DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed June 17, 2026. Claims 1, 3-12, and 21-29 are still pending in the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 9, 11, 21-25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tachikawa (US 2016/0242129) in view of in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0215776, “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1, Tachikawa teaches a communication method applied in a first network entity (FIG. 4 server 400), comprising:
obtaining first information, wherein the first information comprises any one of the following: signal measurement results of a terminal device in at least two cells, and a relationship of the signal measurement results of the terminal device in the at least two cells, wherein the at least two cells comprise a first cell and a second cell ([0083] “UE 100 performs, on the basis of the measurement instruction information, received power measurement of reference signals (RSs) received from each of the eNB 200-1 (cell #1), the eNB 200-2 (cell #2), and the eNB 200-3 (cell #3).” [0084] “In step S4, the UE 100 transmits, to the eNB 200-2, a measurement report including a measurement result.” [0085] “In step S5, the eNB 200-2 that has received the measurement report transmits (transfers) the received measurement report to the server 400”); and
determining, based on second information, an adjustment manner for adjusting transmit power of the first cell ([0096] “The amount of increase in transmission power in the table is set to a value such that the lowest received power meets power requirements (target value)”), {wherein the determining comprises predicting signal quality information of the first terminal device in the first cell based on the second information, wherein the signal quality information comprises signal quality and/or whether the signal quality exceeds a first preset threshold, and determining, based on the signal quality information of the first terminal device in the first cell, the adjustment manner for adjusting the transmit power of the first cell}
wherein the adjustment manner comprises one or more of the following: whether to perform adjustment, an adjustment direction, and an adjustment range, ([0086] “In step S6, the server 400 that has received the measurement report decides, on the basis of the received measurement report, the amount of increase in transmission power of the eNB 200-1 (cell #1)”) wherein the second information comprises the first information and a signal measurement result of a first terminal device in the second cell ([0094] ”the server 400 acquires measurement reports of each of a plurality of UEs 100 (UE-1, UE-2, . . . ) connected to either of the eNB 200-2 and the eNB 200-3”).
Tachikawa does not teach wherein the determining comprises predicting signal quality information of the first terminal device in the first cell based on the second information, wherein the signal quality information comprises signal quality and/or whether the signal quality exceeds a first preset threshold, and determining, based on the signal quality information of the first terminal device in the first cell, the adjustment manner for adjusting the transmit power of the first cell.
However, Kim teaches wherein the determining comprises predicting signal quality information of the first terminal device in the first cell based on the second information, wherein the signal quality information comprises signal quality and/or whether the signal quality exceeds a first preset threshold, and determining, based on the signal quality information of the first terminal device in the first cell, the adjustment manner for adjusting the transmit power of the first cell (0054] “In operation 230, the first base station 110-1 may determine the transmit power of the first base station.” [0055] “Specifically, in order to determine the transmit power of the first base station, the first base station 110-1 calculates the received SINR of the serving UE using the first information received from the neighbor base station and measurement information received from the UE.” [0073] “The SINR estimate of the first UE is not a value calculated based on the RSRP of the base station measured by the UE while actually adjusting the transmit power of the second base station, but is an estimate calculated under the assumption that the transmit power of the second base station is varied based on the RSRP of the base station in the first measurement information” [0109] “the transmit power of the base station may be further lowered”[0163] “Embodiments of the disclosure may predict the SINR due to a variation in transmit power and update the transmit power adjustment range to prevent the SINR of UE from lowering below the SINR at which communication outage occurs”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the determining comprises predicting signal quality information of the first terminal device in the first cell based on the second information, wherein the signal quality information comprises signal quality and/or whether the signal quality exceeds a first preset threshold, and determining, based on the signal quality information of the first terminal device in the first cell, the adjustment manner for adjusting the transmit power of the first cell, as taught by Kim to prevent the UE from losing connection.
Regarding claim 3, Tachikawa in view of Kim teaches claim 2 and further teaches wherein the determining, based on the signal quality information of the first terminal device in the first cell, the adjustment manner for adjusting the transmit power of the first cell comprises: determining, based on the signal quality information of the first terminal device in the first cell ([0091] “The amount of increase in transmission power in the table is set to a value such that the lowest received power meets power requirements (target value). In an example of FIG. 11, when focusing on the received power for the eNB 200-1, the received power in the UE-1 is the lowest and is −150 [dBm]. Thus, the server 400 decides 50 [dBm] corresponding to −150 [dBm] as the amount of increase in transmission power of the eNB 200-1, on the basis of the table shown in FIG. 12.”) and third information, the adjustment manner for adjusting the transmit power of the first cell, wherein the third information comprises one or more of the following: a quantity of first terminal devices, a service model of the first terminal device ([0094] “the server 400 acquires measurement reports of each of a plurality of UEs 100 (UE-1, UE-2, . . . ) connected to either of the eNB 200-2 and the eNB 200-3. In an example of FIG. 11, the received power of every UE 100 for the eNB 200-1 performing cell extension is equal to or more than a threshold value, and thus, the server 400 determines that it is possible to include all of the UEs 100 into the coverage by the cell extension.” [0095] “Furthermore, the server 400 identifies a UE 100 (here, UE-1) which has the lowest received power for the eNB 200-1 performing the cell extension. When the transmission power is increased such that the received power of the UE-1 satisfies power requirements, it is possible to include all of the UEs 100 into the coverage by the cell extension”), and first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates to hand over the first terminal device to a second network entity, or the first indication information indicates to add the second network entity as a secondary network device of the first terminal device ([0104] “the server 400 makes the communication performed by the UE-5 possible to be continued, by performing control to cause the UE-5 handover to the eNB 200-4”), and the second network entity is a network device to which the first cell belongs (FIG. 7, FIG. 9, FIG. 10, [0083] “UE 100 performs, on the basis of the measurement instruction information, received power measurement of reference signals (RSs) received from each of the eNB 200-1 (cell #1), the eNB 200-2 (cell #2), and the eNB 200-3 (cell #3)” [0088] “In step S8, the server 400 transmits, to the eNB 200-1, a power up instruction. The power up instruction includes information indicating an amount of increase in transmission power and the information indicating a power up time”).
Regarding claim 4, Tachikawa in view of Kim teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein the second information further comprises one or more of the following: a quantity of first terminal devices, a service model of the first terminal device ([0094] “the server 400 acquires measurement reports of each of a plurality of UEs 100 (UE-1, UE-2, . . . ) connected to either of the eNB 200-2 and the eNB 200-3. In an example of FIG. 11, the received power of every UE 100 for the eNB 200-1 performing cell extension is equal to or more than a threshold value, and thus, the server 400 determines that it is possible to include all of the UEs 100 into the coverage by the cell extension.” [0095] “Furthermore, the server 400 identifies a UE 100 (here, UE-1) which has the lowest received power for the eNB 200-1 performing the cell extension. When the transmission power is increased such that the received power of the UE-1 satisfies power requirements, it is possible to include all of the UEs 100 into the coverage by the cell extension” Note: “the server 400 acquires measurement reports of each of a plurality of UEs 100 (UE-1, UE-2, . . . )” indicates the quantity of the UE is considered), and first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates to hand over the first terminal device to a second network entity, or the first indication information indicates to add the second network entity as a secondary network device of the first terminal device ([0104] “the server 400 makes the communication performed by the UE-5 possible to be continued, by performing control to cause the UE-5 handover to the eNB 200-4”), and the second network entity is a network device to which the first cell belongs (FIG. 7, FIG. 9, FIG. 10, [0083] “UE 100 performs, on the basis of the measurement instruction information, received power measurement of reference signals (RSs) received from each of the eNB 200-1 (cell #1), the eNB 200-2 (cell #2), and the eNB 200-3 (cell #3)” [0088] “In step S8, the server 400 transmits, to the eNB 200-1, a power up instruction. The power up instruction includes information indicating an amount of increase in transmission power and the information indicating a power up time”).
Regarding claim 5, Tachikawa in view of Kim teaches claim 1 and further teaches, wherein the obtaining first information comprises: receiving the first information from at least one third network entity ([0083] “UE 100 performs, on the basis of the measurement instruction information, received power measurement of reference signals (RSs) received from each of the eNB 200-1 (cell #1), the eNB 200-2 (cell #2), and the eNB 200-3 (cell #3).” [0084] “In step S4, the UE 100 transmits, to the eNB 200-2, a measurement report including a measurement result.” [0085] “In step S5, the eNB 200-2 that has received the measurement report transmits (transfers) the received measurement report to the server 400”).
Regarding claim 9, Tachikawa in view of Kim teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving the signal measurement result of the first terminal device in the second cell from a fourth network entity, wherein the fourth network entity is a network device accessed by the first terminal device ([0083] “UE 100 performs, on the basis of the measurement instruction information, received power measurement of reference signals (RSs) received from each of the eNB 200-1 (cell #1), the eNB 200-2 (cell #2), and the eNB 200-3 (cell #3).” [0084] “In step S4, the UE 100 transmits, to the eNB 200-2, a measurement report including a measurement result.” [0085] “In step S5, the eNB 200-2 that has received the measurement report transmits (transfers) the received measurement report to the server 400”. [0094] ”the server 400 acquires measurement reports of each of a plurality of UEs 100 (UE-1, UE-2, . . . ) connected to either of the eNB 200-2 and the eNB 200-3.” Note: it is understood the same manner is performed for all UE connected to eNB 200-3).
Regarding claim 11, Tachikawa in view of Kim teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein the method further comprises: sending fifth indication information to the second network entity, wherein the fifth indication information indicates one or more of the following: to adjust the transmit power of the first cell, an adjustment direction, and an adjustment range, wherein the second network entity is a network device to which the first cell belongs ([0088] “In step S8, the server 400 transmits, to the eNB 200-1, a power up instruction. The power up instruction includes information indicating an amount of increase in transmission power and the information indicating a power up time”).
Regarding claim 21, Tachikawa teaches an apparatus (FIG. 4 server 400), comprising:
at least one processor coupled to a memory, wherein the memory stores a computer program, and when the computer program is executed by the at least one processor (FIG. 4, [0050]-[0051]), the apparatus is caused to perform operations comprising:
obtaining first information, wherein the first information comprises any one of the following: signal measurement results of a terminal device in at least two cells, and a relationship of the signal measurement results of the terminal device in the at least two cells, wherein the at least two cells comprise a first cell and a second cell ([0083] “UE 100 performs, on the basis of the measurement instruction information, received power measurement of reference signals (RSs) received from each of the eNB 200-1 (cell #1), the eNB 200-2 (cell #2), and the eNB 200-3 (cell #3).” [0084] “In step S4, the UE 100 transmits, to the eNB 200-2, a measurement report including a measurement result.” [0085] “In step S5, the eNB 200-2 that has received the measurement report transmits (transfers) the received measurement report to the server 400”); and
determining, based on second information, an adjustment manner for adjusting transmit power of the first cell ([0096] “The amount of increase in transmission power in the table is set to a value such that the lowest received power meets power requirements (target value)”), {wherein the determining comprises predicting signal quality information of a first terminal device in the first cell based on the second information, wherein the signal quality information comprises a signal quality and/or whether the signal quality exceeds a first preset threshold, and determining, based on the signal quality information of the first terminal device in the first cell, the adjustment manner for adjusting the transmit power of the first cell},
wherein the adjustment manner comprises one or more of the following: whether to perform adjustment, an adjustment direction, and an adjustment range ([0086] “In step S6, the server 400 that has received the measurement report decides, on the basis of the received measurement report, the amount of increase in transmission power of the eNB 200-1 (cell #1)”), wherein the second information comprises the first information and a signal measurement result of the first terminal device in the second cell ([0094] ”the server 400 acquires measurement reports of each of a plurality of UEs 100 (UE-1, UE-2, . . . ) connected to either of the eNB 200-2 and the eNB 200-3”).
Tachikawa does not teach wherein the determining comprises predicting signal quality information of a first terminal device in the first cell based on the second information, wherein the signal quality information comprises a signal quality and/or whether the signal quality exceeds a first preset threshold, and determining, based on the signal quality information of the first terminal device in the first cell, the adjustment manner for adjusting the transmit power of the first cell.
However, Kim teaches wherein the determining comprises predicting signal quality information of a first terminal device in the first cell based on the second information, wherein the signal quality information comprises a signal quality and/or whether the signal quality exceeds a first preset threshold, and determining, based on the signal quality information of the first terminal device in the first cell, the adjustment manner for adjusting the transmit power of the first cell (0054] “In operation 230, the first base station 110-1 may determine the transmit power of the first base station.” [0055] “Specifically, in order to determine the transmit power of the first base station, the first base station 110-1 calculates the received SINR of the serving UE using the first information received from the neighbor base station and measurement information received from the UE.” [0073] “The SINR estimate of the first UE is not a value calculated based on the RSRP of the base station measured by the UE while actually adjusting the transmit power of the second base station, but is an estimate calculated under the assumption that the transmit power of the second base station is varied based on the RSRP of the base station in the first measurement information” [0109] “the transmit power of the base station may be further lowered”[0163] “Embodiments of the disclosure may predict the SINR due to a variation in transmit power and update the transmit power adjustment range to prevent the SINR of UE from lowering below the SINR at which communication outage occurs”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the determining comprises predicting signal quality information of a first terminal device in the first cell based on the second information, wherein the signal quality information comprises a signal quality and/or whether the signal quality exceeds a first preset threshold, and determining, based on the signal quality information of the first terminal device in the first cell, the adjustment manner for adjusting the transmit power of the first cell, as taught by Kim to prevent the UE from losing connection without network quality deterioration.
Regarding claim 22, Tachikawa in view of Kim teaches claim 21 and further teaches wherein the method further comprises: sending fifth indication information to a second network entity, wherein the fifth indication information indicates one or more of the following: to adjust the transmit power of the first cell, an adjustment direction, and an adjustment range, wherein the second network entity is a network device to which the first cell belongs ([0088] “In step S8, the server 400 transmits, to the eNB 200-1, a power up instruction. The power up instruction includes information indicating an amount of increase in transmission power and the information indicating a power up time”).
Regarding claim 23, Tachikawa in view of Kim teaches claim 21 and further teaches wherein the determining, based on the signal quality information of the first terminal device in the first cell, the adjustment manner for adjusting the transmit power of the first cell comprises: determining, based on the signal quality information of the first terminal device in the first cell ([0091] “The amount of increase in transmission power in the table is set to a value such that the lowest received power meets power requirements (target value). In an example of FIG. 11, when focusing on the received power for the eNB 200-1, the received power in the UE-1 is the lowest and is −150 [dBm]. Thus, the server 400 decides 50 [dBm] corresponding to −150 [dBm] as the amount of increase in transmission power of the eNB 200-1, on the basis of the table shown in FIG. 12.”) and third information, the adjustment manner for adjusting the transmit power of the first cell, wherein the third information comprises one or more of the following: a quantity of first terminal devices, a service model of the first terminal device ([0094] “the server 400 acquires measurement reports of each of a plurality of UEs 100 (UE-1, UE-2, . . . ) connected to either of the eNB 200-2 and the eNB 200-3. In an example of FIG. 11, the received power of every UE 100 for the eNB 200-1 performing cell extension is equal to or more than a threshold value, and thus, the server 400 determines that it is possible to include all of the UEs 100 into the coverage by the cell extension.” [0095] “Furthermore, the server 400 identifies a UE 100 (here, UE-1) which has the lowest received power for the eNB 200-1 performing the cell extension. When the transmission power is increased such that the received power of the UE-1 satisfies power requirements, it is possible to include all of the UEs 100 into the coverage by the cell extension”), and first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates to hand over the first terminal device to a second network entity, or the first indication information indicates to add the second network entity as a secondary network device of the first terminal device ([0104] “the server 400 makes the communication performed by the UE-5 possible to be continued, by performing control to cause the UE-5 handover to the eNB 200-4”), and the second network entity is a network device to which the first cell belongs (FIG. 7, FIG. 9, FIG. 10, [0083] “UE 100 performs, on the basis of the measurement instruction information, received power measurement of reference signals (RSs) received from each of the eNB 200-1 (cell #1), the eNB 200-2 (cell #2), and the eNB 200-3 (cell #3)” [0088] “In step S8, the server 400 transmits, to the eNB 200-1, a power up instruction. The power up instruction includes information indicating an amount of increase in transmission power and the information indicating a power up time”).
Regarding claim 24, Tachikawa in view of Kim teaches claim 21 and further teaches wherein the second information further comprises one or more of the following: a quantity of first terminal devices, a service model of the first terminal device ([0094] “the server 400 acquires measurement reports of each of a plurality of UEs 100 (UE-1, UE-2, . . . ) connected to either of the eNB 200-2 and the eNB 200-3. In an example of FIG. 11, the received power of every UE 100 for the eNB 200-1 performing cell extension is equal to or more than a threshold value, and thus, the server 400 determines that it is possible to include all of the UEs 100 into the coverage by the cell extension.” [0095] “Furthermore, the server 400 identifies a UE 100 (here, UE-1) which has the lowest received power for the eNB 200-1 performing the cell extension. When the transmission power is increased such that the received power of the UE-1 satisfies power requirements, it is possible to include all of the UEs 100 into the coverage by the cell extension” Note: “the server 400 acquires measurement reports of each of a plurality of UEs 100 (UE-1, UE-2, . . . )” indicates the quantity of the UE is considered), and first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates to hand over the first terminal device to a second network entity, or the first indication information indicates to add the second network entity as a secondary network device of the first terminal device ([0104] “the server 400 makes the communication performed by the UE-5 possible to be continued, by performing control to cause the UE-5 handover to the eNB 200-4”), and the second network entity is a network device to which the first cell belongs (FIG. 7, FIG. 9, FIG. 10, [0083] “UE 100 performs, on the basis of the measurement instruction information, received power measurement of reference signals (RSs) received from each of the eNB 200-1 (cell #1), the eNB 200-2 (cell #2), and the eNB 200-3 (cell #3)” [0088] “In step S8, the server 400 transmits, to the eNB 200-1, a power up instruction. The power up instruction includes information indicating an amount of increase in transmission power and the information indicating a power up time”).
Regarding claim 25, Tachikawa in view of Kim teaches claim 21 and further teaches, wherein the obtaining first information comprises: receiving the first information from at least one third network entity ([0083] “UE 100 performs, on the basis of the measurement instruction information, received power measurement of reference signals (RSs) received from each of the eNB 200-1 (cell #1), the eNB 200-2 (cell #2), and the eNB 200-3 (cell #3).” [0084] “In step S4, the UE 100 transmits, to the eNB 200-2, a measurement report including a measurement result.” [0085] “In step S5, the eNB 200-2 that has received the measurement report transmits (transfers) the received measurement report to the server 400”).
Regarding claim 27, Tachikawa in view of Kim teaches claim 21 and further teaches receiving the signal measurement result of the first terminal device in the second cell from a fourth network entity, wherein the fourth network entity is a network device accessed by the first terminal device ([0083] “UE 100 performs, on the basis of the measurement instruction information, received power measurement of reference signals (RSs) received from each of the eNB 200-1 (cell #1), the eNB 200-2 (cell #2), and the eNB 200-3 (cell #3).” [0084] “In step S4, the UE 100 transmits, to the eNB 200-2, a measurement report including a measurement result.” [0085] “In step S5, the eNB 200-2 that has received the measurement report transmits (transfers) the received measurement report to the server 400”. [0094] ”the server 400 acquires measurement reports of each of a plurality of UEs 100 (UE-1, UE-2, . . . ) connected to either of the eNB 200-2 and the eNB 200-3.” Note: it is understood the same manner is performed for all UE connected to eNB 200-3).
Claims 6-7, 10, 26 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tachikawa in view of Kim and further in view of Racz et al. (US 2011/0256833, “Racz”).
Regarding claim 6, Tachikawa in view of Kim teaches claim 5 but fails to teach wherein the method further comprises: sending second indication information to the at least one third network entity, wherein the second indication information indicates the at least one third network entity to report the first information.
Racz teaches sending second indication information to the at least one third network entity, wherein the second indication information indicates the at least one third network entity to report the first information ([0047] “Management node 140 may provide schedule information 410 (e.g., a MBSFN reference symbol muting schedule) to base stations 120-1, 120-2, and 120-3.” [0048] “Each of base stations 120-1, 120-2, and 120-3 may receive schedule information 410, and may provide measurement instructions 420 to a corresponding one of UEs 110-1, 110-2, and 110-3 based on schedule information 410” [0053] “Based on measurement instructions 420, UE 110-1 may measure MBSFN reference symbols 440-1, and may report the measured MBSFN reference symbols 440-1 (e.g., as measurements 450-1) to base station 120-1.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature sending second indication information to the at least one third network entity, wherein the second indication information indicates the at least one third network entity to report the first information, as taught by Racz, in Tachikawa to reduce network operation expenses.
Regarding claim 7, Tachikawa in view of Kim and Racz teaches claim 6 but fails to teach wherein the second indication information further indicates one or more of the following: indicates to report a signal measurement result that is of a terminal device and that is related to a specific network entity or cell, indicates to report a signal measurement result that is of a terminal device and that meets a first preset condition, or indicates a periodicity for reporting a signal measurement result of a terminal device.
Racz teaches wherein the second indication information further indicates one or more of the following: indicates to report a signal measurement result that is of a terminal device and that is related to a specific network entity or cell, indicates to report a signal measurement result that is of a terminal device and that meets a first preset condition, or indicates a periodicity for reporting a signal measurement result of a terminal device. ([0047] “Management node 140 may provide schedule information 410 (e.g., a MBSFN reference symbol muting schedule) to base stations 120-1, 120-2, and 120-3. Schedule information 410 may include information for configuring base stations 120-1, 120-2, and 120-3 with periodically occurring MBSFN sub-frames.” [0048] “Each of base stations 120-1, 120-2, and 120-3 may receive schedule information 410, and may provide measurement instructions 420 to a corresponding one of UEs 110-1, 110-2, and 110-3 based on schedule information 410” [0053] “Based on measurement instructions 420, UE 110-1 may measure MBSFN reference symbols 440-1, and may report the measured MBSFN reference symbols 440-1 (e.g., as measurements 450-1) to base station 120-1.” [0090] “configuring one or more UEs, served by the selected cell(s), to measure reference signals of the neighbor cells at designated times (block 830), and collecting measurement reports from the UE(s) served by the selected cell(s) (block 840).”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature sending second indication information to the at least one third network entity, wherein the second indication information indicates the at least one third network entity to report the first information, as taught by Racz, in Tachikawa to reduce network operation expenses.
Regarding claim 10, Tachikawa in view of Kim teaches claim 9 but fails to teach wherein the method further comprises: sending third indication information to the fourth network entity, wherein the third indication information indicates the fourth network entity to report a signal measurement result of the first terminal device, and the signal measurement result of the first terminal device comprises the signal measurement result of the first terminal device in the second cell.
Racz teaches wherein the method further comprises: sending third indication information to the fourth network entity, wherein the third indication information indicates the fourth network entity to report a signal measurement result of the first terminal device, and the signal measurement result of the first terminal device comprises the signal measurement result of the first terminal device in the second cell ([0047] “Management node 140 may provide schedule information 410 (e.g., a MBSFN reference symbol muting schedule) to base stations 120-1, 120-2, and 120-3.” [0048] “Each of base stations 120-1, 120-2, and 120-3 may receive schedule information 410, and may provide measurement instructions 420 to a corresponding one of UEs 110-1, 110-2, and 110-3 based on schedule information 410” [0053] “Based on measurement instructions 420, UE 110-1 may measure MBSFN reference symbols 440-1, and may report the measured MBSFN reference symbols 440-1 (e.g., as measurements 450-1) to base station 120-1.” Note: Tachikawa teaches [0083] “UE 100 performs, on the basis of the measurement instruction information, received power measurement of reference signals (RSs) received from each of the eNB 200-1 (cell #1), the eNB 200-2 (cell #2), and the eNB 200-3 (cell #3).” [0084] “In step S4, the UE 100 transmits, to the eNB 200-2, a measurement report including a measurement result.” [0085] “In step S5, the eNB 200-2 that has received the measurement report transmits (transfers) the received measurement report to the server 400”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature sending second indication information to the at least one third network entity, wherein the second indication information indicates the at least one third network entity to report the first information, as taught by Racz, in Tachikawa to reduce network operation expenses.
Regarding claim 26, Tachikawa in view of Kim teaches claim 25 but fails to teach wherein the operations further comprise: sending second indication information to the at least one third network entity, wherein the second indication information indicates to the at least one third network entity to report the first information.
Racz teaches wherein the operations further comprise: sending second indication information to the at least one third network entity, wherein the second indication information indicates to the at least one third network entity to report the first information ([0047] “Management node 140 may provide schedule information 410 (e.g., a MBSFN reference symbol muting schedule) to base stations 120-1, 120-2, and 120-3.” [0048] “Each of base stations 120-1, 120-2, and 120-3 may receive schedule information 410, and may provide measurement instructions 420 to a corresponding one of UEs 110-1, 110-2, and 110-3 based on schedule information 410” [0053] “Based on measurement instructions 420, UE 110-1 may measure MBSFN reference symbols 440-1, and may report the measured MBSFN reference symbols 440-1 (e.g., as measurements 450-1) to base station 120-1.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the operations further comprise: sending second indication information to the at least one third network entity, wherein the second indication information indicates to the at least one third network entity to report the first information, as taught by Racz, in Tachikawa to reduce network operation expenses.
Regarding claim 29, Tachikawa in view of Kim teaches claim 27 but fails to teach sending third indication information to the fourth network entity, wherein the third indication information indicates to the fourth network entity to report a signal measurement result of the first terminal device, and the signal measurement result of the first terminal device comprises the signal measurement result of the first terminal device in the second cell.
Racz teaches sending third indication information to the fourth network entity, wherein the third indication information indicates to the fourth network entity to report a signal measurement result of the first terminal device, and the signal measurement result of the first terminal device comprises the signal measurement result of the first terminal device in the second cell ([0047] “Management node 140 may provide schedule information 410 (e.g., a MBSFN reference symbol muting schedule) to base stations 120-1, 120-2, and 120-3.” [0048] “Each of base stations 120-1, 120-2, and 120-3 may receive schedule information 410, and may provide measurement instructions 420 to a corresponding one of UEs 110-1, 110-2, and 110-3 based on schedule information 410” [0053] “Based on measurement instructions 420, UE 110-1 may measure MBSFN reference symbols 440-1, and may report the measured MBSFN reference symbols 440-1 (e.g., as measurements 450-1) to base station 120-1.” Note: Tachikawa teaches [0083] “UE 100 performs, on the basis of the measurement instruction information, received power measurement of reference signals (RSs) received from each of the eNB 200-1 (cell #1), the eNB 200-2 (cell #2), and the eNB 200-3 (cell #3).” [0084] “In step S4, the UE 100 transmits, to the eNB 200-2, a measurement report including a measurement result.” [0085] “In step S5, the eNB 200-2 that has received the measurement report transmits (transfers) the received measurement report to the server 400”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature sending third indication information to the fourth network entity, wherein the third indication information indicates to the fourth network entity to report a signal measurement result of the first terminal device, and the signal measurement result of the first terminal device comprises the signal measurement result of the first terminal device in the second cell, as taught by Racz, in Tachikawa to reduce network operation expenses.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tachikawa in view of Kim and Racz and further in view of Teyeb et al. (US 2022/0264620, “Teyeb”).
Regarding claim 8, Tachikawa in view of Kim and Racz teaches claim 7 but fails to teach wherein the first preset condition comprises: a signal measurement result related to the third network entity exceeds a second preset threshold, and a signal measurement result related to the first network entity exceeds a third preset threshold.
Teyeb teaches wherein the first preset condition comprises: a signal measurement result related to the third network entity exceeds a second preset threshold, and a signal measurement result related to the first network entity exceeds a third preset threshold ([0007] “Typically, the network may be assisted by RRM measurements to be reported by a UE (see message 302 in FIG. 3). The network may configure the UE with measurement IDs associated to reportConfig with event A1 (Serving becomes better than threshold) in case this is a configured SCell, or A4 (Neighbor becomes better than threshold) for carriers without a configured SCell. The measurement objects are associated to the carrier the network wants reports on. If network is aware of the exact cells it wants the UE to measure, a so-called white cell list can be configured in the measurement object so that the UE is only required to measure these cells in that carrier”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the first preset condition comprises: a signal measurement result related to the third network entity exceeds a second preset threshold, and a signal measurement result related to the first network entity exceeds a third preset threshold, as taught by Teyeb, in Tachikawa to determine whether a cell is good enough radio quality/coverage.
Claim 12 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tachikawa in view of Kim and further in view of Grech (US 2007/0218903).
Regarding claim 12, Tachikawa in view of Kim teaches claim 7 but fails to teach {receiving feedback information from the second network entity, wherein the feedback information comprises information about a second terminal device}, and the second terminal device is a terminal device that is handed over to the second network entity or adds the second network entity as a secondary network device after the transmit power of the first cell is adjusted ([0104] “the server 400 makes the communication performed by the UE-5 possible to be continued, by performing control to cause the UE-5 handover to the eNB 200-4”. FIG. 10 shows the handover S11 is performed after power up S9 and power off S10 processes have been performed.)
Tachikawa does not teach receiving feedback information from the second network entity, wherein the feedback information comprises information about a second terminal device
However, the Examiner submits that receiving a feedback regarding a handover of a UE is a common practice. For example, Grech teaches receiving feedback information from the second network entity, wherein the feedback information comprises information about a second terminal device ([0057] “The target eNB informs the eGSN-c controller entity that the user equipment (UE) has moved to the access system via message 29”).
Therefore, Tachikawa and Grech in combination teaches receiving feedback information from the second network entity, wherein the feedback information comprises information about a second terminal device.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature receiving feedback information from the second network entity, wherein the feedback information comprises information about a second terminal device, as taught by Grech, in Tachikawa to ensure that the user is reachable.
Regarding claim 28, Tachikawa in view of Kim teaches claim 22 but fails to teach {receiving feedback information from the second network entity, wherein the feedback information comprises information about a second terminal device }, and the second terminal device is a terminal device that is handed over to the second network entity or that adds the second network entity as a secondary network device after the transmit power of the first cell is adjusted ([0104] “the server 400 makes the communication performed by the UE-5 possible to be continued, by performing control to cause the UE-5 handover to the eNB 200-4”. FIG. 10 shows the handover S11 is performed after power up S9 and power off S10 processes have been performed.)
Tachikawa does not teach receiving feedback information from the second network entity, wherein the feedback information comprises information about a second terminal device
However, the Examiner submits that receiving a feedback regarding a handover of a UE is a common practice. For example, Grech teaches receiving feedback information from the second network entity, wherein the feedback information comprises information about a second terminal device ([0057] “The target eNB informs the eGSN-c controller entity that the user equipment (UE) has moved to the access system via message 29”).
Therefore, Tachikawa and Grech in combination teaches receiving feedback information from the second network entity, wherein the feedback information comprises information about a second terminal device.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature receiving feedback information from the second network entity, wherein the feedback information comprises information about a second terminal device, as taught by Grech, in Tachikawa to ensure that the user is reachable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-12, and 21-29 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Barbieri et al. (US 2011/0250919) teaches [0072] “An eNB may maintain a setpoint for a transmission of data (e.g., traffic data and/or control data) on the downlink to a UE… The setpoint and an estimated SINR may be used to determine the transmit power level for the transmission of data…”
/QUOC THAI N VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642