DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-3, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al 20160117119 herein Kim, Iiada et all 20150026402 herein Iiada in further view Lee et al. 20080222311 herein Lee.
Per claim 1, Kim discloses: a host having a buffer area; and a storage device having: a host interface; a controller; non-volatile storage media; and firmware; (fig. 1, 2 and 16 ¶0066 and ¶0155).
Kim discloses a system that uses weighted metric in view of the I/O to select queues but does not specifically disclose: and wherein the host configures, in the buffer area and according to a predetermined performance tier of an account, submission queues of requests from the account to access the non-volatile storage media; wherein the host configures no more than a predetermined count of submission queues for accessing the non-volatile storage media of the storage device concurrently.
However, Iiada in an analogous art discloses: and wherein the host configures, in the buffer area and according to a predetermined performance tier of an account, submission queues of requests from the account to access the non-volatile storage media (¶0008; data I/O request is received from the host, the control unit assigns storage areas in page units from the uppermost storage tier to the target areas of the virtual volume corresponding to the I/O request, and wherein the control unit changes the page unit storage area assignment to predetermined areas of the virtual volume from an upper storage tier to a lower storage tier in accordance with the speed of processing of the data I/O request from the host) wherein a number of the submission queues being configured is according to the predetermined performance tier of the account (¶0071-0072; Data I/O requests (write requests and read requests) to the virtual volumes VVOL from the hosts 100 are made by designating the LUN of the virtual volumes from/to which data is read and written, and the LBA and the data lengths of the leading logical blocks of the areas from/to which data in the virtual volumes VVOL is read and written.
Any one of the virtual volume pools VVP is pre-associated with each of the virtual volumes VVOL. Further, upon receiving a request to write data to the virtual volumes VVOL from the hosts 100, the storage apparatus 300 assigns storage areas of the required amount in units of a predetermined size called pages from the virtual volume pool VVP associated with the virtual volume VVOL to the area designated in the write request in the virtual volume VVOL designated in the write request and writes write target data to the assigned pages; ¶0075; the storage apparatus 300 monitors the frequency of access by the hosts 100 per unit time to each of the logical blocks of the virtual volumes VVOL in parallel with processing to assign pages to the virtual volume VVOL mentioned earlier )
The combined teachings of Kim and Iiada do not specifically disclose: wherein the host configures no more than a predetermined count of submission queues for accessing the non-volatile storage media of the storage device concurrently.
However, Lee in an analogous art discloses: wherein the host configures no more than a predetermined count of submission queues for accessing the non-volatile storage media of the storage device concurrently (¶0058; At block 310, the I/O request is dequeued based on the I/O policy 114 (FIG. 1). For example, if the I/O policy 114 specifies that an I/O scheduling group has a 20% allocation, and if the IOPS limit is 1000 and the time quantum is 200 ms, then the particular I/O scheduling group will be limited to 40 I/Os per quantum and I/O requests are dequeued from the corresponding I/O queue accordingly; limit/threshold of queues; the examiner notes that a fraction of the predetermined count is merely represents a whole number (i.e. percentage) of the predetermined value. ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Kim, Iida, and Lee because the combined teachings modified with Lee efficiently allocates and share system resources (¶0015).
Per claim 2, Iida discloses: wherein the performance tier of the account identifies a predetermined input/output speed in accessing the non-volatile storage media of the storage device; and the submission queues are configured to allow the account to access the non-volatile storage media at least at the predetermined input/output speed (¶0009).
Per claim 3, Iida discloses: wherein the host determines, according to the performance tier of the account, a quantity of the submission queues and allocates, the quantity of the submission queues for exclusive use by the account in the computer system (¶0092).
Claims 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al 20160117119 herein Kim and Iiada et all 20150026402 herein Iiada and Lee et al. 20080222311 herein Lee in view of Kumar 20190370050 herein Kumar.
Per claim 4, the combined teachings of Kim, Iida and Lee disclose assigning queues in view of tiers but does not specifically disclose: wherein the host assigns the submission queues for exclusive use by the account, among a plurality of accounts in the computer system, to achieve the predetermined performance tier in the account accessing the non-volatile storage media.
However, Kumar in an analogous art discloses: wherein the host assigns the submission queues for exclusive use by the account, among a plurality of accounts in the computer system, to achieve the predetermined performance tier in the account accessing the non-volatile storage media (¶0112; discloses a dedicated work queue associated with the I/O device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Kim, Iida, Lee and Kumar because Kim and Iida modified the allocation process of Kumar because Kumar’s exclusive use of the queues allows for isolation and direct access of I/O device (¶0020).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-18, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/30/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues: The prior art references Kim, liada, and Kumar fail to teach or disclose the invention of performance allocation among users for accessing non-volatile memory devices as claimed by Applicant. Specifically, Kim liada, and Kumar fail to teach or disclose Applicant’s claimed element of the host configures, in the buffer area and according to a predetermined performance tier of an account, submission queues of requests from the account to access the non-volatile storage media, wherein the host configures no more than a predetermined count of submission queues for accessing the non-volatile storage media of the storage device concurrently, wherein the host determines a number of the submission queues to be assigned for exclusive use by the account based on a fraction of the predetermined count.
The examiner disagrees and asserts that the combined teachings of Kim liada and Lee discloses wherein the host determines a number of the submission queues to be assigned for exclusive use by the account based on a fraction of the predetermined count. Lee is relied upon to teach the hist determining a number of submission queues to allocate for use by the account. The examiner notes that a fraction of the predetermined count is merely represents a whole number (i.e. percentage) of the predetermined value. Further, Lee teaches an allocation percentage. See, ¶0058; At block 310, the I/O request is dequeued based on the I/O policy 114 (FIG. 1). For example, if the I/O policy 114 specifies that an I/O scheduling group has a 20% allocation. Therefore, the combined teachings disclose: wherein the host determines a number of the submission queues to be assigned for exclusive use by the account based on a fraction of the predetermined count. If it is the applicants’ intent to claim a specific calculation for the fraction, the examiner encourages the applicant to further define how the fraction is determined.
Conclusion
BABOUCARR . FAAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2138
/BABOUCARR FAAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2131