DETAILED ACTION
INFORMATION CONCERNING RESPONSES
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on September 2, 2025, in response to PTO Office Action mailed on May 8, 2025. The Applicant’s remarks and amendments to the claims and/or the specification were considered with the results that follow.
In response to the last Office Action, claims 1, 15, and 17 have been amended. Claims 6-7 have been cancelled. As a result, claims 1-5 and 8-22 are now pending in this application.
The objections to the drawings have been withdrawn due to the amendment filed September 2, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Due to Applicant’s amendments for claims 15-22 filed on September 2, 2025, the rejection based on 35 USC 101 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed on September 2, 2025, in response to PTO Office Action mailed on May 8, 2025, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that none of the prior arts of record (Heatley et al. (Publication Number US 2020/0236326 A1) and Overtoom et al. (Publication Number US 2004/0019732 A1)) discloses "a collaboration device comprising a USB host port" or "wherein the USB peripheral switching device is operatively coupled to the collaboration device via an in-band USB switch control in electrical communication with the USB host port, and wherein the USB peripheral switching device is configured to automatically switch control of the one or more room peripheral devices to the collaboration device based on a sensed set voltage of the USB host port."
Upon further review of the prior arts of record, Overtoom et al. is found to disclose a USB host port [Paragraph 0019] as well as the "wherein the USB peripheral switching device is operatively coupled to the collaboration device via an in-band USB switch control in electrical communication with the USB host port, and wherein the USB peripheral switching device is configured to automatically switch control of the one or more room peripheral devices to the collaboration device based on a sensed set voltage of the USB host port (Overtoom et al. is directed to a situation where a host is idle causing another host to take over communications with attached peripherals; [Paragraphs 0026-0027, 0029, and 0032-0033; Abstract]. See also the sensing of and application of voltage in [Paragraphs 0026, 0038, 0040, and 0042])." A broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims shows a sensed voltage at a port (specifically a USB host port) that results in a switch control. However, there is no specifically disclosed process of how the sensed voltage is handled, and hence the current claim wording could cover any sensed voltage process including those disclosed by Overtoom et al. as noted above.
REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-5, 8-10, 15-17, 19, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Heatley et al. (Publication Number US 2020/0236326 A1) in view of Overtoom et al. (Publication Number US 2004/0019732 A1).
As per claim 1, Heatley et al. discloses “A system for sharing control of one or more room peripheral devices between a Unified Communication & Collaboration (UC&C) platform room device (room system 1; Paragraph 0035; FIG. 2) operatively coupled to a room display (display 3; FIG. 2) and a Bring Your Own Meeting (BYOM) host user device for conducting a BYOM conference (through a system 20 [Paragraph 0036] and control interface 8 [Paragraph 0035] where a computer 5 is connected; FIG. 2), the BYOM host user device operatively coupled to a remote user device (see computer 5; FIG.2).”
Heatley et al. discloses “the system comprising: a collaboration device [comprising a USB host port] configured to be operatively coupled to a [plurality of] user devices and to the UC&C platform room device (through a control interface 8 [Paragraph 0003] and system 20 [Paragraph 0053] to the user’s device 5; FIG. 2), the collaboration device configured to selectively transmit video data from the plurality of user devices and the remote user device to the UC&C platform room device (through a control interface 8 [Paragraph 0003] and system 20 [Paragraph 0053] to the user’s device 5; FIG. 2), and to automatically switch from an idle state to an active state upon initiation of the BYOM conference by the BYOM host user device (Paragraph 0045 and 0050).”
While Heatley et al. discloses the idea where the conferencing system switches from one set of devices to a presenter’s device depending on the presenter’s device state as disclosed in the limitation “the [USB peripheral switching device] configured to automatically switch control of the one or more room peripheral devices between the UC&C platform room device when the collaboration device is in the idle state and the collaboration device when the collaboration device is in the active state (see [Paragraphs 0045-0047] under the section ‘Hand-Off for an Active Conference’),” Heatley et al. does not disclose the USB switching device as disclosed in the limitation “comprising a USB host port “ and “and a USB peripheral switching device configured to be operatively coupled to the collaboration device, the one or more room peripheral devices, and to the UC&C platform room device,” or the limitation “wherein the USB peripheral switching device is operatively coupled to the collaboration device via an in-band USB switch control configured in electrical communication with the USB host port, and wherein the USB peripheral switching device is configured to automatically switch control of the one or more room peripheral devices to the collaboration device based on the sensed voltage of the USB host port of the collaboration device.”
Overtoom et al. discloses “comprising a USB host port (Paragraph 0019).”
Overtoom et al. discloses “and a USB peripheral switching device configured to be operatively coupled to the collaboration device, the one or more room peripheral devices, and to the UC&C platform room device (Overtoom et al. is focused on the USB switch that not only connects devices [FIG. 6], but can also switch between different hosts (those devices in overall control); Abstract).”
Overtoom et al. discloses “wherein the USB peripheral switching device is operatively coupled to the collaboration device via an in-band USB switch control configured in electrical communication with the USB host port (where a port is assigned as a host port; Paragraph 0031), and wherein the USB peripheral switching device is configured to automatically switch control of the one or more room peripheral devices to the collaboration device based on the sensed voltage of the USB host port of the collaboration device (while Heatley et al. discloses communications between a user workstation and a conferencing system [Paragraphs 0045-0047], Overtoom et al. is directed to a situation where a host is idle causing another host to take over communications with attached peripherals; Paragraphs 0026-0027, 0029, and 0032-0033; Abstract).”
Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. are analogous art in that they in the field of device connections.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. in having flexibility in which of the connected devices serves as a host [Paragraph 0006].
As per claim 2, Overtoom et al. discloses “The system of claim 1 (as disclosed by Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. above), wherein, when the collaboration device is in the idle state, video data is transmissible from a UC&C host user device to a remote user device operatively coupled to the UC&C platform room device and to the room display via the UC&C platform room device, from at least one of the one or more room peripheral devices to the remote user device operatively coupled to the UC&C platform room device and to the room display via the UC&C platform room device, and between the UC&C platform room device and the remote user device operatively coupled to the UC&C platform room device, and video data is selectively transmissible from the plurality of user devices and the remote user device operatively coupled to the UC&C platform room device to the room display via the UC&C platform room device, and from the plurality of user devices to the remote user device operatively coupled to the UC&C platform room device via the UC&C platform room device, responsive to user input received by the UC&C host user device (while Heatley et al. discloses communications between a user workstation and a conferencing system [Paragraphs 0045-0047], Overtoom et al. is directed to a situation where a host is idle causing another host to take over communications with attached peripherals; Paragraphs 0026-0027, 0029, and 0032-0033; Abstract).”
As per claim 3, Heatley et al. discloses “The system of claim 1 (as disclosed by Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. above), wherein, when the collaboration device is in the active state (see [Paragraphs 0045-0047] under the section ‘Hand-Off for an Active Conference’), video data is transmissible from the BYOM host user device to the room display via the UC&C platform room device (room system 1; Paragraph 0035; FIG. 2) operatively, from at least one of the one or more room peripheral devices to the remote user device via the BYOM host user device and to the room display via the UC&C platform room device (through a control interface 8 [Paragraph 0003] and system 20 [Paragraph 0053] to the user’s device 5; FIG. 2), and between the BYOM host user device and the remote user device operatively coupled to the BYOM host user device (to the network 7; FIG. 2), and video data is selectively transmissible from the plurality of user devices and the remote user device to the room display via the UC&C platform room device, and from the plurality of user devices to the remote user device via the BYOM host user device, responsive to user input received by the BYOM host user device (see [Paragraphs 0045-0047] under the section ‘Hand-Off for an Active Conference’).”
As per claim 4, Heatley et al. discloses “The system of claim 1 (as disclosed by Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. above), wherein the collaboration device comprises a wireless display receiver (one form of communication is through wireless; Paragraphs 0036-0037).”
As per claim 5, Heatley et al. discloses “The system of claim 1 (as disclosed by Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. above), wherein the one or more room peripheral devices comprise at least one of a USB camera, USB microphone, or USB speaker (peripherals 2 and 4 [FIG. 2] where USB is used; Paragraph 0041).”
As per claim 8, Overtoom et al. discloses “The system of claim 1 (as disclosed by Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. above), wherein the USB peripheral switching device comprises: a first host port configured to be operatively coupled to the UC&C platform room device via a first USB connection (host through a B-port 204; FIG. 6).” Overtoom et al. discloses “a second host port configured to be operatively coupled to the collaboration device via a second USB connection (host through a A-port 202; FIG. 5).” Overtoom et al. discloses “and one or more device ports configured to be operatively coupled to the one or more room peripheral devices via one or more USB connections (Paragraphs 0027-0029).”
As per claim 9, Overtoom et al. discloses “The system of claim 8 (as disclosed by Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. above), wherein the USB peripheral switching device is configured to direct data between the one or more device ports and the first host port when the collaboration device is in the idle state, and between the one or more device ports and the second host port when the collaboration device is in the active state (Paragraphs 0027 and 0029).”
As per claim 10, Overtoom et al. discloses “The system of claim 8 (as disclosed by Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. above), wherein, when the collaboration device is in the active state, a USB switch control module of the collaboration device causes a power of the second USB connection to reach a threshold power level, such that the second host port of the USB peripheral switching device transitions to an activated state when the power of the second USB connection is at the threshold power level, the USB peripheral switching device configured to direct data between the one or more device ports and the second host port when the second host port transitions to the activated state, and wherein, when the collaboration device is in the idle state, the USB switch control module causes the power of the second USB connection to be zero volts, such that the second host port transitions to an inactivated state when the power of the second USB connection is zero volts (while Heatley et al. discloses communications between a user workstation and a conferencing system [Paragraphs 0045-0047], Overtoom et al. is directed to a situation where a host is idle causing another host to take over communications with attached peripherals; Paragraphs 0026-0027, 0029, and 0032-0033; Abstract).”
As per claim 15, Heatley et al. discloses “A method for sharing control of one or more room peripheral devices between a Unified Communication & Collaboration (UC&C) platform room device (room system 1; Paragraph 0035; FIG. 2) operatively coupled to a room display (display 3; FIG. 2) and a Bring Your Own Meeting (BYOM) host user device for conducting a BYOM conference, the BYOM host user device operatively coupled to a remote user device (through a system 20 [Paragraph 0036] and control interface 8 [Paragraph 0035] where a computer 5 is connected; FIG. 2), the method comprising: operatively coupling a collaboration device to a plurality of user devices and the UC&C platform room device (see computer 5; FIG.2).” Heatley et al. discloses “conducting the BYOM conference when the collaboration device is in the active state (Paragraph 0045 and 0050).” Heatley et al. discloses “and selectively transmitting, via the collaboration device, video data from the plurality of user devices and the remote user device to the UC&C platform room device (Paragraph 0045 and 0050).”
While Heatley et al. discloses the idea where the conferencing system switches from one set of devices to a presenter’s device depending on the presenter’s device state as disclosed in the limitation “automatically switching, upon initiation of the BYOM conference by the BYOM host user device, the collaboration device from an idle state where the [USB peripheral switching device] automatically switches control of the one or more room peripheral devices to the UC&C platform room device to an active state where the [USB peripheral switching device] automatically switches control of the one or more room peripheral devices to the collaboration device (see [Paragraphs 0045-0047] under the section ‘Hand-Off for an Active Conference’),” Heatley et al. does not disclose the USB switching device as disclosed in the limitation “operatively coupling a USB peripheral switching device to the collaboration device, one or more room peripheral devices, and the UC&C platform room device via an in-band USB switch control in electrical communication with the USB host port” or the limitations “the collaboration device comprising a USB host port” and “wherein the USB peripheral switching device automatically switches control of the one or more room peripheral deices based on a sensed set voltage of the USB host port.”
Overtoom et al. discloses “the collaboration device comprising a USB host port (Paragraph 0019).”
Overtoom et al. discloses the USB switching device as disclosed in the limitation “operatively coupling a USB peripheral switching device to the collaboration device, one or more room peripheral devices, and the UC&C platform room device via an in-band USB switch control in electrical communication with the USB host port (while Heatley et al. discloses communications between a user workstation and a conferencing system [Paragraphs 0045-0047], Overtoom et al. is directed to a situation where a host is idle causing another host to take over communications with attached peripherals; Paragraphs 0026-0027, 0029, and 0032-0033; Abstract).”
Overtoom et al. discloses “wherein the USB peripheral switching device automatically switches control of the one or more room peripheral devices based on a sensed set voltage of the USB host port (Paragraphs 0038 and 0040).”
Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. are analogous art in that they in the field of device connections.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. in having flexibility in which of the connected devices serves as a host [Paragraph 0006].
As per claim 16, Heatley et al. discloses “The method of claim 15 (as disclosed by Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. above), wherein conducting the BYOM conference when the collaboration device is in the active state (see [Paragraphs 0045-0047] under the section ‘Hand-Off for an Active Conference’) comprises: transmitting video data from the BYOM host user device to the room display via the UC&C platform room device (room system 1; Paragraph 0035; FIG. 2), from at least one of the one or more room peripheral devices to the remote user device via the BYOM host user device and to the room display via the UC&C platform room device (through a control interface 8 [Paragraph 0003] and system 20 [Paragraph 0053] to the user’s device 5; FIG. 2), and between the BYOM host user device and the remote user device operatively coupled to the BYOM host user device (to the network 7; FIG. 2).” Heatley et al. discloses “and selectively transmitting video data from the plurality of user devices and the remote user device to the room display via the UC&C platform room device, and from the plurality of user devices to the remote user device via the BYOM host user device, responsive to user input received by the BYOM host user device (see [Paragraphs 0045-0047] under the section ‘Hand-Off for an Active Conference’).”
As per claim 17, Overtoom et al. discloses “The method of claim 15 (as disclosed by Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. above), wherein, when the collaboration device is in the active state, a USB switch control module of the collaboration device sets a power level of the USB host port of the collaboration device to a threshold power level, which causes the USB peripheral switching device to sense, via an in-band USB switch control, voltage associated with the USB host port of the collaboration device, such that the USB peripheral switching device automatically switches control of the one or more room peripheral devices to the collaboration device based on the sensed voltage (while Heatley et al. discloses communications between a user workstation and a conferencing system [Paragraphs 0045-0047], Overtoom et al. is directed to a situation where a host is idle causing another host to take over communications with attached peripherals; Paragraphs 0026-0027, 0029, and 0032-0033; Abstract).”
As per claim 19, Overtoom et al. discloses “The method of claim 17 (as disclosed by Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. above), wherein, when the collaboration device is in the active state, the USB switch control module of the collaboration device sets the power level of the USB host port of the collaboration device to zero volts, which causes the USB peripheral switching device to automatically switch control of the one or more room peripheral devices to the UC&C platform room device (while Heatley et al. discloses communications between a user workstation and a conferencing system [Paragraphs 0045-0047], Overtoom et al. is directed to a situation where a host is idle causing another host to take over communications with attached peripherals; Paragraphs 0027 and 0029; Abstrac).”
As per claim 22, Heatley et al. discloses “The method of claim 15 (as disclosed by Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. above), further comprising automatically switching the collaboration device to the idle state when the BYOM host user device stops the BYOM conference (see [Paragraphs 0045-0047] under the section ‘Hand-Off for an Active Conference’).”
Claims 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Heatley et al. (Publication Number US 2020/0236326 A1) and Overtoom et al. (Publication Number US 2004/0019732 A1) in view of Liu (Publication Number US 2018/0131148 A1).
As per claims 11 and 18, Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. disclose “The system of claim 10 (as disclosed by Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. above).” However, Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. do not disclose “wherein the threshold power level is 5 volts.”
Liu discloses “wherein the threshold power level is 5 volts (Page 3, Table 1).”
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Heatley et al., Overtoom et al., with elements of Liu. Heatley et al., Overtoom et al., and Liu all disclose the use of USB, a known protocol known in the art.
Claims 12-14 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Heatley et al. (Publication Number US 2020/0236326 A1) and Overtoom et al. (Publication Number US 2004/0019732 A1) in view of Decamp et al. (Publication Number US 2021/0058584 A1).
As per claim 12, Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. disclose “The system of claim 1 (as disclosed by Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. above).” While Overtoom et al. discloses “and one or more device ports configured to be operatively coupled to the one or more room peripheral devices via one or more USB connections (FIG. 6; Abstract),” Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. do not disclose “wherein the USB peripheral switching device and the collaboration device are integrated within a single All-in-One (AIO) receiver device, the AIO receiver device comprising: a USB peripheral port configured to be operatively coupled to the UC&C platform room device via a first USB connection.”
Decamp et al. discloses “wherein the USB peripheral switching device and the collaboration device are integrated within a single All-in-One (AIO) receiver device, the AIO receiver device comprising: a USB peripheral port configured to be operatively coupled to the UC&C platform room device via a first USB connection (the system 100 [FIG. 1], 202 [FIG. 2], and 802; FIG. 8).”
Heatley et al. and Decamp et al. are analogous art in that they in the field of conferencing systems.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. with elements of Decamp et al. for a simpler collaborative system as opposed to more messy and confusing prior art systems [Paragraph 0013].
As per claim 13, Decamp et al. discloses “The system of claim 12 (as disclosed by of Heatley et al., Overtoom et al., and Decamp et al. above), wherein the AIO receiver device further comprises an HDMI output port configured to be operatively coupled to an HDMI input port of the UC&C platform room device via a first HDMI connection, and wherein the UC&C platform room device is operatively coupled to the room display via a second HDMI connection (Paragraph 0020).”
As per claim 14, Decamp et al. discloses “The system of claim 12 (as disclosed by as disclosed by of Heatley et al., Overtoom et al., and Decamp et al. above), wherein the AIO receiver device further comprises a USB audio and video output port configured to be operatively coupled to a USB port of the UC&C platform room device via a second USB connection, and wherein the UC&C platform room device is operatively coupled to the room display via an HDMI connection (Paragraphs 0019-0020).”
As per claim 20, Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. disclose “The method of claim 15 (as disclosed by Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. above). However, Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. do not disclose “wherein the USB peripheral switching device and the collaboration device are integrated within a single All-in-One (AIO) receiver device, and wherein conducting the BYOM conference when the collaboration device is in the active state comprises transmitting video data between an HDMI output port of the AIO receiver device and an HDMI input port of the UC&C platform room device via a first HDMI connection, and between the UC&C platform room device and the room display via a second HDMI connection.”
Decamp et al. discloses “wherein the USB peripheral switching device and the collaboration device are integrated within a single All-in-One (AIO) receiver device (the system 100 [FIG. 1], 202 [FIG. 2], and 802; FIG. 8), and wherein conducting the BYOM conference when the collaboration device is in the active state comprises transmitting video data between an HDMI output port of the AIO receiver device and an HDMI input port of the UC&C platform room device via a first HDMI connection, and between the UC&C platform room device and the room display via a second HDMI connection (Paragraphs 0019-0020).”
Heatley et al. and Decamp et al. are analogous art in that they in the field of conferencing systems.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. with elements of Decamp et al. for a simpler collaborative system as opposed to more messy and confusing prior art systems [Paragraph 0013].
As per claim 21, Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. disclose “The method of claim 15 (as disclosed by as disclosed by Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. above).” However, Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. do not disclose “wherein the USB peripheral switching device and the collaboration device are integrated within a single All-in-One (AIO) receiver device, and wherein conducting the BYOM conference when the collaboration device is in the active state comprises transmitting video data between a USB audio and video output port of the AIO receiver device and a USB port of the UC&C platform room device via a USB connection, and between the UC&C platform room device and the room display via an HDMI connection.”
Decamp et al. discloses “wherein the USB peripheral switching device and the collaboration device are integrated within a single All-in-One (AIO) receiver device (the system 100 [FIG. 1], 202 [FIG. 2], and 802; FIG. 8), and wherein conducting the BYOM conference when the collaboration device is in the active state comprises transmitting video data between a USB audio and video output port of the AIO receiver device and a USB port of the UC&C platform room device via a USB connection, and between the UC&C platform room device and the room display via an HDMI connection (Paragraphs 0019-0020).”
Heatley et al. and Decamp et al. are analogous art in that they in the field of conferencing systems.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Heatley et al. and Overtoom et al. with elements of Decamp et al. for a simpler collaborative system as opposed to more messy and confusing prior art systems [Paragraph 0013].
ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF REFERENCES CITED BY APPLICANT
As required by M.P.E.P. 609(c), the applicant's submission of the Information Disclosure Statement dated September 2, 2025, is acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P 609 C(2), a copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed and dated by the examiner is attached to the instant office action.
CONCLUDING REMARKS
Conclusions
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.W.Y/Examiner, Art Unit 2181 November 19, 2025
/IDRISS N ALROBAYE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2181