DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/10/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-16 and 25-27 in the reply filed on 01/20/2026 is acknowledged. Examiner advises Applicant to cancel Claims 17-24 and 28-30 (Group II).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: MSDU Frame 426 in Fig. 4. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13, 16 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chu et al. (US 2025/0254509), Chu hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1, Chu teaches a first device, comprising: a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code, the processing system configured to cause the first device to: (Fig. 1, 4-8 & ¶0023);
transmit an indication of a first set of parameters associated with a single mobility domain (SMD) multi-link device (MLD), wherein the first set of parameters comprises at least an identifier of the SMD MLD and one or more roaming capabilities of the SMD MLD; (¶0027 - An AP MLD such as the serving AP MLD 112 may provide the information of the SMD that it belongs to, e.g., the SMD identifier and SMD roaming characteristics … The information of the candidate target AP MLDs may include the indication of the AP MLD being in the same SMD as the reporting AP MLD 112, the SMD identifier that the AP MLD belonging to, an AP MLD identifier, or a target beacon transmission time (TBTT) offset etc);
transmit an indication of one or more access point (AP) devices affiliated with the SMD MLD for which roaming of a wireless station is supported without reassociation; (¶0026 - The non-AP MLD 116 roams from the serving AP MLD 112 to the target AP MLD 114 without disassociation and reassociation with the seamless mobile domain 110 … ¶0027 - An AP MLD such as the serving AP MLD 112 may provide the information of one or more candidate target AP MLDs (in the same SMD as it) which the non-AP MLD may seamlessly roam to … ¶0031 - In one or more embodiments, if an AP MLD supports seamless roaming and a candidate target AP MLD can be seamlessly roamed to from the reporting AP MLD, a one-bit indication may announce that the seamless roaming can be done between the AP MLD and the candidate target AP MLD);
and facilitate a transfer of context information for the wireless station from a first AP device of the one or more AP devices to a second AP device of the one or more AP devices in accordance with the roaming (¶0027 - Based on the information of candidate target AP MLDs, the non-AP MLD 116 then selects the target AP MLD to roam to and sends a frame to the serving AP MLD 110 to transfer a frame exchange context of the non-AP AP MLD 116 from the serving AP MLD 110 to the target AP MLD, establish links with the target AP MLD and delete any link to the serving AP MLD to complete the seamless roaming to the target AP MLD. The frame exchange context may define a context (e.g., SN, PN, replay counter, BA agreement parameters) associated with uplink (UL) frame transmissions from the non-AP MLD 116 to an AP MLD and downlink (DL) frame transmissions from the AP MLD to the non-AP MLD 116)).
Re. Claim 2, Chu teaches Claim 1.
Chu further teaches the processing system is further configured to cause the first device to: receive a request for information associated with an AP device of the one or more AP devices based at least in part on transmitting the indication of the one or more AP devices (Fig. 1, 4-8 & ¶0027 - The serving AP MLD may provide the candidate target AP MLD information … after receiving the request. The non-AP MLD may request the recommendation or the information of the candidate target AP MLDs. Please also see ¶0029).
Re. Claim 3, Chu teaches Claim 2.
Chu further teaches the processing system is further configured to cause the first device to: transmit, in response to the request for information associated with the AP device, (Fig. 1, 4-8 & ¶0027 - The serving AP MLD may provide the candidate target AP MLD information … after receiving the request. The non-AP MLD may request the recommendation or the information of the candidate target AP MLDs);
a message indicating at least a first portion of the first set of parameters associated with the SMD MLD and at least a second portion of a second set of parameters associated with the AP device (Fig. 2-4 & ¶0027 - The information of the candidate target AP MLDs may include the indication of the AP MLD being in the same SMD as the reporting AP MLD 112, the SMD identifier that the AP MLD belonging to, an AP MLD identifier, or a target beacon transmission time (TBTT) offset etc. as defined by the TBTT Information field in a reduced neighbor report (RNR) element. ¶0051 - In one or more embodiments, a non-AP MLD may acquire the information of a candidate target AP MLD, e.g. using a probe request addressed to the serving AP MLD to solicit full information of the candidate target AP MLD. The probe request has a multi-link element 200 with a common info field 602 to indicate the information of the candidate target AP MLD including the AP MLD ID of the candidate target AP MLDs).
Re. Claim 4, Chu teaches Claim 3.
Chu further teaches to transmit the indication of the one or more AP devices, the processing system is configured to cause the first device to: transmit, to a broadcast address, the message comprising at least the first portion of the first set of parameters and at least the second portion of the second set of parameters (Fig. 1, 4-8 & ¶0019 - In one or more embodiments, the AP MLD such as a serving AP MLD announces information of candidate target AP MLDs that the non-AP MLD is able to seamlessly roam to which includes an AP MLD identifier and SMD element which identifies the SMD. ¶0034 - The AP MLD ID space for identifying seamless roaming is announced by an AP MLD in the management frame, e.g. beacon. ¶0040 - … a new TBTT Information Field Type in a TBTT Information field 408 of the TBTT Information Set transmitted in a beacon carries the information of candidate target AP MLDs and announces an AP affiliated with a candidate target AP MLD in the same seamless mobile domain 110 that a non-AP MLD 116 associated with a serving AP MLD can roam to through seamless roaming).
Re. Claim 5, Chu teaches Claim 3.
Chu further teaches the second set of parameters comprises one or more link identifiers of links established with the AP device
an identifier of the AP device, (Fig. 1, 4-8 & ¶0027 - The information of the candidate target AP MLDs may include … an AP MLD identifier … );
a Medium Access Control (MAC) address of the AP device, (¶0029 - In one or more embodiments, an AP MLD may indicate the identifier (e.g., MAC address) of an SMD (the identifier of SMD that the AP MLD belongs to and the group of other AP MLDs belong to where the non-AP MLD 116 may roam to the other AP MLD(s) of the SMD) … ¶0053 - The Peer AP MLD ID element 604 carries the identifier of the Peer AP MLD (e.g., candidate target AP MLD). In some embodiments, the AP MLD MAC address is used as the identifier in the Peer AP MLD MAC address);
or any combination thereof (Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or”).
Re. Claim 6, Chu teaches Claim 2.
Chu further teaches the request for information associated with the AP device comprises an identifier of the AP device, (Fig. 1, 4-8 & ¶0027 - The information of the candidate target AP MLDs may include … an AP MLD identifier … );
a transmitter address of the AP device,
a basic service set identifier associated with the AP device, (¶0039 - In one or more embodiments, the TBTT Information set includes a Neighbor AP TBTT offset, basic service set (BSS) identifier (BSSID) …The BSS parameters is carried in a BSS parameters field 404);
a basic service set color associated with a basic service set of the AP device,
or any combination thereof (Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or”).
Re. Claim 7, Chu teaches Claim 2.
Chu further teaches the request corresponds to all AP devices of the one or more AP devices or a subset of AP devices of the one or more AP devices (Fig. 1, 4-8 & ¶0027 - Embodiments disclosed herein are directed to seamless roaming in the seamless mobile domain 110 by providing information of one or more candidate target AP MLDs to which the non-AP MLD 116 is able to roam … The non-AP MLD may request the recommendation or the information of the candidate target AP MLDs).
Re. Claim 8, Chu teaches Claim 1.
Chu further teaches the one or more roaming capabilities of the SMD MLD include a backhaul capability of the SMD MLD (Fig. 1, 4-8 & ¶0024 - Each of AP MLDs 112, 114, 150, 152 may be further coupled to a distribution system (DS) 108 which could be an Ethernet switch or access server which facilitates data communication with a local area network (e.g., a LAN) or a backbone network (e.g., the Internet) through the different wired connection such as connection 156, 166, 176, 186 respectively and which wirelessly connects via an AP MLD to the non-AP MLD 116 using a wireless protocol such as IEEE 802.11 protocol. The distribution system 108 may transmit or receive data frames between the LAN or backbone network and one or both of the AP MLD 112, 114).
Re. Claim 9, Chu teaches Claim 1.
Chu further teaches to transmit the indication of the first set of parameters, the processing system is configured to cause the first device to: transmit a management frame, (Fig. 1, 4-8 & ¶0062 - In one or more embodiments, action frames and the request/responses as described herein may be control or management frames defined by IEEE 802.11 to support WiFi communications between the non-AP MLD and AP MLD);
a beacon signal, (¶0029 - In one or more embodiments, an AP MLD may indicate the identifier (e.g., MAC address) of an SMD (the identifier of SMD that the AP MLD belongs to and the group of other AP MLDs belong to where the non-AP MLD 116 may roam to the other AP MLD(s) of the SMD) in a newly defined element (SMD element) 160 carried in a Beacon …);
a probe request, (¶0048 - The information of candidate AP MLDs may be obtained in many other ways. Examples include use of Action frames and probe requests/responses to obtain the information. Please also see ¶0051);
a probe response, (¶0032 - The reporting AP MLD is the AP MLD that the reporting AP (the AP transmits the Beacon or Probe Response, or the AP that is in the same multiple BSSID AP set as the transmitted BSSID AP transmitting the Beacon or Probe Response) is affiliated with);
an associated request, (¶0029 - In one or more embodiments, an AP MLD may indicate the identifier (e.g., MAC address) of an SMD (the identifier of SMD that the AP MLD belongs to and the group of other AP MLDs belong to where the non-AP MLD 116 may roam to the other AP MLD(s) of the SMD) in a … Association Request/Response with an AP MLD in the SMD…);
a reassociation request, ¶0029 - In one or more embodiments, an AP MLD may indicate the identifier (e.g., MAC address) of an SMD (the identifier of SMD that the AP MLD belongs to and the group of other AP MLDs belong to where the non-AP MLD 116 may roam to the other AP MLD(s) of the SMD) in a …resassociation request/response …);
or a response frame, (¶0052 - The probe response carries the information of the requested candidate target AP MLDs in RNR element 400 besides the other information in probe response frame. Please also see ¶0057);
a multi-link reconfiguration message,
a basic service set transition management message,
or any combination thereof, comprising the indication of the first set of parameters associated with the SMD MLD (Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or”).
Re. Claim 10, Chu teaches Claim 1.
Chu further teaches to transmit the indication of the first set of parameters, the processing system is configured to cause the first device to: transmit an indication of a profile for each AP device of the one or more AP devices affiliated with the SMD MLD (Fig. 1, 4-8 & ¶0027 - An AP MLD such as the serving AP MLD 112 may provide the information of the SMD that it belongs to, e.g., the SMD identifier and SMD roaming characteristics … The information of the candidate target AP MLDs may include the indication of the AP MLD being in the same SMD as the reporting AP MLD 112, the SMD identifier that the AP MLD belonging to, an AP MLD identifier, or a target beacon transmission time (TBTT) offset etc.).
Re. Claim 11, Chu teaches Claim 10.
Chu further teaches a profile for an AP device of the one or more AP devices affiliated with the SMD MLD comprises a Media Access Control address associated with the AP device, (¶0029 - In one or more embodiments, an AP MLD may indicate the identifier (e.g., MAC address) of an SMD (the identifier of SMD that the AP MLD belongs to and the group of other AP MLDs belong to where the non-AP MLD 116 may roam to the other AP MLD(s) of the SMD) … ¶0053 - The Peer AP MLD ID element 604 carries the identifier of the Peer AP MLD (e.g., candidate target AP MLD). In some embodiments, the AP MLD MAC address is used as the identifier in the Peer AP MLD MAC address);
an identifier associated with the AP device, (Fig. 1, 4-8 & ¶0027 - The information of the candidate target AP MLDs may include … an AP MLD identifier … );
one or more AP MLD identifiers, (Fig. 1, 4-8 & ¶0027 - The information of the candidate target AP MLDs may include … an AP MLD identifier … );
one or more link identifiers of links established with the AP device,
a service set identifier associated with the SMD MLD,
or any combination thereof (Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or”).
Re. Claim 12, Chu teaches Claim 11.
Chu further teaches the processing system is further configured to cause the first device to: receive, from the AP device, an indication of the one or more link identifiers of the links established by the AP device (Fig. 1, 4-8 & ¶0026 - The non-AP MLD 116 sets up the association with the seamless mobile domain 110 through the links of one AP MLD affiliated with the seamless mobile domain 110. ¶0039 - In one or more embodiments, the TBTT Information set includes … a link ID, a reporting AP MLD ID (or seamless mobile domain ID) and a candidate target AP MLD load information (e.g., indication of amount of data traffic handled by the AP MLD. ¶0058 - The HE Control field carries the AP MLD ID and Link ID of the serving AP MLD. The Link ID indicates the link where the AP MLD ID is applied).
Re. Claim 13, Chu teaches Claim 1.
Chu further teaches to transmit the indication of the one or more AP devices, the processing system is configured to cause the first device to: transmit a reduced neighbor report element, (Fig. 4 & ¶0038 - FIG. 4 illustrates an example updated reduced neighbor report (RNR) element 400 to carry the information of the candidate target AP MLDs … The updated RNR element 400 indicates APs of neighboring AP MLDs in the wireless network which may be candidate target AP MLDs that the non-AP MLD is able to roam to, i.e. whether the AP is affiliated with an AP MLD that is in the same SMD as the reporting AP MLD);
a neighbor report element, (Fig. 3 & ¶0036 - FIG. 3 illustrates an example neighbor report element 300 to carry the information of the candidate target AP MLDs in accordance with one or more embodiments. The neighbor report element may be provided in an AP's neighbor report response to a neighbor report request transmitted by the non-AP MLD 116 to acquire information of the candidate target AP MLDs);
or a multi-link element, (Fig. 2 & ¶0036 - A sub-element may be the multi-link element 200 with a bit in the common info field to indicate whether the AP MLD belong to a seamless roaming domain. Further, a new sub-element may be SMD element with the roaming domain identifier indicating the SMD that the AP MLD is in and the other seamless roaming related information);
or any combination thereof, comprising the indication of the one or more AP devices affiliated with the SMD MLD (Please see Fig. 2-4 & ¶0036-¶0038. (Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or”);
Re. Claim 16, Chu teaches Claim 1.
Chu further teaches the context information comprises one or more encryption keys associated with the wireless station,
one or more pseudorandom numbers associated with the wireless station, one or more sequence numbers associated with the wireless station, one or more block acknowledgments associated with the wireless station, (Fig. 1, 4-8 & ¶0027 - The frame exchange context may define a context (e.g., SN, PN, replay counter, BA agreement parameters) associated with uplink (UL) frame transmissions from the non-AP MLD 116 to an AP MLD and downlink (DL) frame transmissions from the AP MLD to the non-AP MLD 116. ¶0058 - In one or more embodiments, the non-AP MLD performs a seamless roaming without negotiated new PTK with the target AP MLD. The Action frame for roaming that is addressed to the target AP MLD is encrypted by using a PTK, pseudo number (PN) of the serving AP MLD and the Action frame addressed to the non-AP MLD directly from the target AP MLD is encrypted using the PTK, PN of the serving AP MLD);
or any combination thereof (Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or”).
Re. Claim 25, Chu teaches a method for wireless communications at a first device, comprising: (Fig. 1, 4-8);
transmitting an indication of a first set of parameters associated with a single mobility domain (SMD) multi-link device (MILD), wherein the first set of parameters comprises at least an identifier of the SMD MILD and one or more roaming capabilities of the SMD MILD; (¶0027 - An AP MLD such as the serving AP MLD 112 may provide the information of the SMD that it belongs to, e.g., the SMD identifier and SMD roaming characteristics … The information of the candidate target AP MLDs may include the indication of the AP MLD being in the same SMD as the reporting AP MLD 112, the SMD identifier that the AP MLD belonging to, an AP MLD identifier, or a target beacon transmission time (TBTT) offset etc);
transmitting an indication of one or more access point (AP) devices affiliated with the SMD MLD for which roaming of a wireless station is supported without reassociation; (¶0026 - The non-AP MLD 116 roams from the serving AP MLD 112 to the target AP MLD 114 without disassociation and reassociation with the seamless mobile domain 110 … ¶0027 - An AP MLD such as the serving AP MLD 112 may provide the information of one or more candidate target AP MLDs (in the same SMD as it) which the non-AP MLD may seamlessly roam to … ¶0031 - In one or more embodiments, if an AP MLD supports seamless roaming and a candidate target AP MLD can be seamlessly roamed to from the reporting AP MLD, a one-bit indication may announce that the seamless roaming can be done between the AP MLD and the candidate target AP MLD);
and facilitating a transfer of context information for the wireless station from a first AP device of the one or more AP devices to a second AP device of the one or more AP devices in accordance with the roaming (¶0027 - Based on the information of candidate target AP MLDs, the non-AP MLD 116 then selects the target AP MLD to roam to and sends a frame to the serving AP MLD 110 to transfer a frame exchange context of the non-AP AP MLD 116 from the serving AP MLD 110 to the target AP MLD, establish links with the target AP MLD and delete any link to the serving AP MLD to complete the seamless roaming to the target AP MLD. The frame exchange context may define a context (e.g., SN, PN, replay counter, BA agreement parameters) associated with uplink (UL) frame transmissions from the non-AP MLD 116 to an AP MLD and downlink (DL) frame transmissions from the AP MLD to the non-AP MLD 116)).
Re. Claim 26, Chu teaches Claim 25.
Chu further teaches the one or more roaming capabilities of the SMD MLD include a backhaul capability of the SMD MLD (Fig. 1, 4-8 & ¶0024 - Each of AP MLDs 112, 114, 150, 152 may be further coupled to a distribution system (DS) 108 which could be an Ethernet switch or access server which facilitates data communication with a local area network (e.g., a LAN) or a backbone network (e.g., the Internet) through the different wired connection such as connection 156, 166, 176, 186 respectively and which wirelessly connects via an AP MLD to the non-AP MLD 116 using a wireless protocol such as IEEE 802.11 protocol. The distribution system 108 may transmit or receive data frames between the LAN or backbone network and one or both of the AP MLD 112, 114).
Re. Claim 27, Chu teaches Claim 25.
Chu further teaches transmitting the indication of the one or more AP devices comprises: transmitting a reduced neighbor report element, (Fig. 4 & ¶0038 - FIG. 4 illustrates an example updated reduced neighbor report (RNR) element 400 to carry the information of the candidate target AP MLDs … The updated RNR element 400 indicates APs of neighboring AP MLDs in the wireless network which may be candidate target AP MLDs that the non-AP MLD is able to roam to, i.e. whether the AP is affiliated with an AP MLD that is in the same SMD as the reporting AP MLD);
a neighbor report element, (Fig. 3 & ¶0036 - FIG. 3 illustrates an example neighbor report element 300 to carry the information of the candidate target AP MLDs in accordance with one or more embodiments. The neighbor report element may be provided in an AP's neighbor report response to a neighbor report request transmitted by the non-AP MLD 116 to acquire information of the candidate target AP MLDs);
or a multi-link element, (Fig. 2 & ¶0036 - A sub-element may be the multi-link element 200 with a bit in the common info field to indicate whether the AP MLD belong to a seamless roaming domain. Further, a new sub-element may be SMD element with the roaming domain identifier indicating the SMD that the AP MLD is in and the other seamless roaming related information);
or any combination thereof, comprising the indication of the one or more AP devices affiliated with the SMD MLD (Please see Fig. 2-4 & ¶0036-¶0038. (Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or”);
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu, and further in view of Haider et al. (US 2024/0267897), Haider hereinafter.
Re. Claim 14, Chu teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Chu does not explicitly teach the indication of the one or more AP devices comprises a basic service set parameters subfield and an MLD parameters subfield for each AP device of the one or more AP devices.
However, in the analogous art, Haider explicitly teaches the indication of the one or more AP devices comprises a basic service set parameters subfield and an MLD parameters subfield for each AP device of the one or more AP devices (Fig. 4-6, 12 & ¶0004 - The first subfield may indicate whether there is an update on one or more basic service set (BSS) level parameters or one or more MLD level parameters different from the one or more BSS level parameters. The one or more processors may be configured to determine whether there is an update on the one or more MLD level parameters. Please also see ¶0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Haider to the teaching of Chu. The motivation would be because the invention is generally related to communications, including but not limited systems and methods of signaling critical updates for Multi-Link Device (MLD) level parameters for an AP MLD to an associated non-AP MLD (¶0002, Haider).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu, and further in view of Ko et al. (US 2025/0142638), Ko hereinafter.
Re. Claim 15, Chu teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Chu does not explicitly teach the indication of the one or more AP devices indicates whether each AP device of the one or more AP devices is an MLD AP or a non-MLD AP.
However, in the analogous art, Ko explicitly teaches the indication of the one or more AP devices indicates whether each AP device of the one or more AP devices is an MLD AP or a non-MLD AP (Fig. 26-28 & ¶0377 - The MLD ID subfield may indicate the ID of a multi-link device, for example, an AP multi-link device. ¶0378 - The link ID subfield may indicate the ID of the link corresponding to the reported AP. If the reported AP does not belong to the multi-link device or the reporting AP does not have related information, the ID of the link may be configured to 15. Please also see ¶0382).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Ko to the teaching of Chu. The motivation would be because the invention illustrates a method for configuring an ID of a multi-link device (¶0380, Ko).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jang et al. (US 2026/0006667) – Please see Abstract and Fig. 1-18.
Nayak et al. (US 2024/0305970) – Please see Abstract and Fig. 1-10.
Kneckt et al. (US 2024/0089891) – Please see Abstract and Fig. 1-50.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465