Status of Claims
Claims 3-6 were elected. Claims 1-2 are withdrawn. Claims 1-6 remain pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“control unit” in claims 3 and 5;
“transfer unit” in claims 4 and 6;
“mark former” in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BEANLAND (US 6977986 B1) in view of HARA (US 20160211218 A1).
Regarding claim 3, BEANLAND discloses an X-ray diffraction device, comprising:
an X-ray source 110 that radiates an X-ray 170 to a semiconductor wafer 190 held on a check (col. 5, ll. 18-27, 57-65);
an X-ray detector 160 that detects an intensity of a diffracted X-ray of said X-ray coming from the semiconductor wafer (detector 160 measures Bragg diffraction; col. 4, ll. 38-40, 57-68; col. 4, ll. 8-16); and
a control unit 50 that causes the X-ray source to radiate the X-ray and the X-ray detector to detect the intensity of the diffracted X-ray, to thereby determine a direction of a predetermined crystal plane of the semiconductor wafer, viewed from a direction perpendicular to a surface of the semiconductor wafer (wafer alignment control unit 50 is incorporated into computer, and controls the source 110 and detector 160 to determine the crystal-plane orientation by monitoring the x-ray pulse rate I1 from the detector and rotating the wafer via chuck actuator unit 45 until the rate is maximized, a max occurring when the crystal planes are aligned to the diffraction tool; col. 5, ll. 1-6; col. 6, ll. 46-56; col. 3, ll. 15-20).
BEANLAND does not disclose two alignment marks formed on the wafer, nor calculating an angle Ɵ created between the direction of the predetermined crystal plane and a straight line connecting said two alignment marks.
Fig 1 of BEANLAND shows the XRD crystallography apparatus 10.
In the same field of endeavor, HARA discloses a system and method of forming crystal-orientation marks on a semiconductor substrate for precision alignment. HARA discloses laser-etching a marking region for crystal-orientation detection at two locations on the substrate, by which the in-plane crystal axis is determined, thereby providing a fixed alignment between two marks for precision alignment ([0013, 0021-0022]). In light of the teachings of HARA, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine with the teachings of BEANLAND.
Fig. 1 of HARA shows a straight-line region marked on a wafer indicating crystal alignment.
Regarding claim 4, BEANLAND discloses the transfer unit configured to: after the crystal planes are aligned, the lithographic too l20 transfers the pattern onto the wafer 190 by activating the exposure source 25 to illuminate the mask 35 (col. 6, ll. 56-65), the wafer having been rotated to align the crystal planes to the pattern (col. 6, ll. 46-56). It would have been obvious, in the BEANLAND-HARA combination, to adjust the wafer position so that the angle between the predetermined reference direction and the straight line connecting the two marks matches Ɵ, for the reasons provided in claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, BEANLAND discloses an X-ray diffraction device 10 (FIG 1), comprising:
an X-ray source 110 that radiates an X-ray 170 to a semiconductor wafer 190 (col. 5, ll. 18-27, 57-65);
an X-ray detector 160 that detects an intensity of a diffracted X-ray of said X-ray coming from the semiconductor wafer (detector 160 measures Bragg diffraction; col. 4, ll. 38-40, 57-68; col. 4, ll. 8-16); and
a control unit 50 that causes the X-ray source to radiate the X-ray and the X-ray detector to detect the intensity of the diffracted X-ray, to thereby determine a direction of a predetermined crystal plane of the semiconductor wafer, viewed from a direction perpendicular to a surface of the semiconductor wafer (col. 5, ll. 1-6; col. 6, ll. 46-56; col. 3, ll. 15-20).
BEANLAND does not disclose a mark former configured to form two alignment marks on the wafer, nor wherein the control unit is further configured for calculating an angle Ɵ created between the direction of the predetermined crystal plane and a straight line connecting said two alignment marks. In the same field of endeavor, HARA discloses a system and method of forming crystal-orientation marks on a semiconductor substrate for precision alignment. HARA discloses laser-etching a marking region for crystal-orientation detection at two locations on the substrate, by which the in-plane crystal axis is determined, thereby providing a fixed alignment between two marks for precision alignment ([0013, 0021-0022]). In light of the teachings of HARA, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine with the teachings of BEANLAND.
Regarding claim 6, BEANLAND discloses the transfer unit configured to: after the crystal planes are aligned, the lithographic too l20 transfers the pattern onto the wafer 190 by activating the exposure source 25 to illuminate the mask 35 (col. 6, ll. 56-65), the wafer having been rotated to align the crystal planes to the pattern (col. 6, ll. 46-56). It would have been obvious, in the BEANLAND-HARA combination, to adjust the wafer position so that the angle between the predetermined reference direction and the straight line connecting the two marks matches Ɵ, for the reasons provided in claim 3.
Conclusion
CASEY BRYANT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2884
/CASEY BRYANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884