DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 11, 14, 16, and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,159,932. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because even though they are not word for word with each they both teach the same inventive concept.
Regarding claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 11,159,932 teaches an electronic device, comprising wireless communications circuitry configured to receive radio frequency signals from an external electronic device; control circuitry configured to determine an angle of arrival of the radio frequency signals; and a display configured to display an option to share an item with the external electronic device, wherein a position of the option on the display is based on the angle of arrival of the radio frequency signals (Claim 11).
Regarding claim 2, U.S. Patent No. 11,159,932 teaches wherein the radio frequency signals comprise ultra-wideband radio frequency signals (Claim 11).
Regarding claim 11, U.S. Patent No. 11,159,932 teaches an electronic device, comprising wireless communications circuitry configured to receive first radio frequency signals from a first external electronic device and second radio frequency signals from a second external electronic device; control circuitry configured to determine a first angle of arrival of the first radio frequency signals and a second angle of arrival of the second radio frequency signals; and a display configured to display a first option to share an item with the first external electronic device and a second option to share an item with the second external electronic device, wherein the positions of the first and second options relative to one another are based on the first angle of arrival and the second angle of arrival (Claim 11).
Regarding claim 14, U.S. Patent No. 11,159,932 teaches wherein the radio frequency signals comprise ultra-wideband radio frequency signals (Claim 11).
Regarding claim 16, U.S. Patent No. 11,159,932 teaches an electronic device, comprising wireless communications circuitry configured to receive radio frequency signals from an external electronic device; control circuitry configured to determine an angle of arrival of the radio frequency signals; and a display configured to display an option to share an item with the external electronic device when the angle of arrival is less than a threshold; and remove the option to share the item with the external electronic device when the angle of arrival is greater than the threshold (Claims 11-13).
Regarding claim 19, U.S. Patent No. 11,159,932 teaches wherein the wireless communications circuitry comprises ultra-wideband radio frequency transceiver circuitry (Claim 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pasquero (US Pat Pub# 2013/0111370, as cited by applicant) in view of Kwon et al. (US Pat Pub# 2016/0381534).
Regarding claim 1, Pasquero teaches an electronic device (Figs. 1-3), comprising wireless communications circuitry configured to receive radio frequency signals from an external electronic device (Sections 0053-0055, 0096, and 0125, Bluetooth connection etc.); control circuitry configured to determine an angle (Sections 0053-0055, 0096, and 0169, determining angle of the devices respect to each other etc.); and a display configured to display an item with the external electronic device, wherein a position of the option on the display is based on the angle (Sections 0025-0026, 0053-0055, 0065-0066, 0125, and 0169, once the angle is within a threshold able to share data etc. on the display etc.). Pasquero fails to specifically teach an angle of arrival and an option to share.
Kwon teaches control circuitry configured to determine an angle of arrival of the radio frequency signals (Section 0181, angle of arrival) and a display configured to display an option to share an item with an external electronic device (Fig. 17 and Sections 0265-0266, menu option for sharing a photo item with another device etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an angle of arrival and an option to share as taught by Kwon into Pasquero’s device in order to improve position detection and provide users with more options.
Regarding claim 3, the combination including Pasquero teaches wherein the electronic device has a pointing direction and wherein the control circuitry is configured to determine whether the pointing direction aligns with the external electronic device based on the angle (Sections 0025-0026, 0053-0055, 0065-0066, 0125, and 0169, once the angle is within a threshold able to share data etc. on the display etc.).
Regarding claim 5, the combination including Pasquero teaches wherein the wireless communications circuitry is configured to receive additional radio frequency signals from additional external electronic devices, and wherein the control circuitry is configured to determine which of the external electronic device and the additional external electronic devices is more closely aligned with the pointing direction (Sections 0025-0026, 0036, 0053-0055, 0065-0066, 0125, and 0169, different radio configurations to once the angle is within a threshold able to share data etc. on the display etc.).
Regarding claim 6, the combination including Pasquero teaches wherein the display is configured to display additional options to share the item with the additional external electronic devices, and wherein the option and the additional options are positioned on the display based on which of the external electronic device and the additional external electronic devices is more closely aligned with the pointing direction (Sections 0004-0005, 0025-0026, 0036, 0053-0055, 0065-0066, 0125, and 0169, additional peripherals/devices once the angle is within a threshold able to share data etc. on the display etc.).
Regarding claim 7, the combination including Pasquero teaches wherein the display is configured to adjust the position of the option to share on the display in response to changes in the angle (Sections 0025-0026, 0053-0055, 0065-0066, 0125, and 0169, once the angle is within a threshold able to share data etc. on the display etc.).
Regarding claim 8, the combination including Pasquero teaches wherein the control circuitry is configured to determine a distance to the external electronic device based on the radio frequency signals (Sections 0025-0026, 0036, 0053-0055, 0065-0066, 0114, 0125, 0169, 0230, and 0245-0248, determining distance etc.).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pasquero (US Pat Pub# 2013/0111370, as cited by applicant) in view of Kwon et al. (US Pat Pub# 2016/0381534) and further in view of Bozarth (US Pat# 9,232,353, as cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 2, Pasquero in view of Kwon teaches the limitations in claim 1. Pasquero and Kwon fail to teach an ultra-wideband radio frequency.
Bozarth teaches wherein the radio frequency signals comprise ultra-wideband radio frequency signals (Col. 3 lines 51-67 and Col. 4 lines 34-4, ultra-wideband).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an ultra-wideband radio frequency as taught by Bozarth into an angle of arrival and an option to share as taught by Kwon into Pasquero’s device in order to improve communication efficiency.
Claims 11-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pasquero (US Pat Pub# 2013/0111370, as cited by applicant) in view of McLaughlin et al. (US Pat# 10,305,540) and further in view of Kwon et al. (US Pat Pub# 2016/0381534).
Regarding claim 11, Pasquero teaches an electronic device, comprising wireless communications circuitry configured to receive first radio frequency signals from a first external electronic device and second radio frequency signals from a second external electronic device (Sections 0004-0005, 0025-0026, 0036, 0053-0055, 0065-0066, 0125, and 0169, additional devices/peripherals to which receive signals from etc.); control circuitry configured to determine a first angle of the first radio frequency signals and a second angle of the second radio frequency signals (Sections 0004-0005, 0025-0026, 0036, 0043-0055, 0063-0067, 0096, 0125, 0169, and 0213, additional devices/peripherals to receive additional signals to determine the angle etc.) ; and a display configured to display to share an item with the first external electronic device and a second to share an item with the second external electronic device, wherein the positions of the first and second options relative to one another are based on the first angle and the second angle (Sections 0004-0005, 0025-0026, 0036, 0043-0055, 0063-0067, 0096, 0125, 0169, and 0213, determining different angles from different devices to set up communication and sharing etc.). Pasquero fails to teach specifically first and second angles of arrival.
McLaughlin teaches control circuitry configured to determine a first angle of arrival of the first radio frequency signals and a second angle of arrival of the second radio frequency signals (Col. 4 line 51-Col. 5 line 6 and Claim 1, determining first and second angle of arrivals from first and second RF signals etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate first and second angles of arrival as taught by McLaughlin into Pasquero’s device in order to increase functionality with multiple devices.
Pasquero and McLaughlin fail to teach an option to share.
Kwon teaches a display configured to display a first option to share an item with the first external electronic device and a second option to share an item with the second external electronic device (Fig. 17 and Sections 0265-0266, menu option for sharing a photo item with another device or more etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an option to share as taught by Kwon into first and second angles of arrival as taught by McLaughlin into Pasquero’s device in order to improve options and functionality for the user.
Regarding claim 12, Pasquero further teaches wherein the display comprises a touch-sensitive display and wherein the control circuitry is configured to share the item with the first external electronic device in response to touch input on the first option (Sections 0003, 0037, and 0106, touch screen display).
Regarding claim 13, Pasquero further teaches wherein the positions of the first and second options relative to one another are adjusted in response to changes in the first angle of arrival and the second angle of arrival (Sections 0004-0005, 0025-0026, 0036, 0043-0055, 0063-0067, 0096, 0125, 0169, and 0213, determining different angles from different devices to set up communication and sharing etc.).
Regarding claim 15, Pasquero further teaches wherein the control circuitry is configured to determine a first distance to the first external electronic device and a second distance to the second external electronic device, and wherein the positions of the first and second options relative to one another are based on the first and second distances (Sections 0025-0026, 0036, 0053-0055, 0065-0066, 0114, 0125, 0169, 0230, and 0245-0248, determining distance etc.).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pasquero (US Pat Pub# 2013/0111370, as cited by applicant) in view of McLaughlin et al. (US Pat# 10,305,540) and further in view of Kwon et al. (US Pat Pub# 2016/0381534) and further in view of Bozarth (US Pat# 9,232,353, as cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 14, Pasquero in view of McLaughlin and further in view of Kwon teaches the limitations in claim 11. Pasquero, Kwon, and McLaughlin fail to teach an ultra-wideband radio frequency.
Bozarth teaches wherein the radio frequency signals comprise ultra-wideband radio frequency signals (Col. 3 lines 51-67 and Col. 4 lines 34-4, ultra-wideband).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an ultra-wideband radio frequency as taught by Bozarth into an option to share as taught by Kwon into first and second angles of arrival as taught by McLaughlin into Pasquero’s device in order to improve communication efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 9-10, 17-18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANDREW WENDELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 4/24/2026