DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2022-160960, filed on 10/05/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gera United States Patent Application Publication US 2014/0298218.
Regarding claim 1, Gera discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores a program for causing a computer to execute a control method of an information processing apparatus, the method comprising:
managing template data for content data to be generated (Gera, para [0023], with regards to fig 2, modules (202-208) and libraries (210, 212) used for editing, generating, and storing templates and template data);
accepting an input of information with respect to the content data (Gera, para [0023, 25], UI module 202 of fig 2; Gera, para [0033], generates content in content clusters);
displaying the content data that is based on the template data and is generated by replacing information included in the template data with the information accepted (Gera, para [0036], populates template placeholders with content data from content clusters; para [0040], [0045], generates for display content within template); and
displaying the content data in a state where the information that is included in the template data and is not replaced by the information accepted is deleted (Gera, para [0045], [0046], Figs. 4I-4K; Fig 4I shows template 478 is selected with placeholders numbered 1-5; Fig. 4J shows selected template automatically applied to the content as a preview with the numbers 1-5 deleted from display (number 5 was not replaced and is deleted); Fig. 4K shows an editing function in which the sun, information included in the template that was not replaced, was able to be deleted).
Regarding claim 16, Gera discloses a control method of an information processing apparatus comprising:
managing template data for content data to be generated (Gera, para [0023], with regards to fig 2, modules (202-208) and libraries (210, 212) used for editing, generating, and storing templates and template data);
accepting an input of information with respect to the content data (Gera, para [0023, 25], UI module 202 of fig 2; Gera, para [0033], generates content in content clusters);
displaying the content data that is based on the template data and is generated by replacing information included in the template data with the information accepted (Gera, para [0036], populates template placeholders with content data from content clusters; para [0040], [0045], generates for display content within template); and
displaying the content data in a state where the information that is included in the template data and is not replaced by the information accepted is deleted (Gera, para [0045], [0046], Figs. 4I-4K; Fig 4I shows template 478 is selected with placeholders numbered 1-5; Fig. 4J shows selected template automatically applied to the content as a preview with the numbers 1-5 deleted from display (number 5 was not replaced and is deleted); Fig. 4K shows an editing function in which the sun, information included in the template that was not replaced, was able to be deleted).
Regarding claim 17, Gera discloses an information processing apparatus comprising: a display, at least one processor configured to:
manage template data for content data to be generated (Gera, para [0023], with regards to fig 2, modules (202-208) and libraries (210, 212) used for editing, generating, and storing templates and template data);
accept an input of information with respect to the content data (Gera, para [0023, 25], UI module 202 of fig 2; Gera, para [0033], generates content in content clusters);
the display configured to display the content data that is based on the template data and is generated by replacing information included in the template data with the information accepted (Gera, para [0036], populates template placeholders with content data from content clusters; para [0040], [0045], generates for display content within template); and
the display configured to display the content data in a state where the information that is included in the template data and is not replaced by the information accepted is deleted (Gera, para [0045], [0046], Figs. 4I-4K; Fig 4I shows template 478 is selected with placeholders numbered 1-5; Fig. 4J shows selected template automatically applied to the content as a preview with the numbers 1-5 deleted from display (number 5 was not replaced and is deleted); Fig. 4K shows an editing function in which the sun, information included in the template that was not replaced, was able to be deleted).
Regarding claim 18, Gera discloses the storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the input of the information with respect to the content data is accepted from a user (Gera, para [0045], content from user).
Regarding claim 19, Gera discloses the storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the information that is not replaced is information included in the template data in advance (Gera, para [0045], Figs. 4I-4J, not replaced features are from template).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gera United States Patent Application Publication US 2014/0298218 in view of Markel United States Patent Application Publication US 2002/0156799.
Regarding claim 2, Gera discloses the storage medium according to claim 1. Gera does not disclose the additional limitations of the present claim.
Markel discloses further storing a program for causing the computer to execute, in a case where the template data includes the information that is not replaced, displaying a selection screen for prompting a user to select processing with respect to the information that is not replaced (Markel, para [0113], displays a correction screen regarding empty tags. Allows a user to correct the items or ignore the correction).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the identification of empty placeholders to include a check that prompts a user. The motivation for doing so would have been verifying a website meets a design standard (Markel, para [0003]).
Regarding claim 3, Gera in view of Markel discloses the storage medium according to claim 2. Gera does not disclose the additional limitations of the present claim.
Markel further discloses wherein the processing with respect to the information that is not replaced is any one of processing for displaying the content data in a state where the information that is not replaced is displayed and processing for displaying the content data in a state where the information that is not replaced is not displayed, and wherein a screen for prompting a user to select any one of the processing is displayed in the displaying the selection screen (Markel, para [0113], displays a correction screen regarding empty tags. Allows a user to correct the items or ignore the correction).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the identification of empty placeholders to include a check that prompts a user. The motivation for doing so would have been verifying a website meets a design standard (Markel, para [0003]).
Regarding claim 4, Gera in view of Markel discloses the storage medium according to claim 2. Gera does not disclose the additional limitations of the present claim.
Markel further discloses wherein the processing with respect to the information that is not replaced is any one of processing for displaying the content data in a state where the information that is not replaced is displayed, processing for displaying the content data in the state where the information that is not replaced is not displayed, and processing for displaying the content data in a state where the information that is not replaced is replaced with a predetermined character string, and wherein a screen for prompting the user to select any one of the processing is displayed in the displaying the selection screen (Markel, para [0098-99], automatic and semi-automatic correction items. Automatic identifies issues and provides a replacement for a user to accept. Semi-automatic automatically identify the content with issues but require user input; Markel, para [0113], displays a correction screen regarding empty tags. Allows a user to correct the items or ignore the correction).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the identification of empty placeholders to include a check that prompts a user. The motivation for doing so would have been verifying a website meets a design standard (Markel, para [0003]).
Regarding claim 9, Gera in view of Markel discloses the storage medium according to claim 2. Gera further discloses further storing a program for causing the computer to execute displaying the content data generated (Gera, para [0018], depending on the processing and/or storage capacity of the client device, at least certain functionalities/operations described herein may be provided by the server, database, and/or database server on behalf of the client device).
Regarding claim 12, Gera in view of Markel discloses the storage medium according to claim 2. Gera further discloses further storing a program for causing the computer to execute displaying the content data generated (Gera, para [0040], UI module provides or displays the selected template applied to the existing content in accordance with the automatic content distribution of block to the user via the user's client device).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gera United States Patent Application Publication US 2014/0298218 in view of St Jacques, Jr, United States Patent US 8,156,416.
Regarding claim 5, Gera discloses the storage medium according to claim 1. Gera does not disclose the additional limitations of the present claim.
St. Jacques discloses wherein the content data in the state where the information that is not replaced is not displayed is content data in a state where processing for deleting or hiding the information that is not replaced or processing for displaying a predetermined character string in place of the information that is not replaced has been executed (St. Jacques, col 6, rows 8-15, For each placeholder the notary checks the document data to determine if there is a property with the same name; if so the placeholder is replaced with the dynamic document data; if not the placeholder is simply removed and appears blank on the final printed form. Where design considerations require marks at the placeholder location, default information may be provided).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the template processing to include the step of filling a place holder of St. Jacques. The motivation for doing so would have been preventing unauthorized distribution of data (St. Jacques, col 1, rows 5-9).
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gera United States Patent Application Publication US 2014/0298218 in view of Markel United States Patent Application Publication US 2002/0156799 in further view of St Jacques, Jr, United States Patent US 8,156,416.
Regarding claim 6, Gera in view of Markel discloses the storage medium according to claim 2. Gera in view of Markel does not disclose the additional limitations of the present claim.
St. Jacques discloses wherein, in a case where an editing operation for inputting characters is accepted with respect to the content data in a state where the information that is not replaced is not displayed, processing corresponding to the editing operation is executed based on position information and format setting information about the information that is not replaced (St. Jacques, col 6, rows 8-15, a placeholder within a document represents positional information; St. Jacques, col 3-4, rows 64-67 and 1-8, formatting part of template).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the template processing to include the step of filling a place holder of St. Jacques. The motivation for doing so would have been preventing unauthorized distribution of data (St. Jacques, col 1, rows 5-9).
Regarding claim 7, Gera in view of Markel in further view of St. Jacques discloses the storage medium according to claim 6. Gera in view of Markel does not disclose the additional limitations of the present claim.
St. Jacques additionally discloses wherein, in a case where input of characters is accepted as the editing operation with respect to the content data, the processing corresponding to the editing operation is processing for inputting the characters to a position of the information that is not replaced in a format of the information that is not replaced (St. Jacques, col 6, rows 8-15, For each placeholder the notary checks the document data to determine if there is a property with the same name; if so the placeholder is replaced with the dynamic document data; if not the placeholder is simply removed and appears blank on the final printed form. Where design considerations require marks at the placeholder location, default information may be provided. A placeholder within a document represents positional information; St. Jacques, col 3-4, rows 64-67 and 1-8, formatting part of template).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the template processing to include the step of filling a place holder of St. Jacques. The motivation for doing so would have been preventing unauthorized distribution of data (St. Jacques, col 1, rows 5-9).
Regarding claim 8, Gera in view of Markel in further view of St. Jacques discloses the storage medium according to claim 6. Gera does not disclose the additional limitations of the present claim.
Markel additionally discloses wherein, in a case where an insertion operation of a text box is accepted as the editing operation with respect to the content data, the processing corresponding to the editing operation is processing for displaying a phrase which prompts the user to input characters to a position of the information that is not replaced in a format of the information that is not replaced (Markel, para [0113], displays a correction screen regarding empty tags. Allows a user to correct the items or ignore the correction).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the identification of empty placeholders to include a check that prompts a user. The motivation for doing so would have been verifying a website meets a design standard (Markel, para [0003]).
Claim(s) 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gera United States Patent Application Publication US 2014/0298218 in view of Markel United States Patent Application Publication US 2002/0156799 in further view of Finsterwald United States Patent Application Publication US 2016/0041957.
Regarding claim 10, Gera in view of Markel discloses the storage medium according to claim 9. Gera in view of Markel does not disclose the additional limitations of the present claim.
Finsterwald discloses wherein, in a case where processing for displaying the content data in a state where the information that is not replaced is displayed is selected in the displaying the selection screen, the content data in the state where the information that is not replaced is displayed is displayed in the displaying the content data, and wherein, in a case where processing for displaying the content data in the state where the information that is not replaced is not displayed is selected in the displaying the selection screen, the content data in the state where the information that is not replaced is not displayed is displayed in the displaying the content data (Finsterwald, para [0069], user can select to accept or ignore (not accept) suggestions to be selected or not selected to be included within a template).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the template generation to include suggestions to be accepted. The motivation for doing so would have been to assist in the creation of digital designs (Finsterwald, para [0004]).
Regarding claim 11, Gera in view of Markel discloses the storage medium according to claim 9. Gera in view of Markel does not disclose the additional limitations of the present claim.
Finsterwald discloses wherein, in a case where processing for displaying the content data in a state where the information that is not replaced is displayed is selected in the displaying the selection screen, the content data in the state where the information that is not replaced is displayed is displayed in the displaying the content data, wherein, in a case where processing for displaying the content data in the state where the information that is not replaced is not displayed is selected in the displaying the selection screen, the content data in the state where the information that is not replaced is not displayed is displayed in the displaying the content data, and wherein, in a case where processing for displaying the content data in a state where the information that is not replaced is replaced with a predetermined character string is selected in the displaying the selection screen, the content data in the state where the information that is not replaced is replaced with the predetermined character string is displayed in the displaying the content data (Finsterwald, para [0069], user can select to accept or ignore (not accept) suggestions to be selected or not selected to be included within a template).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the template generation to include suggestions to be accepted. The motivation for doing so would have been to assist in the creation of digital designs (Finsterwald, para [0004]).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gera United States Patent Application Publication US 2014/0298218 in view of Bogart US United States Patent Application Publication US 2011/0026839.
Regarding claim 13, Gera discloses the storage medium according to claim 1. Gera in view of Markel does not disclose the additional limitations of the present claim.
Bogart discloses wherein the content data is poster data (Bogart, para [0109], example embodiment of an advertising poster).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Reduce time for manual composition of artistic creations (Bogart, para [0017]).
Claim(s) 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gera United States Patent Application Publication US 2014/0298218 in view of Finsterwald United States Patent Application Publication US 2016/0041957.
Regarding claim 14, Gera discloses the storage medium according to claim 1. Gera does not disclose the additional limitations of the present claim.
Finsterwald discloses wherein, in the case where the template data includes the information that is not replaced because the information is not input although the information is acceptable, the content data in the state where the information that is not replaced is not displayed is generated (Finsterwald, para [0069], user can select to accept or ignore (not accept) suggestions to be selected or not selected to be included within a template).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the template generation to include suggestions to be accepted. The motivation for doing so would have been to assist in the creation of digital designs (Finsterwald, para [0004]).
Regarding claim 15, Gera discloses the storage medium according to claim 1. Gera does not disclose the additional limitations of the present claim.
Finsterwald discloses wherein, in the case where the template data includes the information that is not replaced because the information is not acceptable and is not input, the content data in the state where the information that is not replaced is not displayed is generated (Finsterwald, para [0069], user can select to accept or ignore (not accept) suggestions to be selected or not selected to be included within a template).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the template generation to include suggestions to be accepted. The motivation for doing so would have been to assist in the creation of digital designs (Finsterwald, para [0004]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC 112(f) interpretation and the corresponding 35 USC 112(a) and 35 USC 112(b) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The interpretation and corresponding rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the prior art rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Gera does not teach "displaying the content data that is based on the template data and is generated by replacing information included in the template data with the information accepted" and "displaying the content data in a state where the information that is included in the template data and is not replaced by the information accepted is deleted.” Specifically, applicant argues that “Gera merely describes removing the template itself. Gera fails to disclose displaying content data in which a part of the information included in the template is deleted from the content data after the template has been applied.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. As set forth in the rejection above, Gera discloses displaying the content data that is based on the template data and is generated by replacing information included in the template data with the information accepted (Gera, para [0036], populates template placeholders with content data from content clusters; para [0040], [0045], generates for display content within template) and displaying the content data in a state where the information that is included in the template data and is not replaced by the information accepted is deleted (Gera, para [0045], [0046], Figs. 4I-4K; Fig 4I shows template 478 is selected with placeholders numbered 1-5; Fig. 4J shows selected template automatically applied to the content as a preview with the numbers 1-5 deleted from display (number 5 was not replaced and is deleted); Fig. 4K shows an editing function in which the sun, information included in the template that was not replaced, was able to be deleted). Therefore, Gera teaches more than merely removing a template, but rather also teaches deleting information included in the template from the content data after the template has been applied.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAVITA STANLEY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2153