output at the AC voltage and a second AC current at or below a second AC current rating; and a linking kit (2) configured to: electrically connect to the inverter power station to receive the first AC power output therefrom; electrically connect to the gas inverter generator to receive the second AC power output therefrom; combine the first and second AC power outputs into a third AC power output (at 59) at the AC voltage and a third AC current that is a combination of the first and second AC currents when the inverter power station provides the first AC power output and the gas generator provides the second AC power output (please refer to at least Fig. 2 and column 3, line 33-52); and provide the third AC power output to a load (load connected to 59) at the AC voltage and the third AC current at or below a third AC current rating that is a combination of the first and second AC current ratings (Fig.2); wherein: the inverter power station comprises a first AC power output receptacle (8); the gas inverter generator comprises a second AC power output receptacle (22); and the linking kit (2) comprises two pairs of parallel cables (cables connected between 61 and 60), wherein each pair of parallel cables is electrically connectable to the first or second AC power output receptacles to receive the first AC power output or the second AC power output (Fig.2).
Yamashita doesn’t disclose the first AC power output receptacle is a first pair of parallel AC power output receptacles and the second AC power output receptacle is a second pair of parallel AC power output receptacles.
Collie discloses an example of a first AC power output receptacle (receptacle of 24 connected to 34 in Fig.1) is a first pair of parallel AC power output receptacles and the second AC power output receptacle (receptacle of 26 connected to 36 in Fig.1) is a second pair of parallel AC power output receptacles (Fig.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamashita with the teaching of Collie to provide the first AC power output receptacle is a first pair of parallel AC power output receptacles and the second AC power output receptacle is a second pair of parallel AC power output receptacles. The suggestion/motivation would have been to use a desired output receptacle as taught either by Yamashita or Collie based on availability in the market
Regarding claim 18, Yamashita in view of Collie is used to reject claim 17 above.
Yamashita discloses the inverter power station (3) comprises an onboard battery system (54); and the gas inverter generator (1) is electrically couplable to the inverter power station to charge the onboard battery system (column 6, line 60-63).
Regarding claim 20, Yamashita in view of Collie is used to reject claim 17 above.
Yamashita discloses the inverter power station (3) comprises a first AC power output receptacle (8) configured to provide the first AC power output; the gas inverter generator (1) comprises a second AC power output receptacle (22) configured to provide the second AC power output; and the linking kit (2) comprises a third AC power output receptacle (59) configured to provide the third AC power output.
Regarding claim 21, Yamashita in view of Collie is used to reject claims 17 and 20 above.
Yamashita discloses the first AC current rating is an AC current rating of the first AC power output receptacle (8); the second AC current rating is an AC current rating of the second AC power output receptacle (22); and the third AC current rating is an AC current rating of the third AC power output receptacle (59).
Regarding claim 22, Yamashita in view of Collie is used to reject claims 17, 20 and 21 above.
Yamashita doesn’t explicitly disclose the AC voltage is approximately 120V and the first AC current rating and second AC current rating are each approximately 15A.
Collie discloses the AC voltage is approximately 120V (¶ 15) and the first (AC current rating of output receptacle of 20 which is connected to 30) and second (AC current rating of output receptacle of 24 which is connected to 34) AC current ratings are approximately 15 A (please refer to at least ¶ 36 and 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamashita with the teaching of Collie to provide the AC voltage is approximately 120V and the first AC current rating and second AC current rating are each approximately 15A. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a desired level of output AC voltage/current as a design choice.
9. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita et al. (11,631,990) (“Yamashita”) in view of Collie (2013/0293023) and Luangrath et al. (2021/0376635) (“Luangrath”).
Regarding claim 19, Yamashita in view of Collie is used to reject claim 17 above.
Yamashita discloses the inverter power station (3) is powered by an onboard battery system (54) and is electrically connectable to one or more expansion batteries to receive power therefrom (column 6, line 48-60).
Yamashita doesn’t explicitly disclose using lithium-ion battery.
Luangrath discloses an example of using lithium-ion battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamashita in view of Collie with the teaching of Luangrath to provide the onboard lithium-ion battery system. The suggestion/motivation would have been to use a lithium-ion battery as supported by Luangrath.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 4, 9, 14 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
11. Claim 8 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the objection set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Richard Tan/Primary Examiner 2849