DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/03/2023 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a battery pack information acquisition section,” “a battery module accommodation section,” “a charging and discharging control section,” “a battery module state recognition section,” “a spare battery module accommodation section,” “shipping target selection section,” “a block exchange arrangement section,” in claims 1-4.
According to MPEP 2181, II, B, “In cases involving a special purpose computer-implemented means-plus-function limitation, the Federal Circuit has consistently required that the structure be more than simply a general purpose computer or microprocessor and that the specification must disclose an algorithm for performing the claimed function. See, e.g., Noah Systems Inc. v. Intuit Inc., 675 F.3d 1302, 1312, 102 USPQ2d 1410, 1417 (Fed. Cir. 2012); Aristocrat, 521 F.3d at 1333, 86 USPQ2d at 1239. Image… the specification must sufficiently disclose an algorithm to transform a general purpose microprocessor to a special purpose computer so that a person of ordinary skill in the art can implement the disclosed algorithm to achieve the claimed function. Aristocrat, 521 F.3d at 1338, 86 USPQ2d at 1241.” A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding algorithm for performing the claimed function as described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: Figs. 4-5 and paras. [0036]-[0046].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanishi et al. (US 2001/0035737 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Nakanishi”) in view of Okamoto et al. (US 2022/0242272 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Okamoto”).
Regarding claim 1, Nakanishi teaches a battery management system (Fig. 1, 6) that manages storage and shipment of a plurality of battery modules (para. [0062]: shipping as a substantially new (regenerated) product), the battery management system (Fig. 1) comprising:
a battery module accommodation section (Fig. 1) configured to separately accommodate a plurality of the battery modules in block (Fig. 1, 1), the block each including a predetermined number of the battery modules (Fig. 1, 11-15), the predetermined number being greater than or equal to 2 (Fig. 1, 11-15);
a charging and discharging control section configured to charge and discharge (Fig. 1, 7 and para. [0048]: Numeral 7 denotes a battery input-output control section. This controls a state-of-charge based on a state-of-charge level calculated by the battery controller 6) the battery modules (Fig. 1, 11-15) in units of the block (Fig. 1, 1), the battery modules (Fig. 1, 11-15) being accommodated in the battery module accommodation section (Fig. 1); and
a shipping target selection section configured to select, in units of the block, the battery modules serving (para. [0062]: battery modules to be replaced include what has been specified as abnormal modules due to a minute short-circuit or the like, and what can be reused by recovering the battery characteristics, note that the above feature of “Battery modules to be replaced” reads on “select the battery modules serving”) as shipping targets from the battery modules accommodated in the battery module accommodation section (para. [0062]: by rebuilding the reusable battery modules as a battery pack and shipping as a substantially new (regenerated) product, cost reduction of replacement battery pack and a remarkable reduction of waste will be available).
Nakanishi does not specifically teach blocks.
However, Okamoto teaches blocks (Fig. 5, 2; para. [0047]: the battery packs 2 (three battery packs shown in FIG. 5) mounted to the mounting slots are electrically connected in parallel to one another, note that the above feature of “three battery packs” reads on “three blocks” for battery modules).
Nakanishi and Okamoto are both considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the similar filed of management of battery pack. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the blocks such as is described in Okamoto into Nakanishi, in order to provide a technique for efficiently operating a power storage pack to be mounted in an electric vehicle (Okamoto, para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, Nakanishi in view of Okamoto teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Nakanishi teaches a battery module state recognition section configured to recognize a state (para. [0062]: battery modules to be replaced include what has been specified as abnormal modules due to a minute short-circuit or the like, and what can be reused by recovering the battery characteristics) of each of the battery modules (Fig. 1, 11-15) accommodated in the battery module accommodation section (Fig. 1), wherein
the shipping target selection section preferentially selects (para. [0062]: what can be reused by recovering the battery characteristics), as a shipping target (by rebuilding the reusable battery modules as a battery pack and shipping as a substantially new (regenerated) product, cost reduction of replacement battery pack and a remarkable reduction of waste will be available), the block including the battery module recognized by the battery module state recognition section as being in a predetermined defective state (para. [0062]: battery modules to be replaced include what has been specified as abnormal modules due to a minute short-circuit or the like, and what can be reused by recovering the battery characteristics).
Regarding claim 3, Nakanishi in view of Okamoto teaches all the limitation of claim 2, in addition, Nakanishi teaches a spare battery module accommodation section configured to accommodate the predetermined number or a greater number of the battery modules each confirmed as being in a predetermined normal state (Fig. 1, 11-15).
Nakanishi does not specifically teach a block exchange arrangement section configured to execute processing for exchanging the block including the battery module recognized by the battery module state recognition section as being in the defective state for the predetermined number of battery modules accommodated in the spare battery module accommodation section.
However, Okamoto teaches a block exchange arrangement section configured to execute processing for exchanging the block including the battery module recognized by the battery module state recognition section as being in the defective state for the predetermined number of battery modules accommodated in the spare battery module accommodation section (para. [100]: spare battery pack 2, and replaces battery pack 2 having insufficient capacity with battery pack 2).
Nakanishi and Okamoto are both considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the similar filed of management of battery pack. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the block exchange arrangement section such as is described in Okamoto into Nakanishi, in order to provide a technique for efficiently operating a power storage pack to be mounted in an electric vehicle (Okamoto, para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 4, Nakanishi in view of Okamoto teaches all the limitation of claim 3, in addition, Nakanishi teaches that the battery modules are taken out from a battery pack (para. [0051]: the first battery module 11 is set as a battery to be replaced (S22) before a subsequent step S23 starts) collected from an electric vehicle (para. [0024]: a battery assembly equipped in the vehicle), and the battery management system (Fig. 1, 6).
Nakanishi does not teach a battery pack information acquisition section configured to acquire battery pack information including information related to at least any one of a manufacture date of the electric vehicle equipped with the battery pack and a distance traveled by the electric vehicle equipped with the battery pack; and a spare battery module selection section configured to select, on a basis of the battery pack information, the battery module that is accommodated in the spare battery module accommodation section from the battery modules taken out from the battery pack.
However, Okamoto teaches a battery pack information acquisition section configured to acquire battery pack information (para. [100]: spare battery pack 2, and replaces battery pack 2 having insufficient capacity with battery pack 2) including information related to at least any one of a manufacture date of the electric vehicle equipped with the battery pack and a distance traveled by the electric vehicle equipped with the battery pack (para. [0096]: receiving the identification number of battery pack 2 and the identification number of electric vehicle 3 from wireless terminal device 36 of electric vehicle 3, acquisition unit 111 of monitoring device 1 registers the identification number of battery pack 2, the identification number of electric vehicle 3, and the user ID of the user who rides on electric vehicle 3 in battery-vehicle-user table 125 in association with each other); and
a spare battery module selection section configured to select, on a basis of the battery pack information, the battery module that is accommodated in the spare battery module accommodation section from the battery modules taken out from the battery pack (para. [100]: spare battery pack 2, and replaces battery pack 2 having insufficient capacity with battery pack 2).
Nakanishi and Okamoto are both considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the similar filed of management of battery pack. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the a battery pack information acquisition section such as is described in Okamoto into Nakanishi, in order to provide a technique for efficiently operating a power storage pack to be mounted in an electric vehicle (Okamoto, para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 5, Nakanishi teaches a battery management method (Fig. 1, 6) that is executed by a computer to manage storage and shipment of a plurality of battery modules (Fig. 1, 11-15), the battery management method (Fig. 1, 6) comprising:
a battery module registration step of separately registering a plurality of the battery modules (Fig. 1, 11-15) in block (Fig. 1, 1), the plurality of the battery modules (Fig. 1, 11-15) being accommodated in a battery module accommodation section (Fig. 1), the block (Fig. 1, 1) each including a predetermined number of the battery modules (Fig. 1, 11-15), the predetermined number being greater than or equal to 2 (Fig. 1, 11-15);
a charging and discharging control step of charging and discharging (Fig. 1, 7 and para. [0048]: Numeral 7 denotes a battery input-output control section. This controls a state-of-charge based on a state-of-charge level calculated by the battery controller 6) the battery modules (Fig. 1, 11-15) in units of the block (Fig. 1, 1), the battery modules (Fig. 1, 11-15) being accommodated in the battery module accommodation section (Fig. 1); and
a shipping target selection step of selecting, in units of the block, the battery modules serving (para. [0062]: battery modules to be replaced include what has been specified as abnormal modules due to a minute short-circuit or the like, and what can be reused by recovering the battery characteristics, note that the above feature of “Battery modules to be replaced” reads on “select the battery modules serving) as shipping targets from the battery modules accommodated in the battery module accommodation section (para. [0062]: by rebuilding the reusable battery modules as a battery pack and shipping as a substantially new (regenerated) product, cost reduction of replacement battery pack and a remarkable reduction of waste will be available).
Nakanishi does not specifically teach blocks (or packs).
However, Okamoto teaches blocks (Fig. 5, 2; para. [0047]: the battery packs 2 (three battery packs shown in FIG. 5) mounted to the mounting slots are electrically connected in parallel to one another, note that the above feature of “three battery packs” reads on “three blocks” for battery modules).
Nakanishi and Okamoto are both considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the similar filed of management of battery pack. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the blocks such as is described in Okamoto into Nakanishi, in order to provide a technique for efficiently operating a power storage pack to be mounted in an electric vehicle (Okamoto, para. [0005]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Stewart et al. (US 2022/0305922) teaches that systems and methods for replacing one or more battery modules of a battery pack include using one or more communication devices to instruct a battery management system of the battery pack that a number of battery modules of the battery pack is equal to a remaining number of battery modules in the battery pack after one or more battery modules have been disconnected.
Sauerwine et al. (US 2012/0119747 A1) teaches that a battery confirmation system and method for confirming a state of charge in a vehicle battery installed in a vehicle includes a vehicle having a controller, a battery powering the controller, and an onboard diagnostics connector operatively connected to the controller.
Xie et al. (WO 2023216159 A1 A1) teaches that embodiments of the present application provide a battery swapping work station, comprising a supporting column fixed to the shore and a platform movably connected to the supporting column.
/SANGKYUNG LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858